218725 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Gulf was rated 8 out of 10 based on 99 user reviews. Phone: (877) 226-7485
CGID666

Camp Gulf

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   9   8   10   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$52
Excellent campground. Friendly camp hosts and clean and neat grounds. A lot to do in the town. We spent 5 nights there and would go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$100
Great but very expensive park. Sites are tight but staff does a great job of guiding you to your site and backing you in. Front desk staff is good but they need to look up and look you in the eye. Destin had almost 20 inches of rain while there which flooded all the beach area sites. It seems management could have had a better plan to get rid of all the water. They had no plan. Needed many more pumps and hoses. Maybe there was no place to get rid of the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$125
Stayed here over spring break. LOVED IT!. Pricey campground but well worth it. Not only is the beach beautiful, but the facilities and pools were wonderful. Staff was great. Led us to our site and helped us in. The campground was crowded, but I was amazed that the facilities were as clean as they were, given the high volume and use. There were activities for kids and adults alike. We took advantage of these extras because weather did not cooperate for the week we were there. My only concern would be the Wi-Fi. We were kicked off constantly and could not remain connected for longer than one minute. We will definitely return, but would not plan on a 'beach front' site. This is a high traffic area. Although the beach is pristine and the sunsets are spectacular, the entire campground walks by your RV to access the beach. We plan to return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$29
The price reflects the monthly rate. This is a beautiful campground. Lots to do, both at the campground and in the area. There are pot luck dinners, campfires on the beach, watercolor classes, and water aerobics in the indoor pool. There are so many things going on it's hard to list all of them. And the beach: white sand, clear blue/green water, and beautiful sunsets. You wouldn't believe how nice the bathroom/showers and laundry are. I expected the laundry to be expensive, but was pleasantly surprised to find the regular-size washers are only $1.50, the extra large washers are $4, and the dryers are 25¢ for 6 minutes. We made lots of friends here. This park is wonderful. There are sites of all sizes. Some are small, others large. Some are wide, others are narrow. Whatever size RV you have, there's a site for it at this campground. Did I say campground? This is a resort. The only negative is that it’s hard to get out of this campground because to go west on Rt. 98 you have to cross several lanes of traffic. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
Great staff, found them all to be friendly and very helpful. Wi-Fi at our spot was just fine. Great pizza place across the street. In December the price was $1,000 a month plus taxes. Weather was horrid most of our stay, but not the fault of the park of course. Great area, lots to do, places to see, etc. When the weather was nice it was fantastic. Would stay again for sure, bad weather and all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$75
The good: love the waterfront availability. As they say on their slogan, you can't get any closer. Lots of snowbirds on the upper park and mostly shorter term on the lower. As would be expected, very close quarters. Stayed a week in a site two off from the ocean. Weather was so-so but not the park's fault at all. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants and all the Destin action. Cable TV was great! The bad: WiFi was horrible. On one minute and off the next. They indicated a password was required but never prompted for one? Very discourteous campers that fired up the diesels early (5:30 am) for a half hour prior to leaving. Isn't this a violation of "quiet hours?" Again, not the campground's fault. All in all, liked our stay. Staff was ok but not super friendly. Price was high as would be expected for the location. Would stay here again but would look at other locations also in the Gulf area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$33
We are staying a month ($1,008). Very nice park with workers everywhere to answer questions, and help you in any way they can. Park is well groomed, offers inside pool and outside pool, as well as activities and activity room. Well groomed lots, where you can choose how close to the Gulf you want to be (Including sites right on the beach). Definitely worth the money! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$75
Love this place. The RV park was here before all the development of high rise condos and shops. You really have the best of both worlds. Access to shops, wonderful restaurants and yet you can grab a towel and head for the beach with your favorite drink to enjoy a private sunset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$145
The sites are very close together. Forget about sleeping in, when the people next to you are awake you are awake. I was next to a double site so they had 2 RV's on one site with lots of people and lots of noise. Also, it was raining and the road was flooded so we had to wait to get our RV to the site. When we first got to the park the people at the front office on the highway were not friendly or helpful at all. When we registered the lady inside was much more helpful. The rangers were also helpful. I did like the location. It is close to malls, movies, etc. I also liked being that close to the Gulf. They had lots of activities for younger children. I will stay here again if I cant find a place at a more reasonable price. I find the rates are too expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$133
It was a beautiful park and clean. Except the bathrooms one morning were all nasty. Wi-Fi is sketchy. People were nice and staff was great. It was worth the money to stay on the beach. The club house was nice and pools and spa were nice, too. Overall, it was a perfect 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$85
I loved this campground. I am giving it a 9, because they totally messed up and caused us a lot of extra work. When we arrived we were placed in the wrong site. After setting up we were told we would have to move. I was pretty upset, setting up a 5th is a lot of work. We moved, as it turned out our new spot was great and we enjoyed the remainder of the trip with beautiful weather, a great beach and a beautiful campground. The location was great and there was plenty of fun things to do along the Emerald Coast. I would stay here again, but I would make sure next time that if they put me in the wrong spot that they financially reimburse me for the inconvenience! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2013
$134
I asked for a specific site using the Big Rig Best Bet suggestion, thinking that I would be facing the ocean. I called for directions asking if there was a quicker route and the lady on the phone didn't know and didn't ask anyone else in the office. We arrived very late and found our site on our own. However, after awhile a man in a golf cart did come to ask if needed assistance. In the morning, we headed out to the beach to walk our two dogs. Not one sign was posted saying "No Dogs Allowed". A customer staying directly on the beach waved us down showing us tire tracks in the sand indicating it was the sheriff and we would be given a $500. fine. He also informed us, no dogs are allowed on the sites directly facing the gulf. The women in the office never notified us of either situation. I would NOT recommend staying at this campground ever. It is way over priced and the employees are very close to being rude to customers. It was not worth the price paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$140
