206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Thunder Bay KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (807) 683-6221
CGID6867

Thunder Bay KOA

Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   6   9   7   8   3   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Very loud. Right next to the Trans-Canada highway (aka the busiest highway in Canada.) Vehicles are packed like sardines. Neither me or my family were able to sleep because of the excessive traffic noise. Clean park. Your basic KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The park is clean and well maintained. The store has lots of groceries, souvenirs, and camping equipment. They had lots of activities for the weekend, including hayrides, pancakes breakfast, and an ice cream social. The only things I did not like were the fact that the showers are in the main office building, which is a hike, and Wi-Fi is only available at the office, not at the sites. Taking my laptop down there a couple of times a day was inconvenient, especially since I am from the U.S. and this is my only way to keep in touch with family and friends (and not pay roaming charges on my cell phone). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Efficient staff, friendly. Industrial scale campground, with few trees in the main lower area. Wi-Fi only works at reception. Pool area could have done with cleaning due to volumes of users. Very close to the Trans-Canada Highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Nice site, easy pull through. They didn't take me to it, but the map and signage was very good. Didn't use the pool but I noticed a lot of people did, and they seem to enjoy it. Easy to get to. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This park has two levels. The lower level is generally where overnighters go and others without reservations. The sites here have not been maintained for many years. Some driveways are lumpy and others are a water hole when it rains. The upper level sites are much better. This lack of maintenance is a great shame since overall its the best park for miles around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
The rate reflects an extended stay rate. Nightly rate is in the $40.00 range. The owners of this park make a great effort to make this park a really great park. They are continually making improvements to the facilities available for guests to use. This year they were completing a shuffle board game. They are also working on new shower facilities for the upper group of sites. I would give this park a 10 anytime if they would just put in some time on the sites themselves. Our site was a catch basin for the rail run off. I had to rescue our clogs which were floating down the road after a good rain. Anytime it rained our site was inundated. A little work and the flooding could be controlled. For the Thunder Bay area you are limited to RV places and this is the best one in the area. Owners very friendly and will do what they can to make your stay a good one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$51
I give it a 3 only for the fact that the staff do make a very good effort to be great about everything. Regarding the place itself. Well, because it is a 'cram them in exercise' I felt the place resembled a "refugee camp." Also when we were here: at around 3 am a young group were roaming around hitting the sides of campers with their hands and feet! Did not complain in the morning, just packed up and left one day early. The place is staffed by mainly under 21's, so what can they achieve when one complains. I have used other KOAs in the USA and they are far, far superior to this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
A nice campsite with large grassy spots. We stayed on the lower level. Staff was very pleasant and cooperative. Washrooms were excellent, very clean. It was a little far from the downtown core. Wi-Fi was somewhat inconsistent. The only fault I have is that they changed for cablevision, and for the money you only got 5 channels. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Large campground, easy to get to, with lots of activities for kids, with a great well heated pool. Different sections with the majority of the pull-throughs in a "field" at the front of the park closer to the road. No fire pits. The "back-in" sites are up a hill at the "back". We have stayed in both. The back-in was nicer, but harder to get in/out. The field site was very convenient near the pool, mini golf and office. Excellent Wi-Fi. Negative - no shade or fire pits in the field, could hear the train and highway when outside the motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Disappointing choice overall. The campground is good for kids with a nice playground, small pool, and trout pond. Many activities that would appeal to children. The campground is set in a pleasant valley and has many trees. It is close to a major highway which made it rather noisy even at night. Our grassy site is far from level and required four blocks under one tire, and several other blocks under the others to become level. Wi-fi is spotty when the campground is full. Electrical failure, too, but don't know why. Marked this campground down as sites are not level and are not well spaced. Also grassy sites and long entry road is compacted dirt. Adult swim hours at 9 p.m. for a half hour but the water is an unattractive color! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Well maintained park, with friendly staff, in a good location for sight-seeing. Some gravel sites but most are on grass. Roads have dust control applied and speed bumps help prevent speeding. Laundry facilities including equipment is in top order. Wi-Fi does not always have a strong signal especially on first day of 2-day stay. Cell phone and data stick were also weak but that may have been due to our service provider not having a strong local network. Lots to do for everyone and there are many extra activities on weekends. One of the better KOA sites. Recommend reservations in July and August. We stayed here before and will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
We stayed here for 5 days and quite enjoyed our stay. The staff had to be the friendliest of any private park we have stayed at. We also found that the prices in the store were very reasonable from basic food items to sweatshirts. It is only a few kilometers from Thunder Bay made this location ideal for sightseeing and shopping. We would highly recommend this park if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
NOT your typical KOA. It had a lot more than usual, wagon rides for kids, ice cream social, fishing pond, good supply store. A very friendly helpful staff. Site wide and hook ups easy access. Only negative was the sites were gravel and not perfectly level. We enjoyed our two day stay and would come again. Stayed with two other families traveling along with us in their rigs (two motor homes and one fifth wheel). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
The family had a wonderful time at this campground, however previous comments on Trans-Canada Hwy noise and 2 AM train whistles detract from the peacefulness campers are expecting wherever they park. Having to bag your own firewood should be a service looked at by park management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This was the typical KOA. Very clean, lots to do, great help from the staff, well maintained park. They had a variety of areas for kids, travelers, and seasonal campers. Some areas had shade and some were for sunny days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Stayed 5 weeks. This park is close to the Trans-Canada highway. It is also used by the locals as a weekend getaway. Some are there for the summer. Weekend activities usually relate to a charity fund raiser, Some activities for kids. We enjoyed our stay and have the grandkids there almost every day. They have fun with other kids. Camp fires can be a problem with the amount of smoke. Park is well looked after and very clean. Sites are fairly good sized, We had to ask for some dust control as the dust was very bad. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
I stayed here for a week and extended for another. This site would be a 10 if not for the traffic noise that goes on all night from the Trans Canada Highway 11-17 that is visible from the campground. My site was large but not level. It was almost all sand and caused dirt problems. I ended up buying an outside rug piece to help. There were grass sites but no shade. Most of the real nice sites are permanent rentals. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Nice pool and showers. Has an excellent mini put on site and a free catch and release trout pond for your enjoyment. Playground for kids. This park is used by locals for weekend get a ways and as a vacation spot. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Good signage to campground. Long entrance road currently being upgraded. Large parking area in order to register. Office very friendly and efficient. This is a very large campground with a range of rustic and open campsites to suit all type of campers. Good access roads throughout the campground. Majority of sites are pull-thrus which are flat and wide. Limited number of premium 50amp sites. These sites were well set up for big-rigs with a pleasant outlook over pond and fountain. Solid electricity and good water pressure. Excellent base to explore the Thunder Bay area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Unbelievable entrance! Huge inukshuk at the entry, roadway to floral display and more. Beautiful mini golf complete with a pond with a lit fountain. Pancake breakfasts, hamburger/hot dog supper, ice cream social-not the place for dieters! Security shut down the country music promptly at quiet hours. We had a break-down and needed parts-on the long weekend! Owners and staff bent over backward to help source parts and even golf-carted them to the site and helped with the repairs. All staff had good suggestions about local attractions-when are many and impressive. We loved Fort William-give yourself at least three hours so the "residents" (actors) can really help you feel life in the times. Now have a garden full of amethyst rocks too. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com