219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Tampa East RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (888) 252-3174
CGID669

Tampa East RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
264
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   4   1   10   8   9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
We stayed here for six days and the lady in the office was pleasant and the grounds were large, with gas and food nearby. My complaints were a few different things such as two of the bathrooms we used were not clean and the shower had low water pressure and cold water. My next complaint was right after we set up our trailer they mowed right next to me on both sides pounding chunks of debris at my truck and trailer as well as stirring up a bunch of bugs. We were under a tree and ants got all over my rig, and my final is we paid 16 dollars for Internet service and it went down almost everyday and had no service half or more of our stay. Overall It wasn't a bad park for a few days. No problems with neighbors. I would stay here again if I was passing through and couldn't find a nicer park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This is a nice park. We had a "super" site which is cement pad with patio. The campground is really 3 campgrounds in one. Most sites are grass but it appears all have full hook ups. The workout room is nice. If you are interested in the work out room, I recommend staying in the Oaks park. The highway is close so we did notice some noise but not a significant concern. Lots of activities if you're interested. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
Another tough one to rate. We were there for the Tampa RV show and the park was packed. We stayed in a "premium" site in the Palms section (primarily English speaking). That, for us meant a back in grass site with no patio and not particularly level. In our case, we had to back up over a small hump in the ground to get to the site. So called "super sites" (paved sites), of which there seem to be a total of 9, are reserved months in advance. The coach next to ours damaged its rock guard backing into their site. This was the bad. The good included very nice, helpful people at the front desk and an efficient check in process. It needed to be because there wasn't much room at the entrance for multiple coaches to pull up. Friendly and helpful neighbors, both seasonal and transient, great walking/biking throughout the park, and a nice swimming pool in our section. Camping World was down the street, LazyDays was within a few miles, and it's convenient to the Tampa Show. A fun evening of bingo in the French speaking part of the park (The Oaks) but conducted in English. The front desk referred me to an excellent walk-in clinic a short distance away that I used to treat fire ant bites that I received at another park. The good definitely overcame the bad. We would return, but would reserve a Super Site if at all possible, or would reserve a specific site, now that we are familiar with the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2013
$47
Many sites are grass and under pines & oaks. Some low hanging moss can snag on roof components. Room to maneuver big rigs in most areas. Staff is friendly but not outgoing. Most questions answered as 'we don't know', don't do that' or basically that's the way it is. CG was full due to RV show and snowbirds. No need to come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2012
$17
My husband and I stayed here for a week with the special for SunRvResorts. There are three sections in this park. The front seemed to have the nicer, bigger spots. Because of our special price we were put in the back section which had very tight and close sites. The park had a lot of sewer smells. The laundry room was dirty and had broken machines. I checked out the bathroom and showers to see how they were. They are old, dirty and nasty. There is no WiFi and we didn't use any cable. It was also the most unfriendly park I have ever stayed at. It seemed to be about 90% full of Canadians from Quebec: and they did not want to have anything to do with us. Not even a "hello". Even for the price I would never go back to this campground. It left a bad taste for any older SunRV resorts and sadly also for parks that have a lot of Canadians from Quebec. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
This park was like going to a mini resort. Tengo internet is the downside. We were parked near McDonald's so I was able to pick up there WiFi. Pool was great people were friendly and it is a walkable park and large enough to get good exercise. We stayed here prior to flying out for Christmas and then came back after Christmas for another 2 days. Above rate is PA which is honored until Dec 31. Which was super. Easy access to all kinds of amenities and sites to visit. Also right next to Bates RV and about 5 miles from Lazy Days and Camping World is moving to just down the road on the other side of I-4. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
We had a long level W/E pull through in The Oaks; perfect for a couple of nights. Our spot has a low limb, but the site is huge and roads are large enough that we can maneuver to avoid with our mid profile fifth wheel. Staff and other campers are friendly. Free Wi-Fi at the activity center. We were glad to find this spot in February by calling in the AM (and glad to not be just down the road). There is a great farm market just down the street. Would have rated higher if it had a dog park and Wi-Fi at site. Would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Great RV park. Was there for two nights. Nice spot up front, next to the pool. Pool is heated. Will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$45
This was a nice campground with friendly staff and most amenities. It was crowded: sites too close together. There was no cable or Wi-Fi. For the price I would have expected more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
Stayed here for the Tampa RV Show, so we did not pay much attention to the activities in the Park. There are two sections to this campground, The Palms and The Oaks. The published address is for the Palms, the Oaks is around the corner. Both parks were full during the week we stayed. Sites are grass, plenty wide and long; roads are paved and a little tight but everything is well maintained. Back in sites are staggered so you can pull-thru if you have a cooperative neighbor. Seemed to me, most of the sites had trees that blocked satellite signals. Cell signal was good (Nextel/Sprint). The pool is heated! No problems with the Canadians. Employees are excellent. Both parks were absolutely full, but they found us a site with sewer and moved us to it on the second night. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
