218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Daniel Boone National Forest (Twin Knobs Recreation Area) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (606) 784-8816
CGID6831

Daniel Boone National Forest (Twin Knobs Recreation Area)

Camp Information
Sites
216
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   8   9   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
We stayed here for 2 nights as a walk in and loved it. The sites were spacious and were very quiet, especially since one was a Friday night. We got a site with a view of the lake and was very pleased. The only thing I didn't like was you had to fill your fresh water tank to use instead of direct hookup. No big deal, but I didn't do my homework before coming. They had water spigots all over for you to fill up at so a easy fix. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Campground roads are tight for a 40 ft motorhome but can be done with care. Due to location of marker posts, getting into our site (B8) was difficult and took some maneuvering. No full hookup sites except for hosts. Electric only with water spigots throughout loops. Neither potable water or flush hose at dump station threaded so we could not fill our tank nor rinse black tank. As others have said, sites are well separated: lots of privacy. We will camp here again. I want to have time to explore the area: lots of trails to walk, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Very nice as others have reported. Well spaced sites affording some privacy. Level, paved pads, gravel sites. Antenna TV reception did not include any network channels. Our Verizon phone and broadband worked well. Quiet. Trees. Some sites have an excellent view of the lake, ours J17 did not. Rate is with Golden Geezer card, or whatever it is called. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
This is a very nice National Forest Campground. We had a site with full hookups. Although the road on the loops are narrow, we had no problem getting our 40' motor home around them and no problem backing into the campsite. We leveled with no problem, and much to our surprise managed to get satellite TV reception in spite of the trees. Campsite is paved, and RV is on concrete pad. Campsites are nicely spaced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
The sites are very spacious and mostly wooded. A glitch was that the drinking water hose at the dump area was NOT threaded for filling our tank. Each loop has several threaded spigots; however, you are blocking the road while filling. Verizon cell and data worked well. The staff was very helpful in finding a "first come" site to handle our 40 ft. MH. We thought we would be closer to the attractions in Lexington; however, most of them are on the west side of Lexington, and we are 40 miles+ to the east side. Just means some extra driving. The beach is closed here right now because it is underwater due to the high water level. The boat ramp is open and we plan to kayak. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We arrived without a reservation but had no problem getting a nice site. We were in #A37 which was very large and private and right across from a water faucet, which was handy for filling our water tank. This is a beautiful campground that is nicely maintained. The hosts stay busy cleaning up every site as it is vacated and leaving each one pristine for the next camper. Most sites are nicely separated from others by large spaces filled with trees and bushes, providing privacy for almost every site. Firewood and ice is available at the check in office. The people working there were very friendly and nice! We enjoyed riding our bicycles and walking all through this campground and would love to return to this area some time! It's a beautiful campground! If the store and laundry had been open, I would have given it a 10! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Great park. Loop host really friendly and helpful. Will return again to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
I stay here on a regular basis. I only live 10 miles away from this campground, but when I'm here I'm 100 miles from everything. The sites are private with many feet of wooded ground between sites, access to the sites are all paved and most are very level and most bathrooms have been renovated and are AWESOME. The atmosphere and attitudes of the park hosts have changed over the past year. Seems they were always looking for something to get you in trouble for, but now things are much more relaxed. Don't get me wrong, they'll still bust you if you get loud and rowdy, but if your an adult you'll enjoy one of the best camping experiences around. Lake is beautiful and beach is a great place to swim and watch the sunset, biking is limitless with paved roads on campground and if you are into mountain biking, many options thoughout the Daniel Boone Forest. Over the past couple years, we have become friends and look forward to seeing everyone when we're here. Highly recommended and will continue to go back time and time again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Our favorite thing about this park was the site size and separation. Even the sites in the inside of the loops had nice privacy. We really felt like we were in the great outdoors. The bathrooms were cleaned at least twice a day in our loop by the host. The host was very friendly and even gave us some firewood to use on our first night since we we had none and arrived after we were able to purchase it at the front booth. The surrounding area is very picturesque with many hiking trails and water activities on Cave Run lake. There is a public laundry room and camp store at the beach; firewood can be purchased at the front booth for $5.80; it's a typical sized bundle. While our loop (reserved sites) was just fine, we found many of the non-reservable sites to be very pretty. Our At&T cell phones had strong reception. The nearest grocery shopping is about 15 miles away in Morehead, KY where you will find several large chain grocery stores and restaurants. A couple of items that could be improved- there are no playgrounds anywhere within the campground; some loops only have one shower house / restroom building and the building only has one shower stall in it. This might be an issue during the busy season. There is also no soap dispenser at the restroom sinks. Some of the pavement looks like it needs to be resurfaced. Overall these are minor complaints, no reason to pass this place up. We will happily return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
The rate we paid includes the 50% discount for a "Golden whatever" pass. The additional electric/sewer fees are not discounted. While full hook-ups are available they are generally used for campground hosts and volunteers. We were able to get a full hook-up early in the season as there was no host in our loop. There are some loops with electric at each site, but no water. The sites are level, large, and surrounded by trees; several of the "dry" sites have wonderful views of Cave Run Lake. This is a beautiful location and we will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a wonderful experience. There is a beach with life-guard and clean hot showers (with a few button presses). It was a great place for the family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com