218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Wilderness Lakes Preserve - Thousand Trails was rated 7 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (951) 679-4750
CGID6772

Wilderness Lakes Preserve - Thousand Trails

Camp Information
Sites
523
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   7   8   7   7   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
This is a nice park, renovations were in progress to update sites to 50 amp services. The only drawback would be there isn't much locally to do. The park does provide some amenities to compensate but it does offer a nicely stocked lakes/canals. Adult pool area and two other pools. And it is nicely maintained We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$3
The dairy is gone! The flies are already reducing and the smell, too. This was the main drawback to this park. They will have many 50 Amp sites in the next few months which will certainly help in the summer. A great family park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$3
This park is one of my favorites. There is a river that runs through the entire park that you can fish in. The adult lodge is really up to date with a huge flat screen tv built into the wall. There is also poker games almost every night with all of the members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$1
Loved this park. Lots to do, Grill on site. Adult Pool and spa and family pool and spa, very fun miniature golf course. Fishing and many types of ducks, birds and geese. The only downfall is its right next door to a dairy farm and when the wind blows in the wrong direction the smell is very bad. When the wind doesn't blow at all the flies are terrible. We are members of TT so we stayed here for free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$1
Price reflects a TT membership. This is a typical Thousand Trails park. Not the best. Not the worst. They are currently upgrading parts of the park to 50 amp, but there will be a $5 up charge to use it. I can tell by other reviews that this park may be great at times and unbearable at others. The reason is the dairy farm near by. While we were here, the wind was blowing in the right direction and we had no smell and no problem with flies. I'm guessing that at another time of year, it could definitely be a problem as it is discussed in other reviews. We spent 4 days here. We had spot #560 which backed up to a nice view in the distance of the hills and horse pastures. Sites appeared to be good sized. Ours certainly was. Great 30 amp service. Our DirecTV came in fine and our Millenicom Mi-Fi had a strong signal. We did not use any of the facilities (showers, pool, club house, putt putt golf) but did check them out. All were clean and well maintained. The adult pool and hot tub looked great. I stuck my toes in and the water was very comfortable. Relatives had warned us about choosing a site near the water due to the bird poo and some of the birds which nest in the trees. I would keep that in mind, but it did not appear to be a big problem as we walked around the park. Staff was great. We would came here again - the price is right for us. If the wind was blowing in the other direction, we would move on. My rating reflects my experiences for this visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$0
Nice Thousand Trails (member rate cited). No 50 amp yet. They say it is coming. Good amenities and store for supplies. Pretty far away from most attractions. One hint that I wish I had known. Do NOT park under a tree. There are many LARGE birds that roost in them and they will completely cover RV or cars in poop! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
Well, there's the already mentioned dairy farm abounding the property, but the turkey (or chicken) farm is deserted. Still there's the noxious methane and cattle smell when the wind is right, and also the unbelievable dust from the development of homesites behind and beside the dairy property. The name, Wilderness Lakes, gives a false impression, since it's no longer a wilderness and there are no lakes. There are canals that run through one section of the park, but no lakes. You'll really have to like fowl, to spend any time here. And goose poop. Lots of it. If your site backs up to a canal, you may find that you can't get out your door because of all the waterfowl congregated around your rig. People put food out for them and they expect it. No matter where you park, you'll have geese wandering through your site. Oh, yes, the flies. Have a swatter handy. The best part of this park is the convenience to shopping and restaurants, the pleasant staff and the friendly people who camp here. Also, the annual sites are well maintained, unlike some other California parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$17
Great staff. Spent 14 days on 1000 Trails membership. Park was near full and manager managed to fit me in for the balance of the month @ $17.00 day. Try and stay in West end of park away from dairy and turkey farms nearby. Park was very clean, but in need of upgrading. Good 30 amp power. Some 50 amp power coming soon @ $5.00 day upcharge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$3
