214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Buck Creek Campground and Driving Range was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (828) 724-4888
CGID6680

Buck Creek Campground and Driving Range

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   9   7   10   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is beautiful park. Lots of space between sites, quiet, no road noise. Good layout; plenty of room to back in, and the sites are shady. All sites have good layer of gravel. The sites back up to a beautiful, clean creek and is good place to swim. The only drawback is the nearby town Marion has nothing to do and very few shops. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
We loved this campground. It was great and the owner was a fantastic guide on places to go and things to do while there. We were in a pull through and loved being right on the field of action of the remote controlled planes. Loved being surrounded by mountains. Good walking area; great stream and really good visit here. We will definitely be back...5 days were not long enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This is a great place to stay while checking out the sites. We were in site #20, which is a pull-through (sorta). These pull-throughs are actually front to back, and not side by side. The owner/operator keeps this place up really well. He and his sons often fly their RC airplanes, and really put on a show. The runway was just outside our front door. We were planning on staying just one week, but extended another week, because we really like it here. We would certainly come back, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a very unique place! We stayed 4 nights and it was wonderful! Our kids are accustomed to swimming in pools, not "swimming' holes," so that was a real experience for them! The manager is hilarious - great sense of humor, and was very welcoming. There was no cable TV available in our spot, and Wi-Fi and cell service was very sketchy, even with our Mi-Fi. Forced us to get out and enjoy nature and hit some golf balls, which was fun! The pull-through spaces are not desirable, as they're right in the middle of the field, no shade or privacy, but we didn't mind backing into one of the very shady spots right on the creek. Probably 85 percent of the occupants are full-timers (or vacation spot owners), so the folks there were friendly and relaxed. It was so quiet and private, and we loved sitting out by the picnic table watching the lightning and just chatting as a family. The rigs are lined up in the shape of "J" around the field and putting greens, so it feels like you're in your own little forest the way it's laid out. We even got to watch the manager and his son fly their model airplanes in the field... and wow - what a show! He even dropped a miniature parachute guy out of the plane. Next time, I'll do my laundry before we head there, though... as there are only 2 washers and dryers and it took me hours to do five loads. Minor drawback for such a serene environment! I would drive off the beaten path to stay at this place over and over again - it was so wonderful! Our kids would have loved a pool, since they spent the entire time in the swimming' hole looking for water moccasins, but they'll get over that in no time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Very clean and well maintained. No pool, but swimming hole in creek was very refreshing. Shaded sites on creek bank were very nice. Close to various attractions. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This is, or could be a beautiful campground. I would have given it a 10 if there weren't so many permanent residents. It almost looks like a trailer park, a very nice trailer park, but still a trailer park. Many sites are next to the stream, but most are occupied by "seasonal residents" (as the office calls them). There are two swimming holes, nice; a large area for RC planes, cool; and a driving range, if you're into golf. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
I do not generally post reviews of campgrounds we visit, but I was really impressed with Buck Creek, so I wanted to share my experience. This neat and clean campground is located in a large, picturesque valley. It is very quiet and peaceful but is just ten minutes from downtown Marion where they have several shops, stores (including a Wal-Mart and a Food Lion), and restaurants. Little Switzerland, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Linville Falls, the Linn Cove Viaduct, and Grandfather Mountain (among other attractions), are all within a short drive of Buck Creek. The staff was very friendly and helpful (even going so far as to cut down a small tree so that a big rig parked across from us would have enough room for its slide-out). The driving range is rather unique among RV parks and their electric RC flying field provides for some great entertainment. The feature that really set Buck Creek apart, though, is the speed of their Wi-Fi. We have stayed in well over 40 different RV parks and we can't recall any that had a faster wireless Internet connection than Buck Creek’s. Needless to say, we enjoyed our four-night stay very much and are already making plans for a return visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We were very happy camping at Buck Creek. The owners and staff were helpful, friendly, and welcoming to us and our little dog. While they don't have a swimming pool they did have a cool little swimming "hole" in the creek that was clear and fun. We would very much stay there again and recommend this campground. We also enjoyed watching the remote control airplanes in the early evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Very nice park. Small and quiet. The swimming holes were wonderful. This park is located in the middle of everything, close to Boone, Asheville and Grandfather Mountain. The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this campground. The owner puts on a nice fireworks show, which we have enjoyed for a few years now. I was a little disappointed this year