223434 User submitted reviews online!!
T. O. Fuller State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (901) 543-7581
CGID6703

T. O. Fuller State Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   7   8   8   5   10   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$17
Well kept park with easy access within park. Paved roads and pads. Shaded sites throughout campground. Good Camp Host with free tickets to Indian site next door. Electric was good and water good. Dump station clean. Short drive to downtown or Elvis Graceland. For a SP without sewer and WiFi, a good find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$17
Nice quiet campground; Ranger and camp host were present and on site. We camped in site #31 which was a 94' pull through. Not on the best side of Memphis; easy drive to Graceland and to Beale st. There were only 5 other campers in the campground, very clean. Rate reflects access America pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$17
The sites were level, not too far from the interstate. The park ranger and camp host were very friendly and helpful. The restrooms were older, but clean. They also had two washers and dryers and a bonus: an ice machine! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
A little off the interstate, and about 16 miles to downtown Memphis. Just an overnight stay, and would not have had to unhook, because the pull thru sites are plenty long to stay hooked up. The drive to get to park is through a not so good area, but park seemed secure to us. Use your water regulator, pressure seemed a little high. Would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
Was a very good place to stay even though it was a ways out. We got to pick our spot, which is always nice. No water due to cold weather. Park attendant was helpful and courteous. We stayed a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$10
Rate reflects senior winter rate. Regular rate is $20 plus tax. The roads and sites are paved with large trees in the campground. Laundry is $1 for washer and $1 for dryer. Trains and planes can be heard during the day, but the nights are very quiet. Camp host and staff are very friendly and helpful and were around lots during the day. If coming on W Mitchell Rd, there are houses which have bars on the doors and windows and garbage along the side of the road. It was close to Graceland and Beale street and most museums. We saw 1 stray cat and two deer. We felt safe in this park and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Yes, this is a pretty, quiet little park, but accessing it can require driving through some trash-littered residential areas. The staff is attentive, especially the campground host. Unfortunately, the previous reviewers stayed at the part in November when the weather was cooler. In June, the stench from a nearby sewage treatment plant can be overpowering and the hiking paths are overrun with fleas, ticks and chiggers. It's safest to stay only in mowed areas. If we were to stay here again, it would be at a cooler time of year. On the other hand, the park provides reasonable and affordable access to Memphis without the touristy atmosphere associated with Graceland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
Followed directions in Trailer Life Directory from I-55 and didn't see any questionable areas from previous reviews. Very quiet, pleasant campground. Did not feel at all like we were anywhere near a big city. Felt safe and secure during our whole time here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
This is a beautiful park just south of Memphis. It has huge trees everywhere, lots of space between rigs, and you feel like you are living out in the woods. The staff was friendly, and lots spaced far enough you felt you had privacy to just enjoy the woods. Plenty of area for walking or bike riding. Paved interior roads and sites made it easy in and out for us. A great place to feel in the country, yet close enough to visit Memphis easily. We would happily stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Hard to get to, and the train yard kept us humming in time with the trains in railyard about 2 miles away. Enjoyed the birds, but the noise was too much. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
What an absolute gem! Yes the drive through some of the suburbs may raise questions however entry to the park immediately squashes any problems. This is a gorgeous park which is beautifully maintained and kept very clean and tidy. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The bathrooms are perhaps the cleanest I have seen in a long time and it even has a laundry (75 cents a load!!). It is within easy commuting distance to Graceland and other major attractions and is very quiet and peaceful. Very family friendly. Tennessee is to be congratulated on the standards maintained in their state parks. We have visited two and been very impressed by both. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$15
What a nice place! As we were driving to the park entrance, it seemed as if our GPS might be wrong because we drove through an urban area with some dicing looking neighborhoods, and we couldn't believe there would be a state park and campground here, but then all of a sudden, there it is. And what a nice place it is. We are really glad we didn't lose faith and just kept driving. And you need to stop at the office and read the incredible history of the person who this park is named for. This now on our list of regular stops on our annual trek between Minnesota and Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Wonderful place. We stayed 3 nights. Facilities were awesome. People were the best. It is close to highway and Graceland. Just loved it. It is peaceful and a wonderful state park. Area was risque, but we still felt safe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
This park is just outside of Memphis and is the nice close in urban area park I've been in. The sites are well space. The bathrooms and showers are clean with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. They don't have sewer but have a dump station on the way out of the park. There's kind of a vague industrial hum that you hear, more like white noise than anything specific. Outside of that it's pretty quiet. One review commented on the road in but out side of a couple of small pot holes it was fine. We camped in a nice pull through site under what we found out latter was a pecan tree. Downside was you were well aware of when the nuts fell off the trees and hit the roof. The upside was there were plenty of pecans laying around free for the picking. If you're coming to Memphis and don't want to do a lot of driving from sites farther away I'd recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
