223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Hwy 71 RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (512) 321-7275
CGID6611

Hwy 71 RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   10   4   6   1   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$11
This is the fourth visit to this park. I have reviewed it before and it still remains a good, clean park with friendly staff. Big rig pull thrus for longer rigs across from the pool. 45 footers with toads will fit with no problem but all pull thrus will require leveling side to side and front to back due to sloop of site. One nice touch is the gate entry is now working and requires code to enter which has quieted the park down considerably. Bastrop is 10 miles east with all the amenities of a big city. They also honor PPA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$11
Price reflects monthly rate. Electric is additional to that fee. They have propane on site during office hours. We arrived May 1, 2013 and stayed for a little over a year while working in the area. The staff was professional and the park was clean. The park is gated and you need a code to access the campground most hours. They do not escort you to your site but do give you a good map showing which way to drive. The roads are crumbling asphalt and gravel. Sites were gravel and level (in the longer term area) and pull-throughs were long enough to accommodate our 40 ft 5th wheel plus 2 vehicles easily. (The sites in the overnight area are also level and do need to be leveled front to back and side to side and can be a bit tight for the larger rigs but the staff is good about placing campers in the right size space, which is a plus.) There are a mixture of open and shaded spaces. There is a nice amount of space between the campers, especially in the longer term area. The park is pet friendly and kid friendly with a playground for the kiddos. The restrooms are clean and very nice. The salt water pool was sparkling. There is a rec room which is available for a fee for gatherings. The laundry room is open 24 hours with a door code. There are 5 washers and 5 dryers that each have their own personality when it comes to how well they wash or dry, and an area in the office while you are waiting during office hours with a book exchange. After hours, there are a couple of dining type chairs to use or sit in the car or walk around. At the time that we stayed there, they provided curb side trash service 1 day per week, which was nice. We felt safe in the park and didn't have any problems with other residents. Good for one night or a year! We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Good park about 10 miles from Bastrop, which has all the stores and eating places that Austin has. Also has a historic old town area worth a look. Park hook ups work well as they should and park staff are courteous and helpful. Long pull thrus close to office are gravel and fairly level. Quite a few long term/permanents on the back side and west side. Exxon/Mobil C-store 1/2 mile east and real good moderately priced BBQ shack (Benny's) toward Bastrop on north side of 71. Only negative is that speed limits are not observed in the park - mostly by the permanents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Staff was very friendly when we called broken down on the side of the highway. Good Sam had a wrecker on the way, and we selected Hwy. 71 as the destination for the tow. Came in the front gate on a flatbed with trailer in tow on the hook. Went directly to first site set aside for us and proceeded to repair our trip. Shower/restrooms were very clean, pool wonderful, washing machines were clean and large with waiting area at the office. We can't complain about a thing as highway noise is part of travel. Gated for security and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$12
We stayed here for thirty three days. The monthly rate is $335 plus you pay your own electric bill. Ours came to $40, so it works out to about $12 a night. The park is clean,quiet, and friendly, with mostly long term folks. Nothing fancy, but the restrooms and showers were always clean,the cable TV and Wi-Fi were always available, and for the price, I had to give it a ten rating. It's about ten minutes from Austin or Bastrop, and less than five minutes to the "Hit the Spot Cafe," the best mom and pop restaurant we've ever eaten in. We'll be coming back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$23
WiFi worked great. Showers very clean and new but no soap dishes in stalls except for one. Staff very friendly and helpful. The soap dish is the only minor compliant I can think of. Would stay here again if I had to. Easy parking of our 5th Wheel in the pull through space. Secure gate that's closed except during morning hours when residents are going to work. We stayed here for 2 weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
We have stayed at this park twice now. Both times we had trouble leveling our coach as the spaces are like a cat's back. Office personnel are extremely nice and accommodating. The showers, restrooms and pool area are modern and very nicely done. Our last stay we had issues with their leach field making the entire place smell of sewage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
HORRIBLE! I went to visit this RV Park in the possibility of staying here as a winter Texan. When I got here, the campground looked very untidy, crowded, and there seemed to be a lot of confusion with parking from the residences who were staying here. The woman I spoke with (who I assume was the owners' or the hosts' wife) was the most RUDE person I think I have ever dealt with anywhere! She seemed very suspicious of my questions that I was asking her about the campground (how the showers were, different rates for sites, etc.) and gave me the "I don't think we will have room for you" runaround when I mentioned that I would like to stay for a few months. She was over-the-top with her rudeness when I mentioned my dog and she made it very clear that they do not like pets over 25 pounds here. In all, the most unpleasant experience I have ever had in dealing with a RV campground, and I could see it being a very big problem with anyone under the age of 45 to stay here. (You can see the emphasis on "retired" couples here.) Due to the service alone, I say avoid at all cost! CUSTOMER SERVICE IS TERRIBLE! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
