221769 User submitted reviews online!!
Quinebaug Cove Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (413) 245-9525
CGID6734

Quinebaug Cove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   6   9   4   1   2   1   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
The good; has a dozen big rig sites with 50 amp, W & S and cable and another dozen sites for small campers with 30 amp & water, no sewer and right on a lake cove. Pool, rec room and playground. Good Verizon cell & 4G signals. The bad; very high percentage of sites are park models or very long term campers, some nice, but many junky and overgrown. The traveler sites are all back in, wide and short, my 36 ft fiver hung over the back with the hitch at edge of road. We asked for satellite site and were escorted to a site. After all set up found no signal, was told by employee to move to another site and tell the office in the morning, I moved. In the morning I was told by the office that site was privately owned and I had to move again. That site was not marked but I could use the equally unlevel and overgrown sites on either side. All three sites off level by up to 4 inches. Park has changed ownership and name change to Adventure Resorts of America, but not the signs at the entrance. The ROD web site lists the new name but not the old name, PA and this review web site lists the old name and not the new name. Drove past the entrance twice looking for the new name. Wi-fi signal only at office. Park not well maintained, run down and unprofessional, the brochure was a hand full of bad copies. The staff was OK but had an “I don’t care attitude”. The grounds and sites were weedy and the pool was more green than clear. All this during peak season. Would not stay there again even for the ROD rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
This park has worked out great for us. I called and asked for a spot as close as humanly possible to the playground. They obliged. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place is a bit run down, but they accepted the Passport America rate for the whole week and did not charge extra for my kids. The laundry room had a puddle and the shower was all glued up. Lots of full-time with no limits to porches, etc. It seemed that they cut lots of people deals to work part time there. They were all very friendly and nice to my 5 kids. The lodge was huge and had a big couch for TV as well as many tables for homework/paperwork. They had a DJ on Friday night even though no one came to dance. We danced for 20 min and then put the kids to bed. The Wi-Fi was at the lodge only, which was fine as it kept the speeds fast. If you needed to download something at night, then you could sit on the porch. Hookups were new, but they did not bother to bury them, so large cables running in grass. We were there in off season, so did not use the beach or pool. My husband went running by the beach and said it was nothing to write home about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This was OK for an overnight though overpriced, which seems to be the norm for this region. Perhaps because it is close to Old Sturbridge Village which we did not stop in to visit during our short stay. Big campground, seemed to be mostly for either seasonals or people living in their RVs. Quiet,almost deserted. Only one other overnighter came in. We were first given a site in the meadows area which turned out to require a drive up the hill on a narrow dirt road and down into an empty, isolated grassy field with no restrooms. We returned for a different site nearer the other RV that arrived when we did. This site assigned turned out to have two cars parked in it, so we took the empty one next to it and walked back to the office for a third visit. Restrooms and showers were adequate. Best feature of this park was good cable TV. The park was hit by a tornado in 2011 and is still showing effects, with construction dumpster etc on site. Would look for other options next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
The campground has made many improvements since last year. Every site now has 50 amp service, we had no issues running everything. The bathrooms have been updated and repainted. The water pressure was great. Spent a lot of time in the pool, it was very clean. We were able to get on the internet if we were near the office. The Kayak trail was open and clean of debris but the beach itself still needs a little cleanup. While we were there they had a Pig Roast and horseshoe tourney, there weren't any other activities that weekend.I will definitely camp there again, as I only see it getting better since the Tornado hit it in 2011. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
We signed up to be seasonal campers at this campground in April 2011. Unfortunately, the campground didn't have any activities for campers as they told us. We had no cable television whatsoever. We also had electrical issues. Unfortunately for them they were hit by a tornado in June 2011 and have been closed since. All the campers do feel bad that this happened to them but we sure hope that we get repaid for the fees we paid for the entire season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Two motor homes pulled in and attendant assigned a "pull-thru" on the top of a 25 degree hill. Motorhomes don't climb in 4 wheel drive. Reassigned second back in site. 30 amp power was actually 109 volts with 16 amps. Surge protector did its job and protected the rig. Next site was back in with 111 volts and 12 amps. We demanded a refund of the security deposit and site charge, after much screaming we got our refund, without owner/managers assistance, and left the park. This place should be rated -10 on all scales. Do not go to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
Park was beautiful, had pretty landscaping. We tried to use the 30 amp service to run one air conditioner and our surge protector shut us down immediately. We then tried to run our fantastic fan only and the surge protector shut us down again. We couldn't run any appliances at all. Low voltage was a major problem in the park. We talked to other campers who were also having problems. The management didn't seem to want to refund us our money as we were going to leave. We finally asked to be moved to a site away from others and ran our generator for electric power the rest of the night. THe low rate we paid was due to using Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
People live in campers year round here. I found insulation screwed to the outside of trailers in prep for the winter months. They also seemed to lack a landscape crew for leaves in October. This was the off season, so not sure about landscape in summer months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
My family booked the weekend here, and only stayed for one night. The campground was nothing like it depicted itself on the internet. They put me in what could only be described as a parking lot, where the fire pit for the site next to ours, was 3 feet from our camper. There were no activities for the kids, you could not swim in the lake and the grounds were in need of up keep. The bathrooms needed updating: my daughter’s knees hit the door when seated and her feet and calves were sticking outside of the door. The next day, we went to Sturbridge Jellystone Park, booked the remainder of the week and successfully salvaged our vacation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Passport America rate. This place packs them in tight. Mostly filled with seasonal campers and a good place for kids. So so for older couples. We had hot weather and had to run our genset to power the A/C's. The 'transiet' area with about 12 sites was on a 100 amp circuit (do the math). Probably would avoid this place in July/August when schools are out. But it is probably ok when schools are in. There is a really nice golf course (Heritage CC) nearby that has a weekday senior rate of $30 ($36 non senior) for 18 holes with cart and lunch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$8
One to avoid. We called ahead after reserving through CTC--called twice to ensure that we could get a site from which we could use our internet satellite dish because we have to in order to do our jobs. Both times we were assured that we would be able to because we would be placed in "The Meadow." Not only were we not put there on arrival; it was closed and the road to that area was impassable in a motorhome. We had confirmed a site with full hookups and 30 amps. We were put in a 20 amp site without sewer--and no chance of a shot at the satellite, so no chance at getting the work done that we had to do. Whereas we had intended to get our work done in the morning and have a pleasant afternoon and part of the Sunday in a tourist village nearby, we had to leave immediately the next morning instead of staying through our three nights because these people lied to us twice and about three different elements of the reservation. There's no excuse for this. If they don't want CTC members, they need to drop the program. We could easily have gone elsewhere. All they had to do was say no when we first called to ask our questions. (We were not the only CTC members there treated this way. The nice people next to us were told they could pay $10 for one night of cable TV and $25 to dump their tanks after having reserved a full hookup site. They were equally happy. Perhaps this place treats everyone this way?) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Beach is OK. Wooded sites are very uneven and hook-ups are often far away. We were told to bring 100' of hose! We ended up on essentially a parking lot with an obstructed view of the water. Owner is very abrupt and rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
We stayed here as Coast to Coast members. The Coast to Coast sites are called the Courtyard. Those sites are level and easy to back into. Half of these sites are satellite friendly. Verizon cell service was nonexistent. We would come back as an overnight if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com