218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Sugar Shores RV Resort and Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (815) 629-2568
CGID6801

Sugar Shores RV Resort and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
182
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   5   10   3   10   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We stayed here over a holiday weekend. Had a great time. Plenty to do with the river and organized activities. Kids had a blast. Sites were spacious. Plenty of trees. Pool and bath facilities were clean. Many seasonals, but people were all friendly. There were no pull-through sites available which can be a challenge here for big rigs. We did not use Wi-Fi. Campground is tucked away in the countryside but is not hard to get to. The only difficulty we had was leveling our RV. All sites around us were very unlevel. Even with manual jacks, it was impossible. Our site was located in the back and away from the river on hilly ground. It appeared to me that the sites near the river did not have this problem. Either way, our family enjoyed this campground and will definitely return again. We would try for a site closer to the river next time to avoid the unlevel ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Very nice campground with shade trees and water features. Very quiet during midweek. It's out in the country so no traffic noise. We did not use the bathhouse so can't comment on its condition. There are some permanent units there with nice landscaping and decks. Friendly folks in the office and no bugs during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
AWESOME CAMPGROUND!!! We were put on a "rental" site right inside the gate and it was level and beautiful with the view. Unfortunately, it was very narrow and with having 4 small children(2 were guests), we were so afraid that when they were playing behind the camper on the grass that they were going to fall in. The bathrooms were very nice and clean though still a bit old. The pool was fantastic. Kind of bummed that the hot tub was filled in with concrete since it was chilly when we were there but that is no reason to knock them. They didn't even charge us for our guests since they didn't use the pool so that was really appreciated. We LOVED the in/out privileges so that we could make a midnight run to Walmart; the people were very nice but not many kids that weekend we stayed. The frog pond was fun as our kids got to chase the frogs back into the water. It was sad to see the dead, squashed frogs on the road, but I doubt the campground can do anything about that. The kids said that the playground was good too. There are HUGE horseflys here to so make sure to invest in a good buzz swatter. Minimal activities too, though we don't camp for the activities, we like the quiet and place for the kids to burn energy. We will most likely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
The best part about this campground is the river. This year we're having a drought so their river was low which made it fun to wade through. A common activity is tubing on the river. The road through the campground was gravel and made everything very dusty. There is a pool and playground but this is NOT a family friendly park. There is a lot of swearing and partying by the seasonal campers and quiet hours are not enforced at all! At 11:00 there were people playing horseshoes with a flood light on! There was a lady that told my girls they couldn't be at a pool without an adult, although I was right there on the other side of the fence. She was holding a beer in her hand right near the no alcohol sign at the pool. If you have kids, go elsewhere. If you party, then you may enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We came here for a weekend with our 2 border collies. Check-in was fast & the graveled (but even) site was easy to back into (LV1). We didn't use the pool, but it looked inviting. Bathrooms were some of the nicest, cleanest, least mildew smelling ever! Air conditioned & exaust fans also!! It even had hollyhock around the outside. It was open house this weekend, so there were new trailers to view & activities. WiFi was non existent, but was able to hop on someone's unlocked hotspot. This resort is more geared towards the seasonal, as there aren't enough open sites together for our normal group of 10. But, full hook-up is nice. They also said you can tent camp, but you need your own site. They had a nice, large clubhouse, modest store (nearest grocery Pacemakers 8 mi. away), rec room & 21 & over room! Locked gate after 9, but they give you pass code. We didn't use the dump. We intended on tubing from the Sugar River Forest Preserve to the camp, but hard rains/flood warnings blew our plans. We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We camped here previously (last year) with friends. The place was very well kept then. That was not the case this time. Holiday weekend and the place closed up late afternoon, so the kids could not use the game room or anything. As far as I am concerned this place is a joke this year. Will not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
My husband and I stayed at Sugar Shores RV Resort in Durand, IL for an extended 4th of July weekend. WOW! The park is located off a country road and borders the Sugar River. It's a friendly, quiet park with activities for the kids. We liked the fact that there wasn't an over abundance of activities, just the right amount. This overall kept the park quiet and peaceful. Upon arrival the staff escorted us to our site, owners on either side of our site were so friendly. This is an ownership RV Resort, there are quality sites still available for sale. It's a diamond in the rough, what a find. State of the Art Septic System - 50 amp service, electric golf carts allowed, swimming pool/clubhouse/shower houses and laundry room clean and well appointed. You can just feel the owners of this Resort really care about they're investment. We made some great memories here and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
