219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandy Oaks RV Park & Mobile Home Community was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (352) 465-7233
CGID6667

Sandy Oaks RV Park & Mobile Home Community

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   3   7   10   10   9   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$13
We stayed here about six weeks fro May 1 to mid June. We had a very nice end site (222). At first look the park is not appealing because of the large power facility in front. The older sites referred to at the historic district are narrow and shadeless. The back of the park (I was told by staff) is about five years old. It is very well laid out with mature trees and nice landscaping. Power, water, and cable were excellent. Tengonet wifi was free and probably the fastest Tengonet I've experienced. There are two dog parks which our four dogs enjoyed daily. Showers were clean and large. Clubhouse and pool are excellent facilities. Laundry is also large and well maintained with large screen TV. There is a driving range, horse shoes, shuffleboard, pool table and Foosball. Ball as well as a TV room with huge TV. Interior roads are all well paved and of ample width. All sites have a concrete patio and some have concrete pads while others are gravel. Sites are all very level. It is obvious a lot of planning and work went into the design. Staff was all very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We stayed 2 days on one of the cheap sites. Very friendly park, but our site was near the large power grid with big electrical towers and there was a lot of road noise which made it difficult to sleep. Also. lots of ants. The park is nicer in the back where the premium sites are. Would stay here again, but only on a premium site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2013
$15
We made our reservations late in the winter of 2013 for the winter of 2013-2014. When we checked in we were told the rent had gone up and would be $10 a month more than the agreed price. I guess we expect people to keep their word. Also the Wi-Fi was the worst we have ever had. It seemed the laundry was small for the size of the park during the busy winter months. The seasonal campers that have been returning to the park for years are very cliquish and not very welcoming. We were not impressed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
After reading previous reviews, we expected to be wow-ed by this park; however, we weren't. It is mainly comprised of long term and/or seasonal campers. It was clean and well-kept. There are about 5 sites right up front that are pull-throughs and seemed to be assigned only to overnighters and short term campers. The interior roads are narrow as are the sites. Our site was plenty long enough, but we barely fit in the width. We had to walk in the grass to get in and out of the RV. Cable worked well, WI-FI was on and off. It is very noisy in the spots up front as you are right by a very busy road. This is the first place I have made a reservation that required a deposit of more than half the stay. The lady that made the reservation was very confused, and it took much longer than needed. When we arrived, they tried to charge us the in-season rate rather than off-season. However, this was quickly remedied when it was brought to their attention. I'm not sure if we would stay here again or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Rate reflects Passport America. This is our third visit, going back over the past 8 years. In our opinion they have gone from a 6 to 9 to 10. What wonderful improvements!! This park could be a model for how to build and run an RV park. The pull-through site we had required NO leveling. All connections were appropriately placed and worked well. They have not crammed in sites to make money, but have left trees in place, have green spaces and honor nature and the earth by being as green as possible. We used the pool and they had a stack of noodles and floats for folks to use. We noticed the shuffle board and horse shoes available and they even have a free driving range for golfers with clubs to borrow stacked for the golfer. This is a wonderful place that keeps getting better. We will definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This is an outstanding place to stay, a lot for the price. Concrete pads, plenty of shade trees, clean showers, cable, and many, many other amenities. We only stayed one night, but may stay longer next time through. The $30.00 per night includes military discount. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
The rate reflected is a rally rate. The management was very accommodating with the clubhouse and kitchen use for our group. Our group enjoyed it so much that it is booked again for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
What a wonderful park, from the check in to the check out nothing but praise for the owners and 6 month residents in creating such a well thought out park. New pads, bathrooms all ADA compliant very clean and private. The laundry is spacious complete with a flat screen TV and a dedicated wash machine for rugs and dog beds. The club house looks like it is the place to be when the season is happening, The pool is very clean, the deck providing ample comfortable seating. Dogs not only allowed but paraded around. Very close to the Withlacoochee Trail. Looking forward to staying here again. The only ding, have to drive to everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
We stayed in the park three consecutive winters as snow birds a total of 250 days. So we know these facilities. It is a very nice park with good RV sights. All roads are paved. They have a very good laundry, recreation hall, pool and lots of activities. This service oriented park has two full time employees who are excellent. There a lot of nice people in the park. Groups made up of six month residents are quite cliquish. There are some intimidating staff that need to be attended to. We are moving on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
