214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Juniper Lake RV Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (850) 892-3445
CGID664

Juniper Lake RV Campground

Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   7   10   8   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
The park was simple. We stayed here for an overnight using Passport America. It is about 6 miles north of the Interstate and not difficult to find. The owner was waiting for us when we arrived and we paid for the evening at our campsite. The place is quiet, but as others have stated, there are not a lot of extras here. The park is on a lake, but we did not get to enjoy it due to time limitations. One disappointment was the area in general seems to be a bit run down. It could be really nice. I did notice a few ants running around my hose connections at my RV when I was loading to leave, but a simple ant trap eliminated them over the next day. The WiFi and cable were good. I would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
Quiet, simple, birds, flowers, and the lake. If you want to be entertained, this isn't the place for you. If you want quiet beauty in a country setting, this is. Personnel is wonderful! We sprayed the tires for sugar ants (country, remember?), and had no problems. Spent the day watching and listening. The fireflies made the night complete; the smell of flowers filled the air. We will be back again - our favorite spot on I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We stayed here when working at Eglin AFB. There were both positives and negatives. On the positive side, one of the owners met us at the park entrance and showed us to our site. She was helpful in making sure we knew where everything was located and we had full 50 amp hookups. The site was fairly level and the view of the lake was beautiful. Owner lady was very friendly and we enjoyed watching the turtles being fed one evening. We felt welcome with our dogs who she seemed to take a liking to. The park was quiet and peaceful. On the downside, only cash and check are taken for payment. We did NOT know this and faced a nearly $110 cash payment upon arrival as we do not travel with checks. The restroom floor was covered with indoor/outdoor green carpet. The toilet was clean but the shower was fairly run-down. An upgrade on the restrooms would definitely be a big plus for this location. There isn't much shopping very close so if supplies are needed it is best to pick them up en route to the site. We also faced a minor ant infestation on the second day. We found a nest near the sewer hookup and were able to take care of the problem by taking out the nest and spraying inside the RV. Not a very pleasant part of the trip, but overall not a huge deal. I would probably try to find another site closer to where we were working and a little less "woodsy" next time around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
We happened upon this campground only because our first choice didn't answer the phone. But we were not disappointed. To best describe it, it reminded me of my days of a kid in upstate NY (rough-sawn out buildings). It is hard to believe this is in Florida. The lake has large trees surrounding it. Has a nice back-woodsy kind of smell to it. The owners were real nice and welcoming. They invited us down to the dock along the lake for coffee in the morning. The 20 sites are level but the horseshoe-shaped road leading in and out is a bit pitched somewhat (we had the first easy in/out spot). Although there were some fifth wheel and trailers present which says it can't be too difficult. Check out the huge fish and turtles right off the dock. Great spot for an over night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
This was a very nice stay. The staff was excellent. We arrived a little late, the host/owner meet us at the entrance, guided us to our site. Invited us for coffee at the community dock, which was overlooking the lake. WOW beautiful quiet place, nice people, good level sites. If you're within in an hour of stopping for the day this is a good place to come and well worth the effort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Owners very friendly and helpful in backing in the site. Friendly campers met at the lake in the afternoon: lots of great conversation. Beautiful lake and peaceful atmosphere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
I followed the positive comments on Juniper Lake RV Campground and was more than pleased with the results. It's an easy ten-minute trip off I-10 in Defuniak Springs. It's lush, green and is situated on a picturesque lake. You're met by the owners. They help you park and invite the campers to their lakeside evening get-togethers for coffee and conversation. All in all, my two days there were a positive experience and this is a place I'll likely return to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$21
This was a diamond in the rough. An absolutely lovely park. Management met us at the entrance to guide us into our long pull-through. Our living room slide faced the lake with a beautiful view. Plenty of room between RV's and the female half of the locally managed park made sure all was well before leaving. While sitting on the very large, wooden deck alongside the lake and enjoying the view and wildlife, the owner/manager joined us and filled us in on all the local things to see and places to eat. This is a Passport America park which makes it an absolutely wonderful deal. When we return to this area we will certainly stay here again - only longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
Lovely park. The park was tidy and had a great common deck/pier for guests. The bathhouse could use a few updates but was clean and tidy. It was a very quiet park with a lot of space between campers. The owner was very helpful and had good suggestions for sight-seeing and dining in Defuniak Springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
