220537 User submitted reviews online!!
Topeekeegee Yugnee Park / Whispering Pines was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (954) 357-8811
CGID687

Topeekeegee Yugnee Park / Whispering Pines

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   7   9   9   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We come here at least once a year and have always found the park to be in excellent condition and the staff exceptional. Our only issue is the trains that go next to the park. At times they can be quite loud, but they really haven't kept us awake. The $30.00 rate is a May 1 to Sept. 1 special rate that also includes the water park. If you have kids, the water park would keep them occupied. As previously stated, the area is great. Lots of things to do from great restaurants, the beach, and shopping. Traffic can be heavy at times in the area, but overall an easy area to get around in. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$40
County park is large and has a lake surrounded by paved hiking/bike paths. Campground is located in the SE corner of park. Well spaced, paved, level sites with large concrete patios adjacent to pull-through and back-in sites. Small trees provide little shade. Amtrak/CSX/Tri-Rail tracks on east side of campground next to cyclone security fence. Several Tri-Rail trains every hour from 5:30 am until 11 pm. Road noise from I-95 on the east and Sheridan street on the south side. Air-conditioned showers are clean, well kept, and secured with combination lock. Coin-operated laundry facilities are adjacent. No security gate but periodic roving night security guard patrols entire park which is locked at night. There is good security lighting around the campground road and between sites. Very slow free wi-fi service with intermittent internet availability, frequently the log-in authorization page would not even load. Good Verizon broadband cellular service and excellent over the air broadcast digital TV signals. Restaurants and convenience store are close and grocery store is accessible by bicycle. Close to Hollywood Beach which has county beachfront park with day parking or to state park in Dania Beach. About 60% french-speaking residents with mix of RV types. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$42
If the pool had been open, I would have given them a 10. Paved roads with level concrete RV pads. Very clean. Felt more like an RV resort than a municipal campground. You get some noise from the road and the train, but you get used to them. Paths in the adjoining park are fantastic for cycling or walking. Traffic lights make access to the park easy, and shopping and restaurants are handy. The one thing that really surprised me is that most guests are there for the winter, and the majority are from Qu├ębec. A very friendly and welcoming group. I inquired about reserving a spot for next year, and even in February there were only a few sites available in December and March. Definitely a place to which we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a county park. We live nearby and camped for 3 nights in order to clean our camper before returning it to storage. The campground is paved with concrete pads and most sites are pull thrus. The showers are some of the nicest and largest we've ever seen in a campground. The dressing area had a 5 ft long bench and plenty of hooks. They were running a summer special --$30 including water park access (normally $8 per person). The water park underwent recent renovations, so was closed for awhile. No reservations needed in summer, but I was told it fills up in the winter. There is NO shade - so awnings are a must. Laundry is reasonably price at $1.75 wash and 75 cents dry, but laundry room is hot! Trains were a bit annoying, but we got used to them. Park has nice biking paths and playground. My only real complaint is that there was a "long term" camper there whose site was a trash pit. And their enormous dog got loose one day and was a nuisance. For that reason I lowered my rating a bit. Otherwise, this campground was clean and conveniently located and suited our needs. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Just to clarify a couple of complaints from another review. There is a fence between the walking trail and the campground. Sure someone could still jump over, but quite doubtful. The reason for the small trees is because a hurricane destroyed all the bigger ones (mostly palms) a few years ago. I have to agree on the trains (Tri-Rail), they come through quite often and always blow their whistle. For us it is not a problem. For Wi-Fi we have found it to be excellent, quite fast and reliable. They have security that checks through the park quite often, especially at night. We have been to this park at least 5 or 6 times and have always found everything to be in excellent condition. The pool is only open on week-ends in the winter season. When we come to this area this is our go-to park. Electric and water is very good and hook ups are on a pedestal. The sewer connection is in back so you may need a long hose for connection. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
