224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Lackawanna State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (570) 945-3239
CGID6597

Lackawanna State Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   8   9   7   6   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
This rate reflects a Senior discount (appreciated!) and a $10 change fee when we had to change dates. We were in the loop numbered 1-50, and there were cabins and a yurt. The electric was good, but we would have appreciated water and maybe sewer. The bathrooms were clean. The roads were pretty tight, but they were paved, as were the sites. The sites were heavily wooded, not too level and our loop was not big rig friendly at all. Travel trailer or smaller class C would be OK. TV antenna reception was OK. The park is beautiful, but the campground was pretty empty. but I think they would be busier with water and maybe sewer at the sites. It was good for our overnight and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
The rate reflects senior discount. This is a nice clean Pennsylvania State Park, with paved roads and wide paved sites. There are 3 camping loops, pets are prohibited in the first loop but are allowed in the second and third loop. There are a limited number of 50 amp sites, but the park is heavily wooded likely allowing you to get by with 30 amp service. Your our choice of sites will be greatly enhanced if you can get by with 30 amp service. The sites in the second loop are much more level and more easily backed into than in the third loop. We were placed in site 81 where backing in was not for the faint of heart, and leveling was almost impossible. We did not evaluate the first loop as we travel with pets. As noted, the park is to heavily wooded for satellite access, but we were able to get more than 20 digital HD sites over the air with our small roof top antenna. Recycling bins are available for those who care about the environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
This is a really nice state park. We stayed here for three nights while visiting relatives in Scranton. The staff were friendly and helpful. We have a 36' RV with a toad and there were several spots that would have worked for us. We spent two nights in the "Maple Lane" loop, but then had to move to "Fox Run" for the last night because Maple Lane was being closed for the season. We preferred Maple Lane because it was quieter and more remote, but Fox Run was nice too. There are lots of great hiking trails, the lake is beautiful and the park is pretty convenient for getting into Clarks Summit, Dunmore, etc. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Enjoyed a three night stay at the end of August. Sites were nicely shaded and fairly level. Great hiking. We saw lots of wild life including deer at our back door one morning. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Really nice. Very shady, which I love. The pool was the largest I've ever seen. The bathrooms were clean. The camping spots were a nice distance apart. I will certainly return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
The campground was about 6 miles off the main highway. Getting there was no problem but it was a bit hilly with narrow, but well maintained roads. Check in was easy and we unhooked our tow car in a big parking lot. One of the few state campgrounds we've visited that had long campsites for 40' and over rigs. I liked the no pets loop we were one. Trees were nice and it was not too busy for a Monday night. Beautiful pool near the lake a short distance away. We enjoyed a campfire and restful evening. It was worth staying there. This was a good one. We may be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
If you go here in the summer be sure to come armed with loads of bug spray for both your person and the bathroom facilities. I have been in many campgrounds and have never seen this number of mosquitoes! Also, be prepared to pick up garbage left behind by the previous campers. If it wasn't for the bugs and trash, it would be a very lovely campground. I may consider returning in the fall, but never again in the summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Stayed here over the 4th of July. We usually hate camping when everyone goes to Wal-Mart and buys a tent and heads out for the Holiday, but here we were. The park was packed as expected, and the Rangers did an excellent job as it was quiet and very enjoyable. Staff was outstanding and friendly, and the bathroom in the Maple Lane Loop was spotless. Really nice pool, and huge lake which was great fishing. Definitely will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Campsites range in size from medium to large depending on the area. Most campsites are paved. Very nice pool and a great lake. Also has boating and hiking trails in park. Pets are allowed in two areas now and these sites are spacious. The Rangers are very nice and are eager to help out. Great place for family gatherings as they have two pavilions that you can rent through their web site. We will be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
We only stayed here one night, but we enjoyed the large pool at the park. The sites were large and wooded with a paved pad for the camper. There are only 15 sites that allow dogs which was easy to get midweek but book up quickly on weekend. There's a lovely large lake with boat rentals. We also found a dairy nearby with delicious ice cream! Nice for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com