219081 User submitted reviews online!!
Flamingo Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (239) 695-0124
CGID671

Flamingo Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
234
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   8   10   10   7   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
National Park Senior Rate for electric site. Large, level sites. Good sites for one or more nights visiting the Everglades. It was off-season so self-registration was in effect. Can get very buggy at night. It was the middle of April and deer flies were out during the day. Took the Florida Bay boat tour (no bugs out there)for an enjoyable ride with the dolphins. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
Beautiful, spacious campground! Clean bath house and easy access to site. We were in a pull-through site. The Flamingo Visitor's Center is a must stop. Also the Back Country boat ride was worth the price. The guide and boat captain were most informative. The only negative were the mosquitoes in January? We spent three nights and the rate is the Senior rate for the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
Price reflects the Sr. rate. This is a difficult campground to rate. Most of the points are for the Everglades themselves. THINGS TO KNOW BEFORE YOU GO! If you want to eat it or use it, take it with you. Flamingo is 38 miles from the southern park entrance and even further from any store, service station or supplies. This is south Florida so it is muggy, buggy and hot most of the year. The water although safe to drink is salty. There is no internet, over the air TV and few phone providers reach here. There are extensive hiking, biking, paddling, fishing and boating opportunities as well as ranger lead programs and activities. If the campground were located elsewhere it would be only so-so. Most of the sites are dry camping only and many for tents only. Loop T will accommodate even the largest RV but only 41 of the sites have electric hook-ups, none have water. There are both dump and water fill stations in the campground. The bath houses in Loop T have cold water only (cold showers!). You can drive to the other loops and look for the bath houses with solar panels for a hot shower. Sites are level and spacious but the grass needed mowing and the dumpster overflowed allowing the buzzards to make a nasty mess while we were there. NOTE: We did not see this, but there are warnings posted about black buzzards eating the rubber around windows, wipers, etc. on your cars. They do provide loaner tarps and bungees for you to use. Am I glad we went? Yes. Would I go again? Probably not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Sites are large and pull-through, but there is nothing between them. Loop T has electric only, water is available at the restroom. There is no hot water in the restrooms on the T loop, but it is available at the other restrooms. Just look for the solar heating panels. There is no trash dumpster on the T loop either, just a recycling container. There are a lot of activities available nearby. This is definitely the campground to stay in if you don't mind the 38 miles drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
I spent two weeks in Flamingo and loved it it. It's miles from anything. 38 miles to food grocery so come prepared although there is a small restaurant in the visitor center area. Beautiful sunrises when the birds come flying in for the day. Fabulous kayaking. The only one problem for me was that I could not work there as AT&T had the only cell service. So unless they have gotten Verizon in the past year it's a bummer for me. Love the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
It may be he end of the road, literally, but that is where you want to be in the Everglades. A really nice well located campground with very large pull through sites with electricity only. Need to fill your water tank before settling in. This is a place for nature lovers not poolside sitters. Very convenient to any number of lakes, ponds, trails, kayaking trails, naturalist programs, birding walks, boat tours. Would go back again if I had the energy to drive all that distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
Sites are huge but there are only a few trees and no shrubs etc. so there is not too much privacy. Restrooms/showers are ok but it seems hot water is either limited or nonexistent. Campground is ok but not particularly attractive. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Campgrounds were spacious and there were a lot of them. The Flamingo NPS park and campground has not fully recovered from the 2005 hurricanes. We went for a 2 hour guided boat tour through the Everglades we highly recommend. We also went to the Visitors Centers and walking trails in the park. But the campground and area was not in very good shape. It was a long way down there from Homestead FL. I don't think we would do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