Pricey, but we wanted an ocean view and that is exactly what we got. We parked directly on the beach with water and electric only. For $10.75 the park will come and empty your tanks. The campground is big with lots of amenities. Great place to take the children. Lots off the beach are less expensive but all have beach access. Traffic is an issue if you want to leave the park. The staff was outstanding for such a busy place. We had a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$80
Very nice park in beautiful Destin, FL (Miramar Beach). Long and narrow. Upper park is traditional with trees. Lower park is sand and one of the prettiest beaches I have seen. Facilities are top notch. Be ready for a lot of sand if you stay in the lower park. You are quite literally on the beach. Will stay here again. Tons of shopping and restaurants nearby. Nice friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$55
This park is very expensive. The only sites that were worth the nightly expense were the ones actually on the beach. All others, the price asked is too much. The sites are also very close to each other. The outside staff that helps you park were extremely helpful and friendly. The staff that checks you in are rude, not courteous, and not knowledgeable about the operations of the park. They have four radar detectors that monitor your speed. They were out of date and out of calibration. I was walking at 5 mph with a dog. This park has all the amenities, but definitely overpriced. There are many stores and restaurants nearby, as well as a short drive to a military base. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$90
We spent a week here, on a beach site; albeit expensive, it was nice. However, we only recommend this place if you are planning on staying on or near the beach. The Camp is somewhat rundown and needs attention. The main pool area, way up be the State Route, was nice with a nice hot tub... the pool in the middle of the Camp is just a small pool and seems arranged for Children. The bathrooms were clean and private, which was nice. The Office staff were stiff and curt, but the Guys who drove throughout the Camp were great and very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$110
We stayed here for 10 days. Every time it rains you are faced with a flood and road in the park turns into a lake several feet deep. In fact most of the park close to the beach side turns into a mud pit. We had issues with the power, the breaker was bad. It took them almost a day to get it fixed. Luckily the site next to us was empty and we had an extension cord. The beach is not as it appears in their video. There are signs on each side of the beach property line stating that it is private beach and you cannot trespass. Hence the beach area is very congested. We will not be returning to this RV park. They need to fix all the standing water after a rainfall that stays for days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$99
Another great visit to Camp Gulf! Friendly staff, great pool, very roomy site (517). You can't beat the clear waters and white sand of the gulf! We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$120
Camping on the Gulf is one of the best campgrounds that we have ever stayed at; however, a bit pricey for such small sites. We would have loved to have stayed on the beach, but we take our Chihuahua with us and no pets are allowed to stay on the first two rows towards the beach. We stayed in site 712 which was perfect since it was an end site and sometimes had a view of the beach when beach sites were empty. This site is also elevated which helps with your views as well. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept. Lots of activities if you stay during a weekend, but no activities occur during the week. Both pools were excellent with huge umbrellas to cover lots of guests. The staff was very nice, and escorted campers to their sites upon arrival. However, I think the 4.5 mph speed limit with flashing signs all around the campground was a bit obnoxious. No major complaints, and we will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$130
Overall a pretty nice site. Most staff were exceptional; for leading us in and assisting us to park (very few pull-throughs available) and giving us lifts on golf carts if they saw us walking. There are extra activities for kids like a hippo slide and ice-cream socials but at a price. Beach is very nice and pools were small, but deep. Plaground is okay. Lots of trees in upper camp and get more sparse as you get nearer to beach. The sites are smaller too. One downside to this campsite are the bathrooms. Disgusting. Three bathhouses with six showers each is simply overused at this high-capacity location. We have used them both late night and early morning but never got it in a "just cleaned" state. This location is very close to lots of amenities and shopping-outlet stores are right across the street. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$90
I would give this RV park a 10 for its location on the beach, and 9 for its kids activities and proximity to shops, restaurants etc. It is showing its age, and although the shower rooms are cleaned a few times each day, they are old and could use updating. The speed limit is 4 1/2 miles per hour which is a very good thing because of all the young kids around. However, this does not seem to apply to golf carts, bikes, scooters and young people in cars. Be very careful if you are walking on the road or down the hill to the lower level, that you do not get hit by a bike or golf cart. The upper park has lots of shade trees, and seems quieter. The lower park closest to the beach is dusty and when it rains, muddy. They have been spending money on concrete pads for more of the beach sites, but the interior road and the area between sites in that area is a mess. We love this park, but are conflicted about staying here again. There is another park nearby which is not on the beach, costs less, but is much nicer in everything else and the beach is only a short walk. We probably will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
Cannot beat the view!! Right on the beach. If you have pets, you cannot be on beach-front. Staff was helpful and friendly. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$90
This was our second stay here, and if you like the beach, it is a good park. We stayed on the off side of the front row, and because there were many open sites on beach front, we had a beautiful unobstructed view of the Gulf. The park itself has many amenities and their staff is most helpful and friendly. There are some negatives, however. The closer you get to the beach, the smaller the sites. It was a real challenge to back in my 5th wheel, even with a spotter. Also, the pricing is very high even in off season. Wi-Fi was spotty at best. All that said, location is ideal and we will most likely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$81
