206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (800) 852-0348
CGID6637

Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
409
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   3   6   6   7   3   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Without a doubt the noisiest RV park we have ever come across. Car noise, people noise and braking dog noise beginning before dawn. The park golf carts dragged garbage dumpsters through the park every day, and if you've ever heard that sound you know how obnoxious it is. The gravel sites were fairly level but tight. They call the sites pull throughs, but the gravel roads between rows were far too narrow for large rigs and we had to back out to leave. Utilities were strong. Bathrooms and showers were old but kept clean. The park is located only 1.5 miles from the beautiful Bahia Honda State Park, and 35 miles from Key West. The nearest grocery store is 8 miles south. Our rate was based on RPI membership. This park is far too noisy for us and we will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$78
The best thing about this park is it's location on Ohio Key. Lots of good fishing, kayaking, snorkeling and water fun on the south side of the island. The sewer was being spilled onto the roads while we were there as they were backed up or plugged. This park is like a parking lot, so it doesn't have much of a tropical feel or park like setting. The mail room is open to anyone. There is no security when it comes to parcel or postal deliveries. anyone can help themselves to mail and packages. There seemed to be lots of issues with rules. The park is being allowed to rundown. Docks are sinking and the swimming dock on the channel is falling apart and closed. We have stayed here several times but do not plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$70
The only good thing about this campground is the location. Situated on a small key close to Bahia Honda State Park. This park is huge and has a unkept marina with boat launch. There are obviously many permanent residents who have constructed an assortment of structures, tents, with junk and tacky decorations everywhere. Sewer system was having major issues while we were there so it was difficult to spend time outdoors with the stench. RV sites are small sites with gravel, hardly any grass, vegetation around except for the pots purchased by the campers. The club house should be demolished. Bathrooms in the clubhouse by the pool were deplorable. Pool was the highlight of the park. It is pretty big with lots of chairs, tables. Sometimes it was so crowded that you needed to bring your own chairs. There is a cafe on site by the pool that offered very good food. Burgers, etc, and a few nights a week, they had prime rib, ribs, Service in the cafe was very good. Staff extremely friendly in the cafe as well. Would I go back? Probably not. Encore needs to clean this place up!!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$100
Unfortunately Sunshine Key has gone through a manager every year and the place, owned by Encore, really needs to be cleaned up. We have stayed here the past 4 years and this year it really took a dive. The sites were dirty, needing grass cut, trees trimmed, trash picked up, etc. Sewers backed up several times while we were here. The people in the office are very nice and helpful, but the grounds are a disaster. We picked up at least 150 zip lines and numerous bottle caps on our site, and had to request gravel as the site was muddy. Although they have a new clubhouse, their game room is disgusting. The bathrooms in the game room and off the pool are moldy and cruddy. Several activities, including line dancing, are held in the clubhouse and every time they had to call for someone to come and turn on the air conditioning. The classes are every Tuesday and Thursday, so one would think someone would be assigned the task without asking. They replaced the pool furniture but the heater on the pool doesn't always work and several woman complained. The laundry facility is antiquated and needs replacement. People come from outside the park and use the laundry facilities as there is no other one in the area. Security at the park is non-existent. Saw wind surfers come in several days, park their van in an unoccupied space while everyone else had to pay. There is no night security at all. Last year several people wrote letters to Encore documenting the problems to no avail. Encore is only interested in $$$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Interior roads were somewhat tight. Overall a pretty good park. We were told that a manatee comes into the marina but we were never able to catch it. The park map show a dock that leads to a swimming area but it was blocked off as unsafe. Very nice staff. Rate reflects a great RPI rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Interior roads were somewhat tight and could have been a problem for a larger rig. Our site had good satellite access. Wifi was off and on. Overall a pretty good park.Very nice staff. Rate reflects a great RPI rate. Normally @ $75. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We are a member of Thousand Trails so we try to use encore when ever a TT preserve is not available, but we pulled into this park and pulled right back out. The Full Timers are so dug in that the whole park looks like a mobile home park with fences and junk everywhere on the sites. The sites were so close together that there was NO room for living space. Not our cup of tea. We went back to Marathon and stayed at another park.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$110
This campground has some very nice ocean view sites, but the sea grass that comes close to shore limits swimming. Plus the grass gives off an odor when it decays. There is a marina if you have a boat. The heated pool is great, and has a nice concrete deck with straw umbrella tables and lounge chairs. They advertise WiFi, but like most campgrounds, unless you go to the office it's not very good. We had a site on the water. The sunsets were beautiful. Not a bad campground, but there are better in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$60
Very nice RV park to go to. Sites were a bit close together. However, that is expected in the Keys. Campground was clean and had very nice community areas. Also had a volleyball court but no playground for kids. Pet friendly, great staff, and beautiful views, especially if you can get a waterfront site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$85
This park has tons of potential. But with that said, it is in the Keys. It has a great atmosphere. The campers are friendly enough; can't say that for the staff necessarily. Cable was good and Wi-fi was OK. They seem a little put off with simple questions. We stayed 2 weeks, and even so, the location is perfect, but we will definitely be a little choosy about our site next time. The park overall is cramped, but there are a few good sites that are pushed back and out of the way that would have made for a much nicer stay. The interior sites are close together and the roads are a little narrow. We didn't find much in the way of activities for the average short term camper, but if there for months at a time, there is plenty to do. We have a 40' that navigated alright, but drive was slow on the interior roads. We would recommend and most likely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$82
