214765 User submitted reviews online!!
Highbanks Marina & Campresort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (386) 668-4491
CGID663

Highbanks Marina & Campresort

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   9   10   10   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$14
We were here for 5 months and have a very mixed feeling about this park. Many good things such as friendly staff, night and weekend security, large trees, paved roads and very level sites. Also the cable TV was great and way more than basic. The people were friendly except did not welcome snowbirds to participate in activities. Most all park is full time residents,so everything is set up for them. Other RV'ers only stay a short time and not the whole season like we did. The Wi-Fi is good but must pay to use.The rate is the monthly rate then you must add eletric usage.To give you the overall attitude of the park they even charge you 50 cents for a parking sticker. This you're told after you have checked in and they want that in cash. It's not the money; it's the idea of it! The restrooms and showers were cleaned daily, however way overdue for a makeover. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
This is a nice location. The park is on the St. Johns River. It has boats to rent , a launch ramp, and a pretty decent restaurant on the premises. The pool is the largest I've ever seen. It is fully enclosed and nicely maintained. It is an old park, pretty well maintained. It is popular with "snowbirds who return year after year. Most everyone knows everyone else, and they are a friendly bunch. The sites are very tight. They have used every available inch of space, and sites a very close together. There are "super" sites which is what I took on this visit. About the only thing "super" is the price - $650.00 per month. A three month stay gets you a $100.00 discount. The "super" sites are wedged in all over the park. They take a $200.00 "deposit" for electricity which is absurd! This is a gimmick to hold your money for a month or longer and collect the interest. The staff are helpful and friendly. If I do stay here again, I won't take a "super" site. Not worth it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
Wow, what a fun place to stay at. We had a site right on the river that came with a deck. Full hook ups. Only negative was that you have to pay for Internet. They give you 4 free hours. Campgrounds rent pontoon boats at reasonable rates. They also have a company that does Eco tours on the river. The best item was the swamp grill. A restaurant and bar on the grounds, with nightly entertainment. Campgrounds were clean and management very accommodating. We did not use the restrooms or showers. We stayed for two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$65
The park is located on the St Johns River with many shade trees. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. I have a 32 foot motor home and had no problem getting around on the paved roads. The staff is friendly and so are the residents that live in the park. I must say it is the most friendly campground we have ever been to. The staff is also very helpful and lead you to your site to get you parked. Each site has a cement pad and picnic table; however; we had a nice site right on the river over looking a dock and watched the boats go up and down the river. They have six almost new pontoon boats for rent from the store. There is full hookup to include cable TV, but Wi-Fi is going to cost you about $5 a day if you want to connect. The Swamp River Grill located on site is a little pricy but a lot of fun (good music) and the clubhouse were the Pot Luck Dinners are held has a pool table and a lot of planned activities. Going back 3 miles to HWY 17 you will find a lot of eating places and about anything you need. There is a large flea market on Saturday just before DeLand that has the best Mexican food trailers and great prices on the all the stuff you really don’t need. The only draw back is the shower houses are really old, although they are clean and could be modernized. This is a great place to visit and we will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$65
This is mostly a park model campground on the St. John River. There is a small area for RVer's that is all pull thrus/super sites. These sites are toward the back and not on the river, but are very nice. They are about $20 more than the regular sites, but I recommend those for the big rigs. The park is easy to navigate (we were in a 41 ft. motorhome). The people are very friendly and helpful. We found the Swamp River Grill to be a lot of fun (good music) and the clubhouse has a pool table and a lot of planned activities. They have a place to store a boat if you bring one, and boat slips - ask about storage fees. They have an eco-tour boat ride. About 1 hour from Epcot/Disney/Seaworld. About 1/2 hour to several state parks, downtown Orlando, Daytona, and Mt. Dora. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
Clean and secure campground. Outstanding staff keeping grounds immaculate. Plenty of shade near the St. Johns River that is extremely scenic. We will return, this past stay was for 11 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
This is a very nice park on the St. Johns River. The park is very natural and has many shade trees. All roads are paved and it has a nice quiet atmosphere. Each site has a cement pad and picnic table. Laundry facilities are available. There is even a pond for little folks to fish in. There is great access for boating and rentals are available. There is an excellent restaurant in the park called the Swamp House Grill that has a vast menu, entertainment and tiki bar to relax in. Close access to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$45
Nice park. Close to Stetson University. Beautiful Marina. Restaurant. New pull thrus a little tight to maneuver. Nicest park in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
We had an exceptional experience. Friendly staff and very clean, neat park. Quiet and beautiful. Lots of extra activities through the clubhouse. We plan on returning this coming winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$45