It’s all about location. There are very few campgrounds where you can park right on the beach, and this is one of them. As a result, it can charge premium rates (we paid $81 a night in the off-season). But you have to be prepared to put up with some challenges. The free Wi-Fi does not reach the last three rows along the beach, and the row along the beach does not have dumps, and they won’t allow anyone with a pet. When it comes to rules and regulations, this campground has them all beat. Their 51-page promotional/welcome brochure has no fewer than 6 pages of rules and regulations. Unfortunately, the brochure doesn’t help you find the place. There is no map, no directions and no co-ordinates . The only address is not recognized by Streets and Trips, Garmin, or TomTom. The speed limit in the park is 4.5 miles and hour and they have a speed camera that takes a picture of your car if you go any faster. We had reserved our beach site for a week, but they didn’t process it properly and after two days we were told we would either have to move or leave. And, if we decided to move, we would lose the weekly discount. The clerk blamed us for the error because we didn’t double check to make sure the reservation had been entered properly. I thought maybe the clerk would call the manager to try to resolve the conflict, but it was easier for her to blame us and bid us farewell. Both our neighbors told us that there has been a recent change in management, and they are hearing a lot of complaints. We left and will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$125
It is on the ocean, but many updates should be done for this price. The park desperately needs paved inroads. We were lucky to stay on one of the cemented pull-through sites, but many sites are very close together with no cement. This park may have the monopoly on oceanfront, but they should really do upkeep and clean their beach daily. Some water activities would be nice as well, i.e. rentals for kayaks, hobie cats,etc. Staff was very friendly and cabins are beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We absolutely love this park! We chose to stay about half way back in the park and off the beach. Our space is directly across from a great pool (1 of 2), very level and very spacious. Nice cement pads with a great patio area. The beach is absolutely pristine! The staff is very friendly and everything has been perfect here. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$115
Location Location!!! The cg is located in the Miramar San Destin area and sits on a great beach. The staff is numerous and very helpful, friendly and courteous. New improved larger sites are being built this year. For those who are not actually "on" the beach, it is a very short walk. There are two beautiful pools and lots for the children to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$125
Not in Destin. This park is a con. We were lured here with the promise of ocean front sites and wanted to leave as soon as we arrived (we opted for "near ocean front" at Good Sam's rate of $125/night as ocean front was an unbelievable $180/night). Unfortunately, park has "no cancellation" policy" (2 weeks notice required) and we didn't want to throw away $250 (for 2 nights). The park is in Miramar Beach -- 10 miles from many of Destin's attractions -- and offers very cramped sites. Dirty bathrooms and showers. Tents are allowed in the "upper" section of the park but not near the beach, where we were located. Our neighbors flaunted the rules, putting an RV and tent on their site and partially on ours. They also partied (loudly) until midnight. At $125/night we expected something beautiful. Park feels like being in a cramped city center. There are 10 or so beach-front sites but these are very small and given placement of water/electric you have to back in (so no view when in your camper). The beach is beautiful but a much better option would be the State Park in Gulf Shores, AL (highest rate is $37/night and it's gorgeous). Another irritation was the internet -- we were not given a log-on password and when we called to get one it still didn't work. Finally got it working but only one user allowed at a time. Had to call again so my husband could also have access. If you pause for a couple of minutes the service logs you off. Very frustrating. Pluses: nice beach, good for kids, ample facilities (though not maintained well and bathrooms are dirty), and is near huge outlet mall. Negatives: Exorbitant prices, crowded, not in Destin, bad internet, not worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$125
Destin is my favorite place in the US. This campground is very convenient to all of Destin's charm. Many fabulous restaurants and shopping just a bike ride away. Friendly and helpful CG staff. Fairly level sites. Best beaches EVER! Not extremely large sites, but plenty big. We have visited here several times and WE WILL BE BACK! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$75
As most of the reviews have stated, this is a great campground. Our site was on "the hill" above the beach. The site was great with lots of room between the other sites. The site was just slightly not level, but one board fixed that. The folks that operate this CG were friendly and always seemed to be working on "fix its" all around the park. Many of the sites between the "hill" and beach were showing some age. The beach sites were a bit close, but the folks staying there didn't seem to mind. Very Dog friendly and there were MANY dogs, including ours. We will be staying here again this winter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$80
We actually were looking for a place around the corner but pulled in here by mistake. One look at the TV monitor of the ocean front plus the super friendly staff made my decision. Since we had a cat, county law will not allow a pet in a rig on the beach. We were parked on the side about two rows back and could see the beach from our location. The people were great and the beach was spotless. Sites and services were great. We stayed an extra night and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$90
Loves this place! Our only complaint this year was for some reason they have changed the rules and we aren't allowed to drive our golf cart after dark. I remember this being one of the best parts of the evenings in 2006. After dinner, we would load up in the cart and drive around the park. We always obeyed the 4 1/2 mph speed limit and it was fun to see the other sites with lights and decorations. This year we were disappointed that we couldn't do that. We will return again, soon we hope! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$99
Where else can you sit under your awning and be able to see the ocean. Super nice staff, great accommodations. I have seen people complain about the speed limit, but those are just people looking to complain. Just slow down and enjoy. Crafts for kids everyday. Bathrooms were spotless. Pool areas very nice. The price is high, but I would not hesitate to pay it again for a stay there, if the beach is indeed what you came for. Highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$95
This was our 2nd stay having been here 5 years ago. We stayed a week. This park is a great location with a wonderful beach. The lots are good size, paved and level. We found the maintenance of the park lacking. The laundry was dirty. The dumpster by the laundry was overflowing the whole week. You could smell it a block away. The trash cans by the beach always seemed to be overflowing. I did write the park about our concerns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$80
Very nice campground, I think that the non-beach sites were even nicer on the top of the hill. Bring a bike if you want to tool around the nice bike path. On the minus side, the shower (which was very nice) had no hot water. Overall we had a great time. We had 2 toddlers with us. We would camp here again. We rode our bikes through a campground down the street which was super nice but not on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$94
