215122 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone Park of Western New York was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (585) 457-9644
CGID6800

Jellystone Park of Western New York

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   6   10   8   9   10   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$75
This is a fun, kid oriented park. The water park is pretty cool, and the beach is a legit SAND beach (been here 2 days, I must've made about 47 sand castles already). I have found the staff to be very friendly, helpful, and just downright chipper! This is a well-kept park and its quite popular in the summer. If it's not at 100% capacity it's only a couple sites shy. Lots and lots of cabins, lots of trees though some of the tent areas are in the open. We have a pull-through site (U4). This section is just adjacent to the water park, which is awesome because this place is hilly! Not all sites are but the top half of the park is all on a slope. It wasn't too bad getting level, but bigger rigs may have a some difficulty (my camper is 37'). The roads are gravel, as are the pads for your RV. The park does have golf cart rentals, which are popular, so book in advance. My rating of 8 (8.5 really) could have been a 9 if it weren't for the price of the site and visitors, and the hilly nature of the park. (The hills aren't AWFUL and didn't bother us as it gives some character to the park but others may find it difficult). So if you got kiddos and are looking for a fun kid friendly joint, this place works! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
There are new owners this year. WiFi did not work except at the top of the hill near the store. Will avoid weekends in future due to overcrowding. This is obviously because park has so much to offer and nothing against staff or park--just a heads up because it is not relaxing and is hard to get in and out of sites on the weekend. Premium sites are obviously easier to maneuver. Top$$$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$75
Loved it here! Friendly staff and well co-ordinated activities throughout our stay!! The water park was a hit with our kids too!! Hey Hey ride was a daily event for us! Our only negative comment is that it's a long drive for us!! We wish it wasn't such a long drive.. Next time we'll just have to stay a bit longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
This park is great for kids, but not so much for adults. The staff was great and helpful. The cost per night for a full hookup is high in my opinion as the sites are not that large. Our Wi-Fi was in and out all 3 days and we were close to the front of the park. We will go back just for the kids, the water park is top of the line and the kids loved it, but if it is just my wife and I we would never come here just to camp. One thing that really bothered us is that they charge ten dollars a person (over age 3, I believe it was) for visitors to come to your site. At 70 dollars a night we found this very high, we had two friends who live close stop in for dinner with their five year old daughter and it cost 30 dollars, they were only here for 2 hours and did not use any of the park's features. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$80
My family have camped at dozens of locations for the last two summers. We were excited to visit this campground after reading about this park on AAA and the Yellowstone National park Directory. We stayed in this park four nights, and wish we had another week. We were led from the gate to our site by a staff member in the golf cart. We were very pleased with the size and cleanliness of the site. There were tons of activities for the kids and a pet area to allow the dog to play. The children loved the lake, boating, pool, water park and laser tag. I must say this was the very first camp area where the kids were so busy outside with activities they had little time to play games with the wife and I. We had loads of time to relax and read. Although one of the more expensive parks, I rate this a 10. A very good time for the entire family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
We enjoyed this campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The water park area was fun, but it could have been enjoyed more if the pool was adjacent to it. My children loved swimming in the lake. There are not many comfort stations. Three of the doors in the bathroom had no locks and in the shower there was no way to adjust the water temperature. It was scolding hot. I notified the front desk,but the temperature remained too hot for young children to shower in. The campground lost electricity for about 6 hrs on a hot saturday. They did give out free ice cream and bags of ice,which was a nice thought. But we again lost power on Monday. Both were not related to a storm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$68
We stayed at Jellystone for 4 nights this summer and we believe this is the cleanest and best run campground we have visited to date. There were a plethora of activities for the children all day long and everyone of the staff members was pleasant and eager to help. Bathrooms were cleaned 3x per day and the water park was just right for kids 2 through 50. We will definitely be returning to Jellystone North Java in the future. If I have any criticism for them is that our site E4 had a 3 foot diameter mud spot that should have been filled with gravel to prevent sinking or slipping during setup. Other than that everything we saw was well maintained and tip top. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