Manager met us at entrance to guide us to site, very long level pull-through site, excellent hookups, great WiFi reception, park right on the lake. We had a great view of the lake. Too cold when we were here to explore around the campgrounds. This park is on our A list for returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
Small owner managed park with a beautiful setting on a lake. We arrived on a very cold blustery Sunday and the owner showed us to our site: a great site on the lake, level, wide and with a deck. He stayed until we were parked and hooked up to be certain that everything was good and we were comfortable. Be sure and get his restaurant recommendations. They were terrific. We would definitely stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
We used this as an overnight stop but wished that we could have stayed longer. It was very quaint, quiet, well kept, and enjoyable. The owners have done a great job on this park and the pride of ownership shows. It's located on a 700 acre lake and is absolutely beautiful. Its about 6-7 miles off of I-10 and very secluded. Very helpful and considerate owners. Everything worked fine. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
If you are looking for relaxing this is the place. Fantastic deck overlooking the lake. Owners know what customer service is about. They met us on the road and guided us into our pull through spot, even checked us in right at our site. They have done a great job with the grounds. Everything worked perfect. Would return again. Used our Passport America membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Close to Defuniak Springs. Easy in and out campsites along the road. Lake has lots of weeds by the campgrounds making fishing and boating difficult. Boat launch isn't the greatest. Owners not especially friendly. WiFi for one PC and $1 a day for additional. Well landscaped. Plenty of paved road area near the CG for walking, biking or walking a pet. Has a large deck with grill and lawn chairs/tables. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
This was one of the best finds on our entire trip. What a joy! The setting and owners are amazing. We found a wonderful place to rest and relax, and owners who have an incredible pride of ownership. We plan on returning for a much longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Juniper Lake is a lovely spot a couple of miles from the historic town of DeFuniak Springs. The owner couple have made this park a tranquil oasis on the shores of Juniper Lake. Since there is no boat traffic the park is very quiet, except for the rustling of leaves and sounds of songbirds. The sites are large and level with many pull-throughs. Owner lady is an avid gardener, so the park is in bloom year 'round. Our little dog loved running on the lush green lawn that goes all the way down to the water. We've traveled the width and breadth of the United States and parts of Canada in our travel trailer. After having visited many RV parks we give Juniper Lake RV Campground, on a scale of 1-to-10, an 11. It's that pleasant. By the way, if you're a member of the RV discount club "Passport America", you'll receive 50% off the nightly rate, making this a real bargain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$19
We decided to join Passport America because of this campground and got our site for 1/2 price. We stayed 3 nights. We've been traveling for over a month across the U.S., and this is the best campground we've stayed in. Not only are the owners very friendly - our campsite is spectacular! We have a 36' class A motorhome and a tow car, and the site is more than big enough. Our site also has it's own private deck overlooking the lake. It's very private and quiet. The owners guided us into the spot, and we felt quite welcome. There are bird feeders attracting a variety of birds, as well as a huge deck near the owners home where fish and turtles are fed daily. They also have free coffee on the deck when the mornings are nice, and everyone sits around and visits. I would love to come back during spring or summer just to see the blooming plants that have been lovingly planted throughout the campground. I strongly recommend a stay at this park - they treat you like family here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
My wife and I chose Juniper Lake RV Campground as a layover during some inclement weather while on our way to Texas. Juniper Lake is a pleasant change from campgrounds laid out in a simple grid, with locations widely-spaced on a hill overlooking Juniper Lake. When we arrived, the owner greeted us and personally backed us into our space. Wireless internet and CATV were excellent. Also, Passport America is accepted year round, which is rare in Florida during the winter months. My wife and I really loved this campground, and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
A nice campground with very nice owners. Roads are paved, sites are gravel. They have the best Wi-Fi I've ever seen at a campground anywhere. We spent the night as tropical storm Ida came through, so we didn't look around too much. The owners were very friendly and helpful. When we pulled up after dark, he came out with a flashlight, helped us to our site, and hooked us up. His wife even came by in the morning to see if we needed to use their phone since I had mentioned that I had no cell phone coverage here (with T-Mobile). Would stay here again and definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Our stay at Juniper Lakes Campground was a great experience. The owners made it great. The park is rustic in nature and very well kept. They have done a great job of landscaping. The restrooms and laundry area, although older, were clean and orderly. The sites are clean and most have a great view of the lake. The "daily" gathering on the deck for coffee was a real pleasure and is what makes RVing worthwhile. Trading stories not only with the owners but with other fellow RVers was a real hoot. We solved many world issues !! The fish