215237 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset King RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 83 user reviews. Phone: (850) 892-7229
CGID665

Sunset King RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   9   10   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is a true destination park. It has a lot of fulltimers and long term residents who are obviously proud of the park. Easy to access but well removed from the noise of the interstate. Lots of amenities. Pleasant and knowledgeable staff. Pet friendly. Kid friendly. Some shaded sites. Pull-through sites are adequate but a bit short. We had to unhook our toad in the street and our coach is only 36 feet. Many sites are sandy, which leads to some problems with it being tracked into the RV, but that is definitely not enough to keep someone from staying here. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
This park is ten miles from I-10, though worth it. Check in was easy, staff lead us to the site and directed parking. If you are traveling in caravan request two sites that face each other. It's fun! Sites are big enough, many are pull through. The park is in excellent condition and it permanent residents keep their places like a home not a camp. If you need groceries get them somewhere else. There is a Walmart (which I don't particularly like for groceries) and a Thrift-Way in downtown which has little more than a well stocked convenience store. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Real friendly park. Lots of snow birds and permanent folks. Very clean. No trashy sites. Hot tub was not heated and used as a kiddie pool. Lots of activities (none strenuous). Rate is weekly Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
This is a nice park. We were a bit off season so we didn't use the pool and they didn't have the hot tub in operation. Sites are flat and nice but I didn't care for the layout. All of our windows are on the drivers side and that side was so close to the next unit that we felt crowded even though the other side had lots of room. The lake looked lovely and I am sure this would be a wonderful place in nicer weather. Lots of activities happening at the clubhouse every day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
I really enjoyed this park. There are many snowbirds here, and there are many activities. The park is an older park, but the sites are flat and spacious, roads are easily navigable, and it is very quiet and relaxing. It is a bit off the Interstate, but is close enough for an overnight stop. There is plenty of space to walk dogs, but no fenced-in dog park (-1). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
I have stayed here before and had a back in site. This time I choose a pull through. Different set up, head to toe so to speak. So your drivers side is very close to the next site, when the slides are out on both rigs there is but 3 feet between. On the plus side, the most important side with the concrete patio, picnic bench, door etc. is 30+ feet away from your neighbor. I liked it. Truly a great park. Clean well maintained, friendly. Activities galore, if you're into that. The entrance sign says a 5 star park. Pretty factual with one negative exception. Why would a 5 star park not have a heated pool? The rate reflects the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Very large park. It is right on the lake. No waterfront RV sites, however there's a boat ramp and dock for smaller boats. The pool is right up from the lake. Staff super friendly and helpful. Lots to do in the park, even live music one evening we were there. Pretty nice to grill under the evening sky and the music being played from a central gazebo in the park. Sites are level and spacious. Park is well kept. Lots of staff running around keeping things in order but not overbearing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Sunset King Lake Resort (proper name) was easy to find with their signs. The registrar was very friendly, and had a resident guide us to the site, a pull-through. The park is very well maintained, and the clubhouse is convenient to the large pool. The view of the lake is beautiful, and there is a boat ramp, or you can just sit and enjoy the view from the dock. It is a quiet park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Lovely park with fantastic individual bathrooms. Handy location yet very quiet. Stayed only 2 nights using Passport America discount. This park is very well laid out with good space. All paved roads and very good level sites. There are permanents here but in lovely, well maintained, homes. This park is great value. Would highly recommend and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$16
Very nice park, the rate reflects a monthly rate, that's all inclusive, WiFi, Cable, taxes, etc. This is a very nice RV park, we don't care for the pull through s as they are "buddy sites" which is just something we don't prefer but alot do. We had a back in site, there is plenty of room, alot of great people, but this is a type of community RV park. Alot of the folks there are permanent residents, but everything is done very tasteful and looks very nice, alot of activities in the clubhouse from Bingo, to crafts, to donuts and coffee 3 days a week. They have card nights, horseshoe pits, boat rentals, concerts, etc. WiFi was good. Already made reservations for winter of 2013 in same spot we had. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