We have stayed here at this park 2 times now. Great park. Beautiful beaches. Friendly and helpful staff. I like that the staff escorts and assist you in the parking of your RV on your lot. Some of the lots are a very tight squeeze though. The 1st summer we stayed we were packed in, the people's awning beside us was almost touching our slide, only inches separated. The 2nd summer we stayed on the opposite side (in the 600's) and had a much nicer lot and was just as close to the beach as the previous year. This really truly is a great park. No other problems. Pet friendly. Kid friendly. Would recommend staying here. We will return here for all of our beach trips to Destin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$99
We stayed on the Ocean front sites. They are a bit tight. The sites away from the beach are wider and gives you more room for your slide out. The overall condition of the park was awesome. Staff were always friendly and willing to help.The family bathroom were always clean and in great condition. I recommend this RV park, where else can you enjoy the beach so close and enjoy time with your family. I love this place and this is my third year coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$07
We stayed here 3 days. It was a really nice park. The lower park by the ocean has smaller pads, and the upper park has larger pads, both looked great! The only issue we had was that the water in the shower was cold, but we would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$99
Great location right on the beach which deserves a 10 for location alone. Most of the sites are concrete pads, but there are some dirt/gravel. When we made our reservation by phone, they were very helpful and told us the best site available for the price range. When we arrived, the people in the office were very helpful, and we were guided to our site and given expert advice on how to back in and position the coach. Toilets and showers are small self contained rooms with deadbolt lock on the door. They are also in an air conditioned building and are clean. Some parts of the park are showing their age, but maintenance and cleanliness are very good. Pools were spotless and conveniently located at top and bottom of park. It is a bit expensive, but when compared to what you would pay for a condo or hotel room on the beach, it is a bargain. We shall definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$99
Just spent three pleasant days at Camping on the Gulf. Rate of $107.00 was expensive but compared to ocean front hotels and condos, it was still a bargain. The park is almost like two parks. Sites neared US 98 are shaded with grass and paved pads. As you go toward the Gulf the scenery inproves but the sites don't. Ocean front sites are fully exposed to sun, salt and wind. Facilities are very nice and staff was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$99
Camping on the Gulf RV park is a very nice beach RV resort. We were leaving Navarre Beach and decided to cruise down 98 and called Camping on the Gulf at the last minute, and they had a 1 nighter available. That was normally very odd during the Spring Break season. We called a few months earlier and couldn't get it. We were able to get a great spot right in front of the beach. The beach front spots do not allow dogs, nor do they have sewage; so we were directly across from the beach. Checking in was pretty quick, but the staff seemed a little overwhelmed with the number of people checking in and piling in the entrance. The staff guided us to our spot. Everything was very nice for our 1 day trip. We went back to the office to check out availability for another time during the summer, but they had very limited space for the summer. We were told you have to reserve at least a year in advanced. As we went back to our RV to start packing up, apparently a nearby RVer was switching spots to our spot and verified we were leaving and started moving his stuff over. Check out is 11AM CST. Check in for new comers was advertised for noon. We were minutes from leaving, but at 10:50 we got a knock on our door, telling us we had 5 minutes to leave, as another RVer was waiting to move in. We weren't that happy that we were rushed, but we left on time. This is a nice campground; very kid, pet & family-friendly, but getting in & out needs to be planned well in advanced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$90
This is a very nice campground. It was the first campground we stayed at that had beach access. It's pet friendly, kid friendly and the staff was great. In the winter months they convert their pool into an indoor facility. The park had a great location, and was very quiet. This is a great place to camp in the spring. The site fees are high, but, we will return in the near future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$135
Location is great: right on the beach. Sites are crammed together even in the winter months. We've stayed during the summer too, and it was more crowded. No park scenery, only RVs everywhere. If you don't park in a site near the beach, you have a walk through the campground before you get to the beach. Very well patrolled by the employees. Workers were quite helpful and nice. It's just so crowded and tight. If you flip your hamburger on your grill, you better catch it or it'll land on your neighbor's plate! Location of park is close to everything. Wonderful beach/city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$91
If you like ocean front then this is the place. It is expensive, but you can not beat the view anywhere I have seen. I have been here twice and both times ocean front so that is what I'm rating. Beaches are some of the top anywhere. Great outlet shopping within minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$87
We loved this campground! We'll definitely go again even with the high $87 plus tax rate. Rates to increase by 10% for next year! Note: if you bring your own golf cart, they charge an additional $5 a day. We were in the upper park and could see the ocean from our site. Some of the staff were friendly and some just doing a job. Only surprise is they do not have a shallow kiddie pool for young children. Still loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
Great park if you like the ocean. Some sites actually sit on the beach but ours was toward the front and had nice shade. Park was very clean and well maintained. Nice store and activities center. Workers were great and would give rides to the beach on their golf carts. The only negative would be they are a little "rules" happy. The pool didn't open until 9 AM and closed at 9 PM which upset my 4 year old. Also, you had to be 16 years or older to get into hot tub. I had never heard of this one. Overall, really good park and we would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$99