We stayed here in the winter of 2012 for 3+ months. The management are very friendly & helpful for just about any need that may arise, RV related or not. There are a lot of snowbirds that stay here each year. They are very friendly & welcoming. There are a lot of activities going on through out winter while we were here. We did not participate in them, we were here to work in the local area & just didn't have the time. They also have a few recently remodeled park models that are for rent. My brother & his wife rented one for a week. The price was right & the unit was comfortable. There is a rails to trails bike/walk/run/horse riding trail within 1 mile of the RV resort that I rode almost every day I could. This area is a great place to kayak, there are some of the best places in FL with in a 30 min drive. If we are ever back in this area we would definitely stay here again. Price reflects monthly rate for choice space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Really enjoyed our stay here. Lots of activities for adults (kids would be bored), and the "regulars" were very helpful and welcoming. Excellent heated pool, but can get crowded on warm days. Dog friendly and everyone keeps it clean. Beverly Hills does not have much to offer, but anything needed is in surrounding towns 8-10 miles away. Owners very helpful and friendly. Stayed here 40 days, and will definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
Campground is one of the friendliest we've ever visited. Wi-Fi and cable worked fine. There are some old, permanent structures near the front of the campground. However, in the rear, where short and monthly RV rigs sites are located was fine. Nice pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$24
Sandy Oaks is a friendly, welcoming community offering many generously sized sites with a lot of landscaping for shade and privacy. Basic utilities are very good; Wi-Fi is fairly good; AT&T phone and data service are good. The park offers a quiet setting near the Withlacoochee Bike Trail plus has a nice pool, clubhouse and library on site. The price is based on the weekly rate. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
Rate is Passport America. We camped here 4 years ago and I gave them a "6" but noted they had big plans so should improve. BOY, HAVE THEY IMPROVED! A whole new section has opened with pull throughs, trees, fire circles for groups, and beautiful landscaping. Being "green freaks" we noted that the lights around the park are capped so there is limited ambient light going up & use CFLs; they have a very good recycling program; and "doggie waste" bags are available all over. The club house was just being put up 4 years ago and now is a wonderful facility with large screen TV, kitchen, fireplace and access to restrooms. It has the heated (salt filtered) pool right outside and there is a large patio cover for those who do not need all the sun. There are tables outside the clubhouse under a cover for the nicer days when eating outside is desired. As mentioned, the new sites have kept as many trees as possible. When trees were taken out, the wood was harvested and used for counter tops, molding, and even a couple of chairs. All the woodwork was beautiful and added to the charm of the campground. Our site was in the older section (our choice) and they have not upgraded the cable to these sites yet; the new sites are on an internal satellite and provide great coverage. The only downside to the campground is the high tension wires over part of the camp that detracts visually and may concern some for health reasons for long term residents. However, we did not note any hum from the wires or sub-station as we did last time. Great improvements over the past 4 years. Looking forward to coming back and staying longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
You would think many of the campers owned their sites by the way they landscape with flowers, trees, and grass keeping it exceptionally attractive neat and clean. Yes, it is foremost a seasonal park for our northern friends, but this park has plenty to offer for anyone year round, particularly if you love to ride bicycles. It is adjacent to the Withlacoochee State Trail which is about 46 miles in length. People are very friendly and active. Many participate in organized bike rides and kayak adventures on the many springs and rivers nearby. The park has nice facilities, pool, laundry, and propane. They have free Wi-Fi throughout with excellent service. Don’t let the connotation “mobile home park” discourage you, there is a separate section for RV’s. We really liked it. We’re coming back for a month this summer to enjoy the things the area has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
A nicely run park and friendly people. You can buy propane right by the office. They have lots of activities planned. The turns are kind of tight even with a pull through. Most pads are cement and have a patio. We were able to use a discount which helped with the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
This is a snowbird park. It is clean and the office staff is very friendly. There are plenty of activities in the park to make your stay very enjoyable. Only problem I had is the back-in sites are squared off to the narrow roads, which make backing in extremely difficult. No matter how I tried, I could not keep off the grass from across the street while backing into the site. Don't know why they did not angle the sites in their new section to prevent the difficulty in parking. If you are here for the season, then I guess this is not a real issue. Also, the water pressure was extremely low during certain times of the day. Had good cable TV, clubhouse, pool, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$31