Very nice resort type campground. Good paved roads with grass campsites. On a lake. Lots of activities. Modern in every way. Individual bathrooms with showers which I like. Saw some kids, but mainly older crowd. It was at the end of snowbird season and before the summer season. About 5 miles from town. WiFi was quick and free. They had a nice club house and outdoor places for activities. We used it as a stopover, but many folks are using it as a week's vacation spot. They appear to have many rallies. We would definitely go back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
Nice clean and well-organized. Spent 7 days here. Very active park with daily events scheduled for full-time and part-time campers. Sites are well suited for larger motor homes. An attractive non-denominational chapel is on site and is well attended at Sunday services. The lake itself is fishable and boating with a troll motor is feasible but many old tree trunks protrude from the lake. This is a friendly campground, well run with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$16
Price is for a daily average for the month. Sites are level and are set up in Jack n Jill layout and are all pull through. The office & park staff was awesome. Very efficiently run, extremely clean facilities & grounds. The park would have gotten a 10 rating except for the laundry facility. The very first time we went to use the machines, several were not working, no big deal then, but in the 33 days we were there they were never repaired. Many activities, bingo, card games and I joined up with other golfers in the campground. Wonderful well run Sunday pot luck dinners, though places were saved by the regulars and we ended up sitting by ourselves. The campground is safe and secure. I would definitely return for extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$16
Very spacious sites set up in Jack n Jill and all pull through. The community is the best ever. I felt a part of the community from the first day. My stay was over 2 months, extended due to a dental issue and had no problem finding someone to help me with a ride for surgery. The office & park staff were awesome, too. Very efficiently run, extremely clean facilities & grounds. The park would have gotten a 10 rating except, not their fault, the lake is at least 6 foot down with no access to the water to fish. Since fishing was one of my reasons to choose this park, I was a bit upset that no one mentioned this at the time of my reservation. Others visiting had similar sentiment. Piers in place but served no purpose except to sit. Many activities, wonderful well run Sunday pot luck dinners. Rate is based on a monthly scale. Safe and secure, flat and level. I would definitely return for extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
Very friendly front office. This is a c/g with lots of permanent residents. It has the feel of a small village. My GPS said it was 10 miles from I-10. Easy to maneuver through the park our 37' with tow vehicle. Easy to level & our Direct TV worked perfectly. Bathroom clean. This park was very quiet. We only spent one night but if in the area again we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
This campground was comfortable, very little shade, quiet and secluded. Lake was way down so it was not useable. Most of the residents are fulltime. Was clean and the staff was friendly. Not close to good restaurants. We stayed here a month. Probably would not stay here again. Great for overnight or a couple of days. Access roads are paved, sites are gravel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Rates have gone up since last year. The rate I quoted was with a Passport America discount. They do honor the discount for your entire stay. We stayed here last year. Not much has changed except the the price. Clean, friendly staff, good TV. Wi-Fi is another charge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Wi-Fi available for a fee; didn't use. Friendly check-in and easy pull through access. Great PA off-season value. A lot of activities for longer stay folks. Will repeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
Nice campground, but too far from I-10 to make it an overnight. The website says there is a restaurant on the property, but it's only open during the "season". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
We stayed here as part of an Escapees rally and the facilities and staff were excellent, as were the large, pull through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
We did an overnight here on our way to Tampa. Interior roads are paved, but some tight corners for big rigs. Sites are mostly grass. Our site had a paved patio with picnic table. It is very quiet because it is 8-10 miles north of I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
This an excellent well maintained RV Resort and one deserving the use of the word "Resort". It is located on a private lake in the forested high lands of the panhandle. Well it seems like we were up in the mountains. The lake level was low so there were many tree stumps visible. Otherwise, a scenic setting and very quiet. Due to the number of sites and narrow access lanes the place can have a feeling of being crowded. If I forget about the exercise room the facilities here are excellent. We extended our stay and they offer an unlimited stay for Passport America membership. Not many quality RV Parks offer an unlimited stay, but this one does. We would like to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
