223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Cagle Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (936) 344-6205
CGID6599

Cagle Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   10   9   10   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$22
This park changed their fee policy for this year. They charge $16 for the site and give you your senior discount for $8, then they charge you for water and electricity with no discount. Then, when you reserve online you have to pay another $9. I guess this is a for profit campground. I won't camp here again. I can go to a private campground closer to Houston and get all the amenities, plus easier access to the sky for our satellite for about the same price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Well maintained park. We just needed a place to spend the night while traveling and with the Access pass, the $20 fee was reduced to $10. The sites in the Sweetgum loop are large with plenty of room for our 16' Scamp. Each site has full hookups. We hiked the paved trail that also leads to the other camping loop and boat ramp. The host greeted us and they kept the restrooms spotless. We would gladly stay here again. We thought about reserving in advance but then you have to pay a reservation fee, so we just took a chance on a site being open when we got here and there were several to choose from. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Nice campground located in the Sam Houston NF bout 40 miles north of Houston. 50A FHU sites for $19 per night with Golden Age discount pass is a bargain. The park stays full, especially during the summer months so reservations are highly recommended. Lots of bike and walking trails in the NF. The electric power and water pressure were fine; asphalt pads and nice sitting areas. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. You need to eat at the Fish House on route 75 in New Waverly if you want a good home cooked local food place to eat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This is a very nice campground. It is scenic, quiet, and clean. It has good shade provided by huge pine trees, and easy access to the lake. There are 2.5 miles of trails for hikers, and clean showers and restrooms. There is a boat dock and pretty picnic area right on the shore. Most sites are large, fairly level, and well spaced. Some have lake views. The only negatives we noticed was an intermittent hum from the nearby water treatment plant, and the host could have been friendlier. But other than that we loved the place and plan to return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
The park itself is beautiful and the campsites are roomy and pretty level. Most of the sites can handle large rigs. The bathhouses were spotless and the trails in the park were well maintained. The only negative was that campsites 36-41 were fairly close to the water treatment pumping station that created a resonating hum from time to time, which could be annoying, depending on how close you were. Great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
This place is a gem. It is quiet and relaxing, the camp hosts were great. I loved being among the tall Texas Pines. You can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$9.5
Wonderful CG. Several sites that accommodated our 40' rig. Because of trees, it was hard to get a good look at satellite. Paved sites and streets; easy to manuever. Clean restrooms and showers. Rate reflects Golden Age discount. Can't beat the price for NF with FHU. Most weekends they are full, so reserve early. Would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
This was our first stay at this park and we were so pleased by what we found that we immediately booked another stay a few weeks later - reservations are a must. We stayed on Sweetgum loop and upon entry to our sight were greeted by the friendly and helpful camp host. The park is well taken care of and throughout our stay was quite and peaceful. There are 2 miles of hiking trails some of which is paved. All sites have full hookups (50A), fire-ring, picnic table, lantern post and an adjacent tent site. All streets and sites are paved. No firewood may be brought into the park but we were encouraged to use a plentiful supply of wood from dead trees that had been cut down due to the recent drought. We did not use the restroom and shower facilities but a quick look inside found them to be clean. At first glance the sites do not appear to be "big -rig" friendly, but given the fact that tow vehicles can be parked in designated parking spots on the loop road adjacent to each site we found the sites adequate to generous for our 38' fifth wheel. The price of $10/night reflects 50% discount on a seniors pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
This was our first visit to this very nice park. There was plenty of room on each site and not very wooded even though there was numerous trees. Campground folks were very nice and accommodating. We will definitely be back, but reservations are necessary and are getting hard to get since the weather is getting nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