The park was well kept, lots of activities to keep the young ones busy. No hayrides were done due to inclement weather but we were able to keep busy with the other activities that were provided. The store was well stocked and prices are reasonable.mate We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This is a nice park and is very kid friendly. I would strongly suggest waiting until mid summer 2009 to stay here since they are undergoing major construction. They are adding more sites and the place is a wreck right now. Lots of bulldozers and construction equipment that runs from early morning till the evening. We knew they were building a water park but did not know we would be 20 feet from the actual construction. High school kids work the front desk so you cannot get definitive answers about sites and times of construction. When they were questioned about the campgrounds they became defensive and rude. The manager was very nice and made a trip to our site to talk to us. We took him up on his offer of a refund. By the end of the summer this should be a very nice destination to camp at but you will not be able to carry on a conversation let alone relax during the work going on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This place is so hectic, even in May. There is so much to do you end up running nonstop with your kids. And, we spent a fortune because they were nickle and diming you for everything. And you felt like a bad parent when you didn't do activities. It didn't feel so much like camping as it did a day at an amusement park! Sites are close to together and we ended up with our entire unit stinking of smoke because of a neighbor's smoldering campfire. Lots of leveling required as well. Staff and activites people seemed so uptight much of the time, and no one seemed real happy to be here. It isn't close to anything. Make sure you have everything you need well before you get here! I just don't think we'll be back. It wasn't relaxing at all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This is a great park for children. We pulled in on a Friday night and left on a Sunday and I only saw my child when it was time for dinner or when she needed more money for the arcade, or when we checked to see where she was. The sites are not private and I got the feeling that the seasonal people did not like weekend people invading, and that the manager did not like his job very much. Other than that the rest of the campers and staff were very friendly. They are in the middle of construction for a waterpark which looks like fun. We would return, but it would not be for more than a long weekend as the arcade and some of the activities are quite expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Nice park but sites are close. Lots for kids to do and staff seemed very helpful. Would return but not on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This park was just "OK". The grounds were nice and clean, the washrooms need more care and the showers were downright awful (dirty). The "Hey Hey Hey" ride was all of 10 mins and some of the other activities weren't very good. The sites were OK but not very private. The staff was friendly and helpful. There isn't much to do in the area so unless you plan on staying around the campground or go to Darien Lake (30mins away), I wouldn't bother. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$77
We have stayed here many times in our own RV. This weekend we rented a "deluxe cabin", which we chose from a variety of photos on their website. We got there and discovered that they had a couple different types of deluxe trailers, which we weren't told about when we made reservations, which we were not pleased about. We were reserved in a much older, non-deck park RV. Lot was nice (beautiful view) but muddy. They clearly were trying to amend that problem because grass seed and hay were everywhere. There were gobs of problems with our unit: both doors were broken (one didn't work/one was horrible to open), blinds/shades were missing throughout, burners didn't all work, musty/sewer smell was awful, etc. But worst of all? We woke up in the middle of the night to bathroom being covered with rain water-RV roof vent wasn't there. To give credit were credit is due, I called for assistance and they arrived within 20 minutes. They ended up fixing the problem that night, and again the next day when it blew off again. Owner/staff was very concerned about my problems, and did offer me a discount of $45 to cover my problems, which was nice customer service. I have had friends stay in other rentals and they were happy so I do believe this was a rare occurrence. It was, however, awful, and $45 credit doesn't make-up for it. We tried to save the weekend but it was hard as you were constantly reminded of unit problems. When we did check out,we were annoyed with maintenance person who interrupted conversation we were having with reservations specialist to make sure he stated that he didn't receive multiple phone calls about problems. I replied that given our short stay we called about emergencies and made do with everything else. He stated that had he been told he could have fixed them. While