223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Rousseau RV Park & Fishing Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (352) 795-6336
CGID659

Lake Rousseau RV Park & Fishing Resort

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   9   6   10   10   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
It was a nice campground in a natural setting. Nothing fancy, clean and well kept. A good number of snowbirds/seasonal campers. Electric was reliable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
A bit too congested for our tastes, and no concrete pads or patios. For non permanents, the sites are simply all over the large yard on grass and dirt. Huge water oaks with hanging moss are pretty, but during windy conditions can drop branches and limbs on your unit. Had all kinds of problems with our cable hookup, but the maintenance person did manage to correct with a new end piece. Very nice fellow. Bath house always clean. The lake is full of stumps, but still nice for a canoe trip. Lots of duck hunters and bass fisherman use the lake. The best site in the whole park is #77. All others have no view of the lake. This is old Florida style living. 12 miles to get to any supplies, so come stocked. Roads are narrow coming in. Park is mostly seasonals and permanents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
The park was clean. The staff and fellow campers were very friendly. The park was very quiet and peaceful. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$18
This is just a really a nice park. If you are looking for glitz, go somewhere else. But, if you are looking for big, gorgeous sites under hundred year old mossy oak trees, come here. The sites in our side of the park are large with concrete patios and tables, and easily accessible sewage and electric. The staff runs around in golf carts to ensure safety and park compliance, but they don't feel intrusive. The lake is beautiful and is full of fish. The staff is helpful and friendly, and you'll probably want to come back year after year. The location is very good as well. It is 35 minutes from Cedar Key, a short distance to gorgeous Rainbow Springs and Homosassa, and both Tampa and Orlando within 75 miles. This campsite is not near major roads, so the tradeoff is you have to go a little out of the way (about 5 miles maybe). It's pristine and quiet. Laundry is fine and bathrooms always clean. The pool is warm and very clean as well. It's heated. I'd recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$15
We were surprised at the number of high ratings for this park - it was just okay - the grounds and facilities are tired and in need of updating, the staff in the office were not friendly, although the work campers and residents/other campers were very friendly. Sites were not well organized - easy to get into and big, but the sewer connections were practically in your neighbor's site, thus their connection in your site. Verizon 3G worked well; they offer TengoNet ($5/day) for WiFi, but we didn't use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
We went to the Lake Rousseau RV park on a getaway weekend and could not have chosen a better spot. It is a lovely park with great big trees and plenty of shade, a lake with only slow moving boats. (No loud motors.) Has some of the nicest people we have ever met!! It is family operated and they really know the meaning of southern hospitality. The whole place is so clean and nice; we can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We gathered here for a family reunion and it was wonderful. It is a family owned and operated park and you can sure tell. They are proud of their park and pay attention to the details. The clubhouse is so pleasant, the whole facility is clean as whistle, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. There is a beautiful lake view, there are big shade trees, and there are activities, too. We had such a good time, we will come back on our own and do some fishing, which looks to be a great opportunity. There is a store and a bait shop, a swimming pool, and a nice place to walk. We sat in a swing and looked at the lake; it was wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$359
Very pretty place on the lake. Great fishing, and everything you'd want for a peaceful stay. A little out of the way but they have a great club house and small store on the property. Staff is friendly. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$37
This park has mostly permanent or seasonal sites, extensions built on RVs or park models with porches, etc. We had a "water view" site, but the water was on our off door side, so we couldn't see the water unless we walked around our RV and the others parked closer to the water. It was a challenge to back in to site due to other RVs and vehicles. We had to back up so close to another rig that we could have watched each other cook dinner! Site are gravel & grass. We felt the rate of $37/night is high for what you get. We probably will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$33
A nice, friendly park. A fair number of seasonal occupants, who come for the season. Good size sites, very inexpensive for what you get. A bit outside of town, but VERY quiet at night. Good cable, excellent park store, friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Fabulous water views and great fishing for panfish like bluegill and crappie, and especially the bass, which we saw in the 8-10 lb. range. They have a boat ramp, slips, fishing dock, and swimming pool. Most sites are shaded by big oak trees in Spanish moss, very Old Florida in a beautiful natural setting. We had one of the premium spots down near the water for a little extra. The place is owned and operated by an extremely nice family with great Southern hospitality, and the staff really goes out of their way to help make your stay the best it can be. Everyone we met there was really agreeable and helpful, an excellent experience. The park facilities including restrooms and clubhouse etc. were very clean and attractively decorated, with lots of extra touches. They have a full service bait shop and store with conveniences and basic items you might need for camping. There are manatee sightseeing and swimming tours in the town nearby, and a clear spring fed river for tubing and canoeing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