This is a beautifully kept up/nicely landscaped full hook-up RV resort where Passport America is accepted (usual rate for general public is $36/night). We paid $21. Wi-Fi is extra however, $3.95/day at this writing but discounted for stays over 1 day. On 600 acre King Lake, boat rentals reasonable, $35-$50 depending on 1/2 to 1 day's rental. Lots of amenities! Would recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Nice, full facility park. A few miles off I-10. By a lake for fishing. Has a pool and exercise room. Some permanent residents so it's a community with daily activities. Even has a chapel. We were able to get a nice pull through spot for an overnight stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
Park seems to be an old Coast to Coast facility, sort of rundown with lots of older permanent RV's. Access to park off I-10 was not worth the trip overall. Sites are sand/dirt/grass, not concrete. They do have concrete patios though. Staff was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
We were late checking in but no problem, our information was left at the entrance. Park was nice. Lots of full time residents,but their lots were well kept. Nice lake, restaurant, clean restrooms, showers, mostly pet friendly, and the pool was fine. Only thing we didn't like was not enough shade. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
We stayed here last year also under coast2coast, but they no longer are C2C. We paid a weekly rate of $175. This is a beautiful park. RV's park with their back to one neighbor and facing the other neighbor. I don't particularly like that, but thankfully, we had good front neighbors. The hot tub was closed when we were there which was a disappointment. There is a pier for lake fishing and the permanent snowbirds are very friendly. My husband even got in on their daily tournament of "washers." There is a chapel on the property and weekly Sunday services. Lots to do at the resort and in the vicinity. Only 40 miles north of beautiful Destin beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
This was a great park and we would stay here again. Friendly staff, very clean, some sites are tight as was ours, but easy to get in and out. Good cable, Wi-Fi very slow. This park is very quiet no trains or traffic noise. One note, if your going from East to West on Hwy 90 the turn sign for the park is missing so heads up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$21
Price per night reflects Passport America discount. They let us use it for the whole week we were there. This is a nice resort type campground. There were planned activities for those who wanted to participate. We stayed a week and will probably return again sometime. Nice sized sites. Shrubbery had been planted between sites, but it actually was hard to get to the hook-up because the cement pad was too narrow and you had to park too close to the shrubbery. Once the slide was out, it was difficult to get to the hook-ups. We didn't fish from the lake but if we return that is something we may look into. Easy drive to the coast and beach area for a day trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$14
This is a pretty nice RV Park with around 200 sites. We stayed here for two months from mid November to mid January and got the monthly rate. We found it to be a little pricey for the area though. They have a lot of amenities but the pool and hot tub were closed for the winter. The WiFi was an extra charge of $25 month. The sites were grass and pretty level and the roads are all paved well. Restrooms were always clean and they had a small store with ice, munchies, etc. They have a restaurant/clubhouse with a lot of activities going on. All in all it's a good park but like I said a little pricey for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Very nice park with helpful personnel. Was clean and well-maintained. Quiet at night. Had good bath houses, a nice pool and hot tub. Was even a little church on the property for Sunday services. Nice little cafe if you don't feel like cooking. Beautiful lake (with fireworks on the 4th!) We found our site a bit tight and had a bit of trouble getting in and out, because of the trees, and the vehicles parked very near or partially on the roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
We stayed one night ($21 PA rate) and wished we had time to stay longer. Park staff friendly. Park had shaded and unshaded sites with beautiful views of the lake. Sites were grass and gravel but had a concrete slab with picnic table. Very clean campground. The park layout excellent - the setup was such that RV front doors face each other (your sewer hookup is next to your neighbor's sewer hookup and not at your front door). Park has small convenience store, restaurant, pool, and playground. Breakfast very reasonably priced - and home fries very delicious! Private bathrooms with showers very clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
I have only rated this park a 7 because the sites are arranged so that adjoining sites are hookup to hookup with the hookup being in the middle of the site. My rig is a 37' fifth wheel and a Chevy 3500 crew cab, so my rig is way over 40'. I ended up spending the night with part of my cab in the street. If you have a long rig think about it before staying for more than one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
