219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Sierra Village Lodge and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (575) 758-3660
CGID6874

Sierra Village Lodge and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   1   2   7   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A park that was once a destination, I'd imagine, in its heyday, which was a very long time ago. We enjoyed our 3-day stay here, though, because of the trees and the short hiking trail--good for the dog (and not much in Taos is)--the proximity to town, and the good Wi-Fi (no AT&T phone reception, though). Can't rate it higher, though, because of the road noise and general disrepair of the place (overflowing recycling/trash, no groundskeeping, some out of order restrooms, no laundry or other services). But, as I said, we'd probably stay here again if we wanted to do in-town activities, since it's only 10 minutes to the heart of things. Just be realistic in your expectations, bring cash or check (no credit cards) and, on a Saturday night in the summer with your windows open, use earplugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
A small park that is near the highway so there is road noise to contend with. We stayed 2 weeks & there are no paved roads or sites, so it was dusty because of vehicles moving through the park. It's outside of town but near enough that it's not a big issue to get to town - I think only 5 miles. We did have good Wi-Fi service but absolutely no phone service until about 1/2 way to town. I didn't use the laundry facilities - went to town - because some machines were down. We might consider staying here again because the other RV Parks we saw weren't appealing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This campground is located about five miles from Taos Plaza in Taos Canyon. And although it is surrounded by trees, it is old and derelict. There is a “lodge” In an A-frame but these rooms are uninhabitable. A brief walk around the park finds run-down older RVs and trailers, about an acre of just junk, and a lot of dangerous material sitting around. The junk on the opposite side of the road is also owned by Sierra Village and is inhabited by several permanent residents. There is a laundry, also derelict --and expensive -- $2 a load to wash and $1.00 to dry – but most of the time one needs to run their load through twice. There are a couple larger washers at $3 a load but permission is needed to use them. There are supposed to be two showers in the laundry area but one does not work. There is a shower/bathroom building with four semi-outdoor showers but only two or three are usable – watch out for the brown recluse spiders. The toilets? Some may work sometimes. There is no cell phone service whatsoever and no satellite reception. The free WiFi is very slow. Being without phone service, we attempted a VOI (voice over internet) app, but the strength (or lack of it) of the WiFi rendered this an exercise in futility. The sites themselves are small and the owner will put your rig in the smallest possible space. We watched on numerous occasions as larger rigs jockeyed around barely able to fit in the site assigned. Each site is supposed to have a picnic table, but they are of variable quality, unpainted and fraught with dry rot. And this isn’t the worst of the campground’s problems. Electrical service at your site may or may not work or may be just work part time. Brown outs and complete failure were common. The website says there are nature trails, but several people complained of not being able to find them. When one work camper went up to where he thought there was a trail, he found an abandoned party area with beer bottles, food wrappers, and signs of a campfire (during a fire ban). Due to the drought, there is no water running in the advertised stream (Rio Fernando de Taos). I’d give this campground a zero, except for the presence of lovely hummingbirds – dozens of them!! Many campers had hummingbird feeders for their enjoyment. Just remember to put away the feeders at night, as not to attract the campground bear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Stayed here overnight in a 43' motorhome. They said they had room for big rigs, but they really didn't. Turns were tight getting in, and we rubbed a few trees. Our site was mostly dirt and grass. Not level. Great Internet and pretty scenery as it was up against the mountain. Just 10 miles from Taos. Very nice and helpful gentleman owner. Just "way" overpriced for what you get and "not" for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This is a small, older campground, run by a friendly and helpful older gentleman who was very kind to us. Not an elegant campground ... so if you're looking for glam-ping, don't come here. It's not manicured, but it's clean and the basics all work. We would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
We were very pleased with this park. The couple managing the office were very sweet, and the sites were very pretty. I think some bigger rigs might have a bit of trouble because it is a smaller park. Site 40 is nice and wide, though. Internet service was good, and there are delicious pears and apples growing at the park. There is a nature trail as well. We didn't hike it this time, but we plan to next time. Some of the facilities are outdated, and they don't accept credit cards, or I would have given it a higher rating. We'll be here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Small but clean park about 6 miles east of Taos in a beautiful canyon. Obvious improvements are underway. Nice trees; stream was dry. Road was very close to campground but not too annoying and very quiet at night. Very friendly Camp Hosts and campers. Restrooms are individual bathrooms (2 for women). Did take a shower; clean with hot water but outdated and needs a space heater. Site 10 could get DISH TV (despite the adjacent mountain). Wi-Fi was strong without any adapter. No cell phone service available. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We liked the nice laid-back atmosphere of this campground. Not real big, not real crowded while we were there, but just right for us. The camp hosts were extremely nice people and very helpful. Some sites were seasonal campers. What we liked about this CG was that there were trees and birds and is located about 6+ miles east of Taos on Hwy 64 where it's cooler than in town. Didn't use restrooms/showers. Appeared to be sufficient though. Some RVers use to well appointed campgrounds may not prefer this site, but worked well for us. Would recommend to our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
The park is easily accessible from Taos and the owner is on site. Very friendly. Put us in a 50 amp spot and made sure we were situated which was great. It snowed for two of the nights which was fine. The camp was unoccupied except for us. Very clean grounds but the laundry could use an upgrade. We stayed four nights. We were next to the stream which runs through the grounds. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Park management friendly and helpful. No local TV reception and my cell didn't work, either. Wi-Fi was OK with my directional antenna. Some traffic and other noise during the day, but quiet and very dark at night. I'm here for a week, but might stay for 2 weeks. Price reflects weekly rate. 5 miles from Taos. Park sits in canyon surrounded by mountains. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
At best, this is an average site. They have Wi-Fi but only for the first few sites. The bathrooms are dirty and very rough. It is a beautiful location but the campground needs a major overhaul. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a good little campground. It gives a pretty rough first appearance, but there are some lovely shady sites, decent connections (including excellent Wi-Fi) and some of northern NM's best surroundings. The manager is helpful without being intrusive. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The only downside is that the showers are little more than roughed-in. They are, however, clean and functional. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
I love an RV park that makes me feel like I'm actually camping, and this one really does. We received a warm greeting when we arrived, and they worked with us so we could camp side-by-side with our friends. Not only could we build campfires, they even provided the wood! It's shady, quiet at night, and nestled next to a forested hill on one side and brook on the other. During the day there is traffic noise, but we didn't notice it at night. We stayed three nights, and I wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
The park is one of the best kept secrets in Taos, New Mexico. It is only open from May till October and is located east of Taos 3 miles. It is located in the Carson Forest. Lots of shade, and has a stream that runs through it. It is quiet, and just a little piece of heaven here. The bathrooms need updated, but they have hot showers.I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com