224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Barview Jetty Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (503) 322-3522
CGID6749

Barview Jetty Park

Camp Information
Sites
315
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   6   7   7   7   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
This is a very large campground, especially for tenters. The RV area is big, but doesn't give much privacy. In spite of that, it was quite pleasant. People and their pets were generally well-behaved. This is a great place to visit the beach. There is a steam train that runs from Garibaldi to Rockaway which would have been fun to try out, but we don't tow a car, and walking to Garibaldi on Hwy 101 didn't look like fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Very family oriented park. RV sites are not by the ocean, but they are a short walk away. Sites are mostly level and many are long - 70'. It is not a quiet park, but the noises are happy family noises. We enjoyed evening walks to see the sunset. WiFi was an extra $4 per day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This park is just north of Garibaldi on the Oregon coast. It is a large park, with RV and tent sites spread over a large area. Tent sites and small RV sites have a lot more privacy than the larger RV sites. Some are quite close to the beach. We camped in a pull-through site, which, since it was not angled from the driveway, and because of tree branches rather low overhead, was not that easy to get into. The driveway was quite long, and there was a decent amount of space between rigs, but no privacy at all. Since we were there only overnight, this wasn't a big deal. There were lots of places to walk, and the sites were clean. What bothered me the most, however, was that the $34.00 rate didn't include more than $20 of "extra" fees, like the $10 transaction fee, and the "other" fee of $5.00, the tax (Oregon doesn't have sales tax), and then they wanted $4.00/day for wifi, which we did without. $54.00 for a parking lot-style pull through on a gravel pad seems a bit much to me. I'd avoid this place because it just isn't worth the price. I've stayed in fancy resorts for less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$49
The $49 rate for a full hookup pull through site includes a $10 Transaction Fee required for each check-in and sales tax. The second and additional nights would be $39. Wi-fi is available for an extra charge. Verizon worked well here. Only about 55 RV sites, the rest are all tent sites, but they offer more privacy and if you can dry camp they would be the preferred sites. There is a dump station on site. Good beach access including a boat launch ramp. The RV sites are all gravel with some grass trying to grow between the pads. We would stay here again when the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This rate reflects a tent site. They have much more privacy than the old style RV sites. This is always a favorite and the maintenance is top notch. New gravel has been spread, but they may have gone a little overboard with the trimming, allowing more outside light and less privacy. The showers cost .50 for four minutes. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Good! Impressed that although the RV pads are gravel, they were perfectly level! 50 or 30amp service, sewer hookups, family friendly place!! Not uptight about pets. Plenty to do here and in the neighboring towns. We had a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
The rates here are $30 Pull Through and $25 Back in with full hook-ups. We actually chose to pay $20 for a dry camping site with lots of privacy (unlike the RV spots). There are only three sites that I would consider "ocean front", they are "Y1-Y3" next to the coast guard tower. The restrooms near that location are not fit to use. This park does accept year round reservations and depending who is at the front gate, they may give you a list of available sites or simply assign you one that can be changed based on availability. I have stayed at this park off and on for thirty years and there have been a lot of changes, not all for the best. It remains one of our favorite destinations, but regarding my rating of 7, there is no way considering all of the parks we have stayed in that I could ever give a higher rate here. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Have stayed at this park before and always look forward to returning and going out onto the Jetty to watch the action. Great people at check-in booth were very helpful in selecting a site for us. Well maintained park and very quiet during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We have stayed here many times over the years. It is a large park, almost right on the beach. There are some beautifully wooded sites, quite a few have a fair amount of privacy. They clean out the bathrooms daily, they are a little old, but they maintain them. Some spots are all sand, especially down the first road by the giant sand hill (which kids of all ages climb to the top and roll down). Others are grassy with native bushes and trees. If you camp in the last row closest to the beach, along the tree lines, note that a lot of party people favor these spots. The staff there and hosts were very friendly, even helped my elderly parents when they realized they lost the ceiling vent hood on their camper on the way there (and it had started to rain!). They got them a ladder and someone in town fixed it for them (thank you so much!!!). The road is a mix of sand and gravel. There are some mosquitoes that come out at night, but they didn't bother us a whole lot. Almost all the sites but a handful