I can't believe this place is not the #1 campground in the United States. This is the nicest, the most unique, the most fantastic park in North America that I have found, and I know that opinion is shared by many. If you are looking for a campground that is right on the beach- not across the street, not a mile away, but right on the water- this is it. If you don't like sand, you might reconsider. If you want a shaded, well landscaped site, this is not the place for you. But, if you want the beach, there are NONE better. I've been camping here for almost 20 years, and this is, by far, my favorite campground. Maybe my favorite place! Far enough out of Destin to avoid all the crowds- it just doesn't get any better. It's not cheap in the summer, that is for sure. But, there is a reason why people are willing to shell out $165 a night for a CAMPSITE!! Not all are that expensive,but if you want to be the closest to the beach during the peak, summer weeks, that's what you'll have to pay. Not a week, but a night. And, there's no sewer- you'll have to pay $10 every time you want your tank pumped out. The fact that you have to reserve a spot about 1 year in advance to get the pleasure to spend $165 a night for a tight campsite should tell you something. Well worth it. Lifetime memories. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$99
This is the only park on the ocean in Destin. That is the only reason to pay the $100+ per night. Try to get a spot closest to the beach along the sides. The spots near the highway weren't as nice. The spots are very close with no landscaping in between for privacy. Pools were very clean, nice, with perfect temp. Bathrooms were very clean with nice hot showers. We were steps from the beach, which was a plus. The breeze from the ocean helped keep the 'no-see-ums' away. Staff was nice, 1/2 mile from outlets, big campground. I would have rather stayed at Topsail in a site in the 100's -very nice sites but not on the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$79
Would have given a 10 rating except for a few things. WiFi was very weak. Had to cross my fingers every time I would try to log on. Also, the water pressure was extremely poor. The pool was closed the whole time and that is one thing I wanted. You don't necessarily want to be on the beach for the whole week you are there. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We stayed in the upper park area. It was well worth the price. Very shady and comfortable spot. We have a 40 foot rig so our steps came out onto the grassy area instead of the pad which seems to be made more for a fifth wheel. But it was OK with a little rug. Would definitely stay here again. The beach was just picturesque. Beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$79
Our site was three stalls from Highway 98 and very noisy. The site was small. We were in a 38 foot Class A and were still sticking out into the road a bit. However, the site was level and was a concrete pad. Security at our site was minimal due to our proximity to the exit. The only thing between us and the highway was the automatic gate bar. You could easily walk into the park without anyone knowing. Unfortunately, when we checked in, we were not given the access code for the Wifi, so were unable to use that as the office was closed. We found the staff on the whole to be coldly professional. We felt the weekly rate was reasonable, but we consider the nightly charge to be a rip-off. We were located one quarter mile from the beach. However, the beach was spectacular. We would not recommend staying in the area of the park closest to the highway. The middle level was priced at $112.00 per night and the sites on the beach were $146.00. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$81
We absolutely loved this park right on the beach. We paid a premium price to park on the beach, but for a short stay, it was worth it. The park was full of snowbirds who had been there several months. This would be a place we would like to stay longer but in one of the cheaper spaces. The park is secure, nicely landscaped, has lots of activities, and is very pretty. The sites on the beach are close together but you don't notice because everyone is so friendly and the view is spectacular. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$80
We spent a month at this campground January/February. We would not stay here again. We paid for a Ocean site but could not see the ocean for all the big rigs right on the beach and we paid a premium price. Sites were so close you could not open your awning if you wanted to. We did not find the people at this rv park friendly, to the contrary they were snobbish. And the weather definitely not warm in Destin at all. We will stay further south next year We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$83
Big beautiful park! We woke up every morning looking straight out into the Gulf of Mexico. Concrete sites, clean, greatly landscaped, super nice employees, well stocked store, etc. I could go on. We were escorted to our site and the park is secured with a pass-code entry gate. You are close to shopping malls, outlet malls, specialty shops and LOTS of restaurants. This is a "must stay" at park. We will return this coming winter! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$85
It has good proximity to the water and clean bathrooms. Otherwise, it's a sandy parking lot. Office staff and management were pleasant and professional. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the blue-shirted jerks riding around in the golf carts. They told the campers next to us that we complained about their little dog barking at 1:30 in the afternoon. Understandably, the neighbors were furious. If the staff has a problem, they should handle it honestly instead of involving other patrons. We won't be back. Henderson or Topsail from now on! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Like others have said, great location; great beach, some spots tighter than others, but manageable; dog owners appeared to control their animals--some needed reminders about the rules of animals on the beach-- overall a great stay. One thing to keep in mind--I had our forwarding service send a Priority Mail package to me and the USPS was unable to deliver the same and "a notice was left." Al tho I checked at the CG office daily, I was told: "No mail for you!" We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$71
You don't get closer to the water than this if you take a waterfront site. The beach sites don't have sewer but they pump you out for $10. It is pricey but we had a lovely stay and will hopefully come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$79
We visited this park while in the area. The sites near the highway are VERY short and close together. Parking would take some doing. Those on the beach look like a chaotic parking lot. I guarantee your slides and awning will touch your neighbors. The chaos comes from where to park your tow vehicle or toad. The rates were $79-$132 per night! The thought of all that sand and salt water getting into and on my rig doesn't make me warm and fuzzy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
A great location directly on the gulf. The staff is very helpful, the campground clean, and close to many conveniences. The sites are tight which made pulling in/out a little tricky but staff helped direct us. This campground was well maintained, had 2 pools, and a small store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$79
A great place: has something and is a place of enjoyment, for everyone! It's very clean and well kept. Was nice to have a choice between two pools and/or the beautiful, white sand beach. The sites are snug but I have seen much worse. We had two different sites at the front of the campground, and found them to be fine for roominess. Some of the workers could use a more pleasant attitude when dealing with people, or find something else to do! But we didn't cowtail to any grumps! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$80
Very pricey, and sites are really close together. Not the greatest place for pets. No place to really walk them and they are not allowed in beach area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$79