Great staff: could not have been any nicer. Just hold your nose when the winds blows from the dairy. Stayed 2 weeks. They were helpful. Got a kick out of the wildlife around: ducks, geese, and five different types of other birds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$3
We stay here frequently. Paved roads and dirt sites. Most sites are very wide, lots with shade but plenty with clear skies for Sat. Lots back onto the narrow canals but many in the back are away from the geese and most of the flies. Nice pools with separate Adult except in the winter. Separate Adult lodge with Free WiFi, TV room, puzzle room, pool tables, and card room. Small well outfitted fitness room. Pickle ball courts. 50 amp sites coming. Prevailing wind keeps most of Dairy odor away so it is really just the flies and they are lessened if you go in the Southwest corner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
A Thousand Trails membership Park.....we enjoyed our week long stay at this location. We had site #53(on the canal) which provided shade for most of the day. 30 amp power, water and sewer all worked well. Verizon service good also. As others have said, the flies can be bothersome and you do, at times, get an odor from the nearby dairy farm....BUT neither of these were unbearable. Great location for visiting the many Casino's in the area(of course this could be good or bad) although, at least one near by Casino offers a Free Lobster Buffet(very good and a 32.00 value). Pools, spa's and clubhouse were clean and refreshing. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$15
This is a Thousand Trails membership park.  While this is the only park in the system I've stayed at, I've visited a couple of others in the So Cal area.  This is the only one I'd use.  It lacks 50 amp power.  Has no cable TV.  Digital antenna reception is disappointing.  And at the site we're currently in, the sewer dump was missing a critical piece.  (Not something that can't be addressed, but when you find this out after foolishly not watching your grey tank when doing, laundry . . .).  Adhering to the Thousand Trails occupancy policy, we've been in and out of this park frequently while visiting family for the holidays.  The 3 different sites we've had we're all spacious (you get to pick your own), easy to level, and quiet.  The site I write this from backs up to what is best described as a canal stocked with catfish.  Very nice.  The adjacent dairy would likely be an issue during warmer months, but this time of year suggests a relaxing country presence on the fringe of urban congestion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
I last reviewed this park July 2010. Not many changes. Flies were present but not bothersome. They're not the biting kind and never entered the RV even leaving the door open on occassion. We didn't attempt to eat outside but noticed several sites had screened-in areas set up. Plus, we seemed to be in a duck/geese central area. They liked to make a lot ruckus but are mostly quiet at night. Sometimes did get a whiff of nearby dairy. Other than that it is still fun to watch all the birds and ride bikes around. Basketball court was newly resurfaced but still needed new nets. Pool was warm clean, and spa jets felt great. Lodge buildings are aging a bit They have several pool tables. They need a new ping pong table. Well stocked store. Adult pool was closed for season a little earlier than sceduled for maintenance issues. It was to be open while we were there. Several activities were planned but there was not much participation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$3
Overall the park is nicely kept. It has nice large sites, lots of wildlife (ducks, geese, birds, hawks, etc.). Friendly people. The only down side is that you are near a couple of dairies and chicken farms (it smells when the breeze is in the wrong direction), and there are a larger amount of fly(s) than one normally experiences. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
It is hot in the summer there. If the wind blows from the dairy, the flies from the dairy mob the place. If the wind blows toward the dairy, there are no flies. That is a negative, the other negative is the adult only clubhouse is rather old, but maintained well. Now as to all the positives..friendly staff, great week end activities for kids and adults. Two separate swimming pools, one for families and the other for adults-only. Good exercise-gym separate building for adults. Four pool billiard tables at adult lodge with free Wi-Fi. Good TV room with comfortable seats for adults. We played for hours with the jig-saw puzzles at the adult lodge. Family lodge has a part time restaurant. Good activities for the kids. The ducks, cranes, geese and other birds are fun to feed and watch at the canals. Even the fish come up the canal to be fed. The Country store is very well stocked for RV'ers. We enjoy going there are relaxing and enjoying the activities. You can not beat the kids train ride and hay ride for only 25 cents, on week-ends. It just that those darn flies, get in the way. Our nightly rate of 10 bucks is cause of being RPI members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