because there was a mistake with our reservation and it was not taken care of in the manner I felt it should. I believe that the owner should have either given us a discount or given us the site we had reserved and called the other people and explained that we had reserved the site first and offered them another site. Bathrooms are not as clean as I like. It is common for the bathrooms to be out of toilet paper and paper towels. Some sites are really small. There are a few sites that shouldn't even be sites. Sites 13 and 25 are so small that they only fit a small popup camper and if you stay in that site you are forced to put your chairs in the path where cars and campers go through. So if someone needs to drive to those sites, they have to move everything. Like I said, these should not even exist as sites. One thing that I have noticed is that the owner does not enforce the quiet hours of 11-8. I know this because there is a group that comes every 4th of July that takes up about 7 sites. They are very loud and stay up to all hours of the morning. They are extremely disruptive and they don't supervise their children. If I come next year I will get a site far far away from this group. There are two swimming holes and a driving range for golf. There is also a Wal-Mart and Food Lion near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This campground is overpriced for the area and the offerings. It has a 2 person bath house which is not well kept. Area is beautiful but not a lot to offer if you don't want to fish in a stream or hit golf balls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This is a great RV park in a gorgeous area! I hated to leave! Previous website summary of this park's facilities was a bit incorrect: they do have some sites with 50amp. The pull-throughs are unique. You park one in front of the other. Different but worked just fine, and that way you don't have to look at other RVs on each side of you: just a huge, beautiful grass field on one side (with forest behind it) and forest (with RVs under them) on the other! Laundry room was very neat and couldn't have been more convenient! An unexpected and unadvertised plus: they fly RC (radio-controlled) planes on their field! They're electric so totally quiet. If you're at all into this, it's a perfect place to do it. And even if you're not a participant, it's still fun to watch! I'd recommend the FATZ Cafe for dining in town: great food, great service! And there's a Wal-Mart and all sorts of other stuff. You can also access some of the prettiest parts of the Blue Ridge Parkway from here. We will definitely stay here if we're ever in the area again! Rate reflects Good Sam discount (was actually $40 for Memorial weekend days, but that's a special deal so I didn't figure it in). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This place is very clean and the sites are lovely. Very peaceful and quiet in the rural area surrounding Marion. The park does have cable TV not sure why it is listed as not having it. The bathrooms are dated, but very clean. We would stay here again. They do not take credit cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This was our first visit to this campground. The owner is friendly and helpful. The owner purchased the property a while ago and has been upgrading the property, but wants to keep it small. There is a stream that most of the sites back up to. the stream has two swimming holes and our kids loved that! There is a golf driving range which is popular. Our son enjoyed that. You can get three different size baskets of balls from the office. Almost all the sites are a good size and are gravel. The bathrooms were not as clean as I like, but they were adequate. Not many sites so it is very peaceful and quiet. There are some permanent campers here and we spoke to one couple who come every summer for 6 weeks at a time and they love it! There isn't much to their store, just ice and drinks. But a Walmart is only 5 minutes away. Our laptop got onto their internet service fine and was a strong signal. We hear the owner puts on a great 4th of July show and even some locals come to watch. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This campground is perfectly adequate and easily accessible if you're having work done at Tom Johnson, but I found the owner rude. When he found out we'd stayed at a competitor's campground nearby, he started bad-mouthing them terribly. The restrooms were OK, but not great. There was poison oak all around our campsite. We spent one night and won't be back; we'll drive a few extra miles up the mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Bathrooms were unclean. No paper towels. Bathrooms were dirty and like something out of the old west. No locks on toilet doors and very old toilets. Daughter refused to go back to bathrooms. The sites were crammed in together, right on top of each other. The stream was nice and the fire pits (rocks in a circle) were nice. We wished we had gone back to Mama Gerties up the road. The wireless internet kept dropping out and we were only 1/2 way up the line of campers. They shouldn't even advertise that they have wireless. No cable. I would not recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
What a great find. The sites are along Buck Creek and nicely shaded. There is no swimming pool, but there are two swimming holes in the river and frequently used. The sites are fairly level and about half of them are occupied with permanent weekenders. The grounds are well kept and the permanent sites have their own gardens. The bath houses are outdated but fairly clean. There is new tile in the two shower areas. There is little privacy in the bathrooms though - open access to showers with only plastic shower curtain - but most people relied on their bathrooms in rigs. A very quiet location - except for Buck Creek - yet convenient for travel to nearby areas - Asheville, Cherokee, Smoky Mtn NP about 2 hours south and Boone, Grandfather Mtn, Blowing Rock about 2 hours north. Great park to escape to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com