206705 User submitted reviews online!!
O'Leno State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (386) 454-1853
CGID686

O'Leno State Park

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   5   9   8   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$19
This park has many hiking trails and a river to kayak or canoe in. The sites are sand and wooded. Ours had a fire ring,electric, and water. Wildlife was plentiful with many deer seen on the hiking trails. I would recommend the Magnolia loop for larger units and the Dogwood section for smaller although we were able to fit our 35' motorhome in both on two different stays in November. We will return here often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
Most sites are large and shaded with trees and shrubs between the sites. The Magnolia Loop is the nicer of the two. The bathhouse is newer - roomy, clean showers, well maintained. Magnolia is also closer to the river and activities. Many sites in the Dogwood loop are not level. We were disappointed that it was not easy to launch our own canoe - a long way to carry a canoe from parking lot, then down steps. But they do have canoes for rent. The suspension bridge was closed for repair, but the River Sink trail is still a nice walk. Very interesting how the river goes underground for miles. I would rate the campground higher but it is typical FL State parks, hard packed sand roads and campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
I marked that this CG is not big rig friendly because of the narrow winding road access and the sites perpendicular to the road. We had booked site 28 because it was rated for a 42 foot RV. There is no way we could have gotten our 42 foot 5th wheel into that site. We did get into site 30 which is rated for a 30 foot RV, with a struggle. I won't say don't go because there are some pluses. I will say be prepared to be challenged if you have a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
We stayed in site #31 which was on the end of the camping loop. Site had picnic table, ground ring/grill, w/e hookups, and was sandy and very shady. Plenty of room to spread out. Magnolia loop has newer bathhouse and dog walk area with a playground in center of loop. Only 3 TV stations available. Campground was quiet even with park having a large family reunion going on. Park offers a Nature center, CCC museum, several trails to hike, suspension bridge, swimming area on Santa Fe River, and picnic facilities. Also has a large group camp with cabins that includes a dining hall, meeting building and open air pavilion. Rangers were very nice and patrol camping areas often. We also went to tube down the Ichetucknee River which was a great trip. $5 pp to tube and you can bring your own or rent from outside the park from vendors. That park was also clean and had a reasonable concessionaire stand for food. Changing rooms, restrooms and picnic facilities with a tram to take you back to the main area provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
This is one of the first parks built by the CCC in the thirties. Wish I could give it a better score, but for the camp ground loops five is the best I can do. The sites are large but the roads in the loops are narrow with limbs that will drag the top and sides of your RV. Some of the sites are for up to 42 feet, but no way would I want to take a nice rig that large in either loop. The Magnolia loop I would put at about thirty feet with out a lot of trouble getting in your site and the road to it. The Dogwood loop I would say around twenty five feet at the most and then you will drag vegetation going in plus the road has some pretty washed out places from all the rain just a few days before we got there.This loop better suited for pop ups and tents. As for the park there is lots of wild life and some good hiking trails.The Santa Fa river is all but dried up and the ticks are bad. The staff is nice and there is some interesting things to see here, but if you have a large RV I would say stay some where else and make it a day trip here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
We were last here six years ago. The drought has closed the swimming area. But the campground is old Florida at its finest. Large, wooded sites with excellent clean restrooms. We saw deer, gopher tortoise, rabbits and lots of birds. The only complaint is the ticks which is part of being out in nature. Maybe there are too many deer? I imagine in the cooler weather they would not be a problem. Because my husband had an doctor visit due to a tick bite, I would come back in the winter instead. Fee represents the senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
What a great state park, although rustic the utilities function correctly with level spacious sites. The restrooms are clean. O'Leno offers some great hiking trails and provides a nice opportunity to visit with nature. Word of caution, if you are staying here in fall be aware of the hickory trees - our tow vehicle has some new dents because of squirrels harvesting the nuts. Hope to be able to return and stay longer at O'Leno next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
