221664 User submitted reviews online!!
East Fork COE was rated 6 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (972) 442-3141
CGID6790

East Fork COE

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   4   6   6   4   7   3   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This used to be a nice campground, but it has gone steadily downhill in the past few years. Rest rooms/showers are open again, after at least 18 months closure, but they are really very bad. There's no way to really clean facilities like this. We stay here because there is nowhere else near our family in Garland/Plano area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Good COE Park. Well maintained grounds. Restrooms were closed for renovation during our stay. Large sites. Only a few, small trees. We were in back-in site #13 and it had a tree on west side for afternoon shade. Good water pressure and quality. Good 50A service. Central dump station only. Staff informed me that future plans are to install sewer at all sites. Paid $30/ night, which is high for the area for a park with these services. The park is convenient for visiting north east Dallas. We might stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Bath houses have not been available for over a year! Port-a-potties only and no showers available. Gate keepers are nice but challenged to do the job efficiently. Gates left up while attendants are in rigs, providing no security in park. Trees need trimming, brushes against side of rig while driving into and out of park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This was a nice clean campground. Very quiet and peaceful. We had a nice level site with beautiful views of the lake. We arrived late and paid for two nights. Then we found out they had no bathrooms or showers and only port a potty's that needed cleaning. I did end up finding a bathroom that was unlocked but it was dirty with bugs and spiders everywhere. My girls were afraid to use it. They don't have sewer hookups, so this made things difficult for our family of five. We may return one day if they open up the bathrooms and clean them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Needed mowing, etc very badly. No rest rooms in service. Site had great view of the lake. No true shady sites. Road paved and in good repair. Close to but away from a lot of services and shopping. Probably would stay there again short term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This used to be a beautiful park, but not now. The grass was deep, the restrooms are still closed, and have been for a year now. The park facilities have really deteriorated. We will be back because we have family in the area. One of very few choices in the Dallas area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
This is the only decent CG available on the east side of DFW. Lots of room, quiet and services available nearby. No sewer as with most Corps parks, but they just increased the daily rate from $18 to $30. For this you get no sewer, broken restrooms/showers and long grass with very poor maintenance. Apparently the gov't belt-tightening is reaching this park, but not all other Corps parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$9
We first stayed in this park in 2008 and have watched it go downhill ever since. What a pity because finding a decent place to park a motorhome in the Dallas area is like finding the proverbial needle. As of 1/1/12, this place has no working restrooms or showers, has garbage and debris at every site, has enormous potholes everywhere, and attendants who don't attend to a darn thing. It also seems to be leaning toward permanent "guests". Will stay here again only since there are no other options. Sure wish somebody would open a new, nice RV park in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
We stayed here for the second time. They had attempted to hook their restroom facilities to the City of Wylie sewer system but the city had blocked the connection for some reason. This may be resolved but it required only self-contained units during our stay. The dump station is just outside the park entrance. The lake was extremely low due to the drought so there was little boating on the lake and very limited boat launches around the lake; none at the park. There are hours at night when you may leave the park but unable to drive a vehicle into the park. Reservations are encouraged but drive in traffic is always accepted based on availability. We will return to the park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
This park was a great place to stay. Very open sites with lots of room to stretch your legs, walk the dog, or let the kids play. The ground is very dry right now and there are large cracks in the soil that you have to watch out for (mother nature is the only one to blame for this). The staff was very friendly and the location is great for using the lake. Playground was very new and nice and shady. Wylie has some great little restaurants and is about 5 minutes away. There are no actual camper sites on the water, only water views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
We were very happy with this campground. All of the sites are very level, plenty of space between sites, a very nice view of the lake and very much big rig friendly. Very peaceful surroundings with plenty of open room for kids to play. We will be back here often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
The good things about this park is that it's quiet, lots of space between sites, and it has a beautiful view. The bad thing about this park is that they didn't appear to have anyone cleaning sites after campers left. We had bottle caps, cigarette butts, and debris on the site. It didn't take a long time to clean it but it wasn't appealing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Sign at gate indicated "Campground closed due to construction". Gate padlocked and no one there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
This is a pretty park, with shade trees, grass and wildflowers, great view of the lake. If your site is on the lake side, you are 150-200 yards from the lake for fishing or swimming. Restrooms are poor, no doors on stalls, open to sky, lots of dead and live June bugs; the handicapped restrooms/showers are very adequate and cleaner, and can be locked while you are using them. Staff friendly and helpful. And the price is right! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