The NPS rangers wanted people to know that the Recreation.gov site does not list all of sites available (they are trying to get this fixed) so definitely call ahead and see if they have space. We love Flamingo and will be back as many times as possible. Info: electrical hook-up at the RV sites; dump stations and water are near the bathrooms. Level pull through, paved sites. No laundry facilities. Lots of beautiful areas to walk and view nature. Lots of mosquitoes (even during the dry season) so come prepared. We had an air card and had good internet reception. Day and night ranger programs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
We stayed in the ‘T’ loop which has 41 sites with electricity. You can only reserve a non-electrical site online and then you have to drive here and see if they have any open electrical sites. Our rate with the National Parks pass was $16/night for the site + $7/night for the electricity. Fresh water hose and dump station are next to the bathroom. No warm water showers on the ‘T’ loop but the bathrooms in the tent camping areas has solar-heated water and the showers are close to hot (but grungy). Sites are level pavement, pull-through and long enough for a big rig and the tow vehicle. We had a great time walking and going to the nightly ranger talks. Do your laundry and shopping before you come here, there are no laundry facilities, no real grocery stores (marine store has very few supplies) and it is close to a 50 miles drive back to Homestead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
As of 2012 there are 41 pull-through sites with 50 amp electricity, however, electric sites are available only on a first come basis. So, you need to reserve a non-electric site ($16) and hope that an electric site is available upon arrival. Electric sites are an additional $14 per day. No sites have water or sewer. Reservations can be made at www.recreation.gov. Most of the washrooms do not have hot water showers and none have hot water sinks for shaving. There is no internet or laundry, and apparently only AT&T and Verizon cell phones and air cards work. The park and campground rangers are most friendly and helpful but the campground host needs a personality makeover. While many have complained about the bugs, we found them to be a problem only at dusk during our two week stay in late December and early January. The hiking, biking, canoeing/kayaking and fishing opportunities are endless. There are numerous daily ranger led activities both at Flamingo and the Coe visitor center. Try to avoid parking your car where vultures congregate as apparently they like to chew on rubber. The two hour drive from Flamingo to Shark Valley is a must, as is the guided trolley ride through Shark Valley. On your way to Flamingo, stop at Robert Island for all your fresh produce needs. They also have an excellent key lime pie. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
We got the half price senior rate, plus 50 amp. A very nice park with lots of activities. You can make reservations 2 days in advance, which we did not know. We were concerned that there might not be room for us, but traveling in December made a big difference. There were only 12 RV's in the park while we were there. Be prepared for cold showers and lots of mosquitoes. A beautiful park with lots of birds and eagles. We went on a narrated boat trip and saw a crocodile, an alligator and several manatees. We will come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
We were here in Mid May. The $15 rate is for Golden Access in a 50 amp site. The Park had only 2 other campers and I can well understand why. Only 2 loops of "T" section had power and they were NOT marked. There was a tiny note about this amid all the other notes and warnings at the check in kiosk. The road in was blocked in several places for 2 days (we complained) by cut branches from a trimming crew who just drove off and left them. Due to the drought, the park is like a humid desert. All the grass is brown and the trees are stressed. The horse flies are particularly bad this year and I have welts all over my legs and arms where I was bitten. I Had to wear long pants and sleeves to help prevent bites. The temps are in the 90's with about 50% humidity. The boat tours $26 were great and we saw crocodiles, a manatee, several dolphins and other assorted fauna. The flora was fascinating with the poisonous trees, indian mahogany, and the 3 species of mangrove being the most memorable. Everything was awaiting the rains, which have yet to come. I would NOT recommend this time of year for a visit. The park staff was as invisible as the rain and not particularly friendly when finally found. Perhaps because we complained about the branches and tiny lettering on the notification on electric in the campsites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We were prepared to dry camp here, and were pleasantly surprised to learn that the campground had recently upgraded some sites with electric (50 and 30 amp). We brought our own water, and didn't dump on site, though there are dump stations. (Potable water as well). We had been to the Everglades before--but just on the edges. This campground is 50 plus miles inside the park, right on the Florida Bay. Camping was first come, first served, and we were a little nervous about that, but I guess this is the off-season, since only 4 RVs shared a huge site. The RV area is about a mile from the marina and visitor's center, and we easily biked