If you are interested in visiting the fresh water springs, then this is a great and inexpensive campground for you. The restrooms are only a few years old and are well maintained by the campground host. The campsites are large and back up to wooded areas where deer come grazing at dust. High Springs is a quaint town and with antique shopping and a great restaurant (Great Outdoors Trading Company). Just be on the watch for ticks, which were no problem for us. We camped in site 27 with a very large oak tree in the rear of the site. Magnolia loop is the best loop for larger campers. Could be a bit tight trying to navigate this loop in the dark. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
We stayed in #18 in the Magnolia loop. Roads in the campground are unpaved and a little bumpy. Unfortunately the swimming area was closed. Not sure why, but the river was very low and I don't think you could have put in a canoe here even though they rented them. Be warned about the ticks. They were very bad during our stay and they do have lots of warning signs posted. On the plus side: the sites were very large and nicely shaded. The restrooms were extremely clean and looked new. The park was not very crowded and very quiet. We did do some bike riding but many of the trails appeared to be for hiking only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
I have been to many State Parks in Florida and by far this is the nicest and beautiful State Park. Yes it is rustic and the roads are not paved and narrow. It's what camping is all about. The nature trails are so nice and wide and view is breath taking. The sites are shaded and the rolling hills, make this place #1 on my list of best campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
The park is nice. Lots of woods around camp sites. The Dog loop sites are closer together than at the Meadow site loop. Nice trails around the park and some mountain biking trails as well. It was very noisy on Saturday night but that was do to all the families having allot of fun. Watch out for the ticks though. Over all a nice place to stay. The roads are not paved and it can be tight for some of the bigger campers. You can do it though, if you have a mind too. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Great staff and very clean and up-dated restrooms and showers. We camp in a class b van so showers and restrooms are very important to us. This state park is very clean and some great nature trails and neat sink holes to visit. We will stop on way back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
Pretty park with shaded sites. Quiet with sand roads in the camp ground: a bit rough, go slowly. Gets a good rating because of it's rustic nature. A river flows through the park and disappears into the ground! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$22
Park is nice as is bath houses and other amenities. Interior roads are horrible and very narrow and hard to navigate. Sites was good but hard to get into and I would have hated to have tried during darkness. A little brush and tree trimming would be good. Many sites no where near level but ours fortunately was. We just did a overnight here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Nice rustic park with water and electric. Almost a national forest experience but with the convenience of electricity. Showers were clean. Roads are narrow, tight, and unpaved and could be a challenge for large rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
Friendly folks at check-in, and a beautiful, rustic campground with huge sites with water/electric hook-ups. You can hike right from the campground. We are in a 32' fifth wheel and would fit in most sites. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
This park is Northwest of Gainesville, FL about 12 miles west of I-75. The park itself is beautiful with nature/hiking trails. The road to the park is paved. The road to the campground and in the campground is sand. It gets muddy after a rainstorm. The sites are small and the access is limited if you are over 36'. The sites are in the forest, well shaded and wildlife is most everywhere. We had several deer stop by for a visit. This is not a big rig friendly park. The restrooms are clean and tidy. A Ranger stated that the campground is on the list to be renovated. There is a bicycle trail adjacent to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
Senior resident rate is 1/2 price or $10. This was our 2nd time at this park. As usual, Florida parks are clean, have friendly and helpful personnel, and offer great facilities. From Tuesday thru Friday, I camped with four 15 to 18 year old junior golfers and we commuted to a Junior Golf tournament in Gainesville. My guys had a second, two fifths, and a sixth in their respective age groups. Friday I took them home and returned with my wife and mother. The swimming area is very nice with decent access/egress. The carpet on the pier/dock can get slippery. There are good hiking trails, small rapids in the river, good kayaking and canoeing. If you get bored here, go into High Springs and browse the antique stores, check out the several county parks and springs (No pets past the gate!), or go tubing on the Ichitucknee. A great place to spend a few days. Avoid space 29. We got 3" of water flowing right by the door from a thunderstorm and left a day early since the same was predicted for Sunday. Everything was wet as it blew pretty hard. All spaces are large, private and shady. Most have large logs defining site areas and around the fire pits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We stayed here for six days. We chose this park due to the proximity to Ichutucknee Springs SP where we were going tubing with friends. We were a little put off by the lady who checked us in. Just wasn't the typical state park employee we were used to. She