One night stay. Nice looking park but the surrounding area is very depressed. Didn't feel real comfortable here. Park did have nice showers and laundry which is rare in state park. Good hookups. Outside smelled of sewage or something. Probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We were hesitant about this park due to previous comments re: bad entrance road but found it not too bad at all. Getting thru Memphis from N to S was tricky but doable. Park host was very friendly. Our Verizon wireless was weak but usable. Watch another camper 'search' for a site for his satellite signal (heavy trees). Very clean everything, lots of hot water and great spray heads. Please note our rating.Close to everything Memphis has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
If you need to go to Memphis, this is the place to stay. It is quiet, shady and never crowded. The only small negative is the road from Highway 61 to the park. It is 3 miles of bumpy city road. Once at the park, the road is fine but hold onto your kidneys on the way there. For those with kids, realize there is not a pool or swimming hole close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Access to this park completely stinks. Roads to the park are in horrible condition with omnipresent construction and traffic. The neighborhoods you need to drive through are run down and scary. Once at the park entrance, the rangers leave at 4:15 and the welcome center is boarded up tight: security shutters and all! We almost turned around. Good thing we didn't. It is a FABULOUS park. Everything is neat and trim and gorgeous. It's well patrolled by Sheriff and Rangers and the camp host is a joy and very competent. Bathrooms and showers are some of the cleanest State Park restrooms anywhere. Sites are spacious, clean and trim. Trees are wonderful to rest under! We loved our stay. Too bad it's not more accessible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Well maintained, nice state park area. A little off the highway but a pretty nice golf course on site made it worth while. We probably come back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Beautiful park, I agree, however it is surrounded by some pretty run down areas. Road construction at Exit 9 on I-55 forced us to detour thru some rather seedy neighborhoods. Exit 7 would be a better choice for the time being. No real problems encountered. Security appeared good at the park. Facilities are very nice. Don't be put off by signs saying, "Primitive Camping Area". All sites have water and electric, and dump station is top notch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Very quiet and under-utilized park. Some branch impingement on the roads and backing into spots. Pool is about 2 miles away within park. Bathrooms and laundry rooms excellent. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This park is a hidden jewel. Very spacious sites and very very shaded. You will most likely have trouble getting a satellite signal but it is possible with all the trees. Clean bathrooms and showers. Getting there is is not to bad. You get to see the real Memphis. We had a very pleasant stay while visiting Graceland and Beale Street. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is a great place to stay! We did the whole Memphis thing, Graceland, Beale Street, Sun Studios, and the BBQ Festival. We were in the middle of everything! We checked out the other area campgrounds with a drive thru pass(which were more expensive and smaller spaces) we were so happy that we choose T.O. Fuller State Park. There was no sewage but the bath-houses were so clean with private "lock the door showers" a great laundry room and free Ice, and being handicapped the price was only $16.00 a nite. Since we stayed 5 nights it turned out to be a great deal at a great park. Round the clock security and a ranger that stays in the campground made our stay quite pleasant! All state park campgrounds could learn a thing or two from this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
I liked this park because I prefer public or state parks over private anyway but this park is a beautiful and quiet park. Now there is a couple of things i must point out you do drive through a not so good area to get there (no way around it) and their was a distinct odor in the air when the wind was a certain way possibly a rendering plant or something they produce or manufacture in the area this was disturbing but the restrooms and laundry were spotless and the host was very helpful. It was a great way to visit Memphis. We stayed here three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
While the park is a little hard to get to from the interstate and takes you through a rough looking part of town, the park itself is very pretty. The campground is well maintained and the bathhouse is clean and heated. Wind direction can make the park a little stinky. It is a small campground and does not take reservations so call to make sure they have spaces. The Indian museum near by is worth seeing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
We wanted a public campground within easy driving distance from Memphis sites, and this was great. The area you drive thru getting to it makes you a bit nervous (pretty run down), but the campground itself is lovely. We were there in March and it had only a few other campers - very peaceful, lots of birds, great dog-walking spaces. We also did some bike riding - roads were mostly traffic-less. Only about 15 min. to downtown Memphis. Very helpful campground host. Overall much better than we had expected (despite the occasional heavy rains and thunder storms). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
This is a small campground with good facilities. The "Pull-Through" sites are short, but most of the back-in sites will accommodate large rigs. There are limited recreation opportunities and the trail system is not maintained and hard to navigate. This park does not take reservation so get in early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
