206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Gulf Waters RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (239) 437-5888
CGID679

Gulf Waters RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
320
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   9   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$46
Agree with all previous highly rated reviews: this is a wondrous park, with more high-end setups than I’ve ever seen in one place. All services and amenities are top-notch, functional and immaculate with one exception: the Tengo internet is, as always, abysmal. Not the park’s fault: they restrict users to two devices each and they’ve installed several access points - I received eight - each reported fair to good signal strength with an initial speed of 24Mbs until connected, then down to 1Mbs. Tengo simply isn’t up to today’s bandwidth challenge. Fortunately it costs nothing and as usual one gets what one pays for. I highly recommend you avoid the aggravation by buying your own WIFI hotspot: money well invested. Super friendly and helpful staff, very effective bi-weekly insect control and a great library and heated pool. Daily pool exercises, pickle ball every second day, weekly Harley rides and one special event (New Year’s Eve Party) organized for December, with most other activities resuming in January. For a park of this quality, we would have expected and appreciated gym facilities. The park was about 40 percent full in early Dec, 80 percent in late Dec and the office says it’ll be totally full in the New Year, so early reservations are recommended. With what the park and the area have to offer, we’ll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Upscale snowbird RV resort. Beautifully landscaped, wide roads, large sites, pavers everywhere. Closest location I could find to Sanibel. Hwy right out front and 6 miles to Sanibel for rubber necking. Cute Sanibel restuarant called Lazy Flamingo worth a stop. Office staff very pleasant and helpful. Well worth the 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Gulf Waters was a very nice campground. It’s an ownership park, so most folks here own their space and, judging by the Ghost Town level of emptiness on Labor Day weekend, most owners are seasonal. I can’t comment on how good or bad this part is during season (in Florida, roughly October - April/May) as I imagine it’s quite a different park. However, off season, it was pretty great: especially if you’re looking to get away and enjoy a bit of privacy. Our site was very wide and extraordinarily long. Even with our Toad on the spot we had 15 or 20 feet in the back that was nicely paved with brick. Pool and clubhouse facility was really nice and looks like there is even a Tiki Bar during more brisk months. Facility was nicely kept and manicured even though almost everybody was gone: I think that is a great sign. Park was really convenient to Fort Myers Beach (with no traffic getting in the way, probably just 5-10 minutes from RV to Beach) but still close enough to “town” if you need supplies, diversion or want to grab something to eat. Summer rates were very reasonable at about 40 bucks out the door counting tax and a Good Sam discount. Check-in was a breeze and office staff were super accommodating in helping us choose a perfect site. Would camp here again and would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
We stayed here for 7 pleasant nights. Sites were level and landscaped very nice. The laundry was very clean and maintained. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Ft. Myers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$75
A very nice park with most of the pads owner-occupied and some rented when not in use by the owner. This makes for a very clean quite park with landscaping beyond your normal RV park. This is the first park we've been in with Tengo internet faster than 11 Mbps. 54 Mbps was quite common at our site which was nice. It did drop out quite often which was a little frustrating. In general it is a first class operation and we would splurge to stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$65
Very well maintained RV resort in Ft. Myers Beach. Sites are spacious and individually landscaped/decorated by the owner of the site. Park offers lots of planned activities, pool, club house, tiki bar, Wi-Fi, etc. Trolley to the beach pick-up and drop off location is just around the corner, if you don't want to drive the 5 miles and pay to park. Sites along Pine Ridge will endure heavy traffic noise. We enjoyed our 10 day stay and would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$53
It was a lot of money for us to pay for a campsite for 8 days, but we loved every minute of it. People with lots there were friendly even though they knew we were only there for a few days. The pool was great and they had a lot of activities and things to do. We enjoyed spending time with friends who were there for three months. They had a water lot on a lake which was nice. The bike trails near the campground are great! You can bike for 5 miles or 25 miles on great bike trails nearby. The beach is only 5 miles down the road too. We loved this place. We camped in a 40' motor home and will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$45