When we got there the lady at the desk gave my wife directions to our site. Well I should have taken the toad off and went and checked myself. No way was this the right way to go. I made the corner after I put a scratch in my coach. Never the less going to the keys is just breath taking and a blast. Spaces are tight, but there is a lot of energy in this park with music and daily functions. The marina is fun especially if you go and throw chum in the water. Numerous tropical fish will show up. I went snorkeling from the park and saw dolphins, sting rays and fish. I even dragged in a large conch. If you go here I highly recommend going to the No Name Pub. Best fish and chips I have ever had. Plus seeing all the money hanging from the ceilings is something to see. We will be back; can't stay away from the blue water! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$100
The best thing about this campground is the location. There are a few waterfront sites but mostly the sites are lined up inside like a storage lot. Only a few streets are paved. Most are crushed gravel, as are the sites. It rained very hard while we were staying here and there were many huge puddles of water standing in both the road and on some sites. There doesn't appear to be many rules. Some people have set up fences to make their site private; otherwise, there is no privacy. Nice marina. Helpful people. Lots of road noise. We would prefer to stay at the state parks for the ambiance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$90
If you're looking for a site in the FL Keys in the winter this place should work well. The RV park pretty much accepts all types of campers and is big rig friendly. Pool area is quite nice and relaxing. Bath/shower house is very clean. Great little cafe on site. I'm told that during off winter times some folks from the Miami area come in and trash the place, so beware. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$100
Very nice staff. Couldn't be more Helpful. Pool area also very nice. Sites not large by any stretch.What's wrong? Activities. All we heard for the 2 weeks there was about some fire that had occurred months before and as a result they didn't have this or that,really had no organized activity except pickle ball (but only for the long termers) and possibly water aeobics (not daily). This fire business just got real old since there was no evidence of missing structures that would cause the lack of programs. The place was expensive, the restaurant fine but very limited hours and if you didn't fish you better enjoy the sun because that's all there is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$100
This campground has so many possibilities but it needs to be upgraded and some specific rules set up for sites. Although the sites are a good size, many of the sites are set up like compounds, with fencing and tents, multiple trailers and boats on one site. These sites are an eyesore and take away from a park that could be so much better. Although the roads are paved the sites are crushed stone but need replenishment. The pool is very nice but there are loose pavers and the furniture definitely needs replacement. We were told never to come in the summer as the tenants are noisy, unruly and garbage is strewn about. The people are very friendly in the winter months with lots of activities like water aerobics, line dancing, bingo, etc. The landscaping could use some cleaning up, like trimming and large holes filled in on the sites. The small beach area should be expanded and made more attractive. There is a large amount of sea weed on the shores but doubt if constant raking would solve the problem. The WiFi is practically non-existent even though they recently upgraded the system. As stated this could be a fantastic RV park if it had some conformity and the "compounds" were removed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$90
Beautiful place to stay. Not really much for sandy beaches though. Be sure your site has been confirmed and they give you a site number at the time of making your reservation. There is an adequately stocked store on site as well as propane, gas and diesel available. I will stay there again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$104
First, and foremost, the waterfront sites are gorgeous! A little pricey but that's to be expected given the area. The staff and other campers were super-friendly and the location was good. The cons were that although we had a waterfront site, you really couldn't get in the water with all of the seaweed that washes up (not the campgrounds problem). Also, the hookups for the waterfront sites were designed more for Motorhomes. We were in a travel trailer and the camper had to be as far up to the street as we could get just so our connections would reach. The sewage hose still didn't make it so we had to go to the Home Depot in Marathon to purchase an extension. They advertise Wi-Fi; however, it is limited to a certain number of users and with all of the seasonal campers, we were never able to connect. The dog walk area is at the front of the campground close to the highway which can be a problem for some dogs. On a positive note, some previous reviews mentioned loud partying and this was definitely not the case on our visit. Quiet time began at 11:00 PM so I would take our dog out for a walk around 10:00 PM so that if he decided to bark, we wouldn't be too annoying. The only thing we would hear were the cars driving by on the main road. New Years Eve was a little more lively but even then, everything was quiet soon after midnight. It was a very relaxing time and a beautiful campground. The only reason I didn't rate it a perfect 10 was because of the cost, the Wi-Fi and the pet walk area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$7
We spent two weeks here over Christmas and New Year's on site 247. The site was gravel with basically no grass, but our road was paved. We attended the catered Christmas dinner and the food was excellent and well worth the price. The food in the cafe was very good as well. The pool was a good temp and very nice. A free buffet dinner was held on New Year's Eve - we did not attend the music later. We had a special membership so for the 4 weeks we stayed there in 2012, it averaged just $7 a day. My only complaint was that we only had Wi-Fi for one day since it apparently was down and not fixed while we were there. Luckily I had my MiFi with me, but I talked with others who were very upset with the Wi-Fi situation. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
This was like parking in a gravel pit. The sites were very close and difficult to get into or out of. We waited until the folks around us were gone. I'm not sure I could have gotten out with our rig (45 ft). The no-see-ums will eat you alive. They can make it through your screens so close your windows and use the A/C. The weekend we left after the rally the price went up to $90+. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
We stayed here 14 days under our Encore Ready-Set-Go program through Thousand Trails and enjoyed our stay. Our first assigned site was very tight and a tree was blocking our rooftop satellite dish, so after two days I asked to move. The girl in the office gave me a list of available sites and we moved to one that was very roomy and had a nice view of the water. Power and water pressure were good, the pool area was very clean, and the staff were all very friendly. We never use campground bathrooms or showers because we are full timers and prefer the facilities in our motorhome. The entire Keys have a lot of sea grass washed up on every shore from Hurricane Sandy, so yes, there is an unpleasant smell in some areas. But that's not the park's fault, they have no control over Mother Nature. We would and will return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$76
We did not think this park was a good value. The showers are the smallest we've ever encountered in any RV park. My husband couldn't fit in them. The gravel campsites were nothing fancy and the smell from swampy ocean grass was unpleasant at times. I was told I would receive a AAA discount when I arrived if I showed my card, but was tired when I checked in and forgot until the next day. They would not give me the discount. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$65