that distance many times. We highly recommend renting a boat and touring the canals and large lakes nearby this amazing national park. A park ranger warned us about the mosquitos at dusk, but I didn't take her seriously enough. My son and I did some evening fishing, and were mauled by the little guys. I probably had a hundred or so bites. Take plenty of repellant! (Bugs were not an issue during the day, or night--just dusk.) If you want a wonderful experience deep inside one of America's natural wonders, this is the park for you. Nighttime, under the stars with absolutely zero light pollution, was unforgettable. By the way, we had full bars with our AT&T phones, something we don't get at home. There's a cell tower at the Visitor's Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Very quiet, beautiful surroundings. Seems a little pricey for just power, but needed for most of the year due to OAT (outside air temp). No Verizon cell service. Good satellite both TV and internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
The Everglades are an amazing place, but I found this park to be nothing special. We called twice about reservations and they told us to just come in there was a lot of space. We even called an hour before we got there and they said the same. When we arrived they told us they had to put us in overflow way back in the farthest lot C. They told us we would find the dump back there on the way in. We drove around twice and had to go back and ask again. This time they gave us a map and told us it was in the Reserved Section that we were told not to go into first. That area was a lot nicer with fire grills and picnic tables. After all of the confusion we settled in for a quiet night.It was very dark with no lights around at all. The bath house in C was boarded up and not a light there either. There was hardly anyone around us and there looked like a lot of empty space closer to the front. Not sure why we got shoved way in the back?? The stay was enjoyable despite this, beware of the mosquito's. We did have a look at Long Pine and next time will definitely go there. It was a lot nicer. Everglades are a don't miss, but do try and get a reservation so that you have a nicer spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
As we arrived, the Ranger told us to pick 2 campsites of our choice, and later on we should register and pay for the night. That is exactly what we did. We drove to the campground, picked two sites and had a short snack for the kids, because is was late in the afternoon and we wanted to go to the Ranger to register and pay on our way to the waterfront, where we planned to watch the sunset later on. The Ranger station in the other parks (we stayed before) were open until sunset, so this seemed to be OK for us. Suddenly the Ranger came with his little Golf-car and he screamed: “Come to register right now or I will call the police: right now!” He was extremely angry. We thought that was a misunderstanding and I apologized to him and explained, that our English is not too good and we may have misunderstood him. He was getting more angry and therefore we just wanted to pay the 16US$/RV for the 2 RVs and I stopped our trials to apologize, which he did not accept. He asked us, which sites we have picked and I told him, that we have picked site #20 and #21, which were close together. Then he told us that site #20 is reserved, so I asked him, which sites would be free, so that we could change over to another site. He told me that site #19 is free, #21 is free, #25 is free. So I decided to take #19 an #21 (because he told us that site #20 is not free). Then he shouted that site #21 is reserved: although he said that #21 is free before. So we choose to pick sites #19 and #20, I drove my RV from site #21 to site #19 and all night long. Nobody appeared to site # 21. This was just to hassle us. That is why we formally complained about this man, who represents this park, and we are expecting a written comment to the incident described above. As we were very upset and disappointed, I canceled the reservation for the Jonathan Dickinson State Park, because we would never again experience such an impertinence. Hopefully the other campers would have more fun in this park, as we did in many state parks before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$8
Even with no hook-ups we enjoyed this park very much. From the plans I saw on future work, they do plan to add electricity sometime. They are still in process of rebuilding the motel and restaurant. The visitor center and marina are open. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
A bit larger and more open than Long Pine Key, but Flamingo has the advantage of being close to the marina. A lot of people who stay here bring their boats. We had a lot of big tent parties around us but things got quiet before 10, even though it was a holiday weekend. The sites are roomy and grassy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
We went to this place with friends for the weekend, plus it's only 20 minutes from my house. There is absolutely no electric/water/bathrooms/shower there. The sites were somewhat small with no shade. For what was there, it was over priced. Did have fire rings on the ground and lots of bike riding. Park is peaceful and relaxing but nothing to do there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