I am a firm believer in giving good reviews when they are deserved and not just bad ones when they are also deserved. First let me say, I stayed at Navarre Beach Campground last year over the Memorial Day holiday and without hesitation left them a negative. Thus, I will never go back. You can read my review of them if you want but, just a quick overview they were extremely misleading on things in the park that would cost you extra money. Examples being an ice cream social, pancake breakfast, etc. By looking at there site one would think that was just a free bonus for campers. When you got here and were checked in is when you learned otherwise. Anyway, Camping on the Gulf was up front with everything. They say on their website that ice cream is extra and aren't shady about trying to make another dollar or 2 with anything. The bathrooms were top notch, you basically have your own shower, sink, and toilet. Nice shaded lots (upper park) and easy access to the beach. That being the real beach and not some "Sound" that the other place is located at. We have already made reservations again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
It has to get a 10 because of the location. If you get a good site close to the front, you are literally right on the beach. If this is what you want this park is a ten. Nice pools and staff. If you had a bad site I can see where you rating would be low, but we were on the second row with nice view. Lots of sand in the coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$88
We really enjoyed staying here since it is so close to the beach. The bathrooms were clean, and there were not alot of campers at our time of stay. We paid for a beach spot, but our next stay will get the upper park lot. I would suggest this if you would like to save money because it really isn't that much more of a walk to the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site was spacious, but we could see others were smaller. Our site was one of the 500s. I would definitely suggest this park to others, but it is pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$77
This park was everything the web-site said and more. Very pleased and the beach access was awesome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$1
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$65
This park is all about the beach. The sites are small, as are all beach RV Parks. The upper park sites are larger, which is what we had for our $65 rate. That is the winter rate, which is the lowest of the year. The beach here is one of the most beautiful in Florida. It's prettier than Palm Beach, Miami Beach, Naples, or Fort Myers Beach. Now, I'm talking about the sand and the ocean, not the cities. Destin has all you would need, with rampant development along the main road. It's not south Florida, so it isn't quite warm enough in the winter, hence the lower rate. But it is more tolerable in summer than the heat of south Florida, hence the higher rates in summer. Staff is friendly and 4.5 mph speed limit is ridiculous. I drove 10 mph and was not ticketed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$75
Wonderful, private bathrooms. Friendly staff. However, we paid for two nights. Had to leave for a family emergency after staying one night. Even though we left at 9:00am, they would not refund for the second night so, be aware. As long as you understand you are paying for the location (which is awesome) and not amenities, you will not be disappointed. Would have rated it higher if it were a better value and we had been refunded for the night we had to leave (two spots you know were filled that night)! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
This is a very busy and crowded park with very narrow sites. It has two pools, one with a water slide. It also has easy access to the ocean. It has sites literally 200 yards from the ocean with electrical and water only in the beach sites and is sand and dirt without shade, concrete, or amenities. Golf cart rentals are available. They didn't have that many though. Also gates at the front. If you choose to stay here in a big rig, the upper park is much nicer, cheaper and has a few large pull thru sites. The bathrooms and showers are very nice with locking doors on every unit. Overall I would not return to this park and would look for other parks on my next trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$95
This is our second visit. Gulf access is good. Sites are so close together that my awning and slide were only inches away. You've never camped closer to anyone anywhere than here, I can guarantee that. The electricity was flaky. The entire row kept tripping the main breaker. Management was working to have it repaired. It was very difficult (in fact dangerous) to get out of the campground onto the highway. The speed limit in the campground is 4.1/2 MPH for safety. The problem with 4.1/2 MPH is that all the bicycles and scooters travel faster than that, so the bicycles are passing up the cars and RVs making the situation actually more dangerous! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$87
Campsite was a little cramped. The campers next to us parked in our yard and left us no where to park the jeep. Beach was great. Did not use the pools but they looked nice. Staff was very helpful. Traffic getting into and out of the park was scary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$65
The Web site says it all. You will not be disappointed. The sites are a little small, but the location is amazing. This is absolutely our favorite campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$79
Great paved roads and sites. Very organized and friendly staff. Multiple pools and obviously the beach is great. Pizza Delivery across the street. Centrally located. Be sure to check out their Soft Serve Ice Cream machine in the recreation hall!! My kids loved it at $1.00 a cone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$67
Only place you can park and walk down to the water. Destin is a beautiful city. Would go there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$60
As I write this (03/07), we are staying in a cabin. Pros: The cabin is clean and well stocked. The indoor pool is very nice as is the activity center and the laundry facilities. Beach access is very nice. For the most part the staff has been friendly. Cons: We had friends visit us. As they had a dog and as dogs are not permitted in or outside of the cabins they parked their pickup (with a bed camper) off of Camping on the Gulf property but close to the cabin. Being close to the cabin it was convenient to check on the dog periodically. Even though they were off Camping on the Gulf property next to a vacant lot we were told they had to move their vehicle by camp personnel. I then suggested they park in my parking spot next to our cabin, leaving the dog in the camper. I would park at the entrance to the park. I was told dogs are not even permitted close to the cabin. As I write this review several park tenants have walked past the cabins with their dogs! It appears there is selective enforcement of the rules. This area is very congested. Entering the highway outside of the RV park is very difficult. I call it the Kamikaze run. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$45
We stayed for 1 week because they could not accommodate us any longer without having to move every weekend. The sites are staked on top of each other. Also the speed limit is a joke, you have to ride your brakes(4.5miles/hour) and they have signs to let you know you are over, even while walking. They are not accurate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$60
