206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Pickwick Landing State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (731) 689-3129
CGID6689

Pickwick Landing State Park

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   7   7   7   7   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We arrived at the campground and had to wait while the campground host sorted out two earlier arrivals. Once we made it to our site, it was so unlevel that we immediately sought out the host, who of course could not then be found. We arranged an informal three way swap with a recent arrival who wanted to move to set up his satellite dish in the dense tall pines, so we were then level. That afternoon, the ranger graciously accommodated all of our changes. Sites looked generally short for big rigs, and the roads were tight, but we did see a couple of 40 footers in sites. The paper mill nearby in Counce smelled bad there, but we never smelled it at the campground. There is very little shopping for quite some distance so come prepared for your needs. OTA TV reception was minimal with a couple channels from Jackson, Verizon air card worked well, as did our Tracfone. On our second day, ongoing work on the water system left us without water for a while (and the need to back around the road to exit the park with the motorhome). This is a good, rustic campground for visiting Shiloh battlefield and the famous Catfish Hotel nearby to the battlefield (provided the wait isn't too long as it was last week on the 150th anniversary of the battle of Shiloh). We'd stay in this park again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Pickwick Landing State Park was a real gem. We had read the previous reviews; trains, and foul smells from a  pulp factory, along with uneven sites were mentioned. We decided it would still be a good spot (for us) to stay while touring Shiloh and Corinth Civil War sites. The train was nonexistent, no foul smells (to us anyway), and, yes, the sites were not very level and in disrepair. We were able to find a semi-level spot and use our auto levelers to finish the job. TV reception was great, our Verizon MiFi card worked great, water and 50 amp service, with a dump station as you drive out of the park and quiet as can be in a beautiful wooded setting with the Inn and Lake within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We were one of 5 or 6 campers in the whole campground. All of the spots were shaded and most were not very level. There was very little sign of an attendant. Very quiet and peaceful. Bath house was clean. There is a wood pulp factory that is close by and does smell from time to time. We would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This is a resort park with a marina, Inn and Conference Center. The lake and river offers fishing, boating, swimming and there is a good restaurant in the Inn with some great deals. There is a golf course across the street that is part of the park and a hiking trail that goes for 2.8 miles around the woods and lake. We arrived during a violent storm in the south with tornadoes, hail, thunder and lightning but we were lucky that it was north of us and south of us and by three in the afternoon the sun came out and the sky was blue. Sites are not that level so we moved on after one night to another campground in the area. Only a few other campers at this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Pickwick Landing State Resort Park is a large operation which includes an 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, a conference center which includes a restaurant, swimming and picnic areas, plus a marina. The camping area in which sites are available on a first-come, first served basis is located well away from the other activity areas and is relatively quiet. The entrance is somewhat confusing to one entering the campground for the first time. To reach the fourteen 50-amp sites, turn right. Turning to the left takes one to the remaining thirty-three 30-amp sites. Travelers with motorhomes over 30-feet in length should be aware that many of the sites are uneven and should expect to encounter some difficulty in leveling their vehicles. Please note that the TVA has a separate campground, Pickwick Dam, which is located just across the Tennessee River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Nice campground - all sites had picnic table, fire ring,lantern hook, and grill. Restrooms could use upgrading. We saw people cleaning them - but there ain't a lot you can do with old! Water at these sites is on the opposite side of electric. You will probably need two water hoses. Sites are also not for rookies who are learning to level. The park was not crowded and we found a fairly level one - but the majority are slanted with the back lower than the front. Very much in the woods. Most sites were secluded by trees even tho they were fairly close together. Lake is about a five minute drive away with two public swimming beaches. Marina and boat rentals also available. Great golf course. Lots of night spots around with live music in the summer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Campground was mostly empty. Very few level sites. Most sites are high front to rear or rear to front. Bath house was showing age, but was clean. 10 PM quiet time not enforced. Loud vehicles entering and leaving park well after midnight. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Great and in the woods,staff very friendly and helpfull on area info. Clean and paved roads. Some sites not level, but every site was paved. Nice in the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Stinky, stinky. This park is close to a paper mill on the Tennessee River and if the wind drifts the wrong way it smells pretty bad. There are some level sites and all are paved. The campground is pretty run down with only one bathhouse for the whole camp and its not clean. The mill does shut down on the weekend so this might be a good time to stay, but there are a lot of boaters on the weekend. Most definitely will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com