We stayed for a month on a first time special of $279 for the month. We stayed here because of the good rate and we had a good experience at a sister park in Naples. We stayed in the Palms which is much more suitable for a larger rig. The sites are large and water, sewer, and electric are adequate. The rest of the park is old mobile homes, fixed 5th wheels with rooms attached, and by the looks of it, very French Canadian in the busy season. Not my cup of tea. They are very unfriendly and rude!! Off season the park is open and roomy. Grass grows fast and parking is mostly on grassy sites with no concrete pad. If you want that, they have a few but at the usual $38/night. The closest Publix, Wal-Mart, etc is 6-8 miles away in either Valrico or Plant City. The park is easy in and easy out as it is right off I-4, just 4 miles east of I-75. If we needed to be in the area again we would stay, if offered the special rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$9
We spent a month at this park on a special introductory offer. We read RV Park Reviews for this campground and they were mostly favorable, so we thought we would give it a try. There are definitely 2 sections, and if you are not fluent in French, you'd best stay in The Palms section. We were assigned a spacious back-in site in The Palms, but could see how even an experienced driver might have issues with sites close to the trees when the park is busy. The French Canadians dominate the park and activities January to March. We attended a dance where the DJ only spoke French and all the music and dances were primarily geared toward the French campers. It was like being in a Foreign country. Since we don't depend on campground planned activities for entertaining ourselves, it wasn't a problem for us, but we could see how this could be a turn off for others. The plus for this park is the staff are friendly and the facilities are adequate, however, would not call this a RV resort. It's very close to Tampa and Tampa beaches. We enjoyed the awesome bike trails throughout the area and the Hillsborough River provided our favorite kayaking trip ever. We would most likely use this park again, but only for a few weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
We spent January and February at this park. Sites are spacious and facilities are clean. Office and maintenance personnel are friendly and helpful. I have one problem and 2 quibbles. Problem: power is weak and erratic. My EMS shut down my motorhome 5 times from voltage dropping below 104v. Quibbles: 1) the constant 24-hour drone of highway noise from I-4; 2) well over 50% of guests were French Canadian, most of whom were extremely arrogant. They held their daily "social" meetings in the laundry rooms, dominated all the limited activities and either could not, or would not speak English. They typically looked the other way and would not respond when we would take walks and say "good morning." I will look for a different park next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Stayed in Palms. Rate was a special weekly rate. Older park with mix of long term, seasonal, and some short term. Did not enjoy my stay as the outside back ins have so many trees that your satellite will not work. Center section is better. It is not a resort. I am so tired of "big rig friendly" parks that need trees trimmed so they won't scratch a coach. Guests and office were pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
This park is clean and well-maintained, including the showers. However, we are assigned to an area that is predominantly French-Canadians. They can't or won't speak English. We feel like outsiders in the social hall and clubhouse. We are being charged $29.99/month for Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi service is very erratic and unpredictable. It has broken down for as much as a day and a half at a time. We pay this much money, and end up having to go to a McDonalds to be able to use our laptop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$37
We stayed one night in a 45 ft MH before the Tampa Super show. Park is a little tight but OK. The site we were assigned was a back in steep incline that would not accommodate our coach. There were many large scratches in the concrete pad from other coaches that had the same problem. When we asked for another site (which was available) we were told that perhaps our lack of driving ability was the problem. After 80,0000 miles on the road, I don't think so. Staff made a very fixable problem into a very unpleasant experience. We will never camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$33
Stayed overnight. It was cold. Is normally all snowbirds and permanent residents, but we got a spot belonging to someone who had not yet arrived. We had little interaction with the staff. Facilities looked good and well maintained, but we would probably try elsewhere if we were in the area again. Don't know why. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
Ok: THIS is what an RV park should be. They are a Passport America participating park and the place is spotless. The sites are wooded and spacious. The people are friendly. Hostess in the office could not have been any nicer. She put me in a GREAT site in the Oaks and I loved it because it was level and close to the pool which was very refreshing and clean. I love RVing but I hate dirty parks with rude people or permanent residents living in "RV's". None of that here. There are a couple of RV's in the Oaks that appear to have "Florida Rooms" attached and as long as this park keeps them as a VERY bare minimum, then this park will continue to stay nice. As soon as a park lets people start "living" in the park then it seems to go downhill fast, and none of us like to see run down RV's. I highly recommend this park for travelers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Clean, paved, level, wide, landscaped sites and campground. Easy access to Tampa entertainment and Plant City: a must for the strawberry shortcake. Very nice and helpful front desk personnel. We would certainly stay in this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
