223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Mike Roess Gold Head Branch State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (352) 473-4701
CGID6666

Mike Roess Gold Head Branch State Park

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   7   2   8   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Wonderful, quiet park. Only drawback is no sewer and dump station requires tight maneuvering for longer rigs. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Nice quiet park in rural Florida. Clean restrooms and showers. Large picnic areas with pavilions. There is a beach with lake swimming. The sites are fairly level on sand or gravel. Larger units should use the Sandhill loop as the road through the loop is paved and the others are really wooded with gravel road access and are tight. Our cost was 10.00 per night because we are Florida residents and we are over 65. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
We stayed on Spot 38, a grassed exceedingly spacious spot. #36 &37 were same. Staff was great and made you feel welcome! Nice hiking trails including part of the FL Trail. We did not see any 50 amp sites and lack of sewer hook-ups would limit our stay, but a nice place to visit with unusual for FL. terrain features! My brother and his wife stayed in a cabin while we were there and they were very pleased with it, also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
We were a family of six, and stayed for two nights in the Lakeview loop. (There is a view of the lake beds through the woods with a short walk, but lakes are dried up so no actual water view.) Campsite was outstanding, very large and backed to wooded area. Bathhouse was incredibly clean with large shower areas. However, hot water was hit and miss - one stall each in men's and ladies' had full hot water, others had lukewarm or cold. Nice place to spend a long weekend with some great hiking trails and good playground. Sad to see dried up lakes, but interesting to walk around and observe exposed lake beds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Concrete site near shower house was nice. Park is deteriorating. Would not stay there for extended period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$75
Cabin was nice, park is beautiful, HOWEVER, there seems to be NO rule enforcement here at all. We were told at the gate we would have to board our dog, no pets in the cabins. We complied, only to arrive and find a very loud group with a pair of rottweilers in the adjacent cabin. A complaint to the ranger was useless. The ranger did come out to tell them dogs were not permitted in the cabins, but did not make them remove the animals, (imagine our frustration!!) Our entire weekend was spent protecting our kids from loose dogs,loud music and virtually NO park presence whatsoever. We never saw a ranger patrol the entire weekend. We will not return here We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
This quiet state park is located well away from the normal Florida bustle. There are two campgrounds within the park. Both are about a mile back from the highway, so road noise is not a problem. When I visited, the park was populated by families with younger children from the local area. In both of my stays here (the last was in 2008) I’ve found the kids to be generally well-behaved and things are quiet by 10 PM. Since school was in session, the campground which was crowded on the weekend was nearly empty on Sunday night. Cell service is very poor and I was unable to receive any over the air TV channels. I used the park as a base for access to Jacksonville, which is a long 30 miles to the north. Note there are very few visitor attractions in the immediate area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Beautiful, very large park. Lots of wildlife (deer, turkeys, alligators). Bath houses were old, but in very good shape and kept very clean. If you like quiet and relaxing, this is the place. If you need large towns, cell phone, etc., this place is not for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We have stayed at this campground 3 times in the past 3 years. With each visit it seems that the campground deteriorates more. A previous reviewer stated that, “This is our weekend get-a way.” It is more like a weekend party park for locals. On our last visit there were a couple of groups that were loud after quiet hours. If there are any Florida State games being played, the situation gets worse. In talking with the camp hosts we were told that the Rangers don’t enforce the campground rules. The sites are mostly sand and un-level with very little grass. Of the 3 loops, Sandhill has the best sites but the worst restrooms. Turkey Oak is only for tents and pop-ups or small RV’s. Lakeview has the best restrooms but probably the worst sites. As a previous poster stated, we hope the Park Service reads these reviews. We will most likely not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$11