We stayed here after Christmas. Staying in the National Forest with tall pine trees is a nice change of scenery from most of Texas. Everything is well maintained. Roads and pads are paved, fairly level but may need a little bit of work. Park Host in Sweet Gum Loop was very nice and friendly. We stayed in site #31. 30, 32, 34 and/or 35 are very nice and back up to the lake with a short walk down a trail. Great place and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We have visited this park a number of times and have always loved it. It is a beautiful area with nice sites. Our issue this visit was with the rudeness of the park hosts. Upon arrival, the man at the gate acted as though we were disturbing him. Very unfriendly. At 10:01 p.m. we were told that it was quiet hour. We were not being loud, at all. Camp hosts were continually coming around to complain about something. Someone's car was parked facing the wrong direction and they were told to move or be ticketed. As we were driving out and going past the hosts site, we waved, they never so much as cracked a smile or in anyway acknowledged that we had waved. It was very disappointing and our group has said they do not want to return to the park because of the rude treatment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We loved this park. The host in the Sycamore Loop was just fantastic. I arrived on my own with baby and 4 dogs and she offered to help guide me in and waited until I had time to set up before going through the paperwork. The other campers were similarly friendly and outgoing. It's definitely a place for those who fish and like the outdoors, bring your boat! The showers were very clean, the water temp was fabulous, the pressure was very good, and the shower heads were nice and high so there was no need to stoop to wash hair! We liked the Sycamore Loop the best, not only is it closer to the water, but the sites also seemed more spacious and shady. The only negative thing about our trip is that we didn't have enough time to explore all of the trails that the Sam Houston Nat'l Forest has to offer. We'll definitely be going back. We camped on a holiday weekend and it was VERY busy. Reservations a definite must. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
They have new camp host now: that is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
The park is very neat and maintained by the camp host. The sites are paved and mostly level and with full hookups. Some sites are reservable and others are first come, first serve. We stayed in #30, a nonreservable site. We would like to have been in #35 but it was a reservable site. If you are coming on a weekend it would be advisable to have a reservation. Our Verizon cell and internet signal were good with 3 bars of EV signal. Sites are very wooded so satellite signal is iffy, although we did pickup several Houston channels on regular TV antennae. The park accepts the Access Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$10
Beautiful park for this part of Texas. We arrived on a Tuesday and had our choice of sites even thought most had reserved tags on them for the following weekend. As we were only passing through this was not a problem. Would recommend reservations if you planned to be there on a Friday or Saturday. The larger campground is open with large trees and views of Lake Conroe. The sites were all large and spacious. Staff were nice and helpful. Bring your own firewood as none can be collected in the nearby forest due to a woodpecker reclamation project. Would definitely stay here again. Fee was with senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$12
This is a very nice, clean, quiet, somewhat remote park; heavily wooded, with nice long pads, picnic tables, grills, a tent pad and full hookups. Our rate reflects the Golden Age passport, which includes $9 for reserving a space online through ReserveUSA. The friendly park hosts keep a close eye on everything going on in the park. We were in Site 4. The drawback for us is that we had poor Verizon broadband coverage and could not get online. We tried positioning our Dish satellite all over the spot, and never got a signal, so we had no TV. We did have Verizon cell phone service. Next time, we might go without reservations, probably on a Tuesday, and hope to pick our own site. The park was busy, even in February, so reservations are a good idea. Another drawback..there did not appear to be any heat in the bathhouse. One of the best things about this park are the two miles of easily accessible paved walking trails through the woods, and over bridges. This was such a pleasant place to stay that we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
A nice, small park with full hook-ups and about two miles of hiking trails. The site we stayed in required minimal leveling and was quite spacious. The park host was very friendly and helpful. This park is great if you are bringing a boat as a parking space is provided for the boat at your site. I would have given a higher rating but the boat dock was sunk and there was no swimming area or fishing pier. The fishing pier and the boat dock could be easily fixed and then I would give this park a 9 or 10. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
Nice park with large sites. There are 47 sites but 4 are taken up by the camp host. There are 30 sites that are reservable with only 13 sites left for first come first serve. So if you don't want to make reservations and want to stay over the weekend you had better get there on Monday or Tuesday. The lack of more drive up sites are the reason for not giving the park a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Very nice park, very clean, and plenty of trees and shade. Loved it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Very friendly staff, great paved sites and all are kept very clean. The sites are also spaced apart so that you do not feel cramped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Part of the Sam Houston National Forest, Cagle Recreation Area is a hidden gem among the Piney Woods. All sites are separated & mostly shaded, with gravel driveways and tent pads. Campfires were allowed when we visited -- check the web site for 'burn bans'. Boat dock within the park for access to Lake Conroe. Concreted hike 'n bike trails through the woods. Sycamore Loop is the one closest to the boat dock & the lake. Some lakeside sites available. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com