206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Ginnie Springs Outdoors was rated 5 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (386) 454-7188
CGID685

Ginnie Springs Outdoors

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   9   6   1   9   1   2   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$65
Good campground for a quiet fall visit. Had none of the summer problems noted in previous posts. It was easy to find and check in, but it took a while to level out the motorhome. This is mostly a tent-camping area, and no effort is put into providing motorhome-friendly sites. Was pricey for a campground with 30amp/no sewer, but you are paying for the amenities of the park and being close to all the springs. The springs were great to visit and watch the divers. Off season, it's a simple quiet park in the woods. We had fun here but will not go back since we do not dive and there are much better rivers in Florida to tube on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
The state needs to revoke their operations license, buy the place, and make it a state park. The owner's lack of willingness or ability to control the illegal activity, trash in the river, and frequency of deaths due to bad diving practices (and equipment. The equipment we rented was very shoddy) should be enough for them to lose their certifications to be able to rent equipment. The death toll from drug use and excessive drinking that is tolerated in their premises is another reason these people have no reason to be in business. While we were diving, we filled two plastic bags with trash from the springs - 90% of which were beer cans. This place is absolutely pathetic and should be shut down. Showers and restrooms were filthy, and we were harassed by aggressive, hostile underage drunks until well after 4am. The management leaves children in charge of the park at night. Multiple calls to the sheriff's department were to no avail. This was a ruined vacation. Stay anywhere but here. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
It was great, we had lots of fun and would definitely recommend it to anyone else. If it was closer to where we live, we would definitely go regularly because it was a great experience. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$64
Ginnie Springs used to be one of our favorite places to tent camp when our boys were growing up in the 80's and 90's. We made the mistake of camping here right before the week local colleges started back to school. Alcohol is allowed at this campground and the college kids were drunk 24/7. Our price was for my husband and I and one son that was 15 but charged adult rate. Plus you pay for electric each night. They charge per person, so one person might not be bad but a family could run you into a lot of money. The restrooms were a mess. One night I went to take a shower and it was occupied by and gal and guy taking a shower together. I do know they are heated and were kept clean back in our tent camping days. Our site was not bad, very shaded but we were at an intersection of roads and motorbikes and ATV's were driven all over. The noise level here was just too much with all the motorized vehicles driving around. I notice now it states all vehicles must be street legal so maybe it isn't that bad anymore. I hope so because the kids driving around were so drunk and I almost got hit a few times. The springs are beautiful here, and to me the most beautiful springs in Florida. However they were so packed and the water so stirred up you couldn't enjoy the beauty of them. There is a nice store here with lots of fun stuff and a bit of food and drink items. You can tube down the river and that was fun, but again packed with the partying kids and some of the gals were making out with each other and our young boys saw things they've never seen before. Will we go back again? I'm not sure we ever will again: it has turned into a college hangout. We might give it a try during the middle of the week when college is in session, but never again in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
We were very disappointed that the campground wasn't monitored for loud noise and very foul language. The price and the check in process were laborious. We took our grandchildren camping with us to enjoy the springs, won't do that again! The springs are wonderful but will camp elsewhere and go just for the day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
The deep springs are amazing! World class cave diving takes place here. Bring your biggest and baddest flotation items (inflatable mattresses, inflatable chairs, rafts, tubes) to enter from one of the springs where you can enjoy floating down the relaxing river. The water is a chilly 72 degrees year round. There was lots of drinking and partying as this seems to be a UF college hangout. Everyone seemed to get along. Our site washed out with a very heavy rain, so be sure to scope out the location if rain is in forecast. Bring snorkel gear if you don't plan on diving as the basins are crystal clear. This is an alcohol friendly place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
Caution! low spots in camping spaces have been filled in with loose beach sand. Just pulling in to a pull through space and we got stuck and had to be pulled out with a tractor. Camp manager stated that they are frequently pulling campers out of the sand, you think they'd fill in with gravel instead of sand! Camp price $20 per person per day plus $7 for electric. No Wi-Fi at camp store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
Divers maybe, family camping no way. Although the nightly charges for water and electric were only $7 per night, no sewer hookup, the price per person was $36 a day. We camped with 2 adults in a motorhome and it cost $95 for two days. Our children and their families joined us in tents and each had to pay an additional $80 per family which brought the grand total for camping to $255 for two nights on one campsite. Other campers played loud music and partied until 5 AM which no regard for others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
