218141 User submitted reviews online!!
Nettles Island Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (772) 229-1300
CGID6735

Nettles Island Resort

Camp Information
Sites
1200
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   2   9   1   9   10   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
Very large and very clean park. Some parts are better than others. Some areas are much easier to get in while other sections are very tight. Varies a good bit. As an example, the site we stayed on fits a 45 ft fifth wheel and we had zero issues backing it on the first shot. In other sections of the park this would be impossible even for a 35 ft. My recommendation is to check Google maps or visit before you book or get in touch with one of the many owners renting their sites. Decent rule of thumb is the deeper it is off the main road (more turns you take off the main area) the tighter things tend to get. Not always true but mostly accurate. As for the park, beautiful, well maintained, gated / guarded and had tons of amenities. Two pools, one river side and one directly on the ocean, both are very nice. Shuffle board, mini golf, tennis, basketball, volleyball, gaming stations inside, workout room, horse shoes, BBQ pits, sand box, etc. If you get bored here it's your own fault. Add to that the beach is a short walk or cart ride away depending on where you stay, and it's beautiful. If you are serious about a decent term rental I advise getting in touch with some owners personally. Plenty of $$ to be saved. We locked up a site for a year for 6k and paid our own electric while having access to all the amenities. That was 2 years ago. We since purchased in here May 2014. There are not many parks in this section of the state. Nettles is an excellent location despite its flaws (some sections are a little tight). Just choose wisely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
This is a nice gated community if you're one of the full time residents and are able to utilize all the amenities offered. If you're a road worker with a contract up the way, it was the only campground out on the island. The views are beautiful, and overall we liked it, but they have crammed a few too many sardines into that can. The chubby girl at the office seems to quote any highball price she thinks she can con people out of. Overall Nettles is way overpriced even for what they offer. The daily rate listed is 1/30th of what she gouged us for, including the per day charge for electric, no matter how little you may really use. We gave them points for being a nicely kept gated community. We took away points for attitude and gouging in the office. Overall we believe a 6 is fair. We just recently pulled out of town, but I really doubt we would ever be back for work or pleasure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
Sites so close you can hear you neighbor's bathroom. Mostly seasonal folks-very friendly. What we disliked the most was the reservation policy: pay up front for entire stay!!! Then pay a $200 deposit up front!! Oh but that's not all..your refund of the $200 will not be returned upon check-out--you will receive it in the MAIL. This is a total scam.. ALL THIS FOR A DRIVEWAY RENTAL. You will pay for your dog to be on the grounds! You will pay them to use your own golf cart (with your own ins). The place is clean, the beach is right across the street, but won't put up with the scam.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60+
We are leaving this heaven tomorrow and are sad. We came for two days to visit a friend and stayed for sixteen. To stay for a week is less expensive than a daily rate. It is a large friendly community (1300+) of mixed RVs, modular home models, stucco houses, and includes a small marina, but is fairly quiet, and very well maintained. Full time security made us feel very safe. Many folks live here for several months or all year. We enjoyed a space on the water with views of incredible sunsets and fishing pelicans. We started our mornings with a long walk on the beach with our dog collecting sea shells. There are lots of planned activities for the social set: classes, hobby groups, swimming pools, a recreation center, mini golf, a restaurant, and much more. If I have to mention anything negative: it feels a bit congested, there is a fee for the use of internet, and there are no public laundry facilities available. The second week we were here was school spring break. We did have to dodge some golf carts driven by teenagers, dance with kids on skateboards, and share the showers with little whiners, but if I have to suffer these, I wouldn''t want to do it anywhere else on earth. We will leave chunks of our hearts here in Jensen Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$68
Sardine City, Yes they pack them in like sardines all 1200 sites. No room to back up your rig without hitting something. EXPENSIVE TOO Live and Learn. Thanks but NO Thanks. Also heard they have power surges there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$60
Nice place. Does have everything you could need. Only negative is this is almost all park models with a few RV pads scattered about. So if you are looking for week end camping trip, this isn't it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$70
The perfect Florida vacation! We stayed on a riverfront lot: we were lucky to get one because there are not that many available for rent and we always prefer to be on a waterfront lot if possible. The view was spectacular! Everyone we encountered from the rental staff to residents to renters was so friendly and down to earth. The island has everything you need for recreation including their own private beach/pool across the street, a marina with grocery, two restaurants, tennis, mini-golf, and on and on. You could stay here and have a great time without ever having to leave! But, if you do want to visit Florida's most popular attractions, Nettles Island is within 2 hours or less of most of them! Another thing we were very pleased with, was the cleanliness of all the facilities, including bath and showers. We don't normally need to use the public showers at campgrounds, since we have one on the RV, but we were having a little problem with our water heater and needed to use the facilities at Nettles. The shower for our section was very close to our site and we were amazed at the cleanliness and privacy. Unlike most campgrounds, where lots of campers are using the facilities day and night, most people at Nettles have their own, so everything stays clean and private. Both the ocean and clubhouse spools were sparkling clean, too with plenty of lounge chairs and friendly people. There is also a little restaurant in the clubhouse that is open from 7am-2pm for breakfast and lunch, which is reasonably priced and serves good food. We did not have the opportunity to go to the marina restaurant, but reviews for it are very good and we plan to check it out next time. We would highly recommend Nettles Island Resort for any Florida RV vacation, and if you don't mind spending a few dollars extra per night, the riverfront lots are breathtaking! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$57
Ditto on most of the previous reviews, two things to be aware of: First, stop behind the first building to check in (no signs to do so, not a typical campground office look), I went to the guard building 100 feet further on and and it was too late to turn around with my toad. Guard wasn't helpful, just a "good luck" finding a place to turn around after you go through the gate. Second, even they have 22 wireless transmitters,there is so much RF noise, the WiFi was very marginal even with an excellent signal, even a call to the NomadISP confirmed the issue. Very fustrating and expensive, $8 per day, $14 per week for WiFi. Other than that, a nice place to set up, great restaurant across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
Not as many activities as the big resorts in Mesa, but there is plenty to do with the Ocean just across the street and several shopping centers both modern and Arts and Crafts zones within just a few miles. Our rate was based on a monthly rate from an owner. The company charges a 50% comission on properties that they rent. Try calling the Rec center at 772-229-1650. All blacktop roads as well as a marina for large boats. Enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$80
Great place with lots to do! Ocean swimming and fishing included. Recreation Hall was fun. We parked our motorhome here for 6 days and could have stayed longer if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$50
Although the number of sites at this resort is in excess of 1200, they are all privately owned. There is an on-site management company, staffed by friendly and well-informed staff, but the emphasis at Nettles Island is to sell either "unimproved sites" (though concrete pads, water, electric and sewer are at each site), pre-existing Park Models (though many are in bad condition and should be removed), or single-family houses, many of which are virtually new. Nettles Island was hit hard by the hurricanes of 2005, but it has bounced back nicely. There is a small shopping area on the island adjacent to a small marina, but don't think "mall." It's just a little grocery store, cafe, hairdresser, laundry, realty, etc. This is really a destination resort, with a very nice clubhouse/pool area, but RVers are welcome, as well, with the on-site management collecting the fee on behalf of the site owner. It is expensive (at about $1500/month for a site, with cable TV free and internet access extra), but entry is through a guard gate and the feeling of security once you're inside is unmatched. I stayed here the month of December, and it was beautiful over the Christmas season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com