Not sure if recently posters are disgruntled customers, but their description of Sunshine (an obvious fictitious rate) is so negative it appears to me they are trying to ruin Sunshine's reputation, because they have been asked to leave. We have stayed here for 5 years and can only say it has improved each and every year. The new manager is trying his best to make it a great place to stay and eliminate the "riff raff" that comes down from the Miami area. The staff is friendly and helpful and grounds are clean. It is very pet friendly, and there are lots of activities. We have found it is the best place to stay in Keys. Spaces are roomy and people are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$109
Large pool & campsites, no beach area really; the majority of the campsites appeared to be for permanent residents. Almost every campsite had large auto canopies with everything from freezers, fridges, stereos, etc. outside. On Friday there was blaring music and you couldn't hardly drive through the streets for all of the young kids running around in golf carts. We were going to leave on Saturday, but it was getting so bad we packed up and left out before things got too rowdy. We didn't feel safe to stay there for the weekend, and at the price you have to pay to stay there, it should be better managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$70
AVOID Sunshine Key RV Resort FL -(by Key West) We did complain to Encore and Sunshine Key but neither responded to our comments, disappointing ! By sharing our experience with fellow campers, we hope others benefit and avoid what we considered our worse camping experience in 6 years. Our site was blocked by a pick-up truck and large utility trailer, thoroughly packed with numerous outdoors items. After 15 minutes finally able to get into our site and set up. However, unbelievable chaos and commotion at the next site: dog incessantly barking; canopy erection right on the beach area along with another canvas cover; boat, trailer, car and, truck crammed onto front of site; site filled with chairs, beer, water, wash sinks, large coolers, two large stainless steel fish cleaning utilities etc, etc. So much clutter and noise that we finally decided that in spite of the very nice waterfront view—we had to move. Next site, while still waterfront, was very narrow; view was not as nice; and closer to the bridge traffic noise. Yet, this appeared better than the last situation. However about 10 pm at the site next to us a large family parked their pick up and boat then proceeded to have a meal while listening to extremely loud bass music. Early the next morning, we were awakened by the boisterous campers. Moreover during the night they had erected a large tent to our immediate right and about 4 feet onto our narrow site (their site was wider than ours). Yet not only was our site infringed upon but, these campers placed their boat onto an empty site on the opposite side. After feeding the seagulls, thankfully the group of 5 went boating, leaving us to contend with seagulls everywhere. Upon returning the campers’ proceeded to use the picnic table to filet about 12 fish- needless to say the seagulls and smell were offensive. Then early evening the music was blasting such that we finally broke the silence to request the music be turned down. However that was short lived as the camp site across the street began blasting their music (heard inside the RV over the TV). We politely requested this music be turned down. Next the neighboring campers placed a large nail into a palm tree and hung two very large florescent lights that hung down the palm tree. Yet the final insult was when the tent door was held up and one of the younger girls utilized the ground as a restroom. Unfortunately these were not the only negative experiences surrounding the Sunshine Key RV Resort. Overall there was no enforcement or adherence too many of the rules as noted below: • Numerous campers drinking while driving golf carts repeatedly around the park. We have no issue with drinking yet suggest that driving a golf cart and drinking can be dangerous with so many children around. • Many situations of boats, trailers along with jet skies crammed onto one site; or on occasion the trailer or boat spilling over onto neighboring site. Often three vehicles plus boats and trailers. • At least 30% of the sites had a refrigerator, or freezer, or sink or some combination of these items. While most were within covered cabanas, these appliances were still outside the camping unit and usually unsightly. And many kitchen appliances were not even within cabanas. • Many sites had large stereos and speakers blasting the music that was clearly audible 6 or 7 sites away. The noise level at some sites rivaled a night time bar strip. • The extreme clutter at the majority of sites was ludicrous. Many sites had no visible land to see – much less any natural beauty. A few sites even blocked the entire front of the sites with trailers, cabanas, or fences. This campground failed to meet any expectations as outlined within the brochures, web site or appearance standards. If we had known the real facts about this campground we would never had booked a stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$64
We stayed at Sunshine Key in January, and again April 2012. January it was full of snowbirds. They were nice and quiet, lots of activities, beautiful weather and generally only 2 people per site. We LOVED it. We came back late March, 2012 and on April 6th, they started allowing the summer residents to "move in." This consists of family compounds/fortresses with many, many people per site. I've seen sites with 12-20 people per site. We are seeing sites with 4 tents, 4 vehicles, 3-4 golf carts and a utility trailer or two. We saw people moving in a full size stove, washing machine, and several large side by side refrigerators. Yes...I'm serious! Most of these appliances will be hidden from view behind their fortresses, but they are definitely "moving in." There is loud music playing at most of these "compounds", but in fairness I did see a park employee going around to some of the worst offenders...and the music was turned off. It stayed off all night long...surprisingly. These summer residents are only allowed here Friday-Saturday and Sunday, so Monday-Thursday the park will be quiet again. We have heard their is a new manager and he is trying to enforce some rules, but so far there are (in my opinion) too many people/vehicles/golf carts, per campsite. We were concerned that we would be blocked in once more summer residents moved in, so we had to change campsites. BUT...it is still a beautiful campground on a beautiful island. We will be back, but now during the "summer season" which is until mid October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$94
Clean park. Good location. Has spots on the ocean but really there isn't any "beach" to speak of. The keys are not known for their beaches. Beautiful pool area that has cute little tiki huts, band on the weekend and a cafe. I was impressed on the cleanliness and how beautiful it was there. Good electricity without an fluctuations in power. Our site was long enough for a 45 ft rig. It was family friendly also. Great pier nearby and a Park area within biking distance to a beach. We would Stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
