206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Ben Franklin RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (717) 744-8237
CGID6630

Ben Franklin RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   1   5   3   5   8   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
While visiting kids/grandkids in York, found this to be about the only RV park. Owners (family) are very friendly & accommodating. They are midway to converting this park from a Mobile Homestead to RV orientated. A big project going on but were available able to help us. Stay 7 days, pay for 6 and the really nice part is you will be at the center of so much to do. Gettysburg, Hershy, Baltimore and lots of others. Very easy to get to from I-83 situated on US30. Yes, we will stay here again. Stayed in a 40' Bus Conversion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The campground is being changed from a mobile home park to a RV campground, so you will find some "homes" still there. This is a "no frills" park; it is clean (but cluttered), the roads are paved, and the site easily accommodated our 41 ft RV. The host is pleasant and helpful. There is so much to see in the area, that this is an ideal location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Owner/Mgr. was very helpful getting to out site. Many 5th wheels and a few (3 or 4) full time mobile homes. Very friendly people staying here and a safe park. The roads inside the park are paved and there are many sites without shade for motorhomes. We would stay here again. This park is very close to everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The owner is friendly and the internal hard surface roads are in excellent condition. The RV sites are grass/dirt so when it rained we had mud and water pooled under the RV. The sites are not level and we used many wood blocks to level our 5th Wheel. There are many noises--trucks using there exhaust brakes from a Hwy 30 exit and train whistles each day around 6:00 AM. The utility connections are a distance from the RV requiring two 25 foot water hoses and a 20 and 10 foot sewer hose. The power connection was good. Parking is a problem because of the many vehicles of the semi-permanent residents. There is no dump station so I am not sure how the water and electric only sites deal with their RV tanks. There are no restrooms or showers. Wi-Fi was excellent. We wouldn't stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We were tired and couldn't find anywhere else to stay because we have a 45' motorhome and no one else could accommodate our size, or they were full. This place is transitioning from mobile homes to RV's. There wasn't a lot of swing room because residents had parked their cars on the roads that day. Our site was grass and not properly prepared for heavy coaches, but they were doing us a favor by giving us a site and could only put us on a non-big-rig site, all else was full. We did sink a bit, but the owners brought gravel and it was easy to get out. 95% are currently permanent residents or pipeline workers, and so are long term, but temporary. Easy access from Rt. 30 and easy access to the highways and local attractions. The owners are very friendly and have high hopes of making it a big rig facility. There are no common facilities at this time so you need to be self-contained. Nothing fancy. It seemed to be a safe location. The residents were quiet. Satellite TV and Verizon cell service were good. We stayed 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$32
This is just an overnight if you are in the area. Close to the highway with a lot of road noise. We have a 44 foot MH and we did not fit well in the site they gave us, and the sites are grassy/broken concrete. Be careful at the entrance as there is a considerable dip where the driveway and road meet, our tow bar scraped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is just a place to stay that is decent and safe. The owner is very helpful and gave us several suggestions on activities and places to eat and see. It's a mobile home park converting to RV park. No bathhouse or amenities. You must be self contained. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
They are converting this campground as time permits, to add additional spaces for campers. Rate was cheaper than most in the area. Utilities were good and it is close to everything in the area and only one block off US-30 but no road noise was heard. The hosts were accommodating and trusting and did everything to make our four day stay comfortable. We would stay here again if this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We went through 3 different hookups for 50 amp service. The boxes that we plugged into, kept quitting. Host said he never expererence that before and did not know what was wrong. Clean campground and close to historical spots but would not stay here again due to electric problems, and it has no bathrooms and showers. Too high a price for campground, but the cheapest in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Stayed here for 8 days to see Gettysburg and Hershey, Pa. Had to move once as our rig's electrical panel lights said bad ground. This problem was fix by an electrician next day. Second site was OK. Water off a well, not soft and shower had white buildup. Think it needs a water softener. The manager couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They are slowly converting this mobile home park to an RV park. The operative word is slowly. No amenities at all. Traffic from hwy 30 right outside park: noisy if you have open windows. It's convenient for the area sites. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Stayed here for 8 days to see Gettysburg and Hershey, Pa. Had to move once as our rig's electrical panel lights said bad ground. This problem was fix by an electrician next day. Second site was OK. Water off a well, not soft and shower had white buildup. Think it needs a water softener. The manager couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They are slowly converting this mobile home park to an RV park. The operative word is slowly. No amenities at all. Traffic from hwy 30 right outside park: noisy if you have open windows. It's convenient for the area sites. Would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A bit on the pricey side for what you get. No amenities at all but we knew that before we made reservations. We had pull-thru site #310 which was a bit difficult to get situated on due to location of hill on left and road on right. Currently a mobile home park that the owners are slowly switching to an RV park. Convenient to Route 30 and many activities in the area. A lot of road noise from the highway but we were in one of the lots closest to it. A/C covers most highway sounds. Not a destination park but a base from which to play tourist. Back-in sites on top of hill were nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The owners are as accommodating as anyone you will find. There are no showers or public facilities. There is some highway noise during the day but dies off at night. The local folks told us it is the better of the two in the area. The owners are converting it from a trailer park to an RV park. There are only a few house trailers remaining. There was no picnic table or fire pit. There are no activities for the kids. It was a good place for us to base for our activities in the York area. If we return to that area we will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
The park itself is quite basic. Please note that there are NO bathrooms!! It is pretty easy access to the main roads so not difficult to get to. Our GPS got us a bit messed up and you must be careful or you will get on some pretty desolate roads with low underpasses. That happened to us! The owner was extremely pleasant to deal with and ready to help in any way. We travel with three dogs and had absolutely no problem at all. Good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Nice park for an overnight stay and convenient to York. If traveling to park north on I83 from Baltimore note that Mapquest and others provide directions to exit at PA-216. Make sure to stay on PA-216 to PA-616 rather than continue on PA-216 as directions tell you. Otherwise you reach a bridge that is only 11' 1" high on PA-216. I made the mistake of following the Mapquest directions but luckily a passerby gave us a detour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
This park is a great place to use to see all the local attraction and even Baltimore. However they DO NOT HAVE BATHROOMS. There is also no play ground if you need a place for the kids. If you need a activity planner this is not your place. This is a great place to park as a home base to explore the local area. The price is right, nothing fancy: just good water, electricity, sewer and real large shade trees. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Ben and the staff are working at making this a great RV park. We arrived on Sunday late morning and no one was in the office. When I called Ben on his cell he was able to point me to my site and told us he would check with us when he returned from church. We stayed 3 days and were made to feel like family. The campground is central to both Gettysburg and York and is just a short ride to the Harley Davidson factory. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com