We had to be pretty motivated to locate this park but once in, we were glad to be there. Quiet, clean, super laundry. Easy drive to Graceland and Bealle St. Tables and fire rings. Nice play area for children if you've got them. Fall leaves were wonderful. Lovely walks. Will return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
We were so sorry that we came in late afternoon and had to leave first thing in the morning. What a lovely park! You do have to go through some different areas to get there, but it's a gem. You might want to have a water regulator with you. We arrived after the office was closed, but the park ranger was so nice and made us feel at home. We would certainly return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
This is a beautiful, peaceful park--one of the nicest places we have stayed east of the Mississippi. Park personnel were friendly and helpful. I am permanently disabled and have a Golden Access Pass for National Parks. Some state parks honor the pass so when my husband went in to register, I told him to ask if T.O. Fuller did. They not only honored it (giving us a rate of $10/night instead of $18) but they did so without asking to see the actual pass! Nice people, fantastic park--15 minutes from downtown Memphis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We stayed at this park for three nights in April. Although the road to the park passes through an industrial zone, this park is a hidden gem. On the downside, the hiking trails have not been kept up and need some volunteers to bring them back up to a decent standard. On the upside, where the paths can be found, they are beautiful. The park is 12 minutes from Graceland. An outstanding attraction even for the casual Elvis fan. There is a very interesting Indian village (Chucalissa) right beside the campground. The park also boasts an excellent and inexpensive ($10/nine holes) golf course. The staff were friendly and helpful. This park simply needs more campers. It’s definitely worth a visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is a great park and very close to all the Memphis attractions. Graceland is about 10 minutes and you can get downtown/Beale in 20 minutes. Amazingly for a state park, there is a laundry room with 3 washers and 3 dryers. Washers are a mere $1, driers .50. There's even an ice machine in the laundry room. Don't believe I've ever seen an ice machine in any CG. Staff is friendly as is the camp host. Prices increased on 4/1/2008 to $20, $18 for seniors and $16 for seniors with TN plates. The only reason this park didn't get a 10 is the airport noise. I'm very surprised it hasn't been mentioned previously. When those Fed Ex jets start taking off around 11PM, you will know it. Friday nights are lighter traffic and there's no traffic on Saturday night. A white noise machine (you could use a bedroom overhead fan) and earplugs were essential. All in all, this is probably the best bet in Memphis, though you'll have to do without park Wi-Fi and when the trees fill out in the late spring, satellite TV will be difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
I agree with the others that this is a nice little park. Perfect for the "vacationer" or people just passing through town. Water and electric sites only. Mostly shaded with tall trees. If you want to use your satellite system, get there early and get one of the few open to the southern sky sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
This park is in a great location for sightseeing. The park is quiet and the sites are large. The camp host was most helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
This is a wonderful place to stay away from the commercial area of town. It is a quiet, clean and friendly camp. The hosts were wonderful, very helpful and caring,especially when tornado warnings were threatening. The sites are nicely treed offering some privacy. This park is a 10 minute drive from Graceland and under 30 minutes to downtown Memphis, making it a great spot to camp while touring the city. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
Camp sites were very large . Well shaded . Very friendly staff at main office as well as camp host . Easy access to park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
This Campground is a hidden gem amidst the hustle and bustle of Memphis. It was all that we expect (or at least hope for) in a state park: huge sites, nicely treed, good access roads, clean facilities. The score wasn't downgraded for no sewer at site or no WiFi, as we don't expect those amenities in a state park. The campground host was very friendly and informative, as was the staff in the Visitor's Center. When driving in from I-55, you travel through an industrial area along Riverport Rd., but once you turn into the park grounds, the setting and atmosphere change dramatically for the better. The park is located about 6 miles from Graceland and 8 or so miles from Beale Street...very convenient for sightseeing. We stayed for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer...and that just about says it all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
A nice campground located in the midst of a state park that includes a golf course and some hiking trails. There are several long pull-thru sites for anyone that is just passing through but since it is so close to Memphis it is a very nice place to spend a few days. The water faucets are unlike anything that we have encountered in our 13 years on the road. There is a label on each of them describing how to operate them but even with that, often times the campers have to consult with the camp host to get them to work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This campground was slightly hit by a tornado. Damaged some trees, but did not cause a problem getting around the campground. This is a small campground. Restrooms were clean. Persons at reservation office were nice but not really friendly. Camp host was nice, friendly and efficient. Sites are pretty close to each other but no problem with extending slides. This is not my favorite campground but is good for a few days to run around Memphis. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com