206531 User submitted reviews online!!
Patapsco Valley State Park - Hollofield Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (410) 461-5005
CGID6826

Patapsco Valley State Park - Hollofield Area

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   8   8   8   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We stayed here to visit the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival that is located nearby. The campground is located off a very busy highway but has a wide selection of shopping nearby. There is a good variety of sites. The inner loop has electric hookups and larger sites. The outer loop is primitive camping, primarily for smaller trailers and tents. There is a limited number for sites for bigger RVs. The sites are nicely spaced for privacy. Campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. Restroom were very clean and serviced several times per day. You have one source for fresh water and a small dump station on the inner loop. Rate includes the reservation fee. We would recommend this campground for visiting Baltimore which is approximately 14 miles away. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
What a beautiful park. It seems like you are out in the woods away from it all, yet, within a very short amount of time, you can be in the lovely, quaint Ellicott City or in Baltimore. We loved it. The park is well-maintained and the rangers and staff are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We really enjoyed the setting, the size of the site (we were on 403 with our 31 foot rig, towing a full size car). The showers and bathrooms were convenient but lots of insects took refuge there, attracted by the light and the open doors. Water supply was centralized and of great quality. Sites were tidy and well-tended. Their greatest drawback is the poor advisory signage for those driving a vehicle over 11 feet tall. Signs are placed on Route 40, causing all kinds of confusion even to those who are not using the camp. Simply put, if you drive something taller than 11 feet and are UNABLE TO BACK UP, DO NOT enter the park by way of WESTBOUND Route 40. Make your entrance by way of the EASTBOUND route 40. Even using that entrance, DO NOT (under any circumstances) drive beyond the check-in hut. If you plan to arrive late, PHONE ahead to make sure someone can open the gate for you. I've filed my concerns with the State Park service but they're going to have to work with the MD DOT to get this fixed and I'm betting this is not going to happen soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
First of all, there is a short but extremely steep entry road. Don't go in with a weak engine or slipping transmission. There are a few very short sites and a few sites you would never get a 30+ foot MH into, so if this is your first time, go in and take a look, BEFORE you select a site. For 30+ foot MHs, the best sites are: 408, 409, 411, 412, 413, 414 & 429 - OK, but not perfectly level are 410, 424, 422, & 420 This is very close to down-town Balto. We have camped there more than 25 times, and never had problems with underage drinking or DUI We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
This is the first state park in Maryland. It's well used and could use some updating, but it's in a beautiful and peaceful location. Our site was not level, but using blocks made it fine. The access from Hwy 40 is fine, but avoid the other entrance due to the low clearance at the tunnel. The campground roads are rough, so pay heed to the chuck holes and you'll be fine. It's handy to the madness of Baltimore's wild traffic and other preferable sights. We'd return since it IS a beautiful, quiet spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
This campground is quiet and woodsy. Shopping is close by and Baltimore is close by. Access for larger rigs can be tricky. The easiest access to the park is from the west. A right turn off of Highway 40 from the west will take you directly to the campground. If you are coming from the east and if you have a larger rig, your only option is to proceed past the park and make a u-turn somewhere in town and come back to the park on Highway 40 going eastbound. Even though entry into the park from the east is possible, it will lead you to an 11 foot high underpass which could get you trapped. There is no turn-around point there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
I went with my kids and they had fun playing in the woods all around the campsites. The sites are not very large but they are level. The restrooms were also always very clean. We hiked down to the river and played in it for some fun and did some Geocaching while we were there. There are only two small playgrounds on site so besides those and the woods there is not much else for small kids to do. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
A nice location for access to surrounding attractions. An older campground but stes are generally large, level and spaced out. The campground road is steep and winding - best to unhook towed vehicles before heading to the camping area. When making a phone reservation I was instructed to call the Headquarters for instructions regarding the low clearance (11'-1") and was given the wrong information. Note: If your rig is above the 11'-1" height - the campground is only accessible from rout 40 heading east and the Headquarters office is only accessible from route 40 heading west. Route 40 is divided and you must travel a mile or two to find a place to turn around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Great park, close to Baltimore. Camp Host's were great very helpful. There are a few good sites for bigger rigs. Only issue is an 11' tunnel . Go to campground first and either walk or drive to office or ask the office the best approach in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Nice state park. We stayed at the Hollofield area – the campground is at the top of a mountain. Near the main entrance there was a hiking trail down a mountain, along the river edge and to a train tunnel. We didn’t visit the other hiking areas this trip but plan to return sometime to see the entire park. There was a dated playground near the camping loop but a nicer play area for the kids down by the main entrance. Saturday night we enjoyed the Scales & Tails program at the campfire area. Some sites looked to be tight for larger rigs but we didn't have any problems, all sites are back in. There is electricity available at some sites but all share a central water spigot located inside the main camping loop near the restrooms. There was a dump station that was also located inside the main loop on the other side of the restrooms. The restrooms were dated but very clean. We didn’t bring any but there were signs posted near the restroom asking people to not bring their own firewood ~ both camp hosts sites had some for sale. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This is a decent overnight, typical MD state park sort of campground. The camp hosts were very kind, and our particular site, 403, was very nice -- level, shady, close enough to bath house, fine dusty ground, picnic table, fire pit with grate, and relatively private. Site 402 would have been nice as a "friends'" site if we had needed it and it was certainly big enough for a big rig. One caveat for PUP campers: our site was near the entrance to both circles and as a result we had lights and noise from entering vehicles well into the night -- This is obviously an overnighter sort-of place, not so much a destination campground. The playground was near us, but the slide was broken. The gnats started swarming when it got hot - thank goodness we had the screened-in room. Late night quiet hours (11 pm) were not observed nor enforced. That was a disappointment. We would probably only stay again if we needed to be close to Baltimore, which this is VERY close for city jaunts. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
My biggest "gripe" is that we camp with our small dogs, and this is not a pet-friendly campground. You are not permitted to take dogs anywhere except a maintenance service road, which is OK, except that it's really rocky and not great for either the 2 or 4 legged. It would have been nice to be able to take the dogs on some of the marked trails that are in the park. Also, the bathrooms were not maintained as well as other Md State Parks in which I have stayed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com