218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Paw RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (907) 835-2530
CGID6864

Bear Paw RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   7   8   9   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
The GPS took us around to the fish canning area - found the park near downtown area which is nice if you want to walk around. Valdez doesn't offer much in the way of shopping but there is a Safeway. Park is a gravel parking lot with level sites. Found them close with picnic table sitting near neighbors hookups. Located very close to the harbor. Visitors from Europe had children that thought it was OK to run between people's sites and play games. WiFi worked okay, but went down a couple times. We camped here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
A great campground in the absolute middle of Valdez. No need to even use your vehicle. The sites are a bit close, but this is Alaska. The front desk is friendly and helpful. The WiFi is excellent and the laundry immaculate. A downside is that there is nowhere to walk the dog except a narrow strip of grass along a sidewalk. Other than that, a great place. We would definitely stay again. The Fat Mermaid around the corner has 13 draft beers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Gravel parking lot with a good location and little else. This park is basically a big gravel parking lot, across the street from Valdez's small boat harbor. On the positive side, the big draw is being literally in the middle of downtown, near the museum, the cruise boat docks, and all the activities Valdez has to offer. There are also Bald Eagles flying overhead, and you hear the sound of the sea (and feel the howl of the wind.) The bathrooms were clean and tidy, with six individual bathrooms -- two with a toilet and sink, and four with toilet, sink, and shower. WiFi was problematic at first, but then started working well. No idea what was wrong that first day. On the negative side, the sites are on top of each other, one after the other after the other. I would certainly not call these sites spacious. When we visited, maybe one site in ten was taken, so it wasn't bad, but come the busy season when the park fills, this place will surely be a crowded, claustrophobic, loud experience. Also, I can't imagine the six bathrooms will be adequate with full occupancy. We arrived at about 3pm, and there was no one in the office. There was a sign saying to wait till 8pm to check in. Thus we couldn't get the code for the showers, we couldn't get tokens for the laundry, etc. A minor annoyance… One tip: the "restaurant/lounge" at the Best Western across the street was really good. Sit in the bar area, and look through their big windows at the small boat harbor, while chatting with friendly locals. Good fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Basically a gravel parking lot. Sites are level. They are close, but not too tight. Picnic tables. Laundry. Location is very close to the harbor. Relatively quite location except for the road bikers with kids who came in late and let their kids scream, yell and play very late at night. Some sites allow campfires. Great views when the fog lifts. Easy access to boats and stores for tours. Easy walking distance to ocean. Staff were friendly enough and provided information on things to do in the area. WiFi worked okay, but went down a couple times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Great location, just across the street from the bay. Good electrical, WiFi, and water. Friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the park in 2009, and it is even better now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is just about a perfect park. Friendly staff, reasonable rate, level sites, good internet access, and lots of trees and flowers. A few blocks' walk will take you to the visitor center, restaurants, the harbor front, and a grocery store. Having slightly larger spaces would make it perfect. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This park is like a big gravel parking lot, sites are small, but it is very clean, has great services, and is within walking distance of downtown Valdez and the waterfront. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this park. We stayed an extra night because we liked it so much. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
True to commercial campgrounds throughout Alaska, this was no more than a gravel parking lot with hookups. We were VERY close to the campers beside us. The location is GREAT: just beside the small boat harbor. Restrooms and showers were very very good. Internet was terrible. Signal was too weak and will be that way unless they put up an outside antennae. You cannot beat it for location and for price. We qualified for Military Discount and it was a nice percentage. Thank you! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Even though it's a gravel lot, without grass or trees, it is within walking distance to the waterfront, shopping and restaurants. Of the others here in Valdez, we feel this is the best one and are happy with our pull-in site. Sites are close together and very open. We stayed 3 days and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Just a big gravel parking lot, like all the parks in town, but everything worked, including the WiFi. It's a very friendly place, close to the harbor. This will be our choice in Valdez next time we come. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Stayed 2 nights here cause we loved the town. Location of RV park wonderful -- just across street from small boat harbor!! We took Stan Stephens Glacier/Wildlife cruise and that was great! Drive to/from Valdez so gorgeous!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is the best park in Valdez. It is directly across from the Marina where most Glacier tours originate. Restaurants are just up the street and the scenery is awesome. The Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. The staff was friendly. Owned by Dad and ran by family members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
In all fairness, Bear Paw looked like the other campgrounds in Valdez; more like a used RV lot than a campground. Pretty ugly. Very unfortunate since Valdez is such a lovely town. The hosts were very nice, the restroom/showers were clean and the sites were level, but these things can't compensate for the ugly parking lot appearance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a parking lot with close sites. The 30 amp electric was very poor for our 40' motorhome. The restrooms were reasonably clean but saw people come in off the street to use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Gravel parking lot, not much space between sites. Cable was only working in half the park. Short walk across the street to Stan Stephens cruise. Showers clean and free, however they close for cleaning between 10 am and noon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Large parking lot in downtown area with relatively narrow gravel sites. Fishing village ambiance, and right in the middle of everything, directly across street from small boat harbor. Good wifi and great cable tv selection. Surrounded by mountains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Great place. Across the street from Small Boat Harbor. Mountains all around. Eagles soared all around us. This was our 2nd visit and well worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This was our 2nd visit here. Across street from small boat harbor. Gravel, clean, view of eagles,mountains, etc We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com