This park belongs to the Thousand Trails Resorts, but is open to the public as a paid guest to view the park and its amenities. There are two pools, tennis court, shuffle board, miniature golf, general store, etc. It's situated approximately 5 miles east of Menifee, CA. The park is quite, but couple items to be aware of. It's located next to a diary farm and the temperature can get hot in the summer. The sites are gravel, some have BBQ grills and most sites have eucalyptus trees for some shade. There is a network of canals stocked with catfish, couple other varieties. It is a large resort and all the amenities are at the front. The walk can be long if you are parked towards the rear. They only have 30 amp electric. There are no cable TV connections. Wi-Fi is free if you are at the clubhouse-pool area otherwise there is a charge from your RV site via an independent contractor. The employees were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the adults only pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$3
We stay here a lot and are disappointed the previous reviewer didn't enjoy it. I am not a spokesman for the park but would like to reply. Only seniors and kids stay here, so? Sounds great to me. There is an adult lodge open until midnight everyday. It has a large TV room, puzzle room, 4 pool table room, Wi-Fi room, and card room. There is a very large family swimming pool with 2 spas and a good sized adult pool with spa. Great fitness room. "Train" rides at the week end. Pickle ball and hoops courts. Two kids play parks. Plus the fishing. Need I go on about activities? So who thought TT CGs were near stores? You only see the geese if you park on the water, Hello! If you are bothered by the flies or smell: park on the South side because there is a prevailing south wind. This is a great family park. My only complaint is cost of Wi-Fi even though it is available free in adult clubhouse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
Seems to attract seniors and little kids. Will need to have vehicle to travel to stores and such. The general store is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays and closes by 5. We got stuck w/o the general store our entire stay. The "lodge" is only open on the weekends. Swimming and mini-golf besides some catfish fishing is ALL the fun you can have. The ducks and geese love to be fed and will wander through your campsite scavenging. They make noise all day and way intro the night. And hold your breath if the wind changes course; next to a cow farm. We had an issue where our water hose busted late one night. The next morning I called the front office and asked about a "spare" water hose. No luck. Asked about the closest store in walking distant , the response... you don't have a car? So, no help from the staff. No offer for a ride, nothing. I was only staying 2 nights and didn't "need" a car. Especially when you think they will have a store available to you for "items" forgotten or need to replenish. Won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$5
Flies and ants can be a problem. The flies are primarily on the western side of the park; ants are almost everywhere. Flies were only a problem for 2 days of our 14 day stay. The ants I now would take preventive measures for. Overall we enjoyed this park there are some nice hiking trails at Sana Rosa Plateau about 10 miles away. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
The biggest problem we noticed was the flies. Due to the dairy farm next door, they were abundant. We were told at the gate that they were especially bad that day and were advised to choose a spot in the farthest corner from the dairy, which would be sites from 400's to 500's. To be fair, it was much better on that side, and there was also no manure odor on that side, which others mentioned was a problem. On the plus side, the pool was refreshing and clean, as was the jacuzzi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$10
Since this resort went public, the quality of people here has DECLINED!! My kids got yelled at 3 different times for varies stupid reasons by the "snowbirds" who were at the park. One time for throwing dog poo in the wrong trash can (at least she cleaned up after our dog). Once for cutting through a campsite (the sites are large so I am sure they didn't inflect any damage to their site!!) And another time for parking their scooters in front of the store (and threatened with a $50 fine!!) Only one gentleman was nice to my kids and shared his fishing experience with them (he was reeling in the catfish!!) My little Chihuahua ran out of the RV by opening the screen door. A man yelled at me, called me a bit** then had the ranger come see me. My dog saw his dog and opened the screen! And the best part: his dog wasn't on a leash. I usually meet great people camping, but now that they have stopped being a membership camp, its a different crowd. Not that being a member makes you nice, but I have noticed a big difference. Store closes at 5pm: way too early. Cool thing was the RV show. They had about 10 RVs out for viewing. Some of these A classes are INCREDIBLE!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
