206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Serpent River Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (705) 849-2210
CGID6706

Serpent River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   5   7   7   8   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Unexpected treasure . Planned on spending one night but extended stay an extra day. Well maintained campsite on the lovely Serpent River. Near highway but no problem with noise. Owner very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Management efficient and friendly. Sites grassy with level gravel bed. Water electricity great. On the Serpent River for view. Near the highway but noise was not a problem. Excellent pool at 4.5 feet. Friendly campers. No sewage hookup and wifi reflected in rating of 7/10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
There are few campgrounds for big rigs on the Trans - Canada highway, so Serpent River is a welcome sight. It's easy in and out.  Has electric and water, no sewer but the pump-out has easy access on the way out. (Although it's on a little incline.)  The biggest drawback is the highway noise. Fairly good Wi-Fi but it comes in and out. Sites are fairly level and grassy.   Stone Ridge Golf Course is 13 miles away and is a nice course in good condition. Food at the golf course restaurant was also good. Would stay here again especially if space were available away from the road, or motorhome windows were closed.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Okay as a stop over, easy in and out! Few sites that are 60+ ft. Didn't use the pool but it looked dirty. We could smell garbage constantly... It was overflowing and never was emptied! Owners weren't overly friendly! One channel on the aerial... No cable. Go to 'Clarences Fish Market' up the road ( Hwy 17) towards Algoma Mills. Best smoked trout we've ever had! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
I agree with previous reviews. This is a decent older campground along side the Trans Canada Highway. Our grass site was level and roomy, the rest rooms are spotless. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is a "chip truck" on site serving fries and other food. The noise from the highway is a presence, but not terrible. We stayed here for one night en route west. And the Wi-Fi worked well. If you like to watch TV in your rig, you'll need a sat dish. There's no cable TV and no on air reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
It is an older park but well kept.The owner is friendly and there is free wifi. As mentioned previously, the trans Canada Highway is very noisy. However, this is a good overnight stop as there is nothing else in the vicinity that you would want to stay at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Campground is right on busy Highway 17 with full view and noise of the trucks and cross Canada transports, but at the same time convenient for many overnighters. Higher rating than I would give is due to the extremely nice and helpful owner. She goes out of her way to accommodate. Bathrooms and showers are dated and limited, especially when they knock down one of the only 2 shower stalls on both sides for "maintenance", but they are clean and well stocked. Laundry facilities are average, but usable. Elliot Lake area is nothing special and 20 miles away, but has some really nice canoeing lakes and is the closest place to grocery stores, so come prepared with supplies. Very large grassy pull throughs were appreciated. Seasonal people are set up on the sides and in the back, though would not want to be on the back side due to the train track that intersect the whole park and is closest to the back. Whole "bus is a shaking" when that thing rolls through! Only heard the train go through once in the 2 nights we were there, however. River is nothing special, but does have a boat launch and is nice for the small boat fishing set up. Free WI-FI very appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Nice campgrounds along the Spragge River. We were there early in the season so the pool was not open. There were good graveled level sites. Right on the highway so there was some traffic noise. Very clean bathrooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is no longer a KOA, but called Serpent River Campground. Site was great, easy pull-through. The only concerns I had was that the dump station is on a mound and my front wheels on the motorhome were on the down slant by the time the dump valve was aligned with the sewage hole. I didn't get a complete dump. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
One night easy in and out. Pretty much nothing around except nice little restaurant / cafe across the street. They also have square dances on weekends I believe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Nice clean RV park. Spots are wide and level mostly sunny with a few trees. Larger spots than usual at a KOA. Easy access from Canadian 17. WIFI was weak. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
It was a lovely campground but the owners were not children friendly. Also, the pool temperature was very cold! (The river water was warmer.) The male owner was very aggressive. He came out screaming and yelling not to use his water to wash off my windshield. He should learn public relations. Will we return? NO! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
This is the perfect campground for an overnighter if you are traveling across Ontario. Some road noise and twice a day train noise, but very well-kept and clean. The pull-thru sites are large, level, and easily accessible, making for an easy stop-over to stay hooked up to your tow vehicle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Spragge only has 1 restaurant (cafe) and no shops at all. Nearest are 17 miles so make sure you pick up anything you need before you get here. Tidy camp and good value. Wifi great. TV reception almost non existent - 1 channel with antennae booster. Friendly staff and all amenities spotless. Good overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
This park is the only CG on Lake Huron’s north shore that’s open before May 15. The owners were friendly and efficient, the washrooms bright, clean and modern. The sites were grass, level and most were without sewer. Trailer life describes them as “most side by side hookups,” but I didn’t see any. Two usable TV stations were pulled in by the amplified antenna. New for this year is WIFI (not advertised in the KOA or TL info) and it is by far the best I’ve had the pleasure of using: secured by 128-bit encryption and passwords, signal strength “very good” from the motorhome and no disconnects over a 1-hr period of use. They charge $ 1 a day for it and I’m happy to pay for the security. Seems to be a destination for several seasonals, but if you’re just passing through it’s hard to beat the price (gold card discount.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com