221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Cottonwood COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (402) 667-7873
CGID6687

Cottonwood COE

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   8   10   9   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$8
All of the interior roads and almost all of the sites are on asphalt. Most of the sites are very long, easily accommodating a tow or a boat. The premium sites (costing $2 extra) are located near the lake. These sites tend to have less space between them and have a crowded feeling. The other sites are more spacious. There were a few pull-out sites. Each site had a fire ring and a picnic table. The electrical boxes containing 20/30/50 amp outlets are located within the appropriate location. The electrical voltage was on the low side, hovering about 119. Water and dump stations are located across the street from Pierson State park on Toe Road (free). The bathrooms contained 2 showers per gender and were very clean. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. There was neither Wi-Fi nor cable within the park. Camp hosts were on duty. Clarification: Cottonwood and Tailwaters are COE parks and located in Nebraska. Chief White Crane, Lewis and Clark SRA and Pierson are South Dakota State parks. Price reflects the senior discount. We would come back to this campground if we were in the area. We camped here with a 32 foot rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$8
We stayed here in a 40' RV. This is our second time staying here. What a bargain for $8/night with Golden Age senior pass. The campground is immaculate; the beautiful huge tall Cottonwood trees provide excellent shade. Electric service was strong. Interior roads and pads are paved asphalt and easy to negotiate. Site spacing is very generous with large crushed stone sitting area. You have a fire ring at each site for a campfire. This is one of our favorite campgrounds in this area and we will continue to return to it when we can. Good Verizon (4 bar) phone coverage and my Millenicom MiFi was 4G LTE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$9
This is one of the best COE campgrounds I've ever been in. The staff (volunteer & paid) is excellent. All are very friendly and know their business. Campground and showers/bathrooms are very well maintained. Sites are good sizes. Each site has a large gravel area with picnic table. There are also great bicycle paths in the area. You can ride your bike all the way to Yankton if you want to. We will definitely come back again. Our rate reflects half off for the Senior Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$8
Rate reflects Senior Pass discount. Typical COE campground with lots of trees, paved access roads and gravel sites. The pull-through was a little tight for our 37' motor home due to the sharp bend. Like most it gets very busy on weekends and holidays, but we called and were able to get a walk-up site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$9
What a nice campground located in a large stand of cottonwood trees. We stayed here in a 40' motorhome with toad on site P53. This has to be the best site in the park, right on the lake on a point with very good green space between you and the next site. Wide asphalt interior roads, no low hanging tree branches, level asphalt pads, Verizon cell and MIFI worked well. Could not get satellite because of the trees. My rate reflects Golden Age discount. Restrooms and showers were clean. We would definitely stay here again. About 7 miles to Yankton where you can get all of your supplies and several nice eating places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$9
We camp here fairly often. The south loop is mainly reservable, north loop mostly walk-in. South loop is all paved, north loop has some gravel sites. Two restroom/shower houses in campground. North loop's has doors on shower stalls, but water is push button, so you have to re-push as you shower. I could not find a way to adjust water temp. South loop has curtains on the shower stalls, so privacy isn't the greatest, but you can turn on water and adjust temperature, no push button water. Restrooms are usually pretty clean. Holidays and weekends are busy. Nice lake for fishing and kayaking. Free swimming beach not too far away, and really nice walking/biking trails. Close to the river and Lewis and Clark Lake if you like to boat. Regular price for camp site is $16. and $18. Senior Pass holders pay $8. and $9. Army Corps of Engineers campground. Generally a pretty quiet and friendly campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
Restrooms & Showers were clean but the showers were short stream push button. Electric only. Site was level with asphalt surface. Size was large but our site had a tree so the awning could not be deployed. Site access & park roads were very good. No Internet. Quiet park with limited Lighting. Well maintained. Visited friends in Yankton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
Deep & shaded sites w/ 50A or 30A electric, picnic table & fire ring. Water spigots located throughout the park. Dump about 1 mile away. $8 w/ Golden Age. ($2 more for lakefront premium site.) Clean restrooms & showers. Sites are reservable Memorial Day through Labor Day, then first-come, first-serve. Park open mid-April thru at least October. Easy access to fishing & visitor center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
Nice campground. It would be fantastic if water and sewer hookups were available. It ties into the Lewis and Clark Recreation area which has miles of hike/bike trails, beaches, playgrounds, marinas, etc. Lots of shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com