Rate is for Coast-to-Coast. They add a mandatory $5 for extra services: but that goes for everyone, except those on month-by-month. First 5-6 rows of sites are a bit close but newer sites toward the back are well spaced. Exceptionally clean and spacious bathroom/showers and air conditioned. Has nice staff and owners. Guests we met were very friendly. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
Good discount for CampClub USA and Passport America members. Crowded but clean. Individual unisex rest rooms with showers. Took off a point for commercial (pay) Wi-Fi (so last decade). Friendly staff. Camp-owned diner serves breakfast & lunch. I've stayed here four times and it's always been pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
We used as an overnight stop in our motorhome and car dolly. Much too big for our taste. Has small but level lots with a cement patio and picnic table. There is lots of activities for families, pet friendly. They DO charge $2 for electric and $2 for basic cable TV as an add on, in addition to their advertised rate!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
Rate is PA. We had reservations at Juniper Lake but they did not save a PT site for us so they arranged for us to go to Sunset King. The after hours person made us feel so welcome and made sure we got into a very nice PT site. Clean CG with a great restaurant for a quick breakfast before you take off in the AM. Would definitely stay here again. They take PA, GS and Military discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Stayed here C2C, $5 extra fees for cable and utilities. Fees are mandatory. Level pull thru sites with pads and grass. Boat dock, boat rentals and ramp for fishermen. Full service restaurant. Paved roads. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$12
Here is an excellent example on how to run a most successful RV park. Tidy, professional, well organized, active and in general well looked after. Warm hot-tub and warm(ish) pool. Result: Fully booked both times we have been here. On top of this (if you are a golfer) there are 2 nice and very reasonably priced golf courses nearby. We will stay here again, and we can only give it our highest recommendation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
We have stayed here for the last 6 years either going west or east. Last time here was Dec 08, Jan 09 for two months. At that time Wi-Fi was $20 per month and very good. This year we came in for six weeks, paid $25 permonth for very poor Wi-Fi. E-mailed management on the deterioration of Wi-Fi, was basically told "too bad"". Everything is more expensive here this year- cable, hydro. Having said that, I must say this is one of the nicer and well maintained parks we have visited. The streets are all paved, concrete patios at every site, where you park is very level and dry. Plenty of activity and pot luck meal every Sunday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$21
It has many sites close together on flat area, paved roads, dirt/grass sites with concrete patio area. Pay wifi, free cable. There is a good activity level for those staying for winter. Water pressure is low. It is too far off I-10 for easy and easy out. We used our Passport America membership. The park appeared to be mostly filled with snowbirds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
This is a very nice park with so much to do. It is a great place to bring the grandkids. The pull through sites were adequate for our 40 foot motorhome, but there were some side by side hook ups. All in all, our stay was quite pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Very nice campground with a lot of activities. Had a very nice BBQ. Wi-Fi for a charge but reliable. Some sites with fire ants. Very nice lake. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$5
I must admit, I rarely give a campground "10." But, this campground has just about anything you would want: pool, fishing, boat rentals, restaurant, etc. I had no problem with my Verizon services. One minor drawback is the close proximity to your neighbor. However, their sites are not nose to nose but opposite ends. Our $5 was Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We didn't have anyone next to us (mid-week overnighting), so we didn't feel the crowded site plans. And yes, there were park models and permanent residents, but things were MUCH nicer and more well-maintained than similar parks we've accidentally stumbled into (we are state park fans, but there weren't any in this area). We found the park to be quite nice--friendly staff, very clean bathrooms, nice dog walk area, meticulously maintained grounds, and very quiet, after the children went to bed ;-) Lots to do here, if one wants to avail oneself of it--we were just overnighting and aren't Wallydockers. Nice spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
Our experience here was very good, except I was disappointed that wi/fi rate was $3.95 per day, and cable $3 daily. Sites were close, but no more so than in many other parks, and they were level and grassy, with cement pads on the side. Bathrooms were great, very clean and each one private with own toilet and shower. It was a nice park to stroll around, or walk the dog. Sites were a short walk from the lake, which was lovely. We were here for two nights as Coast to Coast members, and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