This is the 5th year we have camped for the winter months. This year was by far the best as far as improvements in the park and over all maintenance. The new management was terrific and his staff was always friendly and helpful. The resort provides a recreational director over the fall/winter months. She arranges for a wide variety of activities for those staying in the park. Our main negative comment should be addressed to Encore (the parent company of SSK). We understand that the Keys is a very desirable area during the winter months, but as the resort is booked mainly by seniors in the winter, it would be extremely helpful to our finances if they could see fit to lower their long term rates. Also, the resort does not own the laundry facilities, but this is the one area we all complain about. Wish something could be done to improve the service of their equipment. Otherwise I would recommend this resort to anyone to stay at, for how ever long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$90
Large campground with a lot of sites. The sites are packed sand and rock. Most of the interior roads are paved. Wi-Fi was fairly fast but the cable channels were limited. If you have a boat they have nice dock area. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Planning to go back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$78
We were very pleased with our stay here. We spent two weeks at the resort. Most of the snowbirders who stay the whole winter have boats and are fishermen & it is a great place for that. We stayed in our Class C and we really enjoyed having delicious meals at the cafe right in the park. You definitely need a car, although there is bus service just outside the gate. It is 38 miles from Key West. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The laundromat was not good because all but two of the dryers were out of order on March 10. Someone outside the park runs it and apparently does not maintain it very well. The park is very pet friendly. We would recommend it during the winter months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$11
Our rate was due to a camping membership purchased at the Tampa RV show. Sites are tight from row to row, but not side by side. Lots of different activities, one of the most beautiful pools we have ever seen with tiki huts, marina next door. Tight turning in the park for big rigs but we did OK (40 ft.). Tight turns due to extra owners' tow vehicles outside their rigs. On-site cafe with decent food. Shuttle bus outside the park to get to Key West. Truly a vacation in paradise! No bugs to speak of, and just geckos running around. Visit Sunset Grille close by for great food and sunset watching! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$57
This is our second year visiting Sunshine Key RV Resort and we highly recommend it. The staff is so helpful and friendly. They try to accommodate special request and continue to help you until you are satisfied with your location or special request (i.e., close to the restrooms). We arrived just before Valentine's Day and wanted to attend the "sold out" dinner dance. We had several people work towards honoring the request and were offered tickets in time to attend. The Resort is perfectly located -- far enough away to not be in the Key West traffic, but close enough to go everyday if you want to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$70
The location of the park is approx 39 miles from Key West. It takes about an hour to drive down. The drive is easy. The park's pool is nice, but it closes at dark, just when we'd enjoy going. Since there is almost no shade in the park, and with fair children, it's nicer to go in the evening. However, they close it at dusk. The park does have some beachfront areas, but nothing that would keep the kids occupied, other than fishing, if that's your thing. We would enjoy it, but don't carry poles, etc., and renting the equipment would be expensive, and the waterfront they do have is not really that nice. We got the $399 per week deal for one week, and there's three days left of that week and we'd leave if it wasn't already paid for. In fact, we had two weeks planned and I cancelled the second week today. All in all, it's not a terrible park if you're older and just want to hang out, play bingo (we did this Thursday, and it was fun, but very hot: the a/c was broken). The people really were nice, though. However, for kids, it's boring, and I can't justify paying this price, when I could stay in another park much cheaper and have much more to do. I definitely wouldn't recommend this for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$60
This is our favorite RV Park in the Keys and always have a great time with all the friendly people that stay at the park. There are always many activities on the schedule and my hat goes off to the recreational director who is always 100% involved with the activities and the campers. She is very friendly and always helpful. I would also say that the Current manager, is also very helpful and available if any issues arise. He seems to be very involved with the Park and campers concerns if any. The poolside area is very attractive and there is usually "great" entertainment poolside weekly. Overall this is a very fun place to stay and my wife and I look forward to our stay here next January. Counting the days!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$55
Great park and pet friendly. They even have a beach access for dogs so they can go for a swim. Sites are large. Park is quiet. People very friendly and the restaurant serves breakfast and lunch. Dinner on weekend. Small with picnic style eating outside. I am not sure if $55 is what we paid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$70
This is our second trip to this park and although they have cleaned up the "shanty town" appearance in some areas, there remains quite a bit of unsightly sites. Wi-Fi is available, but it is $20 a month. We contacted Sunshine in August and confirmed two sites together, specific numbers. When we arrived someone was in our spaces. They did accommodate us with other sites, but had we decided not to accept those sites we would have had to been in sites not near each other. This was quite annoying considering we had written confirmation of those sites. The desk/reception area could use some customer relations and better knowledge of the park. We arrived late in the afternoon but were not given the boxes to hook into cable. We had to go back to desk next day and ask for the boxes. For one of us the box didn't work and we were told to call a telephone number to talk to cable company. Beach areas still unsightly with seaweed. Hopefully ENCORE will continue to upgrade the park itself and provide more knowledgeable help in the office. Overall it is a nice park, decent space between RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$97
Park was okay, but pricey, the only thing that justified the price was the location. Still has some compounds; one even had a full sized side by side refrigerator! Many empty sites. I guess it still has a reputation for noise. We left before the week-end crowd showed up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$97
We are back for our 3 month stay over the winter. The park is under new management and what a difference from other years ~ trees are trimmed, roads repaired, areas repainted all so much better. The laundry room is even cleaner, but some of the machines still need better care. It would be nice if they could rake the sea grass on the beach area. But all in all this is a great place to stay for the winter. Congrats to the new management on cleaning up the park and removing many of the Cuban "compounds" meaning much of the mess and noise is now gone, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
