218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Mohawk Trail State Forest was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (413) 339-5504
CGID6796

Mohawk Trail State Forest

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   8   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
The layout of this campground has changed do to Hurricane Irene. The swimming hole that was at least 6' deep last year is only about 3'. We couldn't believe the damage that was done. A lot of the sites near the river are carry in, carry out. Sites 1 through 12 have been changed to group sites 2 through 4. I don't know why this is, as they still look like individual sites. We still really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back next year. Two of my children and I did the Zoar Zipline and had a ball. It's expensive but was worth it to see their faces. Better than an amusement park if your into the outdoors. Helpful hint, the showers in the camping area have a button that constantly needs to be held to get water, but the showers by the cabins has a regular hot/cold lever with constant flow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
My family loved this campground. Our site was clean and level for our camper. Showers were kind of awkward with a push button that had to be held all the time that you wanted water. The swimming hole was a lot of fun for the kids. We went tubing down the Deerfield river near by which was really cool. We will definetally go back again. The dump station was working when we left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
Beautiful natural setting: stayed here 3 days while exploring northwestern Massachusetts. Lots of notices about bear activity in the area and bear boxes for storing food: but we didn't see any bears. Some sites are more level than others. Bathrooms are old but clean. The showers need work, pitted concrete floor and the water mechanism is awkward. The dump station was not available for use when we were here. It was awaiting repair and apparently had been for some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
This is our favorite place to camp in Massachusetts. This campground is in a pine forest next to a scenic river along the Mohawk Trail. We had bears at our site both times we stayed here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This is a State Forest so, as expected, the sites are all wooded (mostly pine). The cabins are small but set away from the main camping areas and always clean. All of the cabins have wood stoves and electric service but none have water, bathrooms or cooking facilities. Common use bathrooms/showers are a very short walk. Some cabins have paved roads directly to the cabin. The remainder have solid, short dirt/sand roads. Cabins have furniture but no other furnishings. You must provide all of your own cookware, dinnerware, bedding, etc... Restrooms are cleaned twice a day and very little litter manages to stay around for long anywhere in the Park. Cabins all have firepits outside as well as picnic tables. Most have benches on the front porches for sitting as well. Cell phones do not work within the park and the only phone available is a pay phone near the check-in station. TV stations are non-existent and radio stations are limited. Park staff are friendly and helpful. Plenty of hiking trails are available although some of it is through very rugged country. There are occasional activities within the park but many areas for fishing, rafting, kayaking, etc.. in the immediate surrounding area. While pets are allowed in the park and on tent/trailer sites they are no longer (after June 2007) allowed in the cabins. Bears and raccoons are nightly visitors during spring/summer months. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$12
This campground is an undiscovered jewel in the rough. The sites vary greatly and Reserve America does a pretty darn good job of describing them. Water is available as common taps shared between sites but you could fill your tank as often as you have a place to put the grey/black water. Great dump station, Excellent rest rooms. Helpful staff. We had tents and a motor home and had reserved 5 sites. This campground is built on the side of a mountain and has various levels with good paved road access to each area. Good dirt roads to the specific sites. Enjoyed the River and its "pool" (a swimming area built right into the river) Water a bit cool but, after all, it was Spring in the Western MA Mtns. Beautiful area directly on the Mohawk Trail. Several places to go white water rafting in the (less then 15 miles) area. Would definitely recommend and plan on returning. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$12
I opened my tent and saw three bears. Decent hiking. Relaxing area. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com