220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Ross H Maclean Rotary RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (250) 785-1700
CGID6846

Ross H Maclean Rotary RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   7   7   7   10   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
The park is nice, wide open and very large spaces for big rigs. The owners were nice. 30 amp breaker popped once, because we shared it with the unit next door, but once they went inside the building and reset it, it didn't happen again. Would recommend this park. Charlie Lake has some history behind it and is within walking distance. Was pleased with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
The park is well maintained and clean. The only sites with sewer are back-ins along the fence, but there is a sani-dump on the way out. Restrooms are clean and well kept. Some of the sites have grass, but the large pull-throughs are in a gravel parking area. There is a beautiful lake next to the park with walking paths. The only downside to the park is the traffic noise. Now that the oil/gas industry is prospering in the area, there is non-stop truck traffic on the Alcan, and the highway is within 300 yards of the park. The power, albeit only 30 amp, is consistent and dependable. The Wi-Fi service was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
My big complaint about this park is I reserved a site with "full hookup". Full hookup means water, sewer and electric. After I paid I was informed there was no sewer. Only ten sites in camp have sewer and those go to long term guests. The hosts said maybe they should tell people that before they pay (because once you pay you are stuck). There is no RV/car wash, but there is one in town. We took our car there. Fortunately, since the campground would not even allow us to clean our windshield with a bucket of water, the gas station we stopped at on the way into town was full service. The attendant not only pumped our fuel and propane, but he cleaned the windshield! The park was flooded in spots because of all the rain they had. Luckily it was mostly gravel otherwise we would have been stuck in the mud. There is a gate entering and exiting the park. The gate into the park doesn't normally open till close to check 11:00. The outgoing gate doesn't open till 7:00, but the host did have it open for us by 6:00 when we told him we wanted to leave early. The campground has a gate connecting it to the Memorial on Charlie Lake. The town of St. John was very nice with lots of stores and restaurants and a very helpful visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Very friendly check in. Level gravel sites, big rig friendly, but very close to neighbors. Highway noise was a problem for me, as it is just a few yards from the main road. Loud truckers and emergency vehicles passing all night long. Chain link fence surrounds the park. There is a nice marsh area and lake next to the park. Did not use any of the facilities. TV reception, Wi-Fi and phone service was good. Would have rated it higher, had I gotten a good nights sleep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
A nice campground, but next to noisy road. Fortunately, we have good soundproofing. Check-in was perfunctory. Gravel, level sites that were a little close. Good hookups and good WiFI (why we selected it). Probably good for kids with lake and playground. We would stay here again if we needed hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This commercial park is just outside of Fort Saint John, about 5 miles from a very good Safeway. It is along the Charlie Lake shore, but not on the main lake shore. There is a very nice marsh like, nature area just behind the campground. It makes for a nice short stroll. It is close to the Alaska Highway and there is some traffic noise. We were able to get a place further back from the highway, so traffic noise was not a big problem. It is open with no privacy between sites, or for that matter, to the highway. However, even with that it is a pleasant enough setting. Satellite is not a problem as there are few trees. Our Verizon phones had a medium strength signal. The lady at check-in was pleasant and helpful. We did not use the bath rooms or the laundry, but everything looked clean. We had good 30 amp service and water at our site. There is a dump station on the way out for an extra $2.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This campground was nice. Great playground for the kids and the lake immediately behind it. Took our pups swimming. The showers were, clean but required loonies. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
It is another basic park with a gravel lot, 30 amp power, water, a few sites with sewer, and a dump station. It does have a nearby playground and is right off the lake. It has good Wi-Fi if connected to the right port. A bit of road noise but not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a very basic RV Park. It is just gravel spaces. However, the view is great. You are right next to Charlie Lake and there is a park attached to to the RV Park. I would also like to say that the person who checked me in was one of the nicest people I have ever met. I'm sorry I didn't catch her name. Also, there is no septic hook up, but there is a dump station right at the exit you can use for free if you stay here. Only drawback is the security. While it is great that it is so secured, you are literaly locked in between 10 pm and 7 am. So if you are a real early riser or you arrive late, you are out of luck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This park is actually named Ross H. Maclean Rotary RV Park and its actually located just west of Fort St. John on the grounds of Charlie's Lake Park. Its a neat little park but has very few full hookups. Its showers and toilets were immaculate but you needed coins for shower stall water. Their wifi worked very well. One cannot see the lake from here due to a berm. The drives and sites were gravel and everything here was very level. There was noisy road work underway on the highway so it got quite noisy early in the morning. We felt $30 was too pricey for an electric only site. The park was perhaps one tenth full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
For an overnight stay on your way to Prince George or Jasper National Park, this is a good place to park your RV. It is completely high-fenced, with "entrance" and "exit" gates. Easily accessible and visible from Hwy 97, about 2 miles east of the junction of Hwy 29 and 97. No trees, clean stone sites within 100 yards of Charlie Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Big gravel lot with water pipes and elect. sticking out of the ground. Nothing else. would only stay one Definitely a one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Situated near the south end of Charlie Lake. Most sites occupied by oilfield service workers. Fairly noisy at times due to highway and ATV/dirt bikes in vicinity. Site assigned us was next to construction materials and there was broken glass nearby. WIFI was very slow. Not very good value for my money. I would not consider going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com