The $15 dollar rate reflects a $10 per night rate plus $5 per day electricity, this was a special rate of $299 per month. The park is now under new management and seems to be "coming back" from where it was. Lots of work being done, trees trimmed, lots leveled, potholes filled etc. We stayed a month in a 40 footer and loved it. It is a little tight in some spots getting in and out with the rig. We WILL go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This park has a wonderful location. The staff was friendly and the pool was awesome. We only stayed 2 nights because we had a schedule. The scenery and location is worth the trip We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$65
If you've ever had the opportunity to park your RV in an ocean front site in the Florida Keys, you will understand how wonderful this was. Lot's of those who camp here are snowbirds who return year after year. The price can be a little steep during high season if you're on a budget but we considered this a worthwhile splurge. The only downside to having an oceanfront site here are the number of people who walk through your site to get to the ocean. We even had people use our lounge chairs and another camper who let their kids play in our site while the adults partied. Nothing like walking outside with an armload and tripping over a toy dump truck to remind you that you're not at home. That said, ocean watching in the Keys is pure heaven. In the course of one day, you can watch it go from tranquil turquoise to angry gray. Another kick driving to this park is seeing the sections of the old Seven Mile Bridge they blew up in the movie True Lies. The park is convenient to Key West or a great location on its own. If you make the trip to Key West and are looking for something a little different to do, take the time to visit the incredible Butterfly Conservatory. It was so beautiful, we went twice. Once on our own and once when our friends from Fort Myers drove down to see Sunshine Key and Key West after listening to our comments about the area. Many of those who come every year bring boats and it's easy to see why. Our neighbors went out almost daily in their small motorized raft to explore the smaller islands in the area. They had a gorgeous collection of Queen conch they had collected that season. Remember, it's illegal to take live conch so confine your collecting to dead specimens. Sunshine Key also honors Camp Club USA outside high season if you're looking for a budget Keys vacation. I'd return again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$85
This park was overall very good but I have several complaints. The laundry was disgraceful, dirty and very run down. I went into Big Pine to use the laundry in the Winn Dixie Plaza. Also, they have no store first night I drove into Big Pine to get bread 15 miles round trip. I don't agree with the other posters about the noise on weekends. The only weekend I experienced increased noise was on Presidents weekend. And I really didn't think it was that bad. There were several compounds around where they had furniture and appliances outside behind tarps but it didn't bother me. Spoke with several people that said in April the Cubans start coming down and it gets really bad then. We would definitely go back and hopefully they clean up the laundry and open a store! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$83
We stayed here for two weeks and really like the central location to Key West and the areas north. The sites have plenty of room for your outside living. It is very pet-friendly which was important to us. People and staff were friendly and helpful. Pool is salt generated which doesn't require many chemicals. There is bay and ocean access and a marina/dock area for fishing. There are new Key West style parkside models for short or long term rental. Only downside was the beach areas were heavily covered with sea grass, which needs to be raked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$83
We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed it very much. People and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The park is situated between the ocean and bay and has a marina with docks available. The park is very pet-friendly which was important to us. Pool is salt generated so it does not use a lot of chemicals. There are cute 1-2 bedroom Key West colored park side models available for renting. The Wi-Fi is extra ($14 a week). The only downside was the beach areas needed the sea grass raked up. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$100
This has been a nice place for us to stay over the wintertime. But this is becoming a second home for all the Cubans that come for the weekends to their "shanty" style area. They not only set up their compound, but have outdoor sofas, large tents, bright lights, outdoor plumbing, kids racing all over the streets and the beach areas in their golf carts with no regard to anyone else and of course very loud music day and night. They are allowed to ruin what has been a wonderful campground. By not following any of the rules in the park, like no fishing in the marina. Not sure it is worth the stay anymore? On the weekend nail everything down or it will disappear and go home with the Cubans. Forget coming in the summer, it just keeps getting worse! Something truly needs to be done about this situation before Encore looses all their snowbirds that are currently paying top dollar to stay here in the winter. Encore lost about 100 RV people three years ago now after 2010-2011 they will lose a 100 more. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$100
This has been a wonderful place for us to stay for over the wintertime: lots to do. But this is becoming a second home for all the Cubans that come for the weekends to their "shanty" style area. They not only set up their trailer, but have outdoor sofas, large tents, bright lights, outdoor plumbing, kids racing all over the streets and the beach areas in their golf carts with no regard to anyone else and of course very loud music day and night. They are allowed to ruin what has been a wonderful campground. Not sure it is worth the stay any more?? Forget coming in the summer, it just keeps getting worse! Something truly needs to be done about this situation before Encore looses all their snowbirds that are currently paying top dollar to stay here in the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$67
This park is a nice park if you like coral. there is no grass in this park. They have a lot of activities during the winter. The only problem is on the weekends when the Cubans from Miami come down. They talk loud and turn their music up. I guess they think there the only ones here. They have setups with campers, golf carts, boats,Large covered areas with bar's and chairs and couches inside. It looks like tent city. They also bring other family's with, and park on other peoples sites. And also on empty sites. It ends up being nice and quiet Sunday evening when they leave. Then it starts again the next Friday night when they come back. Glad we don't stay during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$23
This is a terrific casual park! The pool is spectacular (recently redone) of good size, heated and has plenty of tables, chairs and umbrellas. The fishing is definitely a major draw here. Although we didn't fish while here, we did taste some of the catch and it was wonderful! The sites are all gravel but the location to Marathon (15 min) and Key West (40 min) are a plus. The staff is friendly for the most part as are the guests. There is a cafe on site, which we didn't eat at, but the smells were very tempting. This is our second year here and we will continue to come back. Our fantastic rate is based on an Encore membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$67