As seems typical for a private campground we felt like the website probably overplayed the amenities. The pools were small and the game room areas were deserted. The playground equipment was rather old as well. However, this is a great campground if you're interested in being right on the Gulf. You just can't beat the location and many sites have Gulf views. The staff was extremely friendly and there were many children around. We'll be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$55
We go here every year for Easter and we LOVE it! It is literally a park on the ocean. The water is beautiful and every part of the park is spotless! My kids (I have 4) love it and they sell ice cream cones for $1 in the office. We never want to leave and will continue to go for many years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$59
If you don't like a conjested area, don't camp here. The sites are right on top of each other. The park could really use some grooming. I will not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$70
I have been to perhaps 20 other RV parks, this one is rated top notch! We (mother, father, my daughter and myself) wanted something close to the beach that is family friendly and we found it. From our campsite we can see the ocean, are across from the playground, and perhaps a 1 minute walk from the showerhouse. The showerhouse is unbelievable, there are individual rooms which include showers, a toilet, a sink, a chair and electrical outlets. Additionally, I went in there two times yesterday, both times there were people from the campground cleaning. Speed limit is 4. 5 mph, however is good because there are many small children. Staff is friendly and helpful, campers are among the most friendly I've seen. Beaches are not overly crowded as in other places, campground had activities most days we were there. We are somewhat picky in regards to campgrounds, the first day we were all in agreement that this is where we are coming next year and are making reservations. Rules are there for a reason, as the mother to a child I can appreciate them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$79
We enjoyed our stay here and are surprised at earlier negative comments re staff. Every single staff member we encountered was fantastic. We were near the beach (could not stay beach front because we have dogs). Yes, the sites are close. Yes, the sites are sandy (as one usually finds on the beach). Utilities were great. There were a number of kids and they seemed to be having great fun. The only negative we had was that the free wifi was acting up (they know this and may change providers). We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2005
$58
We camped beach front over New Years. Wife loved it since she can sit and stare at the beach for hours and is perfectly happy. Our beach front site had only electric and water, no cable or sewer. Site was only 20 ft wide so we were very snuggly with neighbors. Upper end of park is much better looking than the lower or beach front sites which need work. We had no shade, no grass, and would step over a 5 ft retaining wall if not careful. Staff was friendly and helpful, park was clean. As I said, wife loved it, I would prefer less sand, more trees, more space. Big excitement was a sink hole that appeared after a heavy rain. Everyone gathered around to advise repair crew, take pictures and be entertained. Sort of pitiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2005
$50
If you want a family place to camp this IS NOT the place to be. Too many rules, people drive around in golf carts looking for violators. Speed limit is 4 1/2 miles per hour with flashing lights if you violate. Staff is rude and will yell at you if you or your kids are violating rules. Kids must have helmets to ride bikes, kids cant play on pool table (unless you are STANDING right over them at ALL times)kids can't use exercise equipment. Really the only pluses are the restrooms and showers and the view of the beach. Do your research before hand to ensure your family will have an enjoyable trip. Never coming back to this place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$72
This is a nice campground. We stayed in a beach site. I wish now that we had gotten an upper park site. They are alot nicer with shade and a big concrete patio. Also the price is cheaper and the walk to the beach is not that much farther. But we did enjoy oursleves. This place is right on the water. Showers were great with motel style bathrooms. We live in Virgina so it was a long drive for us but worth it. We hated to leave. We will return in a couple of years though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$90
If you like the beach as we do, this place is perfect. We get a site on the beach but it is high ($100+). The park is very crowded and the sites are small. The sites on the beach are gravel but should be paved. Overall this is a good park but way too crowded. I would gladly pay more, because of the location, if they would remove some of the sites so each site would have more room. Topsail State Park is much nicer and cleaner but does not have good access to the beach. Staff is helpfull. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$74
Decent campground, it is the only campground in the area with easy beach access. You can stay right on the ocean if you want. I wouldn't though, because the sites are small and if it storms you will get sand everywhere. Prefer upper park (short walk to ocean) because of concret pads, grass, trees, and sites are larger. Campground is expensive (beachfront sites are over $100 in the summer, upper park is $57 in the summer) by any standards! But if you want to be close to the Ocean this is the place. Have also camped at Topsail Hill, nicest campground in the world just too inconvenient to the ocean for me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2004
$50
We have been there twice and it was outstanding. With respect to the review that mentioned too many employees driving golf carts, we would also point out that they were constantly offering transportation to elderly, to people with small children, and to any one else if you looked tired. We won't hesitate to return and we don't usually recommend things, but the place is literally on the gulf, its clean, and the people are decent. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$50
Great park on the gulf coast in Destin. You can camp with your windshield looking at the white sands and gulf coast. Waterfront sites don't have sewer, but there are full hookups nearby as well. We stay here everytime we visit Destin. Also close to factory outlet mall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Nice Park ,staff very helpful. No problems checking in or with our reservations. We stayed here 9/04 between Francis and Ivan. Facilities very clean and in good repair.Love the family style baths. I do wish the pool was open late at night . It closes at dusk, but you can take a late night walk on the beach , so not a bad trade off!! Looking forward to reurning in '05. Hope Ivan was kind. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$64
We have stayed here twice and love the entire campground. The first time we were at site #717 where we could see the ocean over the campers in the two rows ahead of us. The last time we were there, 8/13/04, we were on the beach. They have removed three sites on the beach to give everyone more room and we had no problem getting our slide and awning out. Where else can you step out of a camper and walk directly on the beach? True, there is not much shade on the lower sites, but the upper sites have plenty of shade if this is what you need. To us, we want the beach and are willing to overlook the shade. Everything was very clean and the hosts were the best, both trips. We were there in a 30' Fifth Wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2003