This is a great campground for Scuba Divers. It is also a very nice shady campground. Bathhouse was clean and comfortable. Sites plenty big enough and easy to get into. Dive shop right on site for air fills. The cavern at Ginnie is a great dive! Busy place but not overly crowded. Cell phone service at the campground was spotty at best, though, but if you are looking to get away from that, it shouldn't matter! I think the campground is a little pricey but the convienence factor for divers is worth the extra $$$. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$55
Ginnie Springs is way overpriced. This campground has dirty dusty roads with drivers not adhering to the speed limit. There was loud, drunken parties and all night music, obviously not very well patrolled if at all. Swimming is virtually non existent. I would not recommend this campground to anyone at any time. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
This was a beautiful park with a lot of shade trees. There are no full service sites but the dump station is very conveniently located. Camping prices are per $18 person, plus $7 per site per day for water and electric sites. I do not think big rigs would do well in this park. Ours is 34 foot and don’t think I could negotiates some of the sites. The showers were kept reasonably clean even with a large amount of campers using the facilities. The spring offers 72-degree water year round and tubing, canoeing, or kayaking are available to rent at reasonable rates. The down side of this park was the staff. They did not at all seem knowledgeable about their parks pricing policies nor were they in any rush to assist with checking in, rentals, or returns. We happen to camp there at the beginning of spring break and the park got full fast with spring breakers eager to blow off some steam. I would definitely stay here again even with the lack of helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
Very nice campground in a beautiful area. No cell service or wi-fi, but lots of activities for the kids. River run is nice. We camped during the week so it was quiet. Sites are clean and staff is courteous. Restroom were dirty and floor was soaked. A nice place to visit overall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
This is more than a campground; it's also an attraction. The springs and river are fun for canoeing, rafting, swimming and scuba diving. For campers other than Class A motorhomes, there are numerous wooded sites, but larger motorhomes requiring 50 amp service are restricted to an outer row that overlooks a beautiful horse paddock, but unfortunately is located on a dusty, limerock road that serves as the main entrance drive into about 50% of the campground. These sites are very dusty and noisy on weekends and holidays. We found the place to be generally very clean, but the employees were a bit surly and unaccommodating. Because the park charges per person, it can be expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Great campground with terrific springs. There are a couple of things that we were not prepared for - we forgot to bring tubes / floats for the spring and there were very few choices for the purchase in town. Also, the rates are per person, not per site. Still, definitely a great campground - we are already planning to go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
We absolutely love Ginnie Springs. It's a large campground that's mostly rustic sites for tent camping but has a nice size section with water/electric for RVs. Every site is heavily treed with nice shade. The springs are great for a cool off in the hot Florida summer. Floating down the river in a tube with a cooler of Beer is also a fantastic time. Yes the park can be more of a “party” like the others posted. But that’s what we love about it. I’ve never encountered anyone taking it “too far”. We go there with my 18 month old son and have a blast. Will you encounter kids with RVs? Will you encounter college kids drinking beer? Will you encounter divers? Yes to all of the above. But you will also encounter lots of good people having a good time and enjoying the “primitive” campsites. We've camped here in tents but currently use our 2007 Jayco 23B. We go back towards the end of October 2006 and can’t wait!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
The camp facilities seemed well maintained, the camp store well stocked and the personnel on the friendly side. The problem I had was the lack of any control whatsoever over a very large number of college kids camping the same weekend I and two other dads were there with our daughters ages 7-9. Our girls were subjected to excessive profanity and alcohol use, drunken kids in the restrooms getting sick in front of the girls, vehicles racing through the park with radios blaring (including a couple around 3:30 am) and more trash than I've ever seen in any campground. Despite having called twice for info in the weeks leading up to our campout, we were given no indication that we might want to pick a different weekend or try a different camp. I believe this is very irresponsible of the campground and feel very bad about what our daughters were subjected to. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Woodalls listed as 14-21 per night. It turns out the campground wants $14 per person per night. Then you need to add the cost of electricity, etc. etc. By the time it was done I ended up paying $50.00 per night for 3 people in a pull-through that had water/elec and that was it. The campground is split into water/elec sites and non-elec. Many non-elec sites are found and some are right on the river (not the spring). The sites are by my standards primitive, no real upkeep as such, just some clearings in the woods with the utility risers. The springs themselves are fabulous but can be enjoyed for the day without paying the high cost. Manatee Springs State Park has similar springs, better camping, cheaper cost. The big draw for Ginnie Springs is geared toward divers (big cave system). Highly overpriced for visiting Florida's springs. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com