I agree we could have called once every hour when we discovered something new, I would have had to be there when they were fixing inside issues, and honestly didn't want to! In my opinion, this unit should have been throughly inspected and fixed prior to any reservations being accepted in the unit, and not put on customer! We'll camp here again however (although probably in our own unit!). If you rent a unit just ask lots of questions at reservations time. I think most of the time you won't be disappointed. Another note to owners/staff: We have gone here numerous times and recommended this place to many friends, mainly because of huge number of amenities and activities staff. However, this year, our favorite activities director (Kari Ann!) was not there and was replaced by individuals who clearly should not be doing this job! They lacked patience, would get frustrated with just a small handful of kids, and often were yelling at kids to "behave". It was embarrassing and many parents were complaining. I have no problem with staff disciplining my children softly or appropriately when there is a safety issue, but this was unnecessary. Owners may want to get some feedback from other campers-I'm not sure we'll keep coming back if we have to deal with the new activities staff. They were never meant to work with children! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Love activities, although they don't change enough. We are getting tired of going here because of that. Bathrooms are always clean,which is great. This is the 2nd time going here this year where we overheard the owner talking negatively about his staff. On one occassion teenage worker was publicly humiliated, while his mother defended him, in front of the store, and many people by the owner. It was awful to see... Love the small pool and wading pool, activities, great playgrounds, stocked store, gameroom, etc. Pond is still disgusting. We play in the sandy beach but do not go swimming in the pond. Also desperately need to create more trails-they are pathetic in comparison to other campgrounds, and stock pond. Fishing is terrible, despite having 2 large ponds and a fishing contest frequently! Activities staff as always are fantastic. I am so impressed by their energy and committment. Change things up, idea wise and we'll return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This is the second time we stayed here. Both times were great! The owner is always present and cares about the campers and the staff is fantastic. Plenty of Yogi and pals time for the kids. My son is still a bit young for the more advanced activities but enjoyed the flag raisings in the morning as well as all the hey hey hey rides we went on. We made our reservations early this time and got a nice shaded pull through site that was away from the hustle and bustle of the Ranger Station. They have some nice plays capes as well as a nice wading pool for the kids. My son is already asking to go see Yogi again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Great park for kids. Lots to do, but it almost seems too much. Everything seems rushed to get more in. I didn't bother with the pool, as the small lake was warm and less crowded. The entire park is hilly so expect to get a good workout! Staff was awesome and the golf carts were a blast. We stayed in a 40' motorhome and didn't have any problems getting in and out. Sites are smallish and the pad for the rv was level but the grassy lot was not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
This is a favorite campground of our families. Please understand, however, when you go here that this is not STATE camping. It is a campground that is busy and full of children. Since we have young children, we love their large playgrounds, golf cart rentals, pedal cart rentals, and 12 hour a day activity schedule. We can choose to participate or not. You will spend considerably more here than at other campgrounds because of the options-be forewarned! They do have a $15 bracelet you can get for the length of your stay that gets each child unlimited pedal cars, paddle boats, and mini golf. Remember to bring your bike helmets-their's is limited and old, and you will get scolded if your child isn't wearing one. The activities staff is delightful-fun, entertaining, and patient! RV sites are very close together, and are on a hill. Most will require quite a bit of leveling. Limited sewer sites are available, and are typically high traffic areas. They have mini golf, an arcade, a heated pool, great very clean restrooms, full time activity schedule, 2 playgrounds, theme weekends, 2 ponds, a beach, and many things to rent (golf carts, paddle boats, mini golf, peddle carts, etc.). My kids adored it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$41
This campground seemed like a tourist trap. There were many activities, but everything was expensive. One example is that there was a ceramic craft that cost about $10 for my child to do. The campsite has many sites. The one I was given was on a very narrow road that was hard to maneuver on. There were also many low branches and many trees in my site. I have decided that I will not go back here because all of the other campgrounds I have stayed at are superior. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
OK camp ground.Clean and had a good time. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com