We camped here for 8 nights while my mother recovered from recent cancer treatment. I picked this campground because I was looking for someplace quiet, shady, and that had that "old Florida" feel because this trip was my mother's first time in the state of Florida. This campground met all of those requirements and then some. The staff gave us site 75 which had a magnificent view of Lake Rousseau which all three of us enjoyed (me, my mom, and my sister who flew down from Delaware). There are HUGE live oak trees with masses of Spanish moss hanging from the branches that adds to the picturesque nature of the campground. We didn't fish but enjoyed watching the fishermen launch their boats at the boat launch not more than a hundred feet away from our site. We all three enjoyed our stay and hated to leave. The only thing I could find to complain about would be the design of the sites on our side of the loop. It would have been great to pull into the spot rather than back in so as to take better advantage of the lake view while sitting outside. But that is such a minor thing. Also, while we were there, Mother Nature decided to make life interesting with HOARDS of midges which are harmless flying insects that resemble mosquitoes. They covered everything and were more of an annoyance than anything else but if you're going to camp in Florida you had better get used to the bugs. I also liked the fact that the campground allows campers to wash their rigs on their site. I wish every campground would do the same to prevent the mildewy roofs and walls of the long-term campers I've seen in other parks that really detract from the surroundings. There is a local man who will come to your site and wash your rig for you at a reasonable price. Check with the office for his number. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
This is a campground--not a RV resort. No fancy slabs. But when we were there, most of the people were friendly. One office worker has very bad manners. Although, the park owner was a wonderful lady. Most campers were friendly. Down side is park opened their doors to traveling workers for power plant. Some were nice, others were very undesirable. Several other parks in area, but each has distinct classifications. Pool was nice, fishing good. We would not choose to camp in Crystal River again. Personally, we enjoyed the campground, we did not care for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$45
Very friendly park at the end of a long road. WiFi available and free cable. While we didn't fish, it was oriented to fishing. Big bass, saw pics of our neighbor with a 10 pounder. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
After visiting two other parks in the area, we were both surprised and glad to get a site at Lake Rousseau. Everyone is very friendly and everything is neat and clean. It is a really great park with lots to do both at the park and in the area. The fishing is among the best in Florida and the park residents and staff are willing to share information on where to fish and what to use. There is some activity most every day or night such as Bingo, cards, one stroke painting, with weekly activities from dances to dinners and the celebration of most holidays. We stayed about 2-1/2 months last season and will stay 4 months this season. Can't give a better recommendation than that! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
We are brand new to RV camping. We were pleasantly surprised at how great an experience it was for our first time. When we arrived and were deciding on which lot to choose the park Manager was very friendly and understanding of our "newness" to camping, and helped us set up. We camped next to a couple who are permanent, and quite pleasant to visit with. The grounds were kept nice, and all the people we met, were very friendly. We joined them for a "potluck" dinner Saturday evening. We stayed over the weekend and the park appeared to be full. Other camping neighbors were very nice. The views by the Lake were great, and the fishing dock and the small boat rentals were a surprise which we'll look forward to next time. We enjoyed the church service Sunday morning. It was a quiet, and peaceful place to get away to. We will definitely be back, as soon as there's space available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
We stayed here for three days on our maiden voyage when we bought our motorhome. Nice quiet park full of permanent campers. The park sits on a nice lake. People were nice. I would not stay here again unless I brought my boat so that I could go fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
We spent two weeks here in March. It was the end of the snowbird season and many folks were winding down their season. The CG is geared toward long term guests and the social calendar was loaded with things to do. I don't think I've ever stayed at a CG where the people were so friendly. I'm talking about the guests as well as the management and staff. We were made to feel a part of everything from day one. From Saturday morning breakfasts to twice weekly bingo it was like one big family. A beautiful park with all new utilities, cable TV and the best WiFi I've ever used. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
We stayed here for a week over the Thanksgiving weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. There are a few sites up front that are very close to the water, they face the lake. They have a boat marina and boats for rent, apparently the bass and panfish fishing is pretty good here, unfortunately the weather was too cold for us to go out on a boat. We had a very nice large site, and most sites including ours had large shade trees. The management, workers and campers were all extremely friendly, and they had many activities organized for the season. There is a store with many essential items, fishing tackle, and live bait available as well as a good laundry, swimming pool and clubhouse. One small problem is that the well water was inconsistently colored. Sometimes it was totally clear and other times a slight brackish color. There were families with children parked all around us and they seemed to have a great time too. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$25
We stayed here the months of Feb. and Mar. The park staff is great. Plenty of thing to do. Sites are a bit small. We will be returning in the spring of 2008. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2006
$24
This is an older, adult park. They should advertise as such. They refused to open the pool for the kids and they had no playground like they advertised. The fellow campers were very nice and friendly, site was nice. We asked about things for the kids to do before we went, they had nothing. We had to leave the site daily to keep kids occupied. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Was told there were new owners. Alot of work was being done.Campers and workers were very nice and friendly. Its more like a fishing camp, Not much for kids to do. Sites are alittle small but nice. Cable you do get HBO and showtime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com