Our site was very spacious. The roads were nicely paved and wide. The park is a first class resort. Laundry and restrooms were very clean. The sites are owner owned and very nicely landscaped; true pride in ownership. Clubhouse, pool, Tiki bar, lakes, tennis, pickleball, so many activities. Close to beaches, shopping, restaurants, and islands. We will be returning again next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Resort is very clean with awesome landscape, very peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. Would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Beautifully landscaped lots. Wide roads with space to navigate. Cement or paved lots. Pool sparking clean. Stayed here in June, so place was pretty much deserted. Peaceful and quiet. Road noise did not bother us at all. Convenient to shopping and beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$69
Really attractive park with all the amenities. Nicely paved roads with either cement or paving-brick pads. Lots of nice landscaping. Roads are easy to maneuver. Mostly owned lots for the snowbirds who were just clearing out as we arrived. Handy to services and beaches. Very busy, noisy roads on all sides of the park. We were on a outside lot that provided easy access to perimeter grassy area for dog walking. Wi-Fi was only fair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
After reading all of the other reviews online I decided to go stay. Everything that was wrote was true. The park seems to have a lot of privately owned sites that are very well kept. The park was very convenient to all the surrounding beaches and activities. I would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We spent 10 days at Gulf Waters while visiting family in the area. The park was almost empty during July, which made it very quiet and private. We had a choice of many sites, all of which were very large, and most of which were beautifully landscaped by their owners. The pool was crystal clear and clean, and it was nice to have it all to ourselves each time we wanted a swim. In the winter months, they have a small cafe and tiki bar open. Laundry facilities were the best I've seen. The maintenance crew were on the ball and kept all grass cut and the resort looking spic and span. The park is within biking distance of several restaurants and grocery stores. Abundant shopping, including an outlet mall, was within a 5 minute drive. The park is very convenient to both Ft Myers Beach and Sanibel. We checked out all RV parks in the Ft Myers Beach area, and this was by far the best; however, also the most expensive. We are returning in the winter for two months, and would have loved to stay at Gulf Waters; however, they have a 3 month minimum (Jan-Mar) and were already booked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Wow! What a park! Wide and spacious asphalt roads that lead to wide, level and beautifully landscaped sites. Very very impressive. I don’t think you will find better anywhere. The sites are privately owned and for sale if you wish to own one. The park is centrally located to many other places of interest and is close to services. The swimming pool is well maintained, clean, with nice changing areas and lounge chairs. The laundry is clean, has lots of machines, is spacious and has baskets with rollers and hanger bars. The WiFi worked flawlessly. The staff was courteous and helpful. It has a security gate and requires a code to get in after hours. Can you tell we really enjoyed this park? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$43
We arrived Sunday of the Labor Day weekend and no one was here to greet us. We found our own site. The sites are leveled. Cable TV is decent. Our Verizon air card worked perfect and so did our Direct TV. The c/g is clean and the individual sites are well landscaped. You do hear a bit of traffic noise but its not overwhelming. The laundry area is one of the biggest we've ever seen and it's clean. When we finally went to the office they were very friendly. The location and property are wonderful. We think the oil spill played a key role why the c/g was a ghost town. Bass Pro, Camping World and Outlet shopping within 30 minutes. We suggest Waterfront Grill at The Village in Naples. We charter a fishing boat from Captain Dave Case at the Sanibel Marina. The price was very reasonable and we had a great time fishing. After a morning of fishing, treat yourself to an amazing lunch at Gramma Dot's right there in the marina. The Grouper sandwich, home made chips and coconut shrimp are unforgetable. We spent 5 fun-filled days here and look forward to returning. Our 2 dogs also enjoyed the c/g and look forward to returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$85
What can I say. It's always great. We have a home 15 minutes away and we spend the weekends there when there is an opening available. The pool always very clean. Very close to Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel and Naples. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We stayed here for about a Month during October and early November. The staff was extremely helpful and the neighbors were friendly. The pool and clubhouse are quite nice as well. We instantly made friends and were even invited to a birthday party of one of the lot owners. I have no idea what people are talking about with the sewer smell - I never smelled a thing. We absolutely loved the park and would certainly stay here again. We're full-timers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$67
Lovely Park!Beautiful landscaping.Owners care and it shows.Had a great time and would highly recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$89
