206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Andrew Jackson State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (803) 285-3344
CGID6707

Andrew Jackson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   3   9   8   9   10   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
The park is small with only 25 sites. The park has undergone some major renovations and some are still in progress. The park has all new water lines and each site has 50amp service. The road in the campground and each site has been newly paved. They are in the process of creating a patio area for each site with a lantern pole and fire ring. It appears they are about 50% complete. The site we had was nice; although, a little difficult to back into because of several trees. The campground was quite during our stay with few open sites. AT&T cell service is good as was out MiFi service. There is no camp store and nothing close by. There is a museum, a replica one room school building, an old meeting hall and church, as well as some structures from the CCC era. I did not use the bathhouse so cannot comment. This is a great park for a true get a way! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
The park is in the process of a MAJOR renovation. Each site has been upgraded to 50/30 amp connection and new electrical boxes. New water lines and site connections at each site as well. Per the staff, in the upcoming weeks, they are going to re-pave the roads through the campground. They are also going to do additional leveling and pave all of the sites in the campground. (Staff said they were behind on getting the paving done because of all the recent rains.) About the park: There is no clear signage indicating where campers check-in. When you do find the office, it is hit or miss if someone is there. I did manage to flag down someone who turned out to be the campground host. He was great and got us checked in. He came by our site several times to check on us and demonstrated the new water connections. Bathrooms were clean and well kept. Grounds were clean and again well kept. We really liked camping here and will return when in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
I will preface this by saying there had been a lot of rain during the summer. So this is not the only place we stayed with excessive amounts of rain. So all the problems are not based on that. We chose this due to its proximity to the Charlotte area and the fact that it is a state park. Our daughter and family were staying with us. It advertises as "big rig friendly." The good part is that it is a pretty little park, and for that, it got as good a rating as it did. But our 32 ft. fifth wheel barely fit on site #19 which is one of the few with pavement for the pad. The trees were so close that our sliders barely fit. No awning or outdoor rug for the six days. Didn't matter since the site had no support, the picnic table was going downhill, and red mud surrounded the pavement. The bathrooms were old and the cleaning crew (?) wet mopped the floor with no looking up to clean dead bugs or cobwebs. This has to be the worse state park I have ever been to. It needs to be closed and updated or just kept as a tent and popup campground after revamping the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
Stayed at Andrew Jackson State Park while visiting family in NC and SC. Campground is limited to only 25 sites which in the 5 day stay we had, the park at best was half full. The park in general was a great place to stay. Staff was very friendly and constantly riding around maintaining the grounds. The lake offers great fishing, and ducks commonly rove around the grounds and were a great hit with our two small boys. All sites have fire rings with grills attached, although our site also included a charcoal grill as well. Digital TV reception was very good with picking up stations in Charlotte and Columbia. Some sites are not as level as others, which our original site was not, but we asked to move and park staff was very helpful in allowing us to change. Park does have a very good playground for kids. I will return and stay at this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
A nice park. There are standard South Carolina State Park bathhouses that were well maintained. There are great hiking trails and museum. We enjoyed our stay here and learned a little history about Andrew Jackson in the process. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$13
Great place to spend a night or a week.Has a nice small lake you can fish at.Also has jonboat rental.The trail around the lake is about a 20 minute walk.Restrooms were kept very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
This is a wonderful quiet little state park. Not many sites, so it can't ever be too busy! We didn't do much but fish and relax. Isn't that what vacations are for? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
The best way to describe this park is a quiet getaway. It has little in the way of amenities, or activities. It does have a playground, and the museum. Bike riding is OK, and a nice trail around the lake to hike and fish from. The street in the campground is very tight in places and you have to be very careful when going through. A lot of the sites are paved but need some repair or some work. The areas that you would use as your patio drop off considerably and need work. Some dirt and gravel would really add to the park. This park is a great place just to sit, relax and enjoy nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
We stayed here in a travel trailer overnight while traveling. We pulled in at night and it was drizzling rain. The site was a little tight and hard to maneuver into. The bathrooms and showers were not filthy, but were not cleaned well. There were spiders and bugs everywhere inside, a little creepy. In the morning we got a better look at the park. This is a very rustic pretty little park. Some sites back up to a lake that restricts swimming. There is a small museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
Nice quiet place outside of Charlotte. Staff very friendly, lots of kids, comfortable environment. Site was nice but a little un-level. Easy to get in and out. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com