220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Shelby Country Inn & RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (712) 544-2766
CGID6808

Shelby Country Inn & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   7   7   3   6   6   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Have stayed here before, so stayed again as it is very convenient to I-80 with a restaurant and a Dairy Queen within walking distance. Long gravel pull through and mostly level. However, this time we had to try 4 different sites for water; a little park maintenance would be in order. Because of convenience will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
The park seemed like an excellent overnight stay with easy access from I-80. 110 pull through gravel sites with full hook-ups. Sites are fairly level, some more than others. However, we were not assigned a site so could pick one of the more level sites. There were only 2 occupied sites when we arrived mid-afternoon. We checked in at the motel. The women who checked us in was very friendly. I asked about Wi-Fi and she wasn’t sure if it was working but gave me the password. After several attempts to connect, I did get it to work for e-mail but was only fair reception and not enough to view videos or sites with much data. I think she told me that they were working on getting better reception out in the park. Good TV antenna reception with all major networks and some additional channels. Verizon cell phone and Jet pack reception was excellent. Once set up, the breaker at the post kept tripping when the AC came on. We called the office and the women came out but wasn’t much help but did let us plug into the post one site over instead of having to move. Tried to sit outside to relax but the flies were terrible. Don’t know if that was due to time of year or they are always around. All in all, not worth the $32 parking fee. We will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
We like to stay here when dashing across Iowa. While there are tons of interesting things to see and to do in Iowa, we some times need a fast place to park for overnight. This is an ideal campground for stopping for over night rest. While there are no trees and each site's patch of green grass is very narrow, no one has ever is parked within 3 to 4 spots of our site. We pull up on the frontage road at the motel, walk in to pay for any site. Then we drive forward past the Dairy Queen back onto the country road, and left back into the campground entrance for a straight road into the campground. All the sites are pull through, mostly level gravel pads. No frills at the campground, but the water pressure is good, campground is quiet, and the nearby truck stop noise is a gentle hum not heard inside the trailer. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Full Hookups, AT&T, and food. Park is filled with quite a few permanents. Narrow lots but long enough to keep toad connected. A little freeway noise but acceptable. Good for overnight stay. Little pricey for what you get. We would use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Office at motel for check in is strange and you have to walk across a lawn from your RV to get to it, as the motel has a separate driveway entrance. The park itself works fine for a stop over and is an easy on and off the interstate. It is basically a parking lot with no grass or trees. The place is for sale, so I wouldn't expect any improvements for some time. I'd look for an alternative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
This park is ok if you just need a place to stop for the night. We stayed three nights, as we were visiting family in the area. The 50amp electric, water, and sewer worked fine. There were only a few picnic tables and we had to move one to our site. The sites are very narrow, but this was not a problem as there were very few campers in the park. The restrooms and showers were mostly clean. There is no playground equipment and nothing for kids to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Very dusty, narrow spaces. No shade at all. A little noisy. The dust was mostly if you camp in the front where all the truck traffic is. The motel was locked when we first got here, so we had to wait for the girl to return from the bank run. Plenty of spaces to choose from and even though the spaces are narrow, I doubt you hardly ever have a neighbor right next door in this place. Needs a little upkeep. Not sure that I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Like previous Reviewers said, this is a great overnight stop. Easy off/easy on. The sites are long and narrow. We had no problem with our 45 footer towing a Jeep, but if the place was full it would be way tighter to maneuver. However, chances of it filling up? The sites are also pretty level front to back, but off kilter side to side. Not bad though and we had no trouble leveling, but the front step was quite high. I didn't check out the laundry facilities, but the restrooms left a little to be desired. Rather than being dirty, they just looked unused and unattended: spiderwebs, dead flies, etc. They do have a kitchen and rec room, but that was in the same shape as the restrooms, and the "mouse poison" boxes strewn about didn't inspire confidence in using the stove or refrigerator. The place is for sale and I hope they find a buyer soon, because it would be a shame for the facilities to deteriorate due to neglect. The highway noise wasn't bad because of several large buildings between the sites and the highway. The rate seems high in relation to the condition of the facilities, but the location: between Des Moines and Omaha, is good and we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This campground is certainly not a "destination"... but if you need an overnight stop it's great! Nothing more than many narrow pull through and adjacent strips of grass but it is easy-off/easy-on stop. There is also a fueling station right at the entrance thus very easy to top off the tank before proceeding. BTW, the WiFi only works if you park near hotel laundry building... or you can do what I did and walk your laptop up to the building to get the mail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Great place to stay overnight. Pay at the RV park office at the hotel for your choice of location. While the sites are narrow, in our 6 visits we've never parked next to another RV - making the spacing twice as wide. No frills. Just a bit of grass to sit outside, or use the occasional picnic table. As always we check a site's electricity, good idea as one site wasn't working. All pull through sites, very easy for the overnight stay. Our gravel was well groomed, and almost level. We don't mined this normal Interstate road noise for overnight stops - we cover with a fan or air conditioner $24 per night for water and electricity only which is what we needed. The Dairy Queen within walking distance is a bonus. We will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
