220363 User submitted reviews online!!
Ruins Road RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (505) 334-3160
CGID6766

Ruins Road RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   6   6   7   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
For self-sufficient units only. No restrooms/showers limited shade in perimeter sites. Wifi worked. Quiet. Good hook-ups. Nice base for sightseeing. Less busy than Farmington. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
A wonderful campground in an excellent location. Very close to many of the area's natural and historical attractions. Less expensive than Durango, CO. and only 35 minutes away. A great price for full hookup sites, (w/50a/s). Owners are knowledgeable of the area and the fellow campers we met were adult and friendly. We have been here almost a month now and maybe we will stay a bit longer! Easy 1 night pull-thrus! No shower or bathrooms so bring your own. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
A friend recommended we check this park out on our way thru to Durango. It's a small neat and clean facility just off a 2 lane country road. I would assume it would be quiet, especially at night. Very friendly owner lady. Nice, complete web-site. Some nice shade trees most sites. Should not be a problem with your slide-outs. Mostly pull-thrus. A small creek way in the back with some kind of bridge ? She quoted us a price of $295 per month. Certainly lots to see within 50 miles or so. If you are like us and you keep a list in your back pocket of nice quiet reasonable ($) RV parks. Add this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
A no frills park but the owners are very nice and work hard to keep the park in good shape. You need to be self-contained; no bathhouse as far as we can tell. A short walk to Aztec Ruins and about 1.5 hours to Chaco Culture NHP. We've stayed here before and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Nice park within walking distance of the Aztec ruins (BTW worth the walk). Reasonable site size. Good power (50A), water pressure, WiFi and no issue septic. Few to no rules--might, or might not be a problem for you. Our neighbors were "neighborly". We could see that others were not. More than average road noise along Ruins Road. This is a busy park, so be sure to make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Very nice park, but no restrooms or showers. Excellent Internet connection. Walking distance to Aztec Ruins National Monument. Gravel roads and driveways, so no mud when it rained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We were here for a month for business. Easy access and large pull through sites. "No frills" park but lots of room and friendly folks about. Gravel roads and spaces. We had a lot of rain and no mud. Owners were nice and pretty much leave folks to themselves. A few long term residents, but no issues for us. I don't think they had restrooms or showers, but we don't use public facilities anyway. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
This was a good place for an overnighter in order to visit the Aztec Ruins. Site was pull-through, large, wide and level. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
While this park has a number of long-term residents, it was not a problem -- other than a few barking dogs -- as the owners assigned us to a site up front that was level and had a complete hook-up. Very close to Aztec Ruins, with two dog walk areas, including along the river. We will stay here again while in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
A fairly nice park. The spaces are fairly level and gravel and the wifi is ok. Iffy at times but ok. The owners are really nice. They brought us some vegetables from their garden and it is handy to the Ruins and Farmington (about 10 miles). We were there for a little over a week. The arches are fun to find and the Bisti/De-Na-Zin wilderness 36 miles south of Farmington is worth the trip. There are no marked trails but a topo map can be found on the internet. Go early as it gets hot after noon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Conveniently located 1/2 mile from Aztec Ruins National Monument with easy access from the main highway. The gravel site was mostly level. Strong Wi-Fi. An older park with some permanent residents. Very good for a one or two night stay while visiting the area. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Camped one night in travel trailer, there are no facilities here. Owners are nice and helpful, but there was very low water pressure. Electric was fair to poor. Mostly long term folks here. River area looked run down. Okay for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Disappointed in the Ruins Road RV Park because they have no bathrooms or showers, period. The electric, water & WiFi did work okay, but we were just surprised the hostess never even mentioned their apparent lack of facilities. The place had some shade and was okay but we were only staying one night, no more. It was just a big letdown. Probably won't return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
We met various interesting nice people; permanent residents on this park. Some sites on the river Animas in full shadow under big trees. Sun sites very large and are pull through. Working free Wi-Fi. 50 amp is also very welcome on hot summer days. Owners very helpful. We had some engine malfunction and we were invited in their home, using their telephone and find the proper repair shop. Aztec Ruins just half a mile up the road. Saves fuel. Price very reasonable taking all free amenities into account. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Just a few sites for drop ins, mostly long term residents. Owner didn't know what sites where available, said " drive around and take whatever you want". No map or plan. OK for quick over-nite if needed. Fantastic ruins are just down the road a short walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We stay at this park often, & we just love it! The park is clean, quiet, & safe. The river area is beautiful & full of wildlife. Large pull through spaces, some with grass & large shade trees. The Lilac bushes were in bloom this weekend & filled the park with their wonderful fragrance. Owners are on site & always friendly & accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
OK for a one night stop-over. Gravel parking lot, not terribly neat or clean, no showers or restrooms. Location is good and wifi was great, but nothing else makes this place special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Kind of a "hardscrabble" park with many (nice) permanents. But it has numerous benefits we consider important. Convenient, working utilities. Roomy sites. Close to what you want to visit. Really pet friendly, not just conditional pet acceptance. Most of all, owners rank among the nicest owner-operators we've run into in many years and many sites. We would certainly come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Great for a night or few. Excellent Wi-Fi. Close to Indian ruins. Owners on site. Mostly permanents. Sites gravel and level. Price is great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We have been here for 3 days and just extended for 2 more. We have found the park clean and everything in working order. The spaces are large and although there are "permanents", none appear in disarray. The owners are friendly and have answered all of our questions. In response to the person that addressed the mobile home park next door, that has nothing to do with this park and we have not experienced any problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
My family has been coming to Ruins Road RV Park since it opened in 1992. We have always enjoyed our experience. The Owners are always very helpful and courteous. They have a nice river/camping area with a covered Ramada, it is very peaceful and full of wildlife. I think the price per night is very reasonable & is within biking or walking distance to the Aztec Ruins Nat'l Monument (saves gas). I would like to know why the previous reviewer stayed here if they didn't offer the amenities he or she wanted. I have never found a park with bathrooms, showers & laundry facilities for under $20.00 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
The was by far the single worst RV park we have ever stayed at. The host/owner was not at all friendly, there were almost all "permanent" residents there and it was simply awful. The property is bordered by what seemed to be section 8 trailers and we never felt safe here. The water hookups were filled with fiberglass and garbage, the park dirty and cluttered. There is huge potential here if the time and money were put forth to make it a nice place, especially since they have property that goes directly to the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
Is an OK park for a short stay, to visit the ruins. I couldn't find any restrooms or showers so I do not believe they have any. Price was with tax included and I consider it cheap. Wi-Fi was not strong but worked OK. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
This is a nice park! I'm a Texas girl: just love those wide open spaces! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
This was not our favorite campground as it is very basic and very full of permanent residents. That being said, the owners were very helpful, the permanent residents appeared to be kind, and it was a great starting point for the Aztec Ruins park just down the road about 1 mile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
The RV park owners were very helpful with directions to our next city, and the price for a private park was very reasonable. The sites themselves were not much better than a glorified parking lot, but the park redeems itself with a very nice picnic area with trees, tables, and a covered deck right on the Animas river. We cooked and ate our dinner with the rushing water as a nice backdrop. I would use it for an overnight stopover, or to visit the Indian ruins in the area. It isn't worth more than a couple of nights here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Owner was very nice, but park is about 3/4 full of permanent residents, some in older units. Sites are dirt and stone with no picnic table. This park is OK for a few nights stay, but would not highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com