218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Pendaries RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (505) 454-8304
CGID6870

Pendaries RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   9   9   5   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$19
Rate reflects Passport America discount. A beautiful campground on the edge of the Santa Fe National Forest. Great hiking trails, well kept grounds and amenities. Sites are well-shaded and well spaced. The Wi-Fi was pretty poor however, and my Verizon MiFi didn't pick up any service. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Very clean park. Daily maintenance and trash pickup. Office and grounds staff are very friendly and nice. Lots are big and not real close to each other. Lots of trees in the park! Our only complaint is the Wi-Fi. Upon check-in you are given a login and password info sheet and it specifies that you can only call the Computer shop in Las Vegas, NM for help. They are not open evenings/nights or weekends. "please do not ask staff for assistance". This is bad if you check in Friday evening and can't access the internet. We had very weak service the entire 7 days here. We called the help desk and were told there were lots of people streaming etc on the hotspot and this uses up the service. My problem? Surely not! The park was 25% full with lots of open lots. Can't imagine if it was full. You would have no internet service at all. We travel and work from our coach. We specifically confirmed WiFi at booking and were told it was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This camp is far from the madding crowd. Well away from any city, grocery or any restaurant; it is a great place to enjoy the woods and the night sky. There was no digital TV reception for us and satellite was impossible due to the all the trees. Still we planned for one night and stayed a second. Price was total paid with tax using Passport. Wi-Fi was good. Site was reasonably level, had our own picnic table and a lot of side room. Our site was long, as well. This park is mostly privately owned sites with a few still in the developers' hands. Most of the sites are permanent with many embellishments. Transient sites close to the entry. Electric was good 50 amp. Water was unbelievable - filled our jars and our holding tank! Would stay here again if ever in the area. Just a nice peaceful and quiet spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This is a really nice park located in a remote area surrounded by pine trees. Be sure to stock up on groceries in Las Vegas, because there are no stores located near the park. The road from Sapello to the park is a bit narrow and winding, but no problem if you take it slow. We had a really nice back-in site and were fortunate to be able to get a satellite signal from our roof mounted dome. Water pressure, electricity, and Wi-Fi were good. We met several of the permanent residents and all were really friendly. The office staff was also friendly. My only complaint with this park is that there were several permanent houses (cabins?) located near the office area and all seemed to have floodlights that were lit 24/7. This interfered with the ambiance of being in a dark wooded area and seemed to shine in your eyes when attempting to enjoy the stars at night. I wish they would exercise dark sky etiquette like many other communities. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
$16 rate reflects Passport America membership. We have been to Pendaries RV Park several times and keep coming back because it is a lovely park. Very nice front office staff with a great sense of humor. Spacious, level sites in a forested area. The bathrooms and showers are sparkling clean. They have a small store for necessities - be sure to shop for groceries before coming as there is nothing nearby. There is a lovely golf course with a clubhouse restaurant. The park needs to refresh the activities area - horseshoes, picnic tables, etc - but we still enjoyed playing horseshoes despite the play area needing some leveling. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Pendaries RV Resort is a nice little get-away / retirement resort. The closest “large” town, Las Vegas, is about twenty miles away, so come with your pantry and refrigerator well stocked, unless you want to be riding the roads to shop. That said we were able to stay three days on the Passport America rate, and three on their regular rate and so the shown rate is the average of the six days. If you are a golfer, you might be disappointed with the Pendaries Golf Course. The fairways look fantastic from a distance but they are thin and bare dirt in too many sections. They were caused by a summertime water shortage. It is not worth the $50.00 we paid for their weekend rate, but if these comments don’t concern you, it is picturesque. As for the campground, Pendaries is gravel sites under the lodge-pole pines with a fair Wi-Fi connection. Their water pressure is 100 PSI so a pressure reducer is a must. They have a clubhouse, good “bath/shower” house, bear and deer frequent the grounds, they offer a daily 9:00AM trash pick-up at your site and even in late September there were lots of homeowners still in the resort. The Rociada Post Office is a one minute drive out the front gate and the Schwan’s truck shows up every two weeks during the season. In site #25 we were able to connect our roof top satellite for TV ( Sirius XM radio is the only radio signal available) and the resort itself is one great dog walk area-leashed of course. Because of its remoteness you will find few “local” restaurants but we did enjoy Teresa’s Tamales about 17 miles away in Cleveland, NM. The park residents host events (penny bingo, ice cream social, pot lucks, etc.) and Las Vegas, New Mexico is available should you need more dining, shopping and entertainment opportunities. If we knew the golf course was in better shape, we would consider returning, because at 7500 feet above sea level one does escape the summertime heat and humidity. At the end of their season they offered some really great rates so be sure and ask. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
