223325 User submitted reviews online!!
New River Junction was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (540) 639-6633
CGID6819

New River Junction

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   5   5   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Loved this park! It is small and really a destination park, not a place to overnight, though we did overnight there to visit friends in Blacksburg. Our site backed up to the New River. It was peaceful and lovely. Good electric and water. Dump station but no sewer hookups. The campground is also a tubing company and most people seem to come there for river activities. There are a lot of tent campers, so be advised that the air will be smoky. The Wi-Fi signal was strong, but I was unable to connect, leaving me to believe their server was down. I did get a marginal 3G signal on Verizon and a usable 1X signal for tethering my netbook so I didn't miss the Wi-Fi. The young woman in the office is delightfully friendly. The campground is quite a bit off the beaten path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$13
We paid Passport America rate. Campground is right on the New River, great for fishing and tubing. Sites are very narrow the 6 RV sites with gravel are level. Campground is very clean and well maintained. Water pressure was great, over the air TV reception is spotty due to mountains. Owner was very helpful and accommodating. Train noise was not a problem, we hardly even heard it after the first night. Would stay here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We stayed here at the campground and it was the best if you love river activities. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone. We didn't however like the train noise but anyone can get over that. They can not help that at all. The staff was great and everything was really clean! Great Campground! We'll see you again! The river activities were awesome. Tubing, swimming, and lots more. Come here if you have kids! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This is a great place to go if you like River activities. The campground is right on the New River. The sites are grassy, but not very wide. You are right on top of your neighbors. Also the sites are not real level from side to side. Water pressure is low. They have a small game room with four video games, ping pong table, and a place to shoot basketball. The bathrooms are small with one shower and a toilet. Most people are waiting on the bathrooms, because they are for one person at a time. There are two other showers at the rear of the office. The views are great from this location and the fishing is real good. The tubing operation was enjoyable. The owner kind of cold, and acts like he really does not care. The dump station, if you want to call it that is just a pipe coming out of the rear of the office. You have to back your camper up along side the office to get to the dump. The dump pipe is higher than your camper discharge. I felt like I was in the movie "RV". Real bad. The trains as in other posts are the worst thing about this location. Loud, Loud, Loud. This could be a great little campground if it had larger bathrooms, a real place to dump and more level sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
The park was nice- level grassy lots and the staff was very helpful. Will suggest you verify the water level before going tubing and take ear phones- there are train tracks right beside the campground with trains running through all night. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
I forgot to mention a couple of important things in my previous review: The campground is situated between two railroad tracks. Freight trains run 24/7 on both sides, about every two hours. They are noisy (loud squeaking when they make the mountain turn included in this noise) which means you can't hear the TV or a conversation, plus if you're sleeping they wake you up when they are passing. There are NO laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Very low water pressure. Sometimes none at all and we had to use our onboard pump. No privacy. People using the river walk through your parking space regularly. Only 30 amp service. No sewer hook-ups. I only recommend this park if you want to use their services for tubing or fishing in the New River, not for a long-term RV stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com