220022 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Barkley State Resort Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (270) 924-1131
CGID6817

Lake Barkley State Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   7   1   8   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
This campgroud is showing it's age. The roads in the campgroud are very narrow and the sites are small. Big dropoffs between the blacktop and the ground, even in the sites. It looks like all the soil has washed out. Unable to reach the water or electric hookups because they are between two sites close to the road. Stayed for 1 night. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Not a park I'd recommend for larger rigs (35' +). A good place for the pop-up campers or tent camping. Strangest setup of water-electric I've seen, where you split the utilities between two sites. We had to move because our 50' electric cord wasn't long enough. Strange design for the dump station, too. Looks like the place was designed by someone who'd never camped in an RV. Wish there were more staff to help enforce trash pick-up and noise rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Nice campground but minimal involvement from staff. No information was available on the local area. Sites were well marked. There was beach nearby that was part of the campground. Nice restaurant in the lodge with panoramic view. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
Kentucky is in the midst of a fiscal crisis at the state government level, and it sure shows at Lake Barkley SRP. It took months for them to clean up damage from an ice storm in January, but that wasn't all. Broken showers, restroom facilities that were just plain nasty (and that's as nice as I can be about it), and minimal staff on hand are all a direct result of the state cutting funding to a bare minimum. Getting to the park isn't hard, but it is hilly and the roads within the campground are extremely narrow and treacherous, particularly in the rain. Rigs over 25' are going to have a rough time, and be forewarned -- even after all the tree damage from the ice storm, there are a good many low-hanging limbs that haven't been trimmed in years. BEWARE! I mentioned the skeleton staff. We arrived on Friday, and didn't see hide nor hair of a staff member until late Saturday afternoon. I asked if we needed to check in, and he said, "Naw, I see you're here." How did he know we were who we were supposed to be? I also mentioned the restrooms and showers. It's a wonder we all didn't catch some horrible illness from the accumulated filth in the bathhouse. Imagine the worst gas station bathroom you've ever seen and multiply it by 100. It was THAT bad. And if that wasn't bad enough, the bathhouse at the beach was even WORSE! Broken toilets, showers that might work, might not. At least the beach was clean ... As far as provisions, bring plenty of food. The nearest store is in Cadiz, which is about 8-10 miles from the campground. There's a "camp store" on site, but it was closed the entire time we were there, and looked as though it had been the whole time. To add insult to injury, for two of the three nights we stayed, we had loud, drunken neighbors. It didn't help that the sites were THIS CLOSE TOGETHER. Ugh. No, folks, we won't be staying at Lake Barkley SRP again. We've upgraded to a larger rig since this trip, and we'll stay in an upgraded park, too. There are plenty in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
A very wooded and hilly park. Be sure to bring some sort of leveling device! The campground is buried deep in the park. Be sure to check out the rest of the park as it is well maintained and has many interesting trails. Although each site has both electric and water, our water hook-up was over 100ft away from the pad! Bring extra hoses. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
We liked this campground. True, most of the sites are not level,there is a drop off from some of the pads to ground and utilities are shared between two sites. We never saw the campground host, the site had a trailer in it but no occupant. Also, the bathrooms were never cleaned during our 8 day stay. The campground is heavily wooded with a few of the sites offering a lake view. The roads are paved ( no dust ) and the park offers a large beach area, marina and pool/weight room area ( for a 5 dollar a day fee )and 18 hole golf course. The town of Cadiz - 12 miles away - has several antique shops and 2 grocery stores. We would stay here again - this is a nice state park with lots more positives than negatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
Park is in need of a face lift. Paved road through park and paved sites, however, the sites are not level and there was a two foot drop from our pad to our picnic table. Every two sites share and electric and water hookup. The dump station is located in the middle of a steep hill, I had grave concerns about releasing my emergency brake and rolling backward down the hill. Our stay was over Memorial Day weekend and the campground was full. Mostly tents, some sites with up to 5 tents on the site. Campground host site was occupied, but was hardly ever available, and wasn't much help when he was. They have brand new washers and dryers at the bath house that worked excellent. Beach is 0.3 mile hike down a trail from the campground. Private boat ramp to the lake for campers. Nice hiking/biking trail in the park. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com