223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Cody's Catfish Pond and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (352) 596-6010
CGID6617

Cody's Catfish Pond and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   8   3   3   10   10   10   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$22
Nicely located off the beaten path and has a country atmosphere with pond, ducks and fish. Many are fulltime residents. Manager and owner only enforce the "rules" that were handed out when they feel like it. Building materials and junk are strewn about the campground from unfinished projects. Bathrooms are clean; laundry services are old and don't work very well. Very laid back and friendly; however, it has turned into a party park. The staff are always drinking and driving around in golf carts. The services are adequate, but noisy parties are frequent. If you are looking for a park to raise some hell at, as long as you invite the owner, this would be your park. Wi-Fi is available at the pavilion, but hit or miss at your campsite. Office is not manned so you have to locate the manager if needed. After 3 years, not returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
Rate reflects one night Passport America and then weekly rate. We came back to Cody's to visit friends who are staying here. There have been several improvements made to the park since our last visit four years ago. One of them that we really like is the stone paver patio's that have been installed in some of the sites. The bathrooms in the office building have also been renovated and the other one's near the pavilion are a project in progress. Yes, there are several permanent residents here but in today's economy, this is not unusual. Everyone here is friendly. Some of the folks don't keep their area clean and free of junk as they should. Management goes "above and beyond" to make your stay at Cody's a pleasant experience. WiFi is free and fast during most of the day. We hope to get back to Cody's sometime soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
My wife and I took our 6 year old grandson here in a 30’ motor home for 3 days. Both staff and the park manager were very polite and helpful. We were guided to a full hook-up site. We used the 50amp service, water and sewer hookups. We were able to get 14 local TV channels (no cable hookup) on our onboard antenna. They offered free Wi-Fi but did not use it. The very large “catch and release” pond has all sorts of easily caught bream, bass and sun fish. We never caught any catfish, but did see very large ones. Several people there said they had caught them. We were also offered free kayak and canoe use on the lake. We built a campfire in the site provided fire ring both nights. My grandson made several friends who gave him food for the catfish (and other fish) which could be fed from the floating dock and elsewhere on the lake. Since the park is about 2 miles off the main highway, there was no traffic noise and the park itself was very quiet all night. The unpaved, but well maintained road was quite dusty. The park appears to be a very old one which shows wear and tear from its age. However everything appeared to be in working order and was kept clean. There are many permanent resident sites, some occupied and some closed up. I suppose the low monthly rate encourages some to park here and visit when they want to. The residents and the guests all were friendly toward us. We will return when we get the opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We used this campground for an overnight stay only, and fortunately, was given the best site in the campground. We had a very nice view of the pond, cement pad with picnic table and foliage offering some good privacy. Other sites seemed fairly close to each other. It was quiet at night. The gentlemen was nice, informative and escorted us to our site. The campground is mostly "rough around the edges". Most seem to be permanent residences, lawn ornaments all around and unkept. No one was friendly, no one was rude. The dumpster was loaded with beer bottles. This campground served our purpose but glad we did not stay anymore than one night. Hookups were fine. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We reserved a spot at this place last minute, mostly selected this place based on reviews on this site. Although the manager was very friendly and professional, guided us into our drive through location and assisted in our getting hooked up I wasn't real comfortable in this RV park. My experience was a bit different then those who have reviewed here. I need to qualify myself as an inexperienced camper so perhaps my expectations are unrealistic. My overall view on this place was it appeared to me a trailer park, most every site was filled with what appeared to be a permanent resident. Many of the trailers and motorhomes looked like they had not, nor could not be moved. It didn't look to be snowbirds staying there it looked like people who had become homeless and now lived in trailers in an RV park. One trailer looked to be about 15' long, tires were flat on one side so the trailer was leaning and someone lived in it. To me the place looked unsafe, although we were only there 2 days and had no issues it wasn't the weekend getaway camping trip I had planned. If you currently live in a mobile home park with dirt roads and broken down cars you will feel right at home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We had friends come with us in a tent and was able to get a tent site right next to our tag along trailer camper. That was a real plus, even when we showed up without a reservation, the manager insured we would be close together. The campground is a quite place but close to Weeki Wachee State Park, which the kids (and myself and the wife) enjoyed. Planning a return weekend get away trip back and looking forward to it! Rates are the best we have found and they give you discounts if you show up in a group. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Although Cody's caters to RV campers, this campground also allows tent camping and is a great place for it. Your tent site is right beside the pond with a great view and you are allowed a campfire, they even deliver the fire wood right to your site! Clean restrooms and showers. We met the owner who was very nice and made sure that we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The Manager escorted us to our site and give us a quick run down of where everything was located and insured we had his telephone number in case we needed more help. I was really impressed with the personal touch a tent camper receives at this campground and look forward to our next return trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