This park is about 50/50 for us. The park itself is very nice. Very quiet. Good roads. Nice folks, good management. 30 amp works well, water pressure is good. We found an area with lovely grass. Sites backing up to the ponds are dirt and gravel. Nice pool area. Many large trees and some newer plantings. Children's play areas are fenced, with swingsets and sand, and plenty to do in the family center. Weekend meals served at the family center are good (pancakes need work). WiFi available at the Adult center (>18 years). Very nice park except for the dairy across the street to the north. When the wind is right, the air smells and tastes like manure. Doesn't bother hubby, but I have to leave the park at those times. Very inconvenient. We asked a nice couple about the flies we'd heard about. They said that it is "impossible" to be outside in summer, and last year it took 3 weeks to rid their their coach of the flies after they left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$1
Wilderness Lakes is a great place with all the amenities one would like, (No cable TV), is clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. We found only one thing to distract from the pleasant site, the dairy farm located adjacent to the Preserve, on the north side, with holding ponds just on the outside the boundary fence. Depending on the wind, the stench was unbelievable, and the flies were an issue. There are fly traps hanging on the fence, I hung two more in my site, and the flies still broke through the defenses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Stayed here through Encore 2 times now (July and August) and both times have been a great experience. Although it is summer, the cow smell or flies were not that bad, not sure if we just got lucky. This place is great for families there is alot to do. The park is clean and the staff is friendly and laid back. The pool is great, they have one for families and another located on the other end for adults. Only set back is that there are no fire pits, so you have to bring your own. You can have guest come in the park and visit you for a fee of $5 per vehicle . This was great, our family came and enjoyed the park with us. They actually let you check out at 4 pm which is awesome, those few hours can make a big difference. It is a nice country setting and town is a 5 minute drive down the street if you need anything. Also near 215 freeway so it is a good location. Overall we had a great experience and plan on visiting again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
This is a large park with medium size lots with tall trees. Good for bird watching around the canals. I didn't have any flies or smell issues during my stay but it wasn't real hot or any winds blowing. I would check to make sure Santa Ana winds aren't predicted before staying here. I ask at a meeting why they built next to a dairy farm or a chicken ranch and I was told the park although much smaller was here first. I'm also disappointed RV Park Review allowed a review from someone who didn't even camp here and insulted RVers.(Apr 09). I think RVers know the difference between a sewer smell and a dairy farm. This park did have a few maintenance issues but not as many as other Thousand Trails parks as of lately. Being this resort is used for sales tours it is little better kept up and not so short staff. But had no hot water at adult pool area. Mini-golf not that attractive in design and carpets worn. Basketball court had few cracks in concrete, nets needed replacements. Received several TV station from LA on just digital antenna. Both pools in good shape and clean. Being a membership resort I usually only point out the negatives but overall I would return again.. weather permitting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This park has pluses and minuses and therefore gets a middle rating. Since we belong to Thousand Trails you can't beat the price - 0. And if you want to be in this area as we did it is centrally located. It is a country setting in a relatively crowded area of thousands of homes. But there is one neighbor that is not welcome. That is the hundreds of cows next door. This meant lots of fly's for our stay. The wind kept up so when you sat outside it was not too bad. But there are a ton of them around and we had to keep swatting them in our coach. The park is relatively clean and most sites are large. Many sites have trees. This is good for shade, not so good for satellite reception. No 50 amp is a big minus. Most parks have that these days. In hot summer weather we would have a very hot coach if we had only 30 amps. No cable TV. On the other hand there are water features and there were people catching fish in them. There are lots of kid friendly things too. Including a little choo choo that runs at certain times. My wife's assessment is harsher than mine. She is putting this on the do not return list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
We have been staying at this campground for years and have always enjoyed our stays. The campground is well maintained and the staff is always friendly. Besides the dairy next door, which was there before any of the housing and the campground, there is also a turkey farm, so the flies and smell can be awful during the summer months. The pool, spa and lodge are always clean and they have a restaurant on site that serves breakfast and lunch. There is also a lot to do within a short drive. On our last visit we made a trip to Yorba Linda and visited the Nixon Presidential Library: it was less than an hour away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$10