They offer Wi-Fi, if you're camped close to the office, but they don't tell you that when checking in. The laundry room was 1 step above nasty. This is probably the worst campground we've ever camped in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is a no frills spot. Nice level gravel spots with about 6 feet of grass between them. They are very close together but is a nice stopover spot. Free way noise is average. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
After checking in at the motel office and getting a key to turn on the water, you enter the park area through a rutted, rough truck stop parking lot. There are lots of sites, but our first choice had low voltage and we had to choose another; there's not much of a selection problem, they're all narrow - in fact our motorhome wheels would not fit entirely on the rutted, uneven gravel portion but hung over onto the grass. Good thing there was no one parked next to us, our slides would have touched. Lots of road noise from the interstate, and the bright lights of the truck stop lit up the night. All this for the exorbitant rate of $32. They're the only place for miles and take advantage of it - don't patronize this place, it's a dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Decent overnight stop. Easy access from I-70. Gravel interior roads and sites. Pads were close together but park was far from full so there was plenty of room. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Convenient location off the freeway. It was clean and simple. Had to go into the laundry room itself to catch the Wi-Fi. For getting off the road for the night: it works great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Any port in a storm is a good description of how we arrived here. It was late, we were tired, we had plenty of rain, and the last campsite was full. The staff is friendly and we did get full hookups. The spaces are relatively close to each other and no trees and close to Interstate 80 traffic. Other than that, it served the purpose very well. There is a Dairy Queen close by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
As other folks stated, this RV Park offers nothing other than a place to sleep. No pool, cable or wi-fi. It sits behind a truck stop. It is way overpriced. The bathroom was clean but they have d-con in there. I wanted to run screaming for the hills! There is a lot of mold in the bathroom also. The fella that checked us in was very nice. This campground is for sale, maybe that is why it is neglected. No, I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This was a great overnight spot - convenient to I-80, yet quiet. It's NOT a place to stay for more than one night. It appears the place is for sale - which might explain the lack of "care" - trust me, most women will be unnerved at seeing D-con bait in the restroom and mold growing on the walls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
At first the RV park looked good; all spots out in the open and no trees. However, after several days of rain, the main RV park was a bog. The owner/staff didn't bother to tell me they had 10 other spots on asphalt behind the hotel, until I came back to the office. It was a good thing I had a 4 wheel drive truck or I would still be at the RV park. I would imagine the RV park would work for a 1 night stay during the summer months, but due to the non-existent customer service I would not come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This works for an overnight stay only. If we hadn't been so tired and it was so late we would have moved on. Sites are gravel, unlevel and very narrow. I doubt they are ever full, but if so, slides would be touching slides. This is right off I-80, but very quiet. Think the back 1/3 of campground would be the quietest. Check in at motel office and no spaces are assigned. Would stay again only if very tired and very late. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Very poor signage. We drove right past it and had to turn MH and toed around in downtown Shelby. Very noisy with Interstate just yards away. Sites very narrow. If there had been a rig next to mine, my awning would have hit it. Difficult to attach water hose. A dirt/gravel parking lot. OK for overnight if you pack earplugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This works well as an overnight stop while traveling, but the adjacent truck stop will maintain a drone of diesel engine idling all night long if you don't have a quiet camper. The bathrooms were just OK, and there are a couple of adjoining eating establishments if you need them. There is nothing at all for kids to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
For what it is, it is an OK overnight stop. It's convenient to I80, has full hook ups and wifi, if you camp close to the motel. Ambiance, it does not have. Sites are only about 25' wide. There are no picnic tables, fire rings and I don't think there is a tree in the entire place. If you want a place to pull into late and leave early, it's just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
We stayed here overnight and were the only camper until late in the afternoon. Sites have full hookups but are VERY narrow and with two large rigs side by side with slides it would be very tight. They were pretty level gravel and long enough we were able (barely) to get truck and trailer off the access roads so we didn't have to unhook. Staff was friendly enough but I felt it was a little spendy for what was offered. There was a gas station and restaurant within easy walking distance. We would stay here for another overnighter if needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Nice hotel. The RV part is nothing but gravel. You have to post a $5 deposit to get a key to turn the water on. There's a bath house and laundry at the east end of the property. No cable. Just a parking place with power. There's a DQ and pizza place close, and a cafe at the gas station down on the freeway. Basic RVing at it's best. You do get a free T-Shirt when you check out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com