Last time were here in 2006, this place was an adequate over nighter. Boy, has it glowed up! Huge expansion adding lots of new shady, landscaped sites; new pool, rest rooms, showers, common room. Luxurious individual unisex rest rooms with huge walk-in showers. Fast Wi-Fi with well distributed stations. Staff and residents we met were very friendly. I will be back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Nice clean park with friendly staff and guests. Sites are very accessible, great warm swimming pool and owners have been putting in new more shaded sites in the new section of the park. Did not participate in the Saturday night bluegrass or other activities. This is a smaller quiet mom and pop park with less activity than resorts, and there are not any no-see-ums like we found in two resort parks in Crystal River. Would stay again. We received discounts, so lower rate than normal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This park is okay, but the people that come here and stay all winter try to take over. They need to enforce the rules more. I see people not picking up after the pets. Some have no respect for other sites. They tie the pets out and let them go under our RV, was trying to untangle them from our sewer hose and was stepping on it. They were very noisy and loud after 11 PM. They would pull their golf cart by our car very close and Rv to close. I know the side of our RV is part of their front yard, but we are allowed room for our slides and sewer hoses. I would probably never stay at this park again. there were so many things in the web site that was not true. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
This is the best RV park we have ever stayed at. The new RV sites are outstanding. Wonderful sites and immaculate. Lots of trees for shade. More new sites to be built soon for the next season. The swimming pool is clean and the water temperature is always great. The clubhouse is welcoming and warm in the winter and cool in the summer and very clean. In the winter time there are activities if you want to participate (pot luck dinners, bingo, bunco, cornhole and holiday parties). The owners of the park are always on site and are only too happy to accommodate your needs and comfort. This park is very pet friendly as long as you always pick up after you pet. Doggie bags available all over the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$19
First, the good: They have a very nice pool heated to 84-degrees. Everything was very clean, the staff was friendly & the sites were paved and level. Now, if I did what my mother always told me I would end it here, but I want to vent and get this off my chest so take it for what its worth. We made reservations 6 months in advance, and they put the deposit on our charge card, when we registered they charged us an addition $50, when I questioned them they said that they had raised the rates, I pointed out that we had reservations and that they had accepted a deposit which normally locks in that price. They just kept repeating, we raised our rates. Since it was 2pm and we had a 6pm meeting with some friends that were leaving the state the next morning we didn't have time to argue or cancel, and try to find another park. When we made the reservation we were told that there was free wifi and cable at every site, NOT, when I asked about that they said that they hoped to have it in by the end of the season. We picked this park for three reasons, location, price and wifi, I guess they figure 1 out of three is good enough. When we called we were told that we had a site right by the bath house (more on this later) and pool, When we got there we were assigned a site as far from the bath house and pool as possible. It was right next to the high power lines and transfer station. The bathhouse is kept very clean, but only has one small shower, and if you are drying off or getting dressed and someone enters from the clubhouse you no longer have any secrets from anybody in the clubhouse. I managed this OK for a week until they decided to do some work on the shower and just closed it for a few days. Had I known that it was going to cost me an extra $50, that there was no wifi and the bathhouse was going to be closed for half of our stay I would have just gone to Rock Crusher & saved all this typing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$11
This is a campground with a lot of promise and will be improved by the end of 2007, according to the manager. Sandy Oaks is a roomy, quiet park. The 3200 sq. ft. clubhouse has a kitchen and new fireplace. A new heated pool is adjacent to the clubhouse and over 5000 sq. ft. of deck surrounds the pool and clubhouse. Half the park is an undeveloped wooded area. There are numerous trees throughout the park. Of particular note for bikers is the closeness to the Withlacoochee Trail located within one quarter mile which offers a 46-mile stretch of railroad track that was converted to a paved recreational trail suitable for hiking, biking, and skating. There are some down sides to the park that will hopefully be improved over the year. There is not yet Wi-Fi or cable though they are working on it. There are only 4 pull throughs today, but more are being planned. There are high tension lines near the park and a switching station nearby with high-pitched hum. But the people we met who had wintered there, as well as the owner all were upbeat about the park and it's future. While this was just a convenient place to stay while visiting a relative in Inverness, I would not hesitate to go back next year and stay longer. I suspect that if the planned improvements are in, it will rate much higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
WE went to this park based on the one review on the forum.This park sits under high tension power lines. They are building more sites,but we could not get tv or radio for the roar of the power lines overhead. it is in a nice area & close to the 46 mile bike trail. I would not stay in this park again for free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com