It is a very good and friendly park during the snowbird months. Stay away in the summer, read older comments. There is a clean heated pool and other activities are offered. The sites are wide and people have easy ups and tents on them and their cars and trucks encroach on the roads so leaving with your coach is tricky. We backed out of our pull through site because of a tree and a truck whose owner would have moved if we had asked but the tree had a very low limb. There is a cafe and marina on site. This park is on the bayside but that wasn't offered in this review form. Location is 35 miles from Key West. We enjoyed our week here and may return in the future.The people are very friendly and called us by name and asked us to return. Some of the buildings need to be refurbished and they need bathhouses poolside but we understand that is in future plans. Water pressure and electric is good even when it is hot and everyone is using their air. Our daily price indicates the Thousand Trails rate and daily may be higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$65
We just returned from spending 3 nights at Encore Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina. I'm not sure where to start, so I'll start with the name, this is by far NOT a resort! On check-in we found that the Sundry shop is actually a gas station next door that was under construction and would be closed during our stay. We were told that we would be on site 309, but the attendant recommended site 310 as being more "shaded". When we finally got to our site it turned out that a trailer could not fit on site 309 due to a tree growing over the site. In regards to site 310, I'm not sure what she meant by more shade as there was no real shade to speak of. It appears that the majority of the sites are for permanent resident trailers for the weekend Miami crowd. The campground in general along with the sites are poorly maintained. Trash was found on each site (beer bottles, empty food containers, left over bones from someone's dinner, plastic cups,etc). A good percentage of the sites power source/cable hook up/water are either tilting to the side, or broken open. On Friday and Saturday night the weekend residents return competing to see who can play the loudest Latin music. Young people could be found darting all over the campground in golf carts playing loud Latin music also. You can just imagine trying to sleep or take in a nice sunset while music is competing all over the campground. In speaking with other RV'ers at the campground as well as other campgrounds nearby all indicated that they also experienced this type of behavior and would not return to Encore Sunshine Key RV Resort & Marina. It appears that the "long term" residents treat this as their second home with refrigerators, freezers, boats, fences, kids toys all over their sites. I would not recommend this campground to anyone (including my enemies). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
I would like to list all the things we enjoyed about the park and then list the items that we felt need improvement. Pros: Good location to area entertainment/activities, nice spacious sites, good view of ocean, nice friendly staff, 50amp availability, speedy check-in. Cons: The major con is the lack of enforcablity of the parks rules. This created weekend campers to allow their dogs to roam freely, one dog (boxer) rushed towards a young child, then still loose, rushed towards a woman walking causing her to become shaken. The owners of the dog taunted her because she yelled at them about the dog. The weekenders constantly had loud music at all different campsites, more than 2 vehicles parked in one campsite, it looked like "shanty town" with all the canvas tents that were set up along the trailers, RVs. Multiple families at some sites with vehicles parked at empty sites. Weekenders not considerate of other campers, they would walk right through our patio area, even when we were outside. We could not let our small dogs outside in their pen for fear of the loose dogs in the park and the owners not caring for them. Loud music, bad language and very loud voices, not picking up after their pets. I had to scoop up because they would walk their dogs and then leave the waste. Nasty, bags of trash left at the site after they left: not taking them to the dumpster! There were several times on our walk in the evening that people would be walking with their dogs unleashed, inconsiderate! No fishing signs ignored and I saw staff just drive by and not say anything to them. We looked forward to the weekdays because we knew it would be a different story. We would come back but would probably request a different area to park, or come when it is not open to the public. If the staff would enforce their rules and make rounds to enforce them I think a lot of this would be eliminated. We camped under a Readycampgo card, the price was right but I would never paid regular price for what we got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$99
First of all the rate was $144 per night, but the form I filled in would only allow two digits so I put 99. Large number of permanent sites and most were very close together. Our site was large and direct waterfront but littered with beer caps and bits of junk. Not well maintained at all. Had to pay for Wi-fi, and it was terrible. The staff in the office were rude and unfriendly, not what you expect for that price. The beach was a mountain of sea weeds and dead fish and unusable. I don't know why they wouldn't clean them up. Nothing to do in the area other than driving to Key West. Good thing we only had to stay two nights. We will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$65
My husband and I have spent the past few winters in Sunshine Key RV Resort from January through April. This has been a fabulous experience, not only for us but for many other snowbirds than spend the winters in this park. They have made many improvements to the park this past year and are continuing to make other changes over the spring and summer. They always have wonderful activities planned for all those staying in the park. The staff is always very accommodating to our needs. Our only complaint is the laundry facilities that is leased to a private party. They do not always maintain their equipment as well as they should. If you are thinking about staying at the resort during the winter, we are sure you will enjoy your stay as much as the rest of the retired guests do. There is always families coming and going, so not just seniors stay here in the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$55
This park was a slice of heaven. Location was the key feature here, with our site being one row from the water. The fact we could walk to the pier and snorkel from there was a huge plus. Our site was gorgeous and the widest we've ever encountered at a resort. The neighbors were some of the friendliest we've encountered too. They made a point to welcome us and were friendly the entire visit. Staff was good. The pool was beautiful. Everything about our visit was just wonderful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$56
I just finished hosting a large week long motor coach rally. The price paid represents the rack rate. The rally attendees paid less. This resort was in great shape. Trees trimed, restrooms and showers were very clean (several times a day). Recent improvements to the roads and pool are completed. The kamper klub house and associated facilities were all in great shape and worked as advertised. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. There were a few minor problems and resort staff was on site within 5 minutes to remedy the situation. The rally was held here because this is the only place we camp, when coming to the Keys. We have been coming here since 2005. There is plenty to do both North and South of the resort. I've even left the coach here for a couple of days as business matters needed to be taken care of at home base. We have never had any problems with other guests, staff or the facility. We received the same service as an individual as we did as a rally host. We will continue to return to this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$56