I wish I could be as favorable as the other reviewers. Yes it does have level paved parking sites, but so does Wal-Mart. To me the campground was like Wal-Mart in that it has paved lots with small trees poked out here and there. The park does have a lot to offer but unfortunately they are trying to do to much in the same area. There is no privacy at the campground because the walking trail is open to the public, which means there is a constant flow of people walking past your bbq grill and table. As for the trains, my home is a quarter mile from the train tracks, and I am able to sleep with the windows open at night, but not here. They will definitely wake you up. We were not able to get a good enough WiFi signal to use it at all. We used my wife's cell phone as a hot spot. The swimming pool did not appear to be open while we were here. When we got to the park we pulled in to what appeared to be a pay booth. We waited in the coach and looked around and nothing happened. We decided to pull on into the park and naturally turned right when we should have turned left. This could be a problem for a large coach. Ours is 37' and we tow a car behind. We got turned around and continued into the park where we found an office type building where the attendants were. We went in and paid and were instructed to the location of our site. There must have been at least 4 or 5 speed bumps to get to the RV area. Bottom line is, this is going to be about the best you are going to find for this area. Our favorite thing was taking our RV to Hollywood beach where you can park your RV in a county parking lot for $10 for the day (no overnight camping). The boardwalk is just a short walk from the parking lot. A great day. I would stay here again if I was in the area for other things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very clean and spacious RV area with paved sites. As others have stated, the trains do run regularly; however, that was not an issue. It might be more bothersome if the site was adjacent to the tracks; however, I was in Lot 11, which is adjacent to the waterfront and walking track. Spent 6 nights and enjoyed the stay. I would definitely stay here again. For those considering the park for the first time, a few things I learned: (1) Regardless of what your GPS tells you, the easiest access to the park from I-95 is Exit 21 (Sheridan St), travel about 3/4 mile west to North Park Road, turn right and park entrance is a short distance on right. (2) If you arrive on the weekend or a holiday, pack your patience when you arrive. The park charges people to come into the park on weekends/holidays, so there may be a line of cars at the entrance and it can be a bit congested, as well as a lot of people/cars as you maneuver to the RV parking area. (3)The park entrance gates close at 7:30 p.m. They leave the Exit side open for several hours if you are out and about town. If you do not come back from the nearby casino until 3:00 a.m., just give security a call and they will let you back in! And(4) if you have a large rig and are worried about maneuvering out of the regular park exit, there is a large exit gate beside the office for larger rigs to exit. All you do is call them as you're getting ready to leave, and let them know you need the gate opened. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Excellent in almost every aspect. The grounds are clean, and there are lots of things to do in the park. The $40.00 rate per day is their only rate. They do not offer a discount for a week or month long stay. Sites very level and paved with a concrete patio, grill, and picnic table. Close by there are some great restaurants and shops. Also a casino is just a short drive from the park. Tri-Rail runs next to the park and is somewhat noisy, but not something that bothered us. The park is well lit and patrolled regularly. The Wi-Fi took an electrical hit during a storm while we were there, and was back up and running within a few hours. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$58
This campground looks great for families. There is a water park in the same County park. We passed registration without realizing. Their directional signs need work. Also note that when booking your site online that the back in sites are for motor homes. We had reserved a back in site but had to change because the hookups are reverse of what you need for a travel trailer. Our revised site was great. The campground is all paved with level parking, picnic table, cable TV, water, and sewer. There were complaints for this campground about the train that is very nearby. We were there on a Saturday night and though it was safe and quiet enough for us. Plus it's about a mile away from the casinos. So I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Trains trains and more trains they never stop all day and most of the night. Otherwise this park is centrally located within a nice park and facilities at the park are very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Clean park, but very bright at night. All paved lots, which is nice, but the lots are big and all the utilities are at the very end. You will need at least 30' of sewer and water hoses. The trains run about 100' from the park: 6:30 am till 10:30 pm all weekend long. The bathhouses were clean and well taken care of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
I don't know why other reviewers liked this campground. The sites are all in a parking lot. Seriously. All asphalt and concrete. A very busy road goes right by the campground and it is elevated (an overpass) so it looks right down into the campground. No privacy. One side of the campground is the road, one side is all the park's maintenance buildings and equipment, one side is a paved walking path that brings constant walking traffic and the fourth side is an industrial chain link fence and behind the fence is a railroad yard! $40/day + tax is close to $1400/month. People! Rent an apartment. Or a house for less. I asked at the park office why they put RVers back in a corner of the park with no trees, privacy or amenities, and they laughed at me. They said it was an afterthought to make money. They said, "Well, you're there". Ha! I left next day. Any of the parks in the area are better than this one. If it is on your route and you just want a place for a night or two it's ok for that. Other than that, it's really a pit of a place. P.S. I did not use the toilets. They are not conveniently located. (Look at a map.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
Rate is per day for week stay. This park is inside a large county park. Large asphalt sites with a larger concrete patio. Utilities on our site (25) were not at the end - some sites have that placement. No shade. Some road and train noise but not a problem at night while sleeping. Park is busy with day use on weekends so traffic inside park to RV grounds is heavy. Wi-Fi looked good but we did not use much. We had excellent 4G Sprint, good Verizon and AT&T connections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