The park is located on the wild St Johns River. They have a small store and a great restaurant on premises. The staff is friendly, helpful and courtious. The grounds are beautifully maintained. I have a 42' coach and had no problem manuvering the paved roads. The park is rated 5W by Woodalls and has been for 10 years. The restrooms need updating which the management say is scheduled for this summer. They have six almost new pontoon boats for rent from the store and are only a few miles by boat from Blue Springs where you can observe manatee during the winter and spring months. During my stay I noticed the completion of 8 to 10 new super sites designed to accommodate the largest of RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
This park is strictly for full-time year round park model (small mobile homes) retirees. We found that they do not welcome newcomers at all unless your 80 years old and cranky. This park has sights for travel trailers but you are not welcomed. A well known directory rates this park a 5, I have no idea why. It should be a 2 at best. The pool is not heated and not maintained. Leaves and dirt all around it, nobody ever used it. Maintenance runs a bucket loader by your sight everyday from early morning until 5-6p.m. Skeleton staff for maintenance and they are the retirees that live there. Many of the park's trailers are very old and not maintained by their owners, especially in the back where the undesirable party people live. On weekends the cops were always in the front of the park where the restaurant is, breaking up the bar fights. Because the park is next to the river the mosquitos and what the locals call love bugs are horrible. We did however feel safe there but that was the only good point. I would look elsewhere for a better park that welcomes part time travelers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2003
$30
I grew up about 8 miles from here. Back in the 60's this was just a boat launch. In the 70's it was a small Ma&Pa CG and small marina. When Ma&Pa passed on the big corporations sucked it up. Changed hands 2 or 3 times in the 80's. At present, it is a "park model" mobile home park for snow birds and retirees. They also were the retailer for the park models they allowed in the park. They have a few spaces they rent to RV's and they are along the fence next to the entrance. A couple of trees but no shade. Dirt pads. Besides being a mobile hame park, the big draw is the restuarnt (which is good) and the marina. They rent some boats but they are old. A pontoon boat cruise on the river is rewarding just avoid the weekends. For some reason this area of Florida dosen't seem to have much to offer in the way of RV parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is an old park with narrow roads and narrow spaces. They advertise "Big Rig Access", but there were SEVERAL roads that I simply would not fit on, and did not see a site where I would be able to open 4 slidouts up without cramping my neighbors. They also advertise 50 amp, but that is only for long term campers. The day we arrived, I wanted just a weekend site, and the person behind the counter (after talking at length to 2 of the residents and then carrying on a 10 minute phone conversation) made me feel as if she were doing us a favor by giving us a 50 amp site. "They are only for long term guests" she stated. I remarked that that was not mentioned in any writeups, and she said it was . I suppose "30/50 amp hookups" means if you don't want to stay less than a month, you get 30. Not so in any other CG we've been in. After that, it got worse. This place is only looking for snowbirds and full time residents, and their attitude more than shows it. After this initial hostility from the employee behind the desk, I was not happy, but was still willing to stay anyway. She asked if we'd been there before, and when I told her not, she sighed and said "Well, we are going to have to get ALL this information on you before you do." I looked at the sheet, and in doing so, laid the Happy Camper membership card down on the desk that I had in my hand. I was immediately informed that because I had no advance reservation, they would not accept the card. I mentioned that was not in any info on the place, and was given the "it says here that we reserve the right to change policies at any time" speech. Curious, they had a big rally here, and were giving away sites for $10 a night, I could not see what harm one more would have been. I was told it didn't matter anyway, that the season was from May 1 to Aug 30. I told her all info, including their website was 31 Oct, and that the Happy Camper book (current) made no mention of a season at all. She again told me that had changed. I was also informed that the previous owner had agreed to a "partial" membership in HC. (I called Happy Camper, and they didn't know what a "partial" membership was). They also restrict tents to the summer months only (they don't want tenters upsetting their winter clientele), so whether or not you're allowed will depend on whoever is behind the counter. I finally had enough and walked out and went elsewhere. This is the worst treatment I have ever received in a CG, and we've been RVing for 30 years. This place is interested in only long term commitments, and they make it obvious. From what I witnessed, I would not bring children there either. This appears to be a 55+ park only. Also, they have a restaurant at the entrance that's open to the public, (parking to check in in an RV there was almost impossible) which they advertise heavily. Seems to be a much greater concern that the general public know that they can eat here and that they have beer (their ad has BEER in caps and bold print), than the quality of their campground office staff. Being out where they are, I question what happens there on Friday and Saturday nights as well. I would never go back to that place again, and not recommend it to anyone. They are not as advertised. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com