We stayed here about 8 years ago in the summer and it was wonderful, everything we had hoped for and more. But the last time we were back it was horrible. Believe all you've read about it being a filthy shanty town! Not a family place at all unless your idea of family time is music blaring till all hours of the night, kids and dogs running wild. The location is fantastic, but the lack of enforcing rules makes it an unsafe and unpleasant environment. They should raise the rates and fire the current staff to ensure the place is enjoyable We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
This is another Encore Resort Park and we were disappointed once again. We will never go to another Encore Park again. This is basically a Cuban tent city. Large families living permanently in this park in small travel trailers or multiple tents on one site. Loud music all the time. Partying all night day and night long. Lots of golf carts with kids driving them. We were driving our vehicle at 15 MPH (as posted in the park) and they were passing us, music blaring, talking on cell phones, etc. Tried to use the pool but there were so many full timers there we couldn't use as much as we wanted to. Lots of drinking and partying in the pool area and unsupervised children. Pool area updated but pool itself very old, cracked and unclean throughout. Sites are littered with garbage. Our site was the local dog walking site. No one picked up after their pets. Talked to Sheriff patrolling and he said they always have to do extra patrols in the campground. Lots of gang tagging and men with gang tatooes. Tent sites are actual RV sites so ground too hard to use stakes for tents. Would never go back to this or any other Encore Park again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$75
This park reminded me of the refugee tent camps set up along Interstate 95 in Miami in 1980. To say it was a dump would be an understatement and being too nice. The permanent campers had every type of dumpy building add on, tacky awnings of every weird shape and color, and exposed sewers. The waterfront sites where primarily only occupied by Cubans associated with the park or their families having several dumpy looking tents set up where normally one family would camp. These full time residents sped through the park on golf carts ignoring safety and rules. The trash was plentiful, the staff rude, and the pool down right disgusting. No attention was given at all to any rules or safety. There was a huge Latin pool party where most all attendees were drinking beer from glass bottles inside the pool. Couples were making out and getting lewd in full view of children. The park was full of potholes, mud holes, and debris. For a whopping $75 a night this place was a tremendous dump. The only real thing this park has going for it was location. Past that, RUN! It’s only a matter of time before someone gets hurt here. I feel sorry for their insurance company, if there is one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$75
We stayed here in an RV on a last minute trip to the Keys for 4 days. The $75 a night was very expensive for this Cuban hobo camp. Yep, you heard me right: hobo camp doesn't describe it enough. Junk semi-perms, outdoor pluming and trashy camp sites abound. The staff (mostly Cuban) appeared to own, operate and occupy the choice water front sites. They were friendly, but oddly rude as they ran you down with their electric golf carts. They posted “NO TRESPASSING SIGNS” at the entrance to their sites even though the beach (no real beach exists) access ran between them. Each of these large choice water front sites contained a trailer and about 3-5 tents housing multiple families generating noise all night long. Our slip was directly across from a group of these characters, and I was in amazement at how these pseudo mob wannabes presented themselves and carried on as if they were the center of the universe. The pool needed a paint job and a good cleaning. There was trash everywhere. No attention was paid to cleanliness at all. Dogs were using the pool grounds as a bathroom which was disgusting. There was a huge Cuban pool party the weekend we were here (I expect every weekend) and most everyone was drinking beer from glass bottles in and around the pool. “NO GLASS” signs were posted which they all ignored. Loud music poured from the pool area and lewd and lascivious behavior was everywhere. To be honest I could go on and on for hours about how ridiculous this place is, but I will just say: if you are interested in a quality family camping experience, you may want to look elsewhere. Happy camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
We were so elated to find such a jewel of a campground in the Keys! First of all, I have never been in cleaner restrooms in all of my camping experience! The campground is located on a beautiful island at the end of the 7 mile bridge. It has a very nice pool and is right on the ocean with a fabulous beach for swimming! They also have their own marina - which is perfect if you own a boat. There are a lot of sites at this campground and I was pleasantly surprised every night to find that Quiet Hours were strictly enforced! We will be planning yearly visits to this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$75
The location is superb although there is not a nice big beach at the campground. The campground was clean and well maintained except for the pool which looked like they forgot to paint and clean it. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our biggest complaints is they allow more than one family per campsite. Because the waterfront (ocean) campsites are so large, tenter's tend to camp there and it was not unusual seeing 3-5 tents and several families on one campsite. For those of us who wanted an oceanfront and were in a big rig, this was somewhat bothersome. The other sites off the water were gravel and much smaller. There were several 'permanent' residents and if you want to camp but don't have the 'doings' the campground will rent trailers. The location is right off the main road so there is road noise, I guess to be expected in the Keys. We will probably find somewhere else to camp in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$
Just a fabulous campground! We loved the gravel, clean RV sites. People are very friendly at office and gate. Restrooms clean, showers tiny though, only drawback that we found. We loved the small dock where you could just go sit and look out at water, or watch a sunset. Good biking for everyone around campground. This place is a gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$89
We saw some pretty spectacular sunsets here. We did not stay on the ocean, but a couple of rows behind. We would stay here again. Friendly people and close to a lot of good restaurants. We had our motorcycles with us, so we drove to Key West a couple of times and had a great time. My husband went fishing for dolphin, and we grilled it at our campsite. Wonderful! The only complaint was they were working on the laundry room, and we had to come back and finish our laundry a couple of hours later. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$83
Everything was great. Clean, spaces are wide. People are friendly. Great place if you have a boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$99
A very nice park with all the amenities. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is the gravel roads were a little rough. The staff were excellent and every thing we needed was there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$59
