223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Poinsett State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (803) 494-8177
CGID6652

Poinsett State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   9   7   8   9   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Nice wooded campground with lots of trails, a small lake, canoes and paddle boats for rent, great rangers and camp hosts and clean bathhouses. With a regular RV TV antenna can get local channels. Will stay again if in the area. Would have rated higher but the roads are narrow with ruts and pot holes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
We stayed here on a very warm December weekend so we did a lot outside and the park was pretty deserted. The park roads are narrow and the campground road is dirt and rutted and could use a bit of upkeep. The park is very secluded and in a beautiful setting. It's another CCC-built park with lots of shelters and bridges and a lake. The biodiversity of the plants and animals is very interesting. There are 4 different habitats within the park boundaries and they can all be experienced on the many trails that crisscross through a small part of the 1000 acres that comprise this park. Lots to do here: hiking, trail riding, boating, fishing. The ranger was very helpful. They had come through and blown the leaves off of many of the trails as well as all of the campsites. 3 sites have gravel (15,21,23), the rest are hard-packed clay/sand. The restrooms and showers were well maintained. There is WiFi available at the office, at the campsite we received 12 TV channels and cell phone service (Verizon) was 2-bars. We really liked this park and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
This is a wonderful place to enjoy the outdoors. Towns are very far away: bring what you need. They do sell firewood. There is new plumbing in the showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Roads are very narrow. In the campground, they are dirt with deep ruts. And when we were here, it rained so that added to the ruts. But it is a beautiful setting. Very shaded so we didn't even bother when the satellite TV. The ranger guy was very nice and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$13
Nice and secluded. Did not use it, but they had a sign that said bring your laptop near the office and enjoy free wi-fi. Great trails and lake. Rest rooms and showers are old, but the plumbing works well and were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
We really like this park and have been there several times. The trails are great and are a part of the Palmetto Trail, which when complete will run from the mountains to the coast. The dam at the lake still contains ruins from an old mill site with a small but beautiful waterfall. An excellent mountain bike trail of nearly eight miles round trip goes from the park to nearby Campbell's Pond. This campground is very, very lightly used. On an August weekend in 2007, we were the only guests in the entire park. Scenic overlook a short walk from the campground loop offers a 50-mile view to the west. Campsites are level sand, very wide and heavily wooded. The paved road up to the campground loop is narrow and twisty but fairly short. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
We spent two nights here in a 37' fifth wheel. Some of the sights are relatively spacious but in loop 1 (where the water and electric are) it will require some careful driving to maneuver a larger rig around. It is a quiet and picturesque campground with a friendly staff. We stayed here as part of our visit to the Congaree National Park. Note: Do NOT try to take a large rig into loop 2 as there are some very tight turns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$55
For an uncrowded, beautiful rustic setting with abundant hiking trails, a nice lake, boating, very low campground rates, and equestrian trails and facilities, this park is magnificent. In addition to the main campground and cabin area, this 1000-acre park contains a large group campground and a separate equestrian campground. There are, however, no camp store (the town of Sumter, approximately 9 miles away, has lots of stores, restaurants, and recreational facilities; firewood can be purchased in the park office) and few if any planned activities in the park. The cabins are fully (and nicely) furnished, and provide a superb base for those who want to "get away from it all." We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$14
Very secluded and not used by many. If you want to get away from everything, this is the place. Plenty of trails and a wonderful lake filled with wildlife (including gator in summer). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com