In Flamingo you have to boondock, so be sure to bring your own water, and source of electricity. There is a water fill and dump station near the first bathhouse in the T loop. Sites are huge but there is no privacy between them. Trees are scarce and not usually near enough to RV to provide shade. A and B loops are for tents, small vans, popups, etc. T loop is for RV's bigger than about 14 ft. T loop sites are all pull thrus. In A and B there is just a parking space for your vehicle and you may not park on the grass. C loop remained closed during our stay-we were told it is only for overfill. So the real number of sites goes down from 234 to 190 or so. The hurricanes damaged most of the campground and it is s-l-o-w-l-y being renovated but there are now 3 plans for it to be upgraded that they are asking for public input on. The lodge has been closed since 2005 and is in very bad shape. 3 of the trails are still closed as well. The Flamingo visitor center is not pretty as it was damaged and the gift shop and restaurant remain closed. We took the boat trip down the canal and walked the Snake Bight trail as well as the Eco Pond trail. We biked the other trails which were overgrown. Generators have to go off from 8p-8a and there is no light so the stars were very clear during our stay, we took our telescope to view them. Attended 2 ranger programs, a storyteller and the night ranger program about the pythons in the park. Our child received her JR ranger badge as well. Everyone we met was personable and helpful. Bathrooms were very clean, and the Flamingo marina has a few items if you forgot them. They also sell gas/diesel if you need it but at $3.56(Jan 08) we did not. Make sure you have everything you need because it is a 38 mile trip out of the park if you forget it. It takes almost an hour to exit as the speeds are slow in places. I told my spouse it was the best sleep I ever had camping because there was NO noise after 8p since it was too far for people to leave, no one was driving in or out and since there were some mosquitos out, people weren't sitting out talking until late in the night either. We will definitely do the trip again but not for a few years to see what changes have occurred when they start rebuilding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2005
$14
This is one of the National Park Service campgrounds in the Everglades, at the very southern end of Florida. The Florida Keys are across Florida Bay from this campground, and it's an absolutely gorgeous spot. No hookups here, but large level sites on well maintained gravel/paved roads. Do NOT go here unless you have gallons of high quality bug spray -- in January, when the locals say there's no mosquito problem, we were absolutely eaten alive if we stepped outside for more than 4 seconds with no Deep Woods Off liberally applied. I don't know how people survive when the mosquito problem is rated as "severe" as happens every summer. The campground is lovely, and very quiet (depending, as always, on the neighbors you get). Great for stargazing. Probably won't be back, but glad we saw it all once! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$14
It was a long drive in from the visitor center to the campground, so plan ahead and bring everything in with you. The store had some groceries, at a premium price, and very good coffee! There were pesky mosquitos, but cooler weather helped keep them away. I camped as far from wet brushy areas as I could get to avoid the larger swarms. Other campers said "you should have seen the biting black flys last week". Clean, quiet, nicely organized campground. Bathrooms were fine, although the cold showers were always a shock! Might be nice when warmer, but on a cool March morning, it was a rude awakening! I spent 3 nights and 4 days hiking the trails and kayaking the water trails. I saw enough mangroves, brackish waters, seas of grass & tidal mud flats to satisfy my interest. But there were some great moments, like kayaking with a pod of dolphins and near alligators/crocodiles. I might go back with the trailer, but not again with the tent. This is a definite "must see" place, although rough & rustic. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$18
Wonderful for dry camping in the Everglades. Don't go during July or August due to bugs. "Waterfront site" only applies to tent campers. There is potable water and sewer dump station on site. Lots of wildlife visible January-February. Note: this campground is at least 40 miles from anywhere civilized (which is just the way we like it). A small store is near the camping area as is a restaurant and gift shop. Hurricanes wiped out the motel building. Rumor has it Cingular is the only cell phone that works in the camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2004
$14
Cons: COLD showers! Mosquitos! No hook-ups. Long drive in from civilization. Pros: Beautiful area. Nice spacious sites. Lots of wildlife. Good roads. Florida Bay kayaking. Stayed 3 nights, long enough to see/do everything. Might return again sometime. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com