I agree that this park is very cliquey. It is also very junky appearing because there are no rules regarding tents, junk, maintenance on boats. Some people have really done nice jobs with there space, many others look like hobo camps. Down here in the Keys and at the rates they charge, we expected a resort campground and we paid a special rate through Encore. I'd say this was no more than a fish camp with some amenities added. There is no use able beach for swimming. General maintenance is needed badly as many of the power and phone/cable post have been knocked over. The park in general looks run down. The food at the on property restaurant was reasonable and good. We would probably look elsewhere if we were to come to the Keys again although it would do in a pinch. We have stayed at private parks at 60% of this special rate we got here and the park was twice as nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$99
This is a large park with crowded campsites. Due to mechanical problems with our RV, we arrived late, intending to tent camp. We explained this to the attendant upon check-in, but only found out when trying to set up the tent that it would not be possible for us to drive stakes into the hard coral ground surface. We ultimately spent the night on the seats of our substitute Suburban. We returned to check-in to request advise on local restaurants, but were only able to get information on the nearest gas station from the attendant. The bathhouses had inadequately sized showers, but were clean. We did not use any other facilities. The rate charged was $112 per night, too high to fit into the Nightly Rate blank. We do not plan to visit this site again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$57
The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We got in a day early and were not charged for extra night. We are extending our stay here a couple of extra days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2008
$99
Dirtiest filthiest, most disgusting campground on the planet. The staff is the fakest, rudest, most criminal I have ever had the discomfort of dealing with. They should be ashamed of themselves. The staff parties all night. I paid one month in advance. Several nights I was kept up all night by people driving in and not paying. The staff said that there is noting they can do about that. The staff themselves are mostly Cuban (so they don't speak English). On several occasions we braved the water and the staff Seadooed right next to us and our children. It was SCARY! The staff had fishing expeditions just off shore with nets all night long. My family along with several other camping families were hospitalized with ailments linked with water contamination there. The campground refused to add an elbow and cap to the sewage, so we bought our own. We were overcharged $24.00. Really outrageous that they refused to give us back the over payment. They took it off of our credit card. They charged us more than the discounted rate we agreed to before we saw the place. They charged more than their full rate. There was no sign to find the place and no warning from the staff that there was no site. When we first arrived we faced a flooded campground. Our spot was completely under deep water. It was so terrible that most campers had left the campground. They did not offer a refund. They offered us a partially flooded spot instead, and that we would move several times during the month. It was the worst experience of our full timing lives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$99
Really beautiful. We had a great time. The place is a bit cliquey and newbies were snubbed by the regulars. They all think they are rich and better than anyone else. It was amusing. The staff was nice and we didn't care about the neighbors. We were there to enjoy the Keys and the ocean not to make friends with the neighbors. Key West was a 40 minute drive and there are many little shops and restaurants in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$75
Nice resort but need some work. Some of the roads had big pot holes that filled with water after a rain. The little building that housed the restaurant was almost rotted apart. The staff was very nice and eager to help. I would return for another stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$65
We were terribly disappointed on our trip to this campground. We had been here before and loved it but this trip was a nightmare. Office was torn apart and unfinished (yes, I know they can't help that) but their attitude in the office seem to match the look. We had made reservations over the Internet and were given a price and confirmation. When we got here, we went in and the office woman told us our site number and that was it. I said can we have a map so we can find it? We were not given a receipt or any paperwork. Driving to our site, we were shocked to see all the golf carts with kids driving and adults driving around on golf carts with open beer bottles hooting and hollering. Our site would have been big enough but person next to us took 5 feet of our site for their motorhome, canopy, boat, and 2 trucks. Spanish music was blaring from 4 different sites so we were surrounded with noise. One man across the street called us over and told us that it is like this every weekend all summer. He said you missed the fireworks last night. More than half of the campground was filled with what appeared to be gypsies: large refrigerator, freezers, and dog houses in most of these sites. No dog waste pick up from any of them, no donuts on their sewer hook up, and the noise was unbearable. Another couple comes over and says they have been coming here for years but never again. Each "gypsy" style campsite has a canopy next to their coach or trailer with privacy mesh wrapped around it. They had their sofas outside and most sites had 10 to 20 people sitting around drinking. We went to the office to to get a receipt and complain, and the office woman said that these people come every summer and are guests just as we are. I told her that this will be our last trip to this "Resort" and her answer was: "Well, goodbye." When we looked at our receipt, we saw where they added $3 per day for "using the resort." As our one neighbor stated, none of us that play by the rules can use any of the resort facilities due to the misuse of their other "guests." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$65
Not a lot of choices in the Keys for reasonably priced Campsites as the State Parks are booked months ahead of time. We arrived here on the first day of the 'low season' and paid 65.00 a night for a site that was 125.00 the previous night. The sites are not paved and the interior roads were full of potholes & flooded on the 2 days it rained. The restrooms are small and in need of some updating as is the very small pool. The laundry room was adequate but we were disappointed that the clubhouse & book exchange were already locked up. The good news is that this campground is located right on the water - Gulf on one side, Atlantic on the other. However there is no place to swim. They do have a Marina & docks where you can leave your boat for the season (for a fee). This campground is located right at the southern end of the famous 7 mile bridge ( out of Marathon ) and it took us about 1 hour to drive to Key West. If we ever return to the Keys I don't think we would stay here, we would try for the State Parks or a campground closer to Key West or Key Largo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$45
Very nice park, good staff. Excellent waterfront tent sites, beautiful sunset. Make reservations early! We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com