We stayed at Cody's for a few nights, it was a very pleasant campground, out of the way. A really, back to nature campground, not like the other paved road types. This campground has real character. Plenty of things to do in the area and the campground has boats available for use, fishing, a rec hall with pool table and a castle! We met the mermaid of the park. The park manager told us this was the brain child of the owner. He created it and I must say he did a fine job. There is a real working lighthouse too. Everyone is really friendly and we meet people from Canada and Germany staying here. If you don't want the main stream type of campground, I would recommend Cody's for a truly relaxing and quiet camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Camped here for a weekend get away. Thought I heard dueling banjos as we entered the campground. The first impression was not good. Very old and unfinished buildings, from a proposed mermaid fountain setting on a boat on the shoreline, unfinished; to a bridge not complete. Very old and ratty permanent RV sites. On and on. On the bright side: people were very friendly, and the owner kept saying he was fixing the place up and taking care of the above mentioned. All and all would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$21
The road leading to the campground is dirt and is full of potholes. The campground road themselves are dirt. Old rundown campers fill the campground giving it a run down look. Managers do not manage very well. Load music is played, dogs bark all day, and the police were called to the campground on the 13th in the AM hours. At 4AM music was being played loudly from a campers car close to our camper. We reserved a month, 6 months in advance, left after 14 days, but was refused a refund. The office smelled of cigarettes, and washer/dryers are located outside. We will not stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
For the few nights we stayed at Cody's, everyone made us feel like family. Really helpful! The owner and manager went above and beyond making sure we had an enjoyable stay. The pond site we had give us a lovely few each and every morning and it was nice to see the owner and manager personally taking an interest in the campers, unlike some campgrounds we had been at in the past. Jeff informed us that they are planning a lot of updates coming in the near future to the campground and we will be back to see them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
First, I want to say that we have been workampers at Cody’s RV Park for the winter season. The owner has two or three couples who help him run the park during the winter season, some of which have been coming here for several years. That being said, the owner has encouraged me to make this review as fair and objective as I can. This is a Passport America park which is good for your first night stay. The owner also gives a discount of ½ off the first night to disabled veterans and the first night free to active duty military personnel. Cody’s is located north west of Spring Hill in a quiet, rural setting but is only a short driving distance from shopping, sight-seeing, golf and dining. The owner is making numerous improvements to the park including renovation of the pavilion, building a new storm shelter (just in case), bathroom remodeling and site improvements. Washers and dryers are available along with free WiFi that now covers the entire park. The ice machine is pay-on-the-honor-system. The swimming pool, hot tub and sauna are located behind the rental house at the south west end of the park. Not very convenient for other park residents but it is available. The pavilion has a large screen TV with Direct TV and a computer available for checking your email and surfing the web. The owner is in the process of completely renovating the web site so use the phone when making reservations. Reservations are highly recommended during the “snow-bird” season. Also, it is a good idea to call ahead on your day of arrival to let the staff know what time you will arrive. There are several full-time residents in the park and some very old trailers there also. The owner is removing the old equipment as the residents move and then upgrading the parking site. All-in-all, you will find Cody’s friendly, affordable and accommodating to your needs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$12
This is a Passport America camp (1 night) so longer stay would be $24/Night. It has a heated pool, jacuzzi, complimentary ice, complimentary computer in the pavilion, fax and copy service, 3 acre lake, free kayaking, canoeing, and paddle boats on the lake. Sites were sandy, but reasonably large. We had no trouble leveling. LOTS of shade trees and wonderful tent sites around the lake. Large number of seasonals and some full timers. Birds and nature walks were plentiful. This park is next to a state park and close to the Gulf (though you need to drive there.) Management is making lots of changes and we hope to get back next year. I expect to see significant improvements. Why only a 7? Ad said Wi-Fi but I couldn't hook up; not a lot of direction signs in park to find the pool (it's at the back behind a house!) and generally looked a little shabby when we were there. The web site may not work so you would have to call direct to 708-494-3464 or 352-596-6010. I would stay again for 3-5 days to take in Weeki Wachee, go to the Gulf, and enjoy nature. Not sure I'd want to spend longer. But then, if the improvements come, it may be great. If you are a tenter, this is definitely a great spot to go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com