and turtles are even friendly!! We will definitely be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We found Juniper Lake RV Campground was a very warm and welcoming place to stay. From my call to reserve a space, to the time we left, it was a very nice experience. The owners are welcoming and lent a helping hand from the time we got here. We had a problem with our canopy and they not only came to assist us, but went above and beyond to help. They gave wonderful hints that would make our travels easier as we really get into RV travel. The campground is a very beautiful rustic place. It is easy to see the love and time that is put into it to make it that way. Sites are level and easy to park your RV. They have a nice laundry and restroooms. A very nice deck where people gather with the owners to share stories and information. It is easy to see why people keep coming back. We will be part of that group. The lake view is beautiful and relaxing. The chimes and bird feeders make sitting out on the deck or in the swings a relaxing experience. If you are looking for peace of mind and a place to just kick back and enjoy good people and nature, don't miss Juniper Lake RV Campground. A small campground with a big heart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Usually don't bother to do this, but one comment about this campground disturbed me. Yes, there is only one restroom for men and one for women, But this campground only has 20 sites and my husband and I found the ratio (bathhouse to sites) very reasonable. Also, the other camper obviously did not see that there were at least 2 big rigs there at 40' with room to spare. The owners told me that the rigs (they mentioned) back to back were placed that way because the people are there "together" and wanted that setup. People need to get their facts straight before they publish comments. I usually don't comment too much, but felt that I had to address this issue. This is a great park and I stay here every time I pass through. I love this place. It is peaceful & friendly and set up correctly with RV'ers in mind. The WI-FI is fantastic and fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
This previously owned fish-camp has friendly owners who escort you to your site, most with a pretty view of the lake. Camp has long-term as well as over nighters. We found this campground OK, but were disappointed with only one mens room and one ladies room (with one shower each), which had no heat, and difficult to lock the shed-like outside door. They use a spongy mat inside the shower. Don't think big rigs could make it into the park, as the narrow driveways slope down to the lake and some campers are packed in back to back. Few pull through sites. I think the owners want to keep it small for their regulars and we would recommend this place to owners of small rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
Very well run park, owners do everything possible to please guests. Quiet area, lake within walking distance of sites, with deck to sit out on. Clean restrooms, showers and laundry area. We were here for only one night but will indeed make this a stopping place as we head across country every year for Arizona, next time spending a few days to enjoy the scenery and friendly people. We used our GPS but it did not take us quite far enough down the road, go until you see the lake, call ahead when you start down the campground road and someone will be there to guide you to your site. WiFi easy to connect to and is as fast as any campground can be. Instructions in book are also very clear to follow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$24
Our host came down the road and guided us into the campground and to our site. It was after dark and we were tired and appreciated the extra effort extended. We only stayed overnight, and it was very cold; but we think this would be a lovely place to stay in warmer weather. The owners are former RV'rs and designed the hookup locations and sites with our convenience in mind. We would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
This place is very peaceful and quiet with a nice deck to sit out by the waters edge. The owner is very friendly and very accommodating. There is a nice laundry facility, and the shower room was clean and accommodating as well. Cable TV and Wi-Fi were included in the daily rate. We would definitely recommend this place when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
A great little place. Quiet, shaded, and very enjoyable. You have access to a nice deck on the lake. Do not use your GPS to find them! Get directions from book or owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
The owners of this park are exceptionally accommodating, right from the first phone call to make a reservation down to assisting you in every way possible to locate the park and get set up. When we arrived the gentleman was waiting at the entrance to the park to direct us to our spot. Once we had parked the rig, we sat right here at a little table and chairs and completed our registration and payment details. We've never had that kind of service anywhere else before. Everything is extremely clean and tidy, the Wi-Fi service is excellent. No fees and instantaneous connections. From our dining room window we watched the squirrels playing along the fence-line, found brilliant green froggies hopping along the water line, etc. Unfortunately, we were homeward bound and did not have time to explore all that the park had to offer, but we would definitely return to this park again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
This is a small quaint R.V. Park located by a lake. It has a lot of beautiful flowers and bushes. The sites are adequate in width for slide outs. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed one night this time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