was very argumentive. We were a little worried about getting into the CG area due to some information we recieved. We stayed in the Magnolia Loop which worked well for us. We were able to get our 36TT in without to much difficulty. There were several other sites that were also big rig accessible. I drove over to the Dogwood Loop and it appears very rough and would be difficult to get into with a lot of rigs. There were mostly popups and tents in that section. The bath house was clean, but used, every time we went there. We saw the rangers numerous times throughout the day. Park is well patroled. The park has wildlife everywhere. More deer in this park than anywhere else I have ever been. Although this is a nice park, there is really nothing around the area, besides the springs. We probably wouldn't stay here again unless we were doing something at the local springs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a pretty park with lots of wildlife, deer, gators, etc. Roads are narrow, and the sites can be narrow. Has clean restrooms and showers. Beware of TICKS this time of year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This campground has many hiking and biking trails, and a river to swim in. The restrooms were very clean and well maintained. Ticks were very thick when we stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
We were a bit disappointed at the campground in this park. Roads were narrow and winding and had some potholes. But we managed to negotiate to our site with our 36-footer. Luckily we had unhooked our toad at the entrance. It would have been very difficult if we still had our 40-footer! Lots of trees prevented us from getting satellite reception: had wanted to watch the 'gator basketball game. They do have a great group area with pavilions and bunkhouses near the river, and a swinging bridge across the river. This is a real old Florida setting and would be great for tent camping. On site the Santa Fe river goes underground and returns topside over a mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
We camped here on way to Florida. The park is scenic, but loop roads are narrow sand with brush right up to edge of road. The sites are also sand - but that is no problem. Due to the narrow road and our having a wide-body fifth wheel trailer pulled by a long bed F-350 dually tow vehicle we would not take our equipment through the loop again - although they say they will accommodate 40' rv. Of course, you never know if that means the trailer or the trailer and tow vehicle (I even called the Ranger Office and was told with our equipment - no problem). Obviously O'Leno SP's 40 foot site must have been referring to the total length of trailer/tow vehicle. We would not think of taking our 34' trailer and 17' tow vehicle thru the loop again and risking damage to roof and sides by the very narrow brushy one-way road to get to the site. Smaller motor homes, trailers, no problem - very scenic sites. Larger fifth wheels - wait until they decide they need to clear trees and brush at least a foot away from the loop road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
Site layout was good. Prevented headlights from shining in your trailer at night. Very quiet. Some sites needed to be graded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
Nice quiet park with lots of history. Bike/hiking trails and peaceful. Lots of trees near the roads limit large rig access to some sites. Staff helpful and friendly. Well maintained park. We would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
I loved this campground. To me, it is ideal! It is wooded and shady, the sites are private. Our site had huge logs laying around it and if you walked just beyond them, there was a beautiful valley (if you can call it a valley in Florida). The wild life was abundant and the park for the public is beautiful! The bathrooms are well maintained and there was a playground for children (although I had none so I didn't pay a lot of attention to it). The roads were a bit narrow and bumpy, but that adds to the ruralness of it. There is a great country store just down the main highway with wonderful food. We stayed here to go to a UF game: the trip to Gainesville was easy and not too far. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
We camped here because of its proximity to the Ichetuckee Springs. It's a great place to go tubing. The springs are a constant 72 degrees. They only allow 750 people to go tubing down the north end, so get there early. The park is quite rustic and buggy. The road were very rough, lots of potholes. We camped in Magnolia 21, not a bad site. Magnolia 22 is a pull through. These sites are very large and have quite a lot of trees. Swimming and canoing was closed because of low water, so check that out before you go. It is fairly close to Gainesville. Go 'Noles!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This was our best camping experience yet. The park is huge, conveniently off I-75 just north of Gainesville. We were able to ride our city bikes for over 8 miles in the woods, following the Sante Fe river for a bit over wide trails under shade trees. No one else was around, and the sense of being in the wilds created a breath-taking experience. We saw a pod of gopher turtles at the water's edge, and all kinds of birds (and one snake). Fireflies entertained us in the dark of night. This area is not far from Cross Creek which Mrjorie Kannan Rawlings wrote about in her memoirs of the same name. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Rustic park. Sites are shaded sand with a sandy patio area. Most sites are pretty difficult to get an RV in and out of and you'll probably need a spotter to back in. Playground in center of camping loop was nice and there were newer bathhouses that were very clean and well maintained. O'Leno has nice amenities in park--suspension bridge, museum, bike trails, hiking trails, swimming area, 17 cabins (that are mostly simple bunk houses) and rec/dining hall for groups, bike rentals, canoe rentals, fire wood for sale, Junior Ranger program, and several ranger programs. If you're looking for a very peaceful campsite to hike/bike from, this is nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This is a very rustic park. Sites are sand with sand patio. The site assigned to us was pretty difficult to negotiate until our neighbor lent a hand and guided me expertly. Most sites looked like they would have been easier than our site. Next time, I may add a couple of feet to the trailer when I answer the attendant's inquiry! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
We had site #17. Sites are very sandy and heavily treed with a narrow dirt road that leads into them. 2 campgrounds-only one suitable for larger rigs. Each site has picnic table, fire ring/grill, and water. Our site was hard to back into because of narrow road and undergrowth directly across from site was thick. Playground in center of camping loop was nice and there were newer bathhouses. We mostly went to tube on the Lchnetucknee River. O'Leno has nice amenities in park-suspension bridge, CCC museum, bike trails, hiking trails, swimming area, 17 cabins and rec/dining hall for groups, bike rentals, canoe rentals, fire wood for sale, Jr Ranger program, and several ranger programs. Water in park does smell like sulfa. We would camp here again but chose a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
This is nice park. The Ranger who checked us in was not friendly. Other Rangers we encountered, though, were friendly. We had site 31 in the Magnolia loop. Nice site. Deer came around our site morning and evening. The only complaint would be how often the park rangers drive around the loop and raise up dust with each circuit. Sometimes it was several times within an hour's time. I like security, but this seemed excessive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
Beautiful, scenic park. There are 2 campground areas. We stayed in the Magnolia section which is closest to the River and the hiking trails. The Florida park reservation system has you chose sites by amenities & size. We chose a site which would accommodate our 40 foot motorhome ( site 31 ) which happened to be at the end of the loop. When we asked if we could go directly to it rather than all the way around the loop we were told no. As the previous reviewer indicated, the roads within the campgrounds are dirt/sand and VERY narrow. We watched everyone, with the exception of tent campers, struggle with the roads. Once at our site we had no problems backing in & setting up, as it was at the end of the loop and had a lot of maneuvering room. The same can't be said for some of the other sites. I did check the big rig access box YES but some people may find the campground roadways too narrow for their comfort level. The sites come with water & 50 amp hookup. The dump station is located along the entrance road and is difficult to access on the way out, again it is very narrow & sandy. But, the reason we chose to stay here is the scenery & seclusion. We will definitely return and next time we will just go directly to our the site and not around the loop!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
Secluded sites in heavy forest - sand, not too level, and no satellite. Good park roads until you get to campground - then gravel with lots of pot holes. Trees into campground exremely tight for our 40 ft motorhome. Really nice park with lots of great hiking/biking trails. We would stay here again for a short while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$13
This has been one of the finest campgrounds we have stayed in. The restrooms and showers are extremely clean and well kept. The hiking trails are a lot of fun and very well marked. There are trails for all levels of hikers. The rangers present outstanding opportunities for education. The is the second time we have stayed at this park. It is extremely relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
We camped hear as an overnight stop (within 5 or 6 miles of I-75) and didn't have alot of time to check out the entire park, but it's a beautiful area with nice sized secluded sites. The bathrooms were nice and clean. Our evening there was quite rainy with tropical rains from tropical storm Arlene, and the sites seemed to drain well. There were deer roaming around the park in the morning. We had a reservation for our return trip home, but our plans changed. We would like to go back someday. We tow a trailer that is just shy of 30 feet in total length, and I'm not sure how much larger rig that you could get through the campground due to some trees along the roadway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Bathhouse was very large and very clean. Good playground was close by. There was a stream close by but was not able to visit since this was just an overnight stop for us. Would definitely use this campground again. There are 17 cabins available as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com