This park does not look like a lot from the outside but if you are lucky enough to get a spot in season, you quickly find that the people and amenities are great. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$90
Nice newer RV Resort type park. Landscaped nicely, sites are mostly private owned and rented out for nightly or monthly. There are a few negatives despite the beauty of the place. First is the traffic that you have to fight to get to Ft. Myers Beach area, it takes from 15 minutes to one hour to go a half mile pending traffic issues over the bridge there. Then when you arrive at the beach there is very little parking spaces. While in the campground the sewer plant smell from the city plant across the street burns your eyes at times if the wind is blowing your direction. We stayed here in a motorhome and would probably stay elsewhere due to sewer smell. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$60
Nice, well located RV park, with wide streets, good size (concrete pad) lots, some with very attractive landscaping. Since the lots are individually owned, there is some variation on landscaping and amenities. However, the $60 per night charge is standard. There is one dumpster for the park, and it is a long walk, or short drive to get to it. The location of the park, just off Summerlin Road, on the way to Fort Myers Beach is good, except it borders on a short cut to the beach (Pine Ridge Road), which is very heavily traveled, and quite noisy. Considering the other parks in the area, I rate this the nicest, as any closer to the beach and traffic is bumper to bumper, and others (Wilder, Woodsmoke, KOA) are too old, crowded and not very pleasant. This is like a smaller, less glamorous, better located Cypress Woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$40
Lots are sold and most owners are on their lots for the winter months. Park is extremely clean, well kept and nice manicured sites. Rest rooms and laundry room very clean. Park has nice swimming pool, hot tub and tiki bar. Planned activies and Tuesday nights dinners were for $6 or $7 and very good. There is a sewage treatment plant just outside the park and when the wind blows in the right direction, that smell is carried over to the park. Another comment is the park is only 3 1/2 miles from the beaches but can take up to 90 minutes to get there. Also when you do get there, parking is very limited and expensive. The beaches are not public friendly. You have to be in a condo or apt on the beaches to be able to fully enjoy them. A river also dumps into the Gulf which made it very murky in January but started to clear by Feb. We will not return even though it is a nice park. We were there for January and February, 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$38
We have visited this campground for 4 years, it is a beautiful campground. However each year it seems the management changes the rules as far as availability. No loyalaty at this park, but the staff is very friendly. New park, so there will be shade as the trees mature. Their latest change, they have put their sites up for sale! from $50,000.00 to $95,000.00 each. And to top it off, they are going to become a Class A Motorhome park exclusively, beginning May, 2004. In my opinion, it is a shame, when RV Parks try to divide and separate us RV'ers. There is a lot of upset RV'ers here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$38
Very clean, good location. Seem to be many complaints about site specific reservations but they are new and hopefully addressing these issues. They are obviously doing something right as they stay full in January, February and most of March. Adjacent to a major hotel chain facility which is convenient for families and friends visiting those in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$38
I would have gave this campground a rating of 8, however since they are getting busier, they are not interested in loyal, past RV'ers who have been with them from the start, rather they are interested in Seasonal Campers. They change their policy from year to year. No shade trees yet, but are growing, this is a newer park. Nice facilities, clean and well kept. Nice large concrete pads, and a Clubhouse with activities. A short drive or trolley ride to the beach. Restaurants and shopping within walking distance We have stayed 2000, 2001, and 2002 for 3 weeks each year. They would not let us make reservations 2003 unless we made reservations for the entire month of January or February. They do not seem to be loyal to the RV'ers who helped them grow, owners seemed only interested in those who can stay for the entire winter. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$40
This could be a great campground if they had the same rules for everyone. Last year we stayed for two months and were moved twice because someone had reserved the particular sites we were on. When we left we were told to pick out a few sites and they would be assigning the sites in August. So we left a $250.00 deposit in March when we left and looked forward to our assignment for this winter. After hearing nothing I e-mailed them and was told no specific lot assignments would be made. We felt this was very unfair and asked for our money back and will go to another campground for the winter. Many of the people there had been on the same site for many years, so I agree with the other person. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com