214486 User submitted reviews online!!
River Dance RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (720) 933-9212
CGID6662

River Dance RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   4   8   7   7   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Family owned. Very rustic. Enjoyed the scenery In a canyon in the Rockies-right along side the Eagle River. Site was level pull-thru No sewer--but there was a dump station. Short walk to the river. Several fisherman in the area-walking to and from the river. Would stay here again, when traveling thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This was our 4th time staying here and although having no sewer hook up we still like this park. The brothers that own it are laid back and keep the place in decent shape. There is a dump on the property and the sites are ok and most level. Great views and the I-70 traffic noise is faint. They did have working Wi-Fi, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Kind of pricey, but met our needs. Close to I-70, but noise wasn't an issue. Place looked kind of barren at first glance, but sitting and looking, the surrounding mountains and river were quite nice. No sewer, but dump station had easy access. Manager said WiFi was weak. 1 to 2 bars on Verizon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We really liked this park right on the Eagle River. Sort of rustic, but we loved it and will stay again. Although there is no sewer at sites, there is a dump station on the road leaving the park. Nice walks down to the river and a good place to kick back and relax. Cash or check only and no website, but it is like real camping before the internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We did not stay here by choice. We broke down and were forced to stay here for 5 days at $40 a night which was about $15 too much. The manager was very helpful with our situation and allowed us to do repairs after UPS brought parts to us. The good: water pressure good, electric good, nice and friendly staff. The Bad: horribly expensive for what you get. Wifi is available on the deck only, park is mostly permanent residents, no sewers and really NOTHING to do in Gypsum. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Great over night Park, but no sewer since you are right on the Colorado River. Very rustic, between two mountains, right off I-70 but no noticeable road noise. All services worked well. Roads and spaces a little tight but maneuverable. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
An OK stop for one night, but little more. The place was once nicely kept up and pretty but little has been done lately as large weeds intrude on access roads, the patio area has seen better days and only one overworked guy is on duty who locks the office doors when out in the park. The pull throughs are water/elect only which works for one night, the power and water was good and the site was level. There is no TV and my computer air card did not connect to the internet; however, our AT&T phone was good. It is next to I-40 but below grade so the noise was not bad. Take exit 140 and 3 miles west along the frontage road, easy to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Nice park with clean facilities. No Wi-Fi or TV. But, the scenery is spectacular and the kids had fun playing in the river. Although it was a bit pricey considering the lack of amenities, we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
This park is right along the frontage road along the I-70. It is a thin slice between the highway and the Eagle River, with no trees, and simple lots with no individual septic hookups, rather a single shared dump station. No cable, no Wi-Fi. It was fine for a one nighter if you are tired of driving, but definitely not a destination. The only possible exception is if you are a fisherman, as i was told by the owner that it is a great spot for that. I am not a fisherman. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
This park is in a very nice location along the Eagle River, although it could be noisy during warmer weather when windows are open because it's right next to the freeway. Waterfront sites are available for tents only, and sewer hookups are not available on any of the pull-through sites, only on the back-ins. There is a dump onsite though. No Wi-Fi service available. There's a nice bike/walking path you can access a short distance from the park that goes all the way to Gypsum. The lack of sewer connections, no cable and Wi-Fi, and noise from the freeway keep me from rating this park higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
As mentioned by other reviewers: it's reasonable for an overnight. We were here for a few days and the road noise eventually got to us. Nice landscaping using native rock in many areas. Wi-Fi was down when we were here. A little pricey compared to other places we've stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Good for overnight stop because there aren't other choices. Pros: location, sound of Eagle River helps drown out highway noise Cons: mosquitoes!!!!, Eagle River rushes by and certainly isn't suitable for swimming, one bathroom for campground, office is also owner's very small home, which makes morning questions awkward as he makes coffee and pulls on pants. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Great roadside campground for overnight stops. River runs next to campsites. Easy in and out for larger big rigs. Clean; clean laundry room. Lovely large deck area and tables for gatherings or just lying back and enjoying the river and the view. The perfect overnight stop. Does have road noise because it is right off the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