Nice smaller campground. We were here Labor Day Weekend and it was pretty full. It is a ownership park with friendly owners. The staff, small as it was, was very friendly and accommodating, and so helpful. The restrooms and showers were some of the cleanest that we have encountered. The honor system ice and firewood delivery to your site is a big plus in our opinion. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
We were surprised by the country road leading to this park. It is 12 miles off the freeway and has beautiful farmlands. The county road is so narrow no centerline stripes are there. The park does exist. It is utterly jam packed and comfortable at the same time. The majority of sites are privately owned. This is a second home for hard working people who want to get away for the week end. The managers are exceptionally friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
A very pleasant campground that has many friendly campers – both renters and owners. The restrooms, showers, and activity center were all kept quite clean. The pool is nice, but the ashtrays could go. The frog pond and candy bar bingo were a hit with the kids, but the playground equipment needs some serious updating (peeling paint, exposed screws, and a very hot metal slide). The staff sprayed down the road and fogged for mosquitoes daily while we were there. We might go back since it's close for us, but probably not worth a long trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Very nice campground with heated pool and clubhouse. The bathrooms were very clean. Staff was friendly and the majority of the permanent sites were very well kept. WiFi did not work at lot, but I had my own wireless service so that was no problem. Only downside for me, was the majority of the sites are owned, so there are not many to choose from for the weekender. If I was looking for a seasonal site, this would be a top pick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Most sites here are owned. However, those that aren't are used for weekenders. We were put in the "new area." By new, they should say "under construction." We changed spots from where we first were put due to the site being VERY unlevel. The gravel pad was level, but beyond that: it was awful. The second site they moved us to was acceptable. Be sure to ask if you are in the new area, if you are, make sure to bring a rug for your site. The new area is also VERY dusty. The ground is predominantly sand. Also, some sites in the new area would not accept a 30' travel trailer AND tow vehicle. Be sure to mention vehicle length when booking. All that said, the seasonal campers were VERY nice that we spoke to, the hosts were accommodating and patient. The pool was very nice and well kept. Also, there was a neat farmer's market that set up onsite Saturday evening. Homemade jams, jellies, and fresh produce. All in all a nice park. The new area will be a lot nicer in a couple years once the ground recovers from all the construction. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Beautiful campground with nice pool and clubhouse. The bathrooms were very clean. However, most of the sites are owned, so there are not too many left for the weekend camper to choose from. I will add though that the owned sites are very nice. The lot owners we met were friendly and it looks like they take pride in their sites. The Sugar River was great for canoeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Not our kind of place - Too many seasonal sites with only a few spots for the weekenders (seems like an after thought). Have a family with three kids and like a lot of activity. Nice pool and clean club house. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We stopped her for an overnight on a cross country trip. The staff was very friendly and the campground was very clean and quiet. Blissfully quiet! All we could hear at night were the crickets and frogs. Pool was nice, clean, and well heated. Club house was very clean. Most sites are owned with only 12 available for rental at the time of our visit. Looks like the majority of the riverfront sites are already sold. If you're looking for a quiet campground away from the highway, this is a very nice place to stop. No cable but we were able to get several TV channels clearly with our antenna up. WiFi available in the club house. Not available at sites. If we're ever passing through this area again, we'd definitely camp here. It was the most peaceful night of camping we've ever had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
While considered mostly an RV resort, there are a number of sites available for daily / weekend use. The majority of the sites are privately owned but the owners are allowed to sublet their site to other users. They are in the midst of expanding the park to include full time residents in the Park Model section. The management and staff are as helpful and friendly that I have ever seen. My only negative is that they seem to want to pack in too many sites in a small area. My site was a bit tight, but I was able to back in without too much trouble. I'd go here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com