If they had shade this would definitely be a 10 rating park. Concrete level pads, picnic tables, a grill and good Wi-Fi. It is unbelievable how much there is to do and see in this area. Numerous excellent restaurants close by as well as beaches, malls, what ever you want to do. There were probably only 5 other campers here at the time we were. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
Wi-Fi is great, satellite friendly, sites are roomy and level. No trees over the campground because of hurricanes and remodeling, but overall, a pleasure to stay here. Great Verizon signal. Lots to do, if you're so inclined. Reliable electricity, nice people. We have family in the area, and will certainly stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$40
Train was close but not so loud that it would wake me up at night. The site was a 70 foot pull-through, so my 67 foot rig just fit. My only real complaint is that the sewer, water, and electric are all located at the back of the site. I had to put an extension on my water and sewer lines to reach. If you don't have 35 feet of water and sewer lines, you better purchase them if you have a 40 foot trailer and you want full hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
WOW. That tells the story. This is a great park. The lots are large, paved and level. So much to do right in the park. $40 is the non resident rate. Be sure to turn left when you enter the park. The office is not marked but is on your left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We really liked this campground. Wide spaces to park, extremely clean area, lots to do in the nearby park, walking trails, bike trails, etc. The train goes by on a regular schedule but it is not too annoying. We would return to this park if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
This was a last minute change of plans for us and we were pleasantly surprised. Our site is huge, bathrooms were clean, showers had a large dressing area, nice bike & walking baths. This campground is dog friendly and even had a dog swim while we were there. There was some noise from the trains but not bad. If in the area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
If you are looking for a campground in the North Miami, Hollywood, or Fort Lauderdale area this is by far the best place to stay. I needed to be in the area for an extended period of time and checked every place in the area and could not find anything else as good. If you are a resident of Dade, Broward or Palm Beach County the rate is $30.00; otherwise it is $40.00. Not cheap but it has a lot to offer. The actual park is quite large with lots of amenities including tennis courts, bike trails, basketball courts and the largest swimming pool I have ever seen except in a water park. The problem with the pool is that except in the summer it is only open on the weekends and there is an additional charge to use it. The comments regarding the train were not a problem for me. During the day I would hear the train go by but never even was aware of it at night. The entire park is immaculate including the bathrooms and showers. The wi-fi is free and the signal is fantastic. The sites are very large and level, and I can not see any problems even with the largest rigs. Very few shaded sites in the RV area even though the park is full of mature trees. It seems that when they built the RV area they cleared all the existing trees. For the most part this is a great place. It would be even better if they had cable but I do not miss TV very much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
Great park, hard to find, when you enter go to left not well defined. It really couldn't be any better except for the Amtrak and Metro train that goes by VERY frequently right on the perimeter of the park 100 yards away at high speed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
I stayed in this campground before they renovated it, and it was fine, but now, it is great. For the price and location, you cant beat it. The country employee staff is friendly and helpful. the only reason I didnt give it a 10 is the location to the train tracks, but that isnt all that bad. if you are looking for a good place to stay in the hollywood/ft lauderdale area, this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
I deplored that the splendid swimming pool was not available during the week and that campers have to pay a prohibitive amount to use it on the weekends. It is almost always empty. Also, I can't understand why there's no Wi-Fi access. I won't go back because of these two reasons. However I must say, the sites are spacious and beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
All sites are paved and have new power pods. Most all are relatively level and plenty wide. Plenty of pull-thrus, for those that need them. Doesn't have that cramped in feel. We stayed in site #16 with a beautiful unobstructed view of the lake. Beware though, as this row is all pull-ins (not accessible for truck & trailers) Only drawback was no cable TV or WiFi service available. Great accessibility to south Florida attractions. Security checks cars entering at night, very safe and secure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
This park will be shut down for full renovations soon so you need to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is an absolutely beautiful site. TY park has a two mile walking/running course around a lake. There are fire rings and barbeques. There are playground areas for kids. The site is pet friendly, and provides bags to clean up after pets. By far, most of the people with animals did clean up. Each site is on a concrete pad. The dump station is clean and located on the way out of the RV area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com