This campground advertises that they have almost a mile of river front access. The WiFi is not free and the river front access is about 100 yards max. A nice place to stay for the night but a bit pricey for the facilities offered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Reserved site three because it was advertised on web site as a big rig site with sewer. The site was not level and filled with sloping gravel. My 40 foot fifth wheel would have barely fit, and a back in to boot. This campground is VERY close to I-70, expect highway noise non-stop. The female clerk was unfriendly and confrontational when I asked to have a different site in the rear of the property. Website is not 100% accurate. Not all sites are paved. Not all sites are level. The so called river swimming area is DANGEROUS. Many sharp rocks, submerged branches, lost fishing lures and one heck of a strong eddy. Do not attempt to swim here. Stayed one night and moved on. Wont be back. Very poor value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The campground is decorated very nice. A river runs next to campground with access. Had a nice homey feeling. The weather was too hot to enjoy. The gal who helps runs this could take a class in people skills. She comes across very harsh. We purchased the cinnamon rolls. Good, but not worth $5. This was a good stop over spot. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
Wind was always blowing. We couldn't go outside because mosquitos ate us alive. Showers and restrooms were clean, but there were no lights on in the evening so we could find them. There was absolutely nothing for kids to do. Price was high for what you got: have to pay for WiFi, no TV service, no lights on at night. Owners were more interested in getting money than customer satisfaction. Trailer Life said complimentary coffee and cinnamon rolls, but owners charged $5 for one cinnamon roll: what a ripoff. This place is okay for overnight only. The advertisements for this place sound much better than the place really is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Nice park and friendly staff but a bit over priced. No cable, and WI-FI is for a fee from a third party. Right on a nice river, but access was denied due to nesting geese. Probably would bypass next time in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Actually a nice park for an overnight; not much to do in the area if the weather is bad. A little expensive but acceptable for the area. Spaces a little tight for larger rigs but no problems. We had a nice walk down to the river. Did not use facilities, but individual shower rooms (nice!) looked large and clean. Would have liked it better if it wasn't for the wind and 5+ inches of snow, but that is beyond management control! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$48
We stayed at this RV park for one night and would do it again. Liked the single room showers: it reminded us of home. Price was a bit steep for a non-full hookup site but not insane. The view was nice and stream behind the park added to the beauty. Overall a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
It's difficult to give this park just one number for a review. I would give it a 4 for location, but a 10 for customer service. The park is very "open" (i.e. few trees) and the mosquitoes are absolutely horrible at night. The river is very nice; wading & fishing is nice, but VERY cold water. About 2 p.m. every day we had a couple of hours of strong wind gusts which caught us off guard and almost ripped the awning off our RV! We didn't really see any wildlife or anything else that would really draw us back to this location. With that stated, I must say that I wish these guys (Rusty was great!) owned an RV park in a more picturesque location. We've been to so many parks with great potential, but horrible ownership that we might just return to River Dance just to be treated with courtesy! Example: They screwed up our reservation (it may sound like I'm complaining, but I'm not), so they bent over backwards to make it right. We mentioned that we would like a fire ring and within minutes it was sitting beside our RV. They just couldn't have been nicer to work with. The bathrooms and showers were reputed to be very clean by members of our group who used them - always a plus. General complaints (nothing really serious): I don't think their cinnamon rolls were really worth the $5 that they charge. They tried to keep pace with a silly little single-cup coffee maker as well. They should just set up a commercial coffee tanker with 2 burners and an assortment of donuts, serve better coffee and scratch the rolls. Also, why don't they sell ice? Why do you have to travel to the local convenience store for it? They could sell bags of ice for $2.50 easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
We needed to stop at this RV park for 2 nights and won't go back. There were no sewer hookups at any site, only a centrally located dump station that was difficult to use. In fact if someone was already dumping there was no way to get in line if you were parked in the wrong isle of the campground. We decided to push on with full tanks. Areas for pet walking were mostly muddy with patches of grass or weeds. The people who run the facility were very friendly but the price was out of line for what you received. Wi-Fi was so expensive it made no sense to use it. All in all, the cost was my biggest complaint. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Clean park with a gorgeous view but that's about it. Some of the sites are asphalt paved and some are just gravel but all are pretty level. To call oneself a Resort with water pressure at 30psi, no laundry, no pool, no Free wi-Fi, no cable tv and no sewer for $45 a night is stretching it. Adjacent to the freeway with a 2 3/4 mile drive back to the freeway ramp. Choices of RV Parks is not great for this area for larger rigs so would probably stay again but be aware of what you do or not get for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
