214562 User submitted reviews online!!
KOA-Black Canyon City was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (623) 374-5318
CGID6614

KOA-Black Canyon City

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   4   4   6   5   5   7   10   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$40
We called in a reservation ahead of time for a single night. Arriving at the campground we were "greeted" by a gentleman who walked up to us and asked in a grouchy tone, "You got a reservation?" As we checked in, the guy complained about whoever took our reservation, the site they selected, and finally selected a different site for us. Glad this was only 1 overnight. The park is older, WiFi is extra,and there are many older rigs that aren't in the best shape. This felt more like a trailer park than an RV park. Oh, and there are goats roaming the property. Won't stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
The park is older, but we found it clean and quiet. The site we had was not level, but it wasn't bad, we leveled with the wood blocks I carry. WIFI was the best we've ever had at a park !! TV was very good, and electric was wired properly.(I check it before plugging in) Overall, we would stay here again. Landscaping was older, but nice. Typical Arizona, but nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
Sadly this campsite was very poor. The KOA brochure says landscaped sites well it may have been several years ago. Our site and most that we saw were not level, the gravel had not been raked, goats are allowed to roam around the site in the evenings. My husband used the restrooms/shower area on arrival and said they were disgusting, the urinals were off the wall. There were tools in the vicinity as though work was to be carried out but no sign of this work happening. We are sorry to have to say that we have noticed in general on this trip, January through March that KOA standards are falling but the prices are increasing. The one plus point was that the wifi/internet was very good, a good strong connection however were fairly near the office and the site was not fully occupied. A disappointing stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Came to stay in the area for a month but checked out early. The park is run down and trash is everywhere. Restrooms trashy, one toilet not working and no effort to fix it. The showers had black floors due to mold or something. The staff was friendly but need help to get the place presentable. The good part was a large public access across the road for ATV riding, for hiking, and to walk dogs off leash. Rate is based on two week stay. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$46
We pulled in at dark and found a drive-through that was easy to get in. Friendly staff, however the cost of staying at a KOA without their discount card is high. Next time I will find a more cost effective place for a one nighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Stayed one night passing through the area. One of the more run-down KOAs in appearance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground was nearly empty yet they placed us next to two full-timers. Not that big of a deal but we could hear their television till quite late at night. The restrooms look like they have been under construction for a long time. We didn't try any of the amenities with our short stay, the pool and the shower were fine. We would probably press on to Flagstaff to the north, or Phoenix to the south next time through the area, although a one night stay would be alright. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Cable down due to a problem with the company. Very windy in April.One day it blows the next day it's calm. All gravel. Nice spa,pool clean. Owners were polite.Work Campers were extremely nice. The advertised Saturday Breakfast is a mile down the road at the VFW hall. Incredible view of the high desert when cactus is in bloom. Great WIFI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
We camped here from January to February 2009. As other reviewers have stated, this is more run down than your typical KOA. We were placed near some long-term renters and their garbage would often blow into our site. We spent the first hour after we checked in cleaning up our site. Never used the pool or restrooms, but there was often a bad smell in the laundry. The great staff, beautiful scenery, peace and quiet of the park, and good price made up for the negatives of this campground. Would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
This was a very nice park with Wi-Fi and cable included at site. They were finishing up some remodeling jobs in the restrooms and building and it looked very nice. The staff was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Well, once again I must say that the KOA chain needs to do something with their parks other than sell them over and over again. This one, like so many is just plain worn out. A family from Canada owns it now and just ain't taking care of it. It is all dirt and rained last night and about washed us out. When it was over it was a mass of mud. The shower room had a handicapped room to shower in the wheelchair, someone used it and the place was flooded, add that to a really dirty place and it was pretty nasty. Then someone flushed a pair of dirty underwear down the toilet, what a mess. Bradshaw is run by the seniors, but way better than this. Pass it by! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Pleasant park for people who like the great outdoors. The owners are always making improvements. The WiFi worked great for us. Cable TV worked fine after the staff helped us set up our TV. No fire rings, but we were able to rent an enclosed fire pit for the night. We'll be back again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$40
We will never camp here again! My husband is a travel nurse, currently assigned in Phoenix, AZ. We wanted somewhere out of the city. The views are beautiful here, but that is all this park has to offer. Their wi-fi is unreliable, as I've never gotten better than a "very low" signal, if any. The cable is also completely unreliable. It skips in and out of signal several times per show. We were given several excuses when broaching these subjects and also when we asked to move, due to lack of signal strength. We rely on the internet for school and work. The kicker, they just shut off the water with no warning to fix a pipe. Very inconsiderate. Another reason we won't come back is the drive. It takes over an hour to get into Phoenix with traffic. Overall, this has been a horrible experience. We have been here since January and plan to leave April 22. I would not recommend this campground to anyone long term, anyone who depends on the internet, anyone who likes to take showers at the drop of a hat, or anyone who hates yappy dogs, as they do not enforce the KOA barking dog policy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
I had unexpectedly pulled in late at night because of brake trouble after leaving the RV park I had wintered at. The owner came out to help me into the site and I explained the problem I was having. He took out his cell phone and called a local mechanic who could see me first thing in the morning. An hour after I arrived at the garage the problem was fixed with an adjustment and he only charged me labor. I could have been easily taken, but I had found honest, helpful people. Still being a little rattled from my brake experience I decided to take it easy and enjoy an additional day at the KOA. It is a lovely place with a new pool and beautiful desert landscaping. Everything was so clean and the staff were so friendly. I was so pleased to find them and the way they helped me that I hope to be staying there long term this coming winter season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com