I rate this campground a 3 because of the bathhouse. It is terrible. It was filthy when we tried to use it, along with the other open air bathrooms. All should be replaced. The sites are huge and great views of the lake. Too bad the bathrooms are so poor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Physically, the campground is nice with a water view of a large lake. Wish they had sewer at the site though, instead of a dump station. I will not stay at this park again for the following reasons: 1) It took maybe 15 minutes to check in. The woman at the computer had no idea how to use the computer and I needed to tell her about all the errors she was making and what she needed to change to get it to process my credit card, etc. 2) When you return to the campground in your car, you have to wait in line if anyone is checking in (see #1 to see why that's a big deal). A line often forms and it's best to have a book or digital device to entertain you while you wait. There was a second entrance lane, but they had it blocked off. I asked if we could go "in" the "out" in those situations and they said "no" and that "someone had to wait while you checked in". 3) The gate is closed and locked at 10pm. If you return after 10, you must park outside the gate and walk to your RV, which is not great if it's raining or cold. 4) There is a single oneway loop road to all the RV sites that is .5 miles long. We were parked near the end of the loop and got sick of driving .5 miles to what we could have gotten to in .00025 miles if it was a two way road. 5) They don't allow alcohol in the park. I don't need to walk around with any, but I do enjoy a glass of wine with dinner and don't like the idea of having to lie about having some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
Hopefully you don't have plans to go to dinner or a movie while in Dallas, because the gates are closed and locked at 10pm. Which means you have to park your car outside the gates and walk back to your site if returning after that time. There is only one entrance to this park, and every time you return you will have to wait in line behind others checking in. The camp hosts who are older, struggle with credit card machines, and computers so the check in process can be an excruciating wait. One time I tried to go around the side of the line to re-enter the park without waiting in the line. I was scolded and told to get to the back of the line and wait my turn. They slammed the gate shut on me so I could not go through even though they recognized me as a registered camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$9
Great COE park. Most sites have view of the lake. Road back to park needs a little work. Most sites are fairly level. Large sites with good power. Will definitely stay again when in the area. Rate reflects the federal Senior Pass rate. Great that Wylie now has a Starbucks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
We found this park an unexpected oasis near Historic Downtown Wylie but not too far from the big city. There is plenty of shopping and recreation available outside of the park but when you are in the park, it feels a million miles away. The park folks are very friendly but seem to keep a good eye on the park. Since this park is a COE, we were able to camp for $9.00 per night due to being seniors. Verizon cell phone and broadband card work great. We'll come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$9
We're here now and there's lots of room. Will stay here about a mo. so had to buy a "blue wagon". Your choices in the Dallas area are so very limited that you might as well buy one too and get on down here. Great place to stay in that it is roomy and clean and close to everything - shopping, food, etc. Cannot beat the price with the "old folks discount". Great cell and Wi-Fi connectivity. No doubt really beautiful beside the lake in the spring and summer. Right now? Too cold to go out there. Really wishing we were in Florida but not cause this place is bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
This Corps of Engineers park with level, paved sites and a nice view. The shady sites are limited in number for RVs but nearly half of the tent sites are well shaded. There is also a section of the RV area that is for visitors who have horses, with pens for them. There is a 14 day limit but it can be extended by the lake manager, who usually will approve it unless the extension includes a major holiday when the park fills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
The folks in the office were exceptional. The park was very clean. It was quiet except for the occasional train nearby. No WiFi, but my AT&T air card worked OK. Nice playground for kids. Marina nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
My Sprint Aircard had excellent reception here. The park was well maintained and very clean of litter. The rail yard does have some low volume noise during the day but none during the night when I was here. The grassy areas were huge and the water access was excellent. A wonderful set up for kids outdoors. I am a single man who really appreciates a campground that provides room for kids to have loud fun without being right next to your unit. This is my first time here and will be the location I will stay on future visits to my sister's family in Garland. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
This is an adequate Corps of Engineer's park in the Dallas area. The RV loop is not right on the lake shore, the day use area is between it and the lake. Small trees in the area provide minimal shade. We had a site on the part of the loop away from the lake which required some levelling and tended to slope away from the loop toward the marina road. This may have been good in retrospect. There were heavy rains the weekend we were there and several of the sites on the loop nearer the lake shore had standing water problems. The gate is closed and locked at 10 p.m. each night (and they don't mean 10:02!), so you must park outside the gate and walk to your site if you arrive later. There is a rail yard nearby and I heard one train a night at about 2 a.m. Restrooms are typical, non-fancy COE style and could have used some more cleaning. There is a boat ramp at the park, so this would be a good place to stay if you or your guests have a watercraft. A dump station is located on the exit road from the park. We will stay here again due to relatives in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com