We had 2 main complaints with this campground. First, after arrival we were told we had to put the levelers up on blocks. This was not disclosed when we made reservations and we did not have blocks for our levelers. Things of this nature should be made known when reservations are made. Second, there were only two showers for the whole campground. Forty-two sites, no sewer hookups and only 2 showers. Plus this campground had a lot of "working campers" which added to the congestion at the showers. Other than those two complaints, we were generally pleased with the campground. The staff could have been nicer, more pleasant, but fortunately we did not have much need to interact with them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
The website was deceiving and the information in the 2009 trailer life handbook was incorrect. The waterfall was stinky, the cinnamon rolls cost $5.00 and had to be ordered the night before. The horseshoe pits were simply sticks in the ground and the "waterfront" was full of dog waste. It was a nice location if you are staying overnight off the I-70, but way too expensive for the services they provide. I would NOT stay here or recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
This park has a charm all its own. Views are gorgeous, from huge mountains on four sides to a rapid river on the backside, full of wildlife. The folks who run it have obviously put in a ton of sweat equity, making fairly level sites with a "homey" look. No sewers, but a convenient dump station. Wi-Fi is extremely expensive and slow, $6.00 per night. The owners explain that, in order to get Wi-Fi way out here, they had to install and pay for their own satellite dish monthly and then contract with Nomad, who keeps $5.75 per night and gives the park 25-cents a night. This is not a cookie-cutter park but is certainly adequate, especially in view of the scarcity of parks along Highway 70 between Denver and Grand Junction. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
To call this a Resort is pushing it. It might have been at one time but is very run down. There is no sewer hookup and the water pressure was poor. There is traffic noise from the highway. The site was a pull through and was easy to access with our 35' fifth wheel and fairly level. There is no television but they do have some movies you can rent at the office. I don't know about the Wi-Fi as we have an air card for our internet. The air card worked very well and cell phone reception was good. This is a park that you would stay at only if you were ready to stop for the night as we were and couldn't find anything else. The one positive was the view. It was beautiful and the Colorado River is a short walk from the park. We spent one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
Very easy access, highway noise excessive, access to river is not maintained, satellite internet can be slow & too expensive, frisbee golf course overrun with grass, very low water pressure and no sewers, just a dump station. Much too expensive for the services provided, should be about $10.00 cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$49
Have passed by this campground scores of times. This trip is worked out to stay here first night out after a late start. Doesn't take reservations or honor any discounts. Beautiful setting if it were not for the constant roar of I-70. Large sites big rig friendly. Didn't have to drop toad. Gravel/dirt roads. Site was fairly level. Says they are pet friendly but many warnings of dire consequences for breaking rules in brochure. Small fenced area for taking care of business. Warns you not to let dogs pee on bushes around campground. One wonders if you are supposed to diaper them on the way to pen. Rules, rules rules stated in mostly negative terms. Wi-Fi was expensive and very slow. Very pricey for site without dump. I'll keep driving next time. Way over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
We found this campsite a great place to stay. The scenery was beautiful and the walk along the river was peaceful. River Dance was easy to get to and there was plenty of room for our 42' and tow car in the space without unhooking the car. It was beautifully landscaped and in very good shape when we were there. Not having sewer hookup was a pain, but the dump station was convenient. It was expensive, but that is a supply an demand issue. There just aren't many around that can accommodate a big rig. We would definitely visit this one again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
I agree with the previous reviewer on most points. This campground is in a great location. It sits right on the banks of the Colorado River where fishing, rafting, and kayaking can be engaged in. However, as an RV park, especially an RV park given a "5W" rating by Woodall's for facilities, it leaves much to be desired. First, $45 per night (no GS, FMCA, AAA discount) for a pull-through site with only water and electricity is excessive. Also, WI-FI through Nomad is $6 per day vs. $4 in most other parks. The office is a small park model, which wouldn't be bad if it wasn't both dirty and in disarray. The exit road for the pull-through sites is essentially a cowpath with some gravel spread on top of it. In terms of value for money, very disappointing. Woodall's needs to get a clue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$42
We stopped here because Woodalls rates this park 5 stars. It is 3 stars. It is convenient to I-70 when crossing Colorado. There are no sewer hookups in the transient section. Only sewer hookups are for seasonal. I was looking high and low for the hookup when my neighbors said there aren't any. None of us was told no sewer in advance. They cut their stay to one night as a result. In addition to no sewer there is no cable TV. Only water and electric. Sites are rough gravel and there are no shade trees. $42/nite for water and electric is not competitive. On the positive, the area around the park is beautiful. It is located in a verdant valley of the Colorado River. Would I stay here again. Probably. It's the only game in town for miles around. If it's stopping time and you're in the area, it's a no brainer. I wouldn't plan a trip to this "RV resort". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com