are reserve-able online, so if you go expecting to get a first come, first served site, you may very well be out of luck. It's a very popular campground. The Cow Tales restaurant in Rockaway has a decent large sized, country breakfast. Or go clamming at low tide down by the dock in town, and make fresh clam chowder (take shovels, buckets, clam license, and a rake!). Rules are posted at the top of the stairs. There are fish cleaning stations in the campground It's probably best not to camp by one of these though, like we did. They can get really stinky!. You can also take a 90 minute train ride in Garibaldi to Rockaway, it goes right by the campground (currently $16 adults, $9 kids). If you like jerky, the Tillamook smoker is south of Garibaldi and has great prices and fresh, tasty jerky (get two foot long pepperoni sticks for $1!) We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
It's a county park which appears to be primarily setup for tent camping vs RV camping. The tent sites are heavily treed and have great ambiance. The RV sites tend to be pretty bare and kind of shabby when compared to what one can find in almost any State Park on the Oregon Coast. Beach access was pretty easy and the beach itself is great. Has pay toilets which was kind of cheesy. And we found that speeding within the park was unacceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
It is very nice for a State park. We would return again. It is a short walk to beach and jetty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We’ve stayed here before a couple of times. The RV sites with hookups have some limited shade from smaller trees etc. but the really shady sites are for tents in alcoves in the brush and trees. Not that it really matters since you’re right next to the Pacific ocean and sunshine is a rare event anyway. The RV sites are gravel with gravel roads, but it’s not dusty. The park area is pretty open, so there is plenty of room to maneuver a 40 foot coach. The sites are spread out a bit, so you’re not crammed in too close to the next RV. This time, we stayed right out on the jetty itself. (There are a few sites in the X and Y section) There are no RV hookups out there, but the beach is 30 yards away, and you can see water in the Tillamook Bay lead in. You can hear the pounding surf, which makes for a great night’s sleep. It’s nice to watch fishing boats heading in and out right from the RV windows. There’s a low sand dune and huge jetty boulders that block the ocean itself from your RV’s view, although you can see a sliver of the Pacific from site Y3. There is a sewer dump on the way out of the jetty, so dumping after a stay isn’t a big deal. For the rest of the RV sites ‘inland’ from the jetty area, trails lead to the beach from all over. It’s not over three hundred yards or so to the beach from most sites. Barview is a small hamlet about 2 miles north on 101 from Garibaldi, and the county park is past the tiny town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
A great location to camp, whether exploring the Oregon Coast, or just hanging out on the jetty. It was too cold to swim, but the beach is a nice place to walk. Gravel sites are clean and level, with grass between sites and some trees. The bath house was clean but old. We did not use the pay showers, since we had full hook-ups. Restaurants nearby in Rockaway Beach, Garibaldi and Tillamook. Large supermarkets in Tillamook. Good Verizon signal for the cell phone and air card. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Have been going to this park for many years. They have increased the number of sites including adding pull through sites and have improved the old sites by adding nice parking areas. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Great campground, especially for families or groups. The park is well maintained and clean. We spent a week here, wish we could have stayed here longer. The pull-throughs had plenty of room for a big rig as did some of the back-ins. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Limited sites for big rigs, lots of sites for tents or smaller units. Walking distance to a great beach. Operated by Tillamook County Parks. As this is just of the beach, there is a lot of sand everywhere, stake out your patio rug to collect the sand off your shoes. Nice place to explore the northern Oregon coast from. If you have a big rig, make your reservation early for one of the 13 pull thru sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Really have enjoyed my 6 day stay at this park so far. Pleasant and quiet with a cooling breeze nearly all day. Lots of roads and a beach to ride my bike on. The RV campground, where I'm parked, is a hike or bike ride (maybe 100 yards) away from the ocean and beach but there are several RV dry camps available right on the jetty too. It's very quiet and secluded here with lots of trees and shrubs obscuring camp sites. There is a well stocked store about a mile away from the RV campground which also makes and sells pizza and sandwiches. I pick up cell phone signals here and also several Portland TV & local radio stations. When it's hot in Portland, it's usually cool here, but it can get crowded on the weekends since it's only a couple hour drive. I had to wait 1/2 hour on Friday afternoon (12:30 pm) before I was allowed to park on a reserved RV space, but there were 4 no shows that day so not a problem finding a space. And I'm told that this next weekend, July 29 & 30, is all booked too. (But there are almost always no shows). The staff is helpful and pleasant, and the bathrooms are clean. This is a county park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com