Verizon cell and Internet do not work here. Campground Wi-Fi is $12/week, but it is excellent. Cable has no TV Guide channel, so you need Wi-Fi. On a big lake, but the fishing dock is in water about 3 feet deep. Not many if the large bass the lake is famous for. Lots of activities and the full-timers are very friendly. A lot of side-by-side hookups, but the layout provides a lot of room on the other side of the RV. Many of the full timers park their pickups close to the narrow roads. The exits from the CG are on curve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
This park is easy accessible from the highway. They have nice level sites and are located by a big lake. The laundry room came off a little old and smelly so we didn't used it. They have a restaurant on site but don't expect much of it and it closes really early. There's a big barking dog right next to the campground. The restrooms looked good, we didn't used the showers though. Wi-Fi is available at a charge. We would probably stay somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
We were surprised by the high ratings for this park. The campground has a beautiful setting right on a lake, is very quiet, and the staff were friendly and helpful. But when we entered the park for the first time, we were shocked by the row of trailers that faced the entrance. They appeared to be permanent and the first few rows of sites were extremely crowded. As we moved through the park to the newer area and our site, we were very unhappy with the side-by-side hookups. We could literally touch the slide of the motorhome next to us. This could be such a beautiful place if the hookups were modernized and the older, front area cleaned-up. There were numerous activities for residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
Rate is CTC, $10.+ $2. for cable, you must pay for the cable. Wi-Fi is $12.00 a week, and worked great and fast. Staff very friendly. Park is neat and clean. Most sites are Pull-thru. They are side by side, so on one side your are very close to your neighbor but on the other side you have a lot of room. The park is on a lake and about 38 miles from the Gulf coast. If your looking for an overnight, its about 10 miles off I-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$16
We only spent one night at this campground but were very pleased with the ease of parking our 5th wheel. Most sites are pull-thru and are fairly level. Dogs are welcome and there is a large area for dogs to walk. Cable was free and although Wi-Fi was available there was a cost. The campground was very quiet, the staff friendly and overall very clean. The cost reflects the Passport America discount. The only drawback was the distance from Interstate 10. We would definitely stay here again and stay longer if we were not using it as a stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This is a huge park with great facilities - fishing on lakeside, pool, big games room, movies on Friday evenings, even its own chapel. Only drawback was relative lack of privacy as sites are fairly close together arranged in rows. Otherwise a great place to spend a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Very clean and well kept park. Nice clean restrooms and private showers. Staff friendly and very helpful. Lots of park models on site. Made a great stop over for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
The entrance was tight to maneuver since we were put in a passport dedicated site. Several units flagged the entrance and were older. The staff was friendly and helpful. This trip we used our smaller tow behind. I'm glad because our 5th wheel would not have fit into this site. We could open the door and almost hit the hedges when we steeped out. The food there was good, and yes we will go back, but will make sure we have a site to enjoy our stay next time better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
Sunset King is a 5 Star Coast 2 Coast park and we see why. This park is lovely. Located in the panhandle of Fl off Hwy 10. Just the friendliest park we have ever been to. They sell memberships as well. Nice lake full of fish. Sweet church with Sunday service right in the park. Lots of activities in the clubhouse. Join in with the fun as much as you choose or enjoy your privacy. Very clean showers, private. The owners are on property a lot and just are a lovely hard-working couple. Lake full of fish. Nice swimming pool. RV's are a mixture of the big expensive to pop-ups. You will love being here. We plan to spend a lot of time at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
The campground seemed to be more for older clients. The facilities are a bit outdated but everything seemed very clean and the people very nice. The lake was bigger then I expected. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
The rate given is the Passport America rate which is good for 2 nights. That's primarily why we chose to stay here. It is easy to get to and to drive through. Our pull-through was just long enough for our 36' 5er with our F550 truck parked beside it. The sites are fairly close together, but alternate the way the RVs face. We would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
Very nice - on a lake. We stayed one night, using Passport America. Friendly staff. Has on site restaurant that features home cooking. Very Clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