It has nice trails and a ravine to explore. There are three (or more) lakes. Sites are level consisting of grass and gravel. No Wi-Fi, but there is cell phone service. I'd stay here again. GPS numbers are 29.847834,-81.961766 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Took someone else's advice and we picked site #6. Great site for privacy, however park was not very crowded anyway. We liked the Sand Hill area. The loop road was paved unlike the other loop in the area next to us which was dirt and really sandy. The one thing that I think needs to be improved are the trails. We just happened to find some by accident. We actually came across an area down by maintenance that said it was a Sign Shop. However, we felt the signs in this park were not nearly as good as other state parks. We rode our bikes all over the paved roads and down some of the paths that were not marked. Lots of wildlife. We saw deer and wild turkey. Deer walked all around our camping area like we weren't even here. Great BBQ restaurant with salad bar in town called Johnny's. TV reception was fair. Picnic area was very large. We stayed here 3 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is our weekend get-a way located just north of Keystone Heights, Fl. We enjoy the Sand Hill Loop the best with it's 50 amp service and back-in sites. The reason for the low grade, the State of Florida has let the sites degrade to the point some are no more than a mud hole during our summer rains. Sites are not gravel but a mixture of bolder size lime rock and sand. Most sites are not close to level and have low hanging limbs. We hope the State reads these reviews. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$11
This is our old standby, our 3rd RV trip here. Great trails, star-gazing, and quiet. Very relaxing and peaceful. There is a roped off swimming area at the lake and a very large playground and day-use area by the lake. None of the RV sites view the lake. We prefer the Sandhill Area which is about 1/2 mile from the lake. You can hike through the woods to the "Mill Site" area then hike the 1.1 mile trail to the "Ravine". The "Ravine" is roughly 60' deep with many small springs, tropical plants and a boardwalk, bridge, dirt trail through it. You can go up the steps to the road at the site, but it's more fun to return on the trail back to the "Mill Site". We like sites 1 and 6 but, none are really bad. In the Lakeview area, avoid 41 to 45, 47 to 49, and 53 to 60 if you like privacy. Sites 46, 50, 70 and 71 looked the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
This is a fairly small and old park, but the staff keep it up pretty well. Unfortunately, the same can't be said for some of its visitors (ripping down trees and vegetation for fire materials, littering, making noise, etc.) I have found the Lakeview Loop to be a little quieter than the Sandhill Loop so your mileage may vary. There is a limited number of 50 amp sites and pull-throughs. Has several interesting trails in the park; main road is a nice bike ride. I have also stayed in their cabins a couple of times: very spacious (good for large families or even small groups); with plenty of amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
The campground is very open with not a lot of trees. There is a very small lake, but too small for kayaking which we had hoped to do. The ranger was nice enough to tell us where there was a larger lake. As others have stated there is not very much to do there. We ended up the 2nd day going into Gainsville for a movie. It seemed as though there were many family/friends who camped there together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
We were in site #1. Very nice quiet park. We stayed in Sandhill loop which was much quieter than the Lakeview loop. More pop-ups and tents there. The Sandhill sites were quite spacious, with sand and grass cover, and I think much larger than the Lakeview ones and the campground road was paved there as well. Each site has a picnic table, and a combo grill and a few sites have 50 amp as well. There are about 4 pull-throughs in the Lakeview section but not all for big rigs. The lakes have been very low for a few years, cannot boat in park except for canoeing near swimming area. Nice trails to hike and get your feet wet in the spring water. TV reception was very good. Bathhouse in Sandhill was older but clean. Lakeview has newer bathhouse. Bike riding in park was fun, lots of little hills to climb. Not something Floridians are used to. There is a playground in the picnic area and several pavilions that the CCC built. No museum here though like at other CCC parks. Overall a great weekend for fall, winter or early spring camping but I wouldn't come back here when it is hot as the lake is not that refreshing to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
This is a nice clean park with outstanding park staff. The rest rooms and showers are old and unheated but very clean.That is the only downside. The park has nice hiking trails with lots of deer and turkeys to see.The roads are good for biking with a few hills and if up to it one can ride all the way to Keystone Heights on a nice paved bike trail that runs beside route 21.The lakes are low as all the lakes in the area but kids can still swim at the beach.There is a lot of history built into the park and is one of the oldest if not the oldest in Florida. It was built buy the CCC. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Large sites, separated from neighboring sites by trees and shrubs. Most sites are shady. Very quiet. Bathrooms and showers were modern and very clean during the week. A bit dirtier on the week-end due to more people being in the park. Not much to do in the area, so a nice place if you just want to relax and do a bit of hiking. Stayed 4 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
This was an okay park in a barely populated area of Florida. The lake at the park is almost totally dried up because of the drought. The ravine is an interesting hike but I would not return because it had no interesting or convenient places to bike to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
Nice park. Restrooms were old, but clean. It looked like they were building new restrooms to be opened soon. The hilly bike riding is fun for flatland Floridians. Many of the sites do not have much shade available and they are close together. Good park for rest and relaxation. We enjoyed hiking around the ravine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com