$52
We camped here once, that was enough. We had a small campsite near the middle of the campground. Our campsite was so small that one end of our pop-up almost touched the brick wall dividing the campground from the resort next door. The other end of our camper was just a few feet from the road going through the campground. We had requested a campsite right across from the restroom. However, the restroom was frequently dirty with stopped-up toilets. We often had to walk down to the restroom closer to the beach. But frequently those toilets were stopped up, too. We were not impressed with this place at all, and we will not go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$60
First of all, this park has too many people working here riding around in golf carts. Usually when a place has a terrible website and they have something great like the beach going for them, it tells you something. They feel like they do not have to market themselves and that is the same attitude you will find here. The take it or leave it attitude. This park has one big thing, they are right on the beach and they let you know it by having that imprinted on everything. "You can't get any closer than this!" Rules, rules and more rules: I was asked to have a headlight and rear blinking light on mine and my wife's bike or I should not ride it in the park. I suppose the reflectors that will do for riding on any city street, were not good enough for the night staff on golf carts that mentioned it to us. I also did not like their policy of a minumum of something like $40 before they let you use a credit card, which if someone reported that to Mastercard or Visa is probably a violation of their merchant agreement to stop people from using their card for any dollar amount. I made several purchases in the store and had to scramble to find cash each time since I try to put everything on a credit card when on a weeklong vacation. One of the main things I also did not like, was having my door knocked on by a worker telling me it was almost checkout time. I read the rules and yes I know that I have to be out by a certain time but I have never encountered this at a campground. I asked at the store on the way out, and they said there was not someone waiting on the site so it further infuriated me about having my door knocked on. If the guy had been friendly and joked around about it it would have been fine but he was not. Just overzealous workcampers that think they own the place. The sunsets were beautiful and the park was full of some nice people from all over, but I like to go to a place and be fully left alone by the staff, not see them in golf carts every second, looking for something to pick about. I will visit this park again because I do not want to label it just because of the transient staff. Surely the ones I am talking about will have moved to another park. The main reason for the 2 rating, is my door being knocked on about checkout and the bike light issue. Although for this price, I would have expected to see concrete pads on every site. I am glad though, that this park has not given in to condo developers and has remained a campground. Sadly it is the only beachfront campground on the Gulf that I have been able to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$50
We camped directly on the beach for one month in November 2003, and would do so again but for a shorter time. The beach is beautiful -- white sand and emerald green/blue water. But sites were only 16' wide -- we could not put out our awning. The plan for 2004 is to widen the beachfront sites to 20', still tight but better. Sites back from the beach are significantly wider. The campground is in the process of putting cement pads on all sites except beachfront; this should be completed for the 2004 summer season. Beautiful new bath houses were built in 2002-2003 which feature individual motel style bathrooms. We've never seen better in a campground, and they are cleaner than most motels. The beach half of the campground has no shade, which would be a problem in hot weather. The "upper park" away from the beach has trees and grass, and some trees are large enough to provide shade. We found the staff and fellow campers to be very friendly. The staff, most of whom are workcampers, make a real effort. The town of Destin, and 6 lane highway 98 that runs by the campground, is very busy. In summer we imagine the area to be close to gridlock, but in November it was just busy. There are many good restaurants in the Destin area, including some right on the waterfront. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$50
Great for family vacation, you have the gulf, pool, activity center, paved roads & it's close to everything. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$59
My family drives there every year for a two week stay. Perfect for people who love the ocean and a great beach. Not the place for people who don't want to be around kids. After all, where else can you hear the sounds of the ocean waves and be inside your camper?! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$45
Avoid the beach camping area unless you enjoy the sardine experience. Our site was about 50 yards from the beach, which is where I would recommend. Close enough to the beach for easy walking and the sites are much bigger. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$40
Nice campground on the beach. Would avoid the beachfront sites unless you absolutely have to have that view of the Gulf. They are very close together. The sites not on the front row have much more room. Campground is well maintained and the staff are friendly enough. Very good outlet mall shopping about a half mile from the campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$50
Overpriced but right on the sunny (?) sandy beach. Minimal sites for 40' 5th. Narrow sites for triple slide. Park starting to look its age. We drove through Emerald Coast RV Park and will probably stay there next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$35
This campground is right on the beach. I am writting this review because as everyone knows ,everyone has their own opinion and I respectivly disagree with some points of the other review on this campground. There are some shaded sites on the upper end of the campground. The restrooms are very clean and they are cleaned several times a day. There is ample room for the awning to be pulled out as well as a slide. There is also ample room for a grill for a cookout. We have been camping there for 4 years and would not camp anywhere else in the panhandle area of Florida. The campsite prices are a bit high but as I said, you are right on the beach. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is that nothing is perfect. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$27
No shade at all! Very small sites and very close together. On the beachfront sites, you can't open your awning and large slide-outs present a problem. Very little room for tow vehicle. The campground staff was very friendly and very helpful. If your desire is to stay on the beach then this is a good campground for you. But if you enjoy sitting outside, grilling, etc. then be aware that the sites are too small to do this. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com