Very nice and friendly camp ground. Some sites are small, many have concrete pad to park on. It would get a 10 except the full time residence are in bed by 9 and up by 6:30, which makes it touch when you're out during daylight and not back until dark then wanting to sleep in. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
Sunset King is part of our coast to coast family for camp grounds we camp there 2-3 times a year and love it there are all kind of things to do for everyone: Friday nights outdoor movies, bingo on Saturday nights, and a nice clean pool. The owners are on site and very friendly. They make you feel at home and like family. We will always stay there on our trips that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
A large park with many seasonal members. We were here for two days and had no problems at all. The sites were a little tight for a 40' motor home but we were away most of the time. Great bath houses - individual rooms that lock and contain both shower and toilet. Much to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$29
I can't say enough good things about this park. Very nice park. Well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. Flowers blooming at every site. Large concrete patios. Paved roads through out. Bathhouses were sparkling clean. Landscape was very groomed. No trash on grounds. Privacy fence around entire park. Always something going on in the clubhouse. Great park. Will go back as many times as possible. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
We got the Passport America rate. We had a pullthru and hooking up was very easy. There are 2 hookups on each post so one RV goes in one way and the other goes in the other way. Not real close to anything but if you want peace and quiet this will do it. We only stayed one night on our way to Kissimmee. It is 7 or 8 miles from I-10 so we would stay closer to the freeway next time. Voltage was very good and we got the best signal ever for our AT&T air card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
Present park off the highway. Stayed one night. Well kept park. Site not quite level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
We stayed at the Passport America rate. Sites have side-by-side hookups, so little space between units on the driver's side. Site was very unlevel. Two of the three exits from the CG are on a sharp curve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$10
Very nice park. Tar roads throughout. It seems a little much to charge short term campers $2.00 per night for cable TV and $2.50 per night for Wi-Fi. At 185 sites that means we are paying for these services for the permanent residences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$27
We were very impressed with the separate bathrooms that were very clean. Easy in, Nice staff and extremely nice people around. Felt very comfortable as New campers. The lake fishing was tempting. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
After leaving Fort Wilderness, we were expecting something less in a campground. We were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by an extremely friendly hostess who made us feel right at home. Lots of permanent residents who, except for one, were smiling and friendly all of the time. Bathhouses are extremely clean and well stocked. Park is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$8
We camped there in a motor home using our Coast to Coast membership. There was very little shade, but it served us well traveling through as it was reasonably close to the expressway. The rest rooms were clean and the sites were adequate for a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$8
Nice campground adjacent to a lake. Even at the end of February, this campground was nearly full. Lots of the campers were spending all or part of their winter season there. They have a very nice clubhouse and quite a number of regular activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$7
Nice park with large sites. Easy to maneuver around park. RV Vehicles parked side to side. Lots of activities. Restaurant on site. Very open for satellite service. Staff friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
Our experience with camping in the I-10 corridor between Houston and Tallahassee has generally been one of swamp mosquitos and sand fleas. We try to plan our trips to be out of that area before stopping overnight. But it's a long stretch and we usually end up having to stop SOMEWHERE. This trip, we stopped here -- and we were so pleased we came back for a second stay on the return trip. Sunset King was clean, friendly, uncrowded, and had cable and WiFi. The shower and toilets were clean and roomy (no A/C) with a minimum of mosquitos. The pool was good sized, clean, and pleasant. Our only complaint: the WiFi is free, but requires a name and password to be set up in advance -- so if you arrive after office hours, "no WiFi for you!" So call ahead. From now on when I have to travel this route, I will plan my trip to overnight at Sunset King. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
This campground will soon become a member's only resort. Staff is great. This campground tries very hard to offer its guests plenty. Free putt-putt, nice pool, Friday night outdoor movies, Saturday night bingo, nice chapel for Sunday morning service, etc. The lake is actually a bit disappointing. Throughout the lake you can see cut off trees sticking a couple of feet out of the water. You can only boat around the extreme perimeter. Even though the staff tries to make the grounds presentable, some long-term residents detract from the overall appearance with run-down trailers. Sites are very close together. Noticed that some rules were not being followed by some residents especially with regard to alcohol use away from their site. I would classify this place more of a trailer park than an actual resort. I'm glad we checked it out but I would not go back. And would never buy a membership. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$8