We have stayed here on two separate occasions. The owner and staff have always been very accommodating and friendly. This park has a menage of sites and trailers. Many of these sites are long term residents but are very friendly. Most spaces are large and roomy. The facilities are kept very clean with hours to accommodate their customers. (laundry, showers, workout room) This is a gated park which feels like a country setting. It is convenient to Austin, San Marcos, and Bastrop. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
Rate is at monthly rate of $300.00 plus electric. Gated park. Nice long spaces, staff is friendly. Here to visit family so it was close to Austin. Park is keep clean, laundry room is nice only $1.25 to wash. Workout room is separate fee. Only negative is they have sticker burrs so don't walk in the grass. Also no picnic tables. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
We just spent six weeks at this park and found it very adequate for our needs. We tend to spend a lot of time clubbing in Austin and our usual park (Oak Forest) was full, so we decided to try staying a bit further out of town; however, because the park is on Hwy 71, the commute time was only a few minutes more, though the mileage was about 10 miles further. At this time, most residents are long-term stays as a result of heavy construction work in the Austin area. While I recognize that some RVers tend to turn their noses up at parks with high percentages of full-time residents, the controls in this park are such that everyone was very courteous and we neither observed nor heard any behaviors that were bothersome. Those staying just a few nights are positioned in the front of the park and somewhat isolated from the other residents. Management is friendly and willing to go the extra mile. There is a security gate. Wi-Fi and cable work well and a satellite system would work well from most sites. There's a lovely Hyatt Resort (Lost Pines) just a mile or so away if you feel like going out for a nice meal in a nice atmosphere and you might also want to try the pork ribs at Benny's BBQ just down the road. We will be returning for another stay in a few months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Not a bad RV park but when we came in they did not give us a choice of back-in or pull-thru. I feel they did this because we were Passport America (getting 50% off), so they put us in the most expensive site, which was a pull-thru. We would have been okay with a back-in as we have done in other parks. Just feel like they wanted to get more money (as there were many other sites available). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Friendly staff, held my reservation without deposit. Sites have different layouts, but ours was a pull thru, pretty level, gravel, wide and open. Shade in other areas. Roads are paved with plenty of room to maneuver. Good voltage and water pressure, but sewer location was for something other than a TT. Not much Hwy 71 noise even though the park is next to the highway. Lots of extended stays, but the management seems to dedicate different areas for long and short stays. Gated and fenced. Pool, showers, playground and other amenities for the family. Big stores and restaurants near by. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
This was a very nice park to stay at with easy access and good size sites. The staff was helpful and friendly. The only negative I can say is the road noise during the day. At night, this was one of the quietest RV parks we have been at. Bastrop is 6 miles to the east and has all the stores you would need to shop at. Laundry was $1.25 to wash and $1.00 to dry. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
When you first pull into Highway 71 RV Park you see new asphalt drives, a nice club house and a clean office, which gives you a good first impression. When you enter the office, you find polite and friendly office staff, and your second impression is a good experience. So, you get back into your rig and start the drive to your assigned site. But as you make that drive the scenery begins to change, and you find yourself wondering: “is this an RV park, or a low income housing project.” Most of the “campers” are permanent residents. The majority of the RVs consist of old trailers with junk all around, attached homemade sheds, chicken wire pet pens, permanent decks, and whatever else one can possible think of to build and nail to an RV. The roads throughout the park are time-beating asphalt or dirt. Many are more like trails than roads. The sites are packed dirt and rock, but seem to be pretty level. Luckily we had no rain during our stay. You will learn to respect the massive infiltration of sand bur stickers. Starting out I was assigned site 127, a new site located way in the back. When I arrived at the site I found the trees to be too low for my 5th wheel to get under. I called the office and they quickly reassigned me to site 84, a back-in site at the pond. WIFI didn’t work on the first night, but worked most of the time during the rest of our stay. We stayed 3 nights. The daily rate is $25, so it is affordable. I don’t want to waste a bunch of time blogging about this park, it would mostly be negative and I’m not in the mood. If you are looking for cheap rent, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
The newer part of the park has large shaded sites. The Wi-Fi worked well. The rest rooms were clean, as were the showers. The swimming pool was nice. The pad site was fairly level, they were gravel. The roads were in the process of being paved. The park seems to have a lot of long term rentals. Overall the park is very nice. The park also has laundry facilities and a meeting hall, both of which we did not use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Not sure of nightly rate, their web site appears to be unavailable at this time. I feel very crowded here. Trailers seem to be packed in next to each other. The park has evidently been here a long time, ... bottlecaps, broken glass, etc. pushed into the dirt, no paved driveways I can see and certainly not landscaped. Excellent cable TV, about 70 channels. WiFi reliable but slow. Office, laundry room, rec room, pool, clean. Lower-class than I am accustomed to. Very good monthly rate. Friendly management and staff. I'm not particularly impressed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
Good RV Park, Owners are pretty friendly, fairly close to Bastrop and Austin. The drawbacks are having to be near the highway, which can be noisy. The parking isn't up to par. You have to hope your automobile doesn't get sideswiped by somebody who doesn't know how to drive or back with a trailer. The campground does have showers, laundry, and a recreation room. The buildings are pretty nice. The campsite is great for people who are in construction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com