218052 User submitted reviews online!!
Pickensville Campground COE was rated 10 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (205) 373-6328
CGID66

Pickensville Campground COE

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   10   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$9
This park is a well-hidden secret. Very clean. Some sites have full hook-up and we were fortunate to get one. This park is the place to come to get away from everything-closest grocery is 12 miles away. Sites can accommodate large rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$8
We spent the Memorial Day weekend here with family. The campground was great. Site are spacious and shaded. Don't count on a satellite signal but we didn't miss the TV. Be sure and bring plenty of ammunition for the bugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
This is a clean well maintained park with spacious level sites and plenty of variety in campsite location. Facilities were great and there is plenty to do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$9
This is a nice COE park on Lake Aliceville. All sites now have new wiring for 30/50 amp power, no voltage problems here. This would be one of the top COE parks we have been in. Park is all flat so waking and bike riding is great here. Sites and ramps are cement on 90 deg angles, level, water, power, and 29 sites have sewer. You have five handicap sites. Each loop has a bathhouse and playground equipment in center. All sites are great, not a bad site in this park. Ones on water way give you a nice view of tugs and barges. Restrooms and showers were very clean as were the grounds. Gates were locked at 10:00 pm to 6:00 am. You do have a gate to get out of park anytime but you cannot get back in if gates are locked. Dump station was set up for two RV's at the same time. We could pick up 2 TV channels over the air. Sat. dish on the ground will work on some sites. Verizon cell and air card worked OK. I set the map pin for the gate house and it is hard to see due to all the trees here. GPS address is 33.23570 / -88.30389 for gate house. We could see deer walking around inside the park in daytime. Most all sites had nice trees to park under. We wish all parks were like this place. Rate was on the Golden Age Card. We did eat at the "Down Yonder". Our Catfish dinner was very good. One more tip, pack up everything you will need as it is a long way to the next town to buy anything. Two gas/food stations close by that may have a small amount of food or supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$8
This is the best campground we have ever camped in. We enjoyed watching the tug boats and barges go up and down the river. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only problem we found was the cell phone reception was very bad. But there are places in the park you can get fair reception. I found bars in open places around the river, and around the restrooms in zone 1. While at Pickensville be sure to eat at "Down Yonder". The gate keeper can give you directions. Had great food at very reasonable prices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is a great campground. Each site has a level paved pad with a large table, grill, light hook, large fire ring and a chopping block table that can be put by the grill or to cook fish on. We camped by the pond. The sites are large with lots of trees. Be sure to bring bug spray. The camp ground has a separate fish cleaning house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$9
Golden Age card got us a river site for 9.00 per night with W & E. Otherwise is 16.00 / full service is 18.00. Spacious sites. 176 total. Mostly back-in. Lots of wildlife at dusk: deer, racoons, squirrels, rabbits. The TennTom waterway (river) has lots of very large barges and tugs moving on it. If there's a drawback it is that they don't do a great job of marking the way to the entrance. Sites are level cement slabs: max length 65 feet. We did have a minor problem with ants trying to come into the coach via the water hose, elec cable and anything that touches the ground. Seasoned campers said sprinkle Comet cleaner or Severin around the ground points and on the hose and cable and that should stop them. There is a wonderful welcome center with sternwheeler and an antebellum replica home not three miles away. Suspect it'd be great fishing. They have a fish cleaning shed. We'd camp here again: especially when everyone has gone back to school/work. We had it pretty much all to ourselves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This is an excellent family campground. We have camped here many times and this is a consistently great campground. The sites are very large and level with plenty of shade. There are many non-reservable sites that are located right on the river, I do not think that are many (if any) reservable sites that are located on the water. For the most part, the river sites do not have sewer hook-ups but there are several sites that are not on the water with full hook-ups (excluding cable). There are playgrounds for children, a basketball court, and many amenities. The fishing is great (you can get a temporary, out of state Alabama fishing license nearby). It is located in a remote area of West Alabama, so this is a quiet campground. Bathhouses are consistently cleaned daily and they are clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
We camped here while fishing over Halloween Holidays. This campground is extremely well kept and it was a great experience! Bath houses and restrooms were spotless and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. If you want a pleasant stay at a campground away from the hustle and bustle, this is it! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2005
$18
Corps campground well taken care of peaceful and relaxing deer running through the grounds my children loved this place. The attendents are retired and very helpful right down to helping you set up. We live about 45 minutes from it and will definitely spend more time here. Camped here Jan 2005. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
As with our experience at other Corps parks, this is a very nice campground. The sites are well spaced and the grass is maintained. It's nice to sit under the awning and watch the barges go by. The park is big and the roads are great for bike riding. There is a nice walking bridge going over a small pond in the park. We have camped here several times in the past. There is a tourist visitor center not too far from the park showing how the lock and dams work. Overall, a very nice campground that I'm sure we'll visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a great campground run by the Corps of Engineers. Campgrounds are well maintained and staff is super friendly! Each site has a concrete parking pad and a large graveled area with picnic table, lantern pole, fire pit, grill and table. Many sites are right on the Tenn-Tom Waterway with great views of passing barges and boats. These sites usually fill up quickly on weekends. Other sites are off in the woods; some being secluded if you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of the water-loving crowd. Most sites have shade. Bath houses are clean and in good working order. With 176 camp sites, there are plenty of paved roads for biking, plus a few hiking trails. There is a swampy area in the middle of two of the sections of campsites with two nice wooden bridges spanning the swamp, plus a few piers from which to birdwatch or cast a line. CG also has a boat ramp, mutiple use courts, picnic shelter and nature trails. Wildlife that we've seen are deer, fox, owls, armadillos, raccoons, and of course, plenty of squirrels. The nearby day use area is a 17 acre park with swimming beach, fishing docks, boat ramps, restroom, picnic shelters and tables. Also nearby is the Tom Bevil Visitor Center and Lock & Dam. The center has displays of and the history of the Tenn-Tom Waterway, wildlife of the area, lots of informational brocures, and a gift shop. Watching boats and barges going through the lock is a great experience! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$16
We really enjoy this camp area.Swimming is at a nearby beach,and is clean.The workers at the camp ground are friendly,and helpful.The park staff are great. I recommend this park to all. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$15
A real nice clean campground. US Army Corps of Engineers Campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com