Stayed here through RPI. Flies and smell are not bad in the winter months, but pretty bad in hot summer months. Helps if you stay on South side, away from dairy. Big heated pool during winter that is very nice. Large sites with paved roads and gravel on most sites. There is a charge for Wi-Fi and it is not very good. No 50Amp and no cable TV. It is convenient to I-215. Have stayed here several times. Easy for Big Rigs, even if not many pull through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$1
This is a nice TT/N park with all the amenities. 2 pools, store, laundries, play areas clean restrooms, etc.. There is a problem with many flies as noted in another review. At times the smell from the dairy farm was overwhelming. Can not rate this a 10 because of the lack of 50amp, unpaved sites, no cable TV, no free Wi-Fi at all sites and dirt between sites. Although the ducks and geese are nice to see, there is a problem with to many in the park. There are a lot of droppings in and around sites near the streams. This is unhealthy and some of them should be capture and released in the wild. Part of the problem is the guest feeding them, and this should be discourage. I don't think we will return, the main reason is the smell and flies which is not the fault of the resort, its the location. There are a lot of employees and upkeep is ongoing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
Found this Thousand Trails facility well maintained. Improvements continue in this tough economy. Will stay here again when traveling to So Cal area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
This resort was an unusual location for a Thousand Trails park in that it was surrounded by newer commercial buildings and subdivisions. The resort itself sits next to a dairy farm through, so when inside the park you still have the country feel. Unfortunately the dairy farm brought many flies with it, and we had to move spots at one point to try to avoid them. The facilities were great. The adult pool was one of the best we've used so far. The activities were wonderful. We liked the diversity of people at this location. Great place for family fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
Has two large swimming pools and several hot water spas. Has an adult only, excellent activity center and one separate one for the kids. Poor WiFi access in certain sections of the park where we stayed in the 200's section, no reception for the paid WiFi. Free slow WiFi at the adult activity center. Good all around place for kids as well as adults. Friendly staff. Well stocked country store that is available to the general public. Great equipment in the adult exercise room. Many sites back into the green water canals. It is fun to see all the aquatic birds in the canal, and some ducks coming over to your RV to beg for food. We used our RPI membership to pay the 10 bucks per day. I gave it a 10 because the breeze was blowing the correct way during our very enjoyable stay, this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
I don't know why anyone would ever want to stay here. The smell from the dairy is horrible if the wind is blowing the wrong way. The electric amperage on a hot day is 108 or less. Low enough to damage RV components. Staff is friendly, but the smell is pretty bad. The stream water doesn't smell much better either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
OK. Here's the deal folks. I live next door at the Tierra Shores Homes across from the dairy. The smell you smell when you stay here is not from the cows. Cows don't make that smell. I have lived on ranches and I have lived near dairies and the smell you smell is from YOU the campers! Oh yes, I have investigated this matter, and there are times I can't open my own windows or go outside due to the toxic smell. Wilderness Lakes will not address the inadequate sewage treatment center that is there in the back of the property. They are not tied into the city sewer and haven't been for years. I can't understand how anybody could camp here,l et alone drink the water or go fishing and be confident they aren't within toxicity levels of polluting themselves. I never smelled it until after I bought my house and I never would have bought here had I known. We are in a serious dispute in the matter and have signed a petition to fight this. Wilderness Lakes should be re-named to God-awful-smell-camp-here-at-your-own-risk Lakes and should really take some responsibility for their waste-treatment system and get with the times, get green, get it fixed or get out. I can handle cows, hell, I can handle chickens, you know what, I can even handle the flies, but I cannot or will not handle the smell of you people who camp here and the negligence of Wilderness Lakes any longer. We are going to the papers, we are going to the city mayor, we are going to the EPA and the Santa Ana Regional Water Quality District, and we are taking this as far as we need to go to get this resolved for everyone. Happy camping! We did not stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$1
