221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Saddleback Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (603) 942-7285
CGID6661

Saddleback Campground

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   6   6   10   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
The shade trees are very tall and make a nice rustling sound. Restroom/showers are single unit unisex with indoor carpeting. They manage to keep them clean partly because it's a small campground. Very comfortable and peaceful place. The Wi-Fi was a nice surprise, and owner was fantastic, working with me before and during our stay. I had timing and weather concerns. A major storm blew through. Site drained nicely and nothing came down on us. Staff worked all day the next day re-grading the drive. Being part seasonal/transient they're not geared for big activities every weekend, but sounds like they do a nice job on ones they do have. Convenient to Northwood groceries and a few restaurants. A Caesar salad and house pizza from Cooperhill was great. We also required an engine check-light diagnosis from the Northwood Garage. They were friendly and honest. The lake is more like a pond. The nearby state park has a great trail around their lake. I wouldn't say Saddleback is not kid friendly, but it's not meant to fulfill every kid activity /fantasy. There are places within an hour for that. We had only pet children with us. I'd stay here again. For the cost and quality of camping services, an easy 10. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
A beautiful frog and fish lake where you can catch and release both. Nets provided for frog catching. Swimming in lake ok. Lovely sites. Adult area around fire pit with chairs lake side. Owners are pleasant and very good at running this great place. I came back a second time, because I grew up next to a frog pond and loved to hear them at night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
The last reviewer was very accurate. It is a clean and pretty campground but it sort of ends there. There are no regularly scheduled activities. While there is a playground it is old and rather unkept. Very little for kids to do. They advertise swimming in the pond but after looking at the water quality I would not let any kids of mine go in it. All in all a good place for a night or two if you don't need sewer or 50 amps. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
This campground is operated by a very conscientious owner team and is situated in a setting that has fantastic possibilities. I fault myself, however, for not checking rating sources other than RV Parks Review prior to arrival. Saddleback is a nice little campground which has been miss-categorized by other reviewers IMHO. Or, the reviews posted here on RV Parks Review I read prior to making my reservation were not made by actual camping customers. I smell a tiny bit of self-serving when this campground is given a 10 by anyone and wonder where else they have camped as a comparison. The campground has approximately 20 sites, 11 of which were occupied by permanent residents. Of the remaining sites only one had 50 AMP service, and none have sewer service ( mobile dump service available). The pond swimming and frog catching activities for children and adults (nets are provided for catch and release), is very back to nature and a healthy change of pace if one is accustomed to a pristine swimming pool. Our view outside the front of our motor home of the pond was fantastic. However, there was a pile of gravel just outside our entry door, and the view out the driver’s side was of a season’s worth of piled up leaves. With a great deal more infrastructure work the park has great potential but perhaps would then have to increase their rates above the very reasonable price we paid. On the Saturday prior to July 4th, the owners thrilled our grandkids with a noisy, brilliant fireworks display over the pond……a nice touch! A short ride and grocery and gas were available as well as steamed-to-order fresh lobster at Wal-Mart. Within an hour, the Maine coast and all of its attractions are fun to explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
As others have reported, this is a beautiful gem, with unique and lovely owners. We felt genuinely welcome to their little piece of heaven, after a long day at Camping World. They even signed us up for Passport America, which saved half the camping fee! And the town in and around Northwood is breathtaking! You're close to many activities. Love it and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
Price is Passport America. Very nice little campground with pond in the middle and bullfrogs croaking. Their Wi-Fi worked very good inside our RV. Too many trees for our rooftop dish. Sprint cell phone worked OK. The staff was very helpful when we entered the campground giving directions between buildings to site. She also suggested a route to avoid incoming NASCAR race traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is our third year camping here. It is such a gem. The owners go out of their way to make sure all of your needs are met. Great location if you have kids between the ages of 4-12. The pond is stocked with fish & frogs, and there is a nice little beach and playground. Great loop for riding bikes, and you can see your kids from all times from most sites. Pet friendly and unbelievable quiet during quiet hours. We will be going back during Labor Day weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
We experienced the most personal hospitality here of any campground in our four years' of full-timing from the owner. She gave us all the time that we wanted at check-in to talk about local activities and then came to our motor home at different times during our four-day stay to (1) warn of imminent bad weather, (2) keep us informed on the status of electrical service repairs being made outside of the park, and (3) along with her daughter and daughter-in-law to personally teach us the intricacies of eating fresh whole lobster after telling us during check-in about local groceries who boiled them free. The sites within the park are arranged in a random plan around the lake in the center that creates a very spacious, non-crowded feel. Will definitely return here when in the area again. The rate noted is the average of Passport America nights and non-PA nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Clean, quiet, fun, relaxing. This is a great little campground. All the sites look over the pond, which is stocked with frogs and fish. If you have kids this place is a must. Restrooms very clean; owners take great pride in their facility and stop by occaisonally to make sure your needs are being met. This campground has a unique mix of guests who come in motorhomes, TTs, pop-ups, and tents. The best part is this place is super quiet from 10pm-8am. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
We have camped here for the past three years for about a month each time and have enjoyed it very much. It is a family type campground with quiet setting. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They also keep a close watch on the grounds making sure everyone is having a good time in a safe way. There is a lake with a swimming area and lots of nets around the edges for the kids to catch frogs etc. There is a playground for kids also. Stores, RV supplies/repair service, gas stations and good eateries are nearby. Just ask the owners for recommendations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Clean, quiet, with very involved owners who constantly walk the property to make sure your every need is met. Great place for kids under the age of 12. Basketball, badminton, horseshoes, all included. Playground is nice, but could use some minor upgrades. Outstanding pond with fishing and tons of frogs that can be caught with campground supplied nets (no cost). You can also swim in the pond, however the swimming area is small (still fun for the kids though). Within 5 minutes of some nice swimming holes and 30 minutes of 2 beautiful state parks that have excellent hiking trails and swimming ponds. An absolute must visit if you enjoy peace and quiet without all the productions of most kid friendly campgrounds. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
This is a very small, well run campground. We found the web site and decided to give them a try for the weekend. The owners were great people, very helpful and did all they could to make our stay there pleasant. The kids loved the pond and spent hours trying to catch big bull frogs. The playground was smallish but our five year old enjoyed it! The sites allocated for transient visitors were a bit small and close, but we had no one on either side of us. We could sit at our site and see the whole campground and watch the kids ride their bikes around the pond. The seasonals were very nice and sociable. This is not the place to go for major entertainment, golf carts and swimming pools. It was quiet and we could join in the activities as much or as little as we desired. We will definitely be going back to camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com