I read some negative reviews about this park and was worried, but found it to be a nice place. People were friendly enough and they were nice at the front desk. We only stayed for a night and they gave us a pull through site so we did not have to unhook the car. We were in the second campground by the strawberry plant. The pool was nice. Wi-Fi was strong, but at a $4.95 cost for 24 hours. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. Our cost was with Passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
This park has two sections: 1) The Palms (entrance off McIntosh Road), and 2) The Oaks (entrance off Hwy 92). We stayed at The Palms for 30 nights. The negatives were the mosquitoes, no-see-ums, and ants but that is to be expected in Florida. Plenty of shade trees. Sand/grass sites. No concrete pads at the premium or economy sites, only the super sites. The super sites are pull-through, located at the front of the park, apparently intended for short term stays. At the time of this writing, the super sites were $36 per night. Each site has a picnic table. The road noise from I-4 and McIntosh Road is unrelenting at most of the sites but the facility itself is very quiet. McDonald’s, Burger King, and 2 convenience stores are within a reasonable walking distance. Propane delivery to your site is available for a minimal extra charge. Many restaurants are nearby. Three miles west on I-4, exit CR 579: Cracker Barrel, Bob Evans, Flying J. Five miles east on I-4, exit Thonotosassa Road: Applebee’s, Carrabba’s, Outback, Sonny’s, Buddy Freddy, Mi Casa, Subway, Chinese take out. Also a grocery store at this exit. Convenient location to Brandon, Tampa, and Orlando. Exceptionally friendly and courteous manager. Property is well maintained. Paved roads. Easily accommodates big rigs. Decent size sites for city camping. Wi-Fi available through Tengointernet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
OK park. Like was mentioned in another post, there are two parts to this campground. We really liked the way the two had been separated. The permanent residents were in the very back and campers are up front. The campground was laid out nicely with easy access to all the sites. There is no separation between the sites. The park's location makes it convenient to the Tampa area. This would be a good park to stay in while visiting the Tampa area. However, not much to do at the park or immediate area. Would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
We utilized Passport America, so we got the half price rate. They have a lot of long term units, but most of the front area was in and out people like us. We were going to stay 4 days, but left after 3 due to huge rainstorm which of course was not their fault. We would stay there again. The WiFi was through Tenengo and was $4.95/day which was too much for me. The stated WiFi available, so it was not deceptive as with some campgrounds. There was a McDonald’s about a quarter a mile way with free WiFi, but I could not pick it up even with my antenna. Lazy Days RV is only one exit away with their free WiFi. Pool was nice. Staff was very helpful. We went to about 5museums and were not at the park during the day. The park is far enough from I-4 so that there is no road noise. We had spent one night boon docking at Camping World and the road noise was brutal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
It was a Ying/Yang thing. We had signed up for 3+ months stay starting Dec 27,2008. The CG was very clean, the sites were large and many were shaded. The roads were paved and in good shape. The Pools (3 including the Jacuzzi) were well maintained, along with the Gym, Pool Tables, and other social amenities. But, this was my first stay at a CG that had the vast majority of the campers being French-speaking Canadians, with the next largest group being from Ontario. What a difference. The majority of French-speaking ones did/would not get into a conversation, or often not respond to "Hello", "Good Morning" type greetings, even in French. On the other hand, we made several friends from Ontario. I do not like to type-cast people like this, but this situation often put a "wet blanket" on my wife and my attitudes many days, and really affected our overall enjoyment of our winter vacation. In summary, a very nice (kind of pricey) CG, well located for Tampa & Gulf Coast access, but with a very large group of unfriendly campers who only mixed among themselves. There should be some kind of warning for first-timers, before they make plans and put down deposits. Oh Yeah, look at the map carefully. There are a large number of sites that are too close to the three major night noise/light sources; 1-directly adjacent to a 24-hour Micky-D (light), 2-less than 400 yards from a ramp off of US-4 (noise), and 3-morning truck loading noise from an adjacent Strawberry shipping depot (noise). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$60
The park is full of trees and wide open spaces between sites. The park staff are courteous and friendly however, they didn't take care of fallen leaves from the many life oaks. As far as the people in the park, they are by far the rudest people I've EVER met camping. Mostly French Canadian they number about 80+ % of the park and control all the activities and entertainment. Monday mornings the park has a get-together to discuss the weekly events - in English. Then, there's another meeting where they only speak french to plan the real events in the park. when passing them on the road I always say 'hi' or wave and they just don't respond to any American. I winter here to escape the cold only to be in one of the coldest parks in Florida. I will NOT return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$60
It's a nice park, very big and close to all amenities. We stayed here for the winter due to our work assignment. The only thing we were not comfortable with is that during the winter season, the place is occupied by at least 80% Canadians. This would not be a big deal except for the fact that they are rude to the Americans. They don't speak to you for the most part and because there are so many of them, all the functions that go on are ususally conducted in french. We have also heard that the management gives them a "special rate". We would love to find out what that is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$60