Very nice park. Get a streamside space! There are activities for the kids including crafts, a hayride and a train as well as miniature golf. Fishing in the streams is ok, not great. Staff is very helpful and if you are here as a "guest" you have to sit through the sales pitch. It is not that bad but if you are tempted to buy please barter with them. Our sales pitch started at $22k and by the end of the conversation it was down to $4k. That is not a typo. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
We stayed here using RPI. The dairy farm smell was overwhelming on several occasions. There are a large number of birds here enjoyed by many of the guests. Herons and red-tailed hawks were nesting on the preserve while we were there. Adult swimming pool is closed in the winter but there are adult only times available in the family pool which was sufficiently heated. Washrooms and showers were adequate. At least three laundromats around the site but the total number of machines seems inadequate for the park when it is busy. Wi-fi was available but reception was not very good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
This is a great preserve in the Thousand Tails system. It is very busy this time of year. All site are well kept. Maintenance is ongoing including upgrades to the Country Store and new fitness center. We will stay here again when traveling in Southern California area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$10
I read the previous reviews and found I do not agree with some. We did not smell the dairy nearby or experience any more flies than you would at any other park. The park has a lot of activities that will keep any visitor busy. We had our 3 year old grandson with us and kept him busy the entire time we were at the park. We found the park to be very clean and extremely quiet at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for a week in a motorhome. We enjoyed the park so much, we will return in May for another week stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$1
Stayed here as an ROD member for free. Very large, clean park with canals for fishing. RV are laid out side by side with adequate spacing. May be too big for some people with so many activities and so many people active all the time. Wifi is only good near the office. Good area next door in field to walk dog off-leash and areas along canals with leash. Main complaint is the smells from the diary next door and the chicken ranch next door. When the wind blows from the Northeast, be prepared! Lots of noisy ducks, geese, herons, etc (including their excrement). It adds to the "wilderness" enviroment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Park is located next to a dairy farm. Bad smell from the cows when the wind is blowing the wrong way. This park is not really in the wilderness, nor are there any lakes. The Lakes are actually man made channels. Fishing is permitted for a price and they have a program that will pay you to throw back the fish, but there are catches. Numerous trees in the park. Many trees were removed due to disease. Two swimming pools. Propane is available. Wi-Fi is available at the clubhouse only. There is a general store that charges outrageous prices. Pool is closed in the winter. This is an older park. RV storage is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This is a very busy and popular park with lost of activities. The sites are wide and level and very easy to navigate in and out of. The dairy farm has taken action to remove the odor. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Large park with ample space between sites. Due to the close proximity to a dairy farm, flies can be a problem during certain times of the year, but we did not have a problem during this stay. The canals running through the park are home to some nice sized catfish. They also permit washing of RV's and autos on your site. Nice place to stay, although limited to Thousand Trail members or RPI members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$1
Someone forgot to put in the brochure that it sits next to a cow farm with a horrible smell. Also, don't follow their directions because the road to the campground is closed and has been torn up. It looks like they may repave it but it will take at least a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2007
$1
This was the worst place I have every camped. Don't have a clue why the last reviewer was so sad to leave because I and the 2 other families camping with us couldn't get out of there fast enough! It is located next door (no exaggeration) to cow farm and the flies are out of control. I won't even go into the smell. We stayed there free and had to sit through a nasty sales pitch that never ended. Here's what I did like: lots of family activities, great country store and rec room facilities. I just couldn't get past the flies and the stink and I wouldn't eat a fish out of that green swamp if you paid me! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
Great place to stay if your kids like fishing. They will actually catch a fish. Nice pool. Miniature golf area was nice. Site was level. Stream was right behind our site. Store was nice. We were sad to leave this camp ground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com