This is a typical mountain campground, similar to a forest campground. Very little gravel. Area has been real dry so there is a lot of dust and dirt. If you don't have satellite, there will be no TV. The closest stores for supplies are about 20 miles away. The valley is beautiful. I doubt if we come back. Good for locals in NM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a lovely campground. We did not bring our tow vehicle, nor did we have a satellite receiver. I did bring DVD's. The internet access is great. We would prefer concrete slabs and paved roads. However, during our stay the campsite was level, the trees were groomed so that our 40' motor home did not hit any branches, and the roads were in good shape. We needed a quick get-away and this setting was perfect. The weather was great. Love the really tall trees. We stayed free because we won two nights. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
We camped here for a week over the Labor Day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The park is for RV's only (no tents allowed, pop-ups are ok). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of the sites are back-in and are well separated from your neighbors. All sites have shade from the numerous tall (80'-100') lodgepole pines that are in the park. As others have stated, this does make TV reception a challenge. There is no cable TV and even a portable tripod/satellite dish is no guarantee you will be able to find a gap in the trees. But the Wi-Fi is strong and we were able to get Verizon cell phone coverage, so you won't be completely cut off from technology. The upper part of the park contains lots for sale, and there are currently about 140 occupied sites (some with park models), but they are very nicely maintained and the people are mostly retired and use the site as their summer home. The people are extremely friendly and hold frequent events in the resort clubhouse. People like us who stay in the "visitor" part of the resort are invited. So we went to a craft session, a yard sale, a happy hour, and a chili supper. The roads are gravel, and do develop some ruts because of the weather, but we had no problems with our 32' 5th wheel. The water is fresh and cold, although a good pressure regulator is a MUST, as is a sewer hose extension since many of the sites have the sewer connection at the rear of the site. Although the resort office has a few basic necessities, the nearest grocery store is 30 miles away in Las Vegas and the nearest gas station is 10 miles away. But there is a golf course and restaurant across the road (about 1 mile) which is extremely fun to play and the golf rates and food prices are reasonable. All in all we had a terrific week here and would recommend this park to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
The rate we quoted was for 3 nights, but two of them were Passport. Beautiful park. Lots of owned sites with RV's or Park Models, decorated absolutely beautifully. Only thing, it is a very long ways to anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
Park only has five 50 amp hookups. The one we had was not putting out 50 amps. Batteries would not charge. Lucky for us we did use both airs. No satellite signal unless you have a tripod. No over air TV signal at all. Park is quiet. if you like hiking or golf this is the right spot. The nearest newspaper is 10 miles away. Nothing in Las Vegas, NM. There are a couple of restaurants, nothing to recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Quiet park, but roads in the park are terrible. Restrooms need to be cleaned, especially shower stalls. Bugs and hair in stalls made for an uncomfortable wash. This park contains lots for people wishing to buy into the park. Laundry is located outside of park, meaning you have to drive to get to laundry. Nice place to relax for a few days, but staff needs to improve roads and cleanliness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We stayed here for a week and hope to come back for a week again next summer. Quiet, beautiful park. Huge back-in sites. Big trees and mountain air. We enjoyed just sitting outside and birdwatching every morning. Had to wear sweaters in July -- wonderful! The management is friendly and accommodating. Secure gated park, you're supplied with a password. Wi-Fi is awesome. Cell reception is good. There is no television without a satellite dish, so be forewarned if you're a TV junkie. This is a great park for relaxing and getting away from it all. Easy, beautiful drive to Taos or Wheeler Peak. All-in-all, a great vacation spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
A nice campground with lots of pine trees. Sites are a nice size. Good place to go if you just want a place to chill. The pine smell was a little strong for me. There's a nice activity center. A great place for walks and biking. Has cute gray squirrels with white strips along the edge of their tails and lots of birds to watch too. A nice golf course across the street. Easy day trips to Taos and Red River from here. Staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Extremely quiet RV park nestled in the forest. Very nice office personnel. Everything was well kept and clean. Wi-Fi worked good. Our cell phone signals were also good. I would highly recommend this site and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This is one of the quietest places we've ever stayed in and the camphosts are very pleasant. The grounds are extremely clean and nicely groomed and the buildings well maintained. Trash pickup, wide and long sites, a very nice clubhouse, and a great golf course across the valley made our time here a real pleasure. There are some permanent sites but nothing that was unkempt. Don't expect to get a cellphone signal for a few miles one way or the next. The only reason we didn't give a 10 rating is the lack of a strong enough Wi-Fi signal where our site was. We will definitely visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
This park is almost 20 miles off the interstate in a beautiful mountainous location adjoining a National Forest. No cell phone and only site 1 & 2 can you pickup satellite. Clay/gravel interior roads that need grading. Covered picnic tables. Not very level for parking. Need a pressure regulator on the water line to your RV. The park sells lots for private RVs so there are permanent people/weekenders. Very cool nights, pleasant days. The night we stayed it was 39 degrees when we got up. A good summertime park to escape the heat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com