What a great little park with owners that really welcome you. Very quiet and out of the way. $19.50 per day Passport America. Owners are constantly upgrading this park and take pride in what they have. If we come by here again I will stay here. Stayed here in a 38' 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$19
When looking for a rv park you will only find this park listed in Passport America. It is a small family owned lakefront park. The spaces were small but they did have some spots for forty foot RVs. We were able to get a site with a lakefront view. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to help us when we left the lights on in our car and killed the battery. Close by in downtown DeFuniak Springs is Lake Defuniak a spring fed lake which is one of only two perfectly round lakes in the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
These folks offer everything we want most in a campground. We were carefully guided into our site and exiting couldn't have been easier. There were bird feeders in the bushes outside our windows and interesting flowers and plants throughout the campground. We barely left the park. One afternoon the owners had a cookout. No extra charge for the fantastic hamburgers, just good fellowship. We camped here in a 39' fifth wheel and are looking forward to returning. A note of warning, however: You really do want a reservation to make sure a suitable site is open, and you must call ahead as you approach the park so you can be guided in. This truly is necessary. You do not want to enter without being guided. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$15
We've been using passport america for years and had always passed by this campground because they were not listed by "PPA". This year, Juniper Lake was listed, so we stopped overnight (we stayed 4 nights) and we were wonderfully surprised by this charming, small, friendly campground. While the sites are not "lakeside", we had a beautiful view with only a half minute of walk to the lake. The sites are large, shaded, and landscaped. Bathrooms are private and clean. The bon-fire (held as often as you wish) was a great experience and we made many new friends. The next time we travel, we plan to stop by longer and visit with our wonderful new friends who own the park. God Bless them for all their attentiveness and help!! Hope to see you soon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Although my visit was over a year ago, I find it hard to believe this place consistently receives such high ratings. It appeared to me to be a has-been seasonal place. It wasn't kept up, grass not cut, stuff laying all over the place. I have stayed at "9" campgrounds and I can definitely say this was not one of them. The hosts may be very nice people but that should be the deciding factor in a campground review. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$15
We stayed at this park this past Oct for 3 nights and found the park to be well run, quite, and friendly with super owners. Bon-fire on the weekend, fishing, and spacious shady sites made our stay wonderful. We would recommend this park above the others in De Funiak Springs simple because the new ownership "makes it happen" I couldn't believe it when they didn't charge more than 15 dollar/night .. oh forgot the ever loving tax! In any case we are heading back in 2003 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Small park in a beautiful setting. Short walk to the lake. Very quiet with friendly and attentive owners. Children are welcome but there isn't anything for them to do unless they like to fish. Within 5 miles of quaint downtown and shopping. Not far off I10. Easy to find by following signs. Some sites can be a little tough to get into for big rigs. Lake view from most sites. We found this park on a trip to check out another park in the area. Other park was horrible, we consider this one a gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
We recently stayed in this park, it was beautiful with all of its shade trees and the view of the lake (700 acre lake, by the way!). During our visit of 3 days, we had the opportunity to speak with the new owners (coming in August). There are upgrades needed and the new owner (full-time RV owners themselves) stated that this is a priority and that they will be staying on the premises to ensure that any and all problems are worked out to the satisfaction of the customer, that will be nice knowing that I can go "straight to the top" to get a quick solution for any problems) Laundry facilities are to be expanded, propane, ice & pay phone will very shortly be provided at the park. Cabin and small boat rentals will be made availible. There are plenty of nice tent sites to go around. Juniper Lake has some of the best fishing in the state as 10 lb bass is considered SMALL. I caught bass on my first cast right off the deck at the cabin. We found that parking our 38 foot class A required some skill, however, once again the new owners have immediate plans to remedy this situation along with new electric & water hook-ups. We enjoyed the park during our visit, it was peaceful & quiet. The new owners seemed very nice and anxious to please this protential/return customer. We are truly looking forward to returning to Juniper Lake Campgrounds under its new ownership. We plan on making this campground our winter retreat this year. I know I am going on and on, but this place is gonna be a super place to be. Also, Destin & Ft Walton beaches are only 30 min away, giving us fun at the beach whenever we wanted .. without the high cost of staying full time at the beach. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$20
The park is clean. Laundry room on-site. No pay phone, but coke machine available. Lake is within walking distance. Pets are "ify." Certain dogs are not allowed because of their aggression. The people are nice. Reasonable monthly rate: $214 for an RV site with everything included. The owners are reasonably flexible. If you like fishing and being "hidden" in the woods, this is the place to stay. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com