The park is very crowded during the winter. The staff is friendly but we found there were so many foreigners in the park not speaking English that we felt like outsiders. Most of the winter residence were regulars and gather together at the pools and activity centers. The park has a lot to offer as far as events and things to do, location is right off I-4 and easy to get around. There is a charge for Internet and the reception is good from the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
We work for a national company and were transfered to Tampa,Florida in November of 07 and went to Tampa East Rv Resort. Evreyone seemed to be ok when we checked in. We were told a price per month + electric,which was fine. We were supposed to stay until April but when buisness slowed down We were transferred to another store,(1 month early), and as a result of this the Park charged us $650.00 extra.We will not stay in this park again and recommened no one else to stay there either. We were paid up to date and they still charged us the money because we had to leave early. What a ripoff. The northeners were leaving so I guess they had to get the extra money from people like us that did not have a option to stay or leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
This place is on the skids. Was here seven years ago and was not bad. It's a hole now. Stay away.. the staff doesn't care and provides no assistance. No security on weekends and the office is closed for two to three days at a time. Just try complaining about noise etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Spent Labor day weekend here. From Friday night 'till Tues morn. There was NO ONE at the office. They took the weekend off. There was absolutely no security or supervision. Motorcycles roared in and out all Saturday night. They didn't honor my Passport America as they should. They charged me half off the "in season" rate. Almost double the regular rate for when I was actually there. I reported them to their main off and Passport America and much to my surprise I've heard nothing in return. Would I come back here? Absolutely NO. Would I recommend them to a friend? NO! For the money, Wal-Mart looks good! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
The previous reviewer stated that this park "has all you want" and that the grounds are "immaculate". In our experience at this park, neither of these statements held true. While this is a nice park, with nice amenities, there is plenty of room for improvement. The office staff was not overly knowledgeable about the park's policies and the Passport America sites they offer are the least desireable sites in the park. The entrance is poorly designed, and 2 rigs checking in at the same time will create a bit of a traffic jam at the park's entrance (even if the rigs are shorter). Like many parks today, this park will "nickel and dime" you for every little charge. It's a nice park, but for what they charge there are better options in this area. We are not likely to return to this park again if any other options are available to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$34
We stayed for a week December 2006-January 2007 in a 40 foot motorhome. Office staff friendly but very unorganized and slow, taking us forever to even register with 4 people behind the desk. Nice pool and pool area but very limited amenities with no store on the premises. Most of the sites are on grass with very few concrete pads. Many of the sites are very narrow. We were traveling with three other motorhomes, and one motorhome was directed to a site that they could not fit into. Cable TV is only accessible for long-term stays through Verizon. Our satellite did not work because of trees in the way. Upon entering the office to request to move to another site, the office staff responded that it "had been a long day and she was tired and to come back tomorrow morning." The 2 other sites that we were given were worse than our original site even though sites near us with no obstructions were vacant during the duration of our stay. Definitely felt that those staying for long periods of time were given preferential treatment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$13
We there on $99 a week special. W/E only. Could have upgraded for more money. Three pools. Many weekly activities. Accept mail. Paved roads, some paved pads. Clean and well run park. There are two entrances and sides; Oak and Palms. Oak is quieter. Close to shopping and entertainment. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
Very clean park. It is a combination of 3 parks that once were an Encore, an old KOA, and a Sunburst park. Sun bought and merged the three together, along with adding many upgrades. Three Pools, a spa, 3 laundry facilities, good Wi-Fi, this park has anything you would want, and a close drive to Tampa. Facilities are immaculate, and manager and staff are awesome! Will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
We used this park for an overnight stop on our return trip home. We only paid $22.50 for a water/electric site, super sites were in the $33/night range. We were near the pool and had no other campers near us, which made for a quiet night. The pool was real nice, the bathrooms were adequate and clean overall but I've seen better. The campground is located near I-4 (only 5 miles east of I-75) so getting back to the interstate was real easy and getting to Tampa International to drop our two older kids off was pretty easy. Overall not a bad place to stop, there was no staff when checking in so it was a self serve type operation, but easy enough. There was construction on the building off of McIntosh and we had to use the entrance off of hwy 92 (just around the corner), and there were no signs indicating this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We were a bit underwhelmed because we expect more from an Encore park. However, it was clean and generally nice enough. We didn't like that it had no gate, no security, and no staff on Sunday, but they say that changes during the November-April season. There was also a lot of light from a neighboring McDonalds and a fair amount of road noise. There were some permanent residents in the far back area, but they kept to themselves as the front of the park seems to be dedicated to short-termers. The location is reasonable for Busch Gardens. Our kids enjoyed the site location next to the playground and everyone seemed receptive to children, which is contrary to the norm in this part of Florida. We'd stay here again unless we get a solid recommendation on another campground in the Tampa area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com