Not bad for a private campground. Some sites were very close but they had a few that were roomy. Lots of activities. We prefer state park or COE campgrounds but this Coast to Coast resort is fine if you can stand close together sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$10
Ten dollars a night was the Coast-To-Coast rate plus mandatory cable fee. This is a first class campground in all respects. There is nice landscaping. The sites are all well kept and of adequate size. There are nice recreational facilities. There is a store and a restaurant and a nice laundry. All roads are paved. Sites are lawn with a concrete patio. A nice dock for fishing on the adjoining lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$28
Restrooms were nice. A Privet heated/ac room. Each restroom included shower, toilet, wash basin w/mirrow, a bench, paper towels & soap dispenser all in one individual room. wi-fi $2.50 a day, unlimted access. Side by side hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$10
This is a nice well maintained park. The owners are very nice. Camped here in 2005 for 1 month after losing everything in hurricane. Didn't eat at the on site restaurant but lots of people did. Went swimming a couple of times. Would recommend and definitely would return there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Very nice lakeside location. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, and lots of nice campground members. Out of the way location, but shops, market, and Walmart just 15 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$19
This park is in immaculate, new condition. The staff is real friendly and goes beyond the call of duty! There are lots of amenities and activities, such as, pot lucks, holiday parties, crafts, music, etc. The resort has a non-denomenational church on-site with regular services. This park overlooks Kings Lake that has excellent trophy bass! They rent boats and have a new lighted fishing pier. This park is family friendly. Kids can enjoy the playground, basketball or volleyball courts, heated swimming pool, games or free putt-putt golf course. Bring you boat for free launching at their concrete boat ramp. The Restuarant has great food at reasonable prices. They were open everyday for breakfast, during our stay. Lakeside cottages and log cabins are available at a reasonable rate. My family will make this a vacation spot whenever possible. Highly recommend this park as the best one we have encountered, especially in Florida. This park is convenient to I-10 Exits 70 and Exit 85. In addition, they are Good Sams Club members and most other resort affiliations. This is a great place to stay and they welcome Snowbirds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Nice campground, we can see where they have made many improvments. Plenty of room to pull into sites, and a very fair amount of room between sites. WiFi works great in RV, and priced good. Owner lives on site and is very helpful and friendly. It is a little off the beaten path but well worth the extra few minutes of driving. We would stay here again for sure when back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
I really liked this place. The people were nice and the campground was very clean. They have fishing boats with electric motors for rent which is great if you don't have a boat with you. They have a nice restaurant on site. I hope to go back here again. It is a little off the beaten path, but not too far as to be inconvenient. It was also a good value for the nightly rate. The sites are nice size. If there had been a concrete or gravel pad under the awning instead of rough grass and dirt, I would have rated them higher. It rained and got pretty muddy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$12
We paid discounted Passport Am. rate for one nite stopover. Really nice park with many improvements/expansions going on. Some seasonal folks but sites all nicely kept. New section for travelers. Lovely lake. Activities, small restaurant with good food in clubhouse. Great for family or couples. Nice folks in the office. Will definitely stop again. WIFI was new and free as an introduction when we stopped. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2003
$12
A nice CG, clean and staff was very friendly. The only reason we stopped was due to a strong storm moving thru the area and we didn't want to be on the road. A ways out out DeFuniak Springs but close enough to go to town daily. When we were there they were adding more sites. The pads were earth and were only about 40 feet long. All were pull thru and level. Spaceing was closer than I prefer but ok for a couple of nights. They needed more room to manuver on the end spaces. No trees nor shade. It was very quiet. The town of DeFuniak Springs is quanit. Holiday season they have a light display in the large park in town. This was a nice place to hole up from the storm but not much else without some fix up. The putt putt was just old rotten plywood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com