218955 User submitted reviews online!!
Yakima River RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (509) 925-4734
CGID6877

Yakima River RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   1   2   10   8   5   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
Good park for an overnight with easy access from I-90. Park is clean and Wi-Fi works very well. If you have a large rig with slides, take care not to hit tall water spigot. Rate is Passport America plus $5 for second dog. Park is very concerned about dogs relieving themselves anywhere but in the fenced dog area. So much so that we felt uncomfortable and carried our dogs to the fenced area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Owners were very accommodating and helpful. Yakima river is walking distance away. Area is a bit windy most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This is a quiet well maintained park. The setting is alongside a cattle ranch in the farm country side about Ellensburg, WA. While the park does not have the amenities such as a swimming pool, it offers a location for a quiet stay. It is a location where families meet. The tenting areas are separate from the RV sites, and this gives the tent campers shade and more remote location. The park is also in a close location to access of the Yakima River. The graphic interface for the review mandates I put a rate in, but that is a one night rate. Weekly rates and membership discounts are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
If not for the PA rate of $22, we would not have even stayed the night. We were told we "didn't need" sewer as we were only staying one night even tho sites with sewer were available. Pull thrus but so tight we had to ask neighbor to pull in their awning in order for us to park. Our slides pretty much touched theirs. Door side was very close to other neighbor who luckily wasn't there. No sewer but also NO bathhouses for showers, only a single portapotty! Would not even consider stopping here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$21
This is a pretty park out in the country with cows, bulls, and horses in the fields next to the park. Roads inside the park are gravel and the sites are gravel and grass. It was a very quiet park during our stay. However, we have an RV so we can travel comfortably with our furbaby. We are very responsible pet owners that keep our dog on a leash when outside, pick up after our dog, and keep him as quiet as possible. We did not feel free to even sit outside or walk with our dog here because we were afraid he would relieve himself somewhere other than the potty pen. (There are several posters on trees and it even states in their rules that dogs are to relieve themselves in the potty pens). This is the first time we have ever felt uncomfortable in a RV park and for that reason we would not ever return to this park. It is also the reason for the low score. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Passport America rate. Very nice little park away from interstate and any noise. Clean sites, and surrounded by cattle and beautiful horses. Owners were very nice and came by to talk with us for a while about their travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$21
Rate cited is based on Passport America for 3 days and if you stay a 4th day or longer the rate increased to $42. This is a well maintained and quiet park located south of Ellensburg. There are fields with bulls and horses. The sites are gravel and we have a pull-through with 50 amp. There are no bathrooms or showers but there is a portable outhouse in the park. We have stayed here before and will stay here again as it is convenient to family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Went with middle of the road for this small but clean and level gravel pad park. Accepts Good Sam and Passport America so we paid $17.50 which was what it is worth for a no frills park. We had water and electric hook-up only, port-a-potties near-by, no showers, no place for groups to meet, limited fire pits, tables, and a few trees. Surrounded by cows and horses so it has the scent of a farm. Train could be seen and heard from our site, TV and WiFi worked fine but we do have a booster. It's not really what I would call dog friendly as we were asked to have our pug potty only in the pet area. We requested a site next to the area so she wouldn’t have to hold it until she reached the potty area. Not sure that older dogs could hold it long enough to make it to the “area” if you stayed at the far ends. We would stay here again for an overnight but only if we could stay close to the “area” as our pug is our fur baby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
Nice place to stay. It is well maintained and the host and owners are friendly. They have a sani for use by the people and no showers that I know of. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Stayed here for an overnighter between destinations. The owners were very helpful to point out interesting sights to see that we're close by. The sites are okay. I would not call it a pet friendly campground, better described as pet tolerant. You can't walk your dog inside the campground and we were asked to prevent our dog from using the grass for ANY business, which is fine, but it is difficult to explain to your dog that he has to wait until you walk across the park to the dog walk, before he can lift his leg. Quiet campground, close to the canyon. OK for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This was just an overnight stop. The bad rating is heavily weighed upon their restrictive dog walk policy. Priced at $35 for a water/electric site, and $42 for a FHU site. This is way too much money for this bare bones park. Accepts Good Sam and Passport America, so we only paid $17.50 which is all it was worth. A friendly atmosphere, but sites are close together and piggy back, although they did try to put rigs in every other site. Only a port-a-potty. Free WiFi which worked well. Lots of rafting on the nearby Yakima River. Dogs allowed, but only allowed to do their business in the enclosed 75' x 35' dog area. There are signs all over this small park stating this is not a dog area. It's a nice area with fields surrounding the park with cattle and very friendly horses. But noooo, your dog can't do its business anywhere but the designated area. Ridiculous. That is the reason for the only low rating. Would be a nice cozy social park to stay at if they would lighten up about the dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We stayed here three nights at the Passport America rate of $17.50 for the non-sewer rate. We enjoyed our stay. The Free Wi-Fi worked very well. There are campground hosts here now. Payment is self pay at entrance. There is a reservation board at entrance showing the reserved sites. No restrooms or showers. One row of parking sites are sewer, electric and water. The other row is without sewer. Normal rates are $35-non-sewer and $42 with sewer. If you have a very large--over 40'-- maneuvering and parking will take some care. There is a free dump at the city sewer facility about 2 miles N of the RV Park, 0.2 miles S of I-90. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Rate is for Passport America. No sewer, water & electric only. Sites are narrow, long and level. Very little, if any shade. No bath or facilities. Very close to the river. Friendly hosts. Takes Credit Cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Over the last 3 years we have stayed here for 1-3 months each time. Will stay here anytime we are in the area. They have made some changes from last year and have more planned for the future. Have gotten along with the owners very well. Short walk to the river, there is a trail along the river to the boat launch. Have seen deer and coyotes in the field next to the park. Lots of osprey in the area and have even seen a porcupine taking a nap in a tree along the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
The price per night quoted is for the first 3 nights if you are Passport America. The 4th night ,and from then on, rates are $42 a night. There are no showers and there is one porta potty in the campground and that is why I rated them a NO. On the positive side the sites are pull through and level. There are campground hosts there now. They are also Good Sam affiated. It is a great place if you like to fish or want a spot to stay when you are checking out the area. We will stay here again and will recommend this park to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
OK for a overnight stay if you get the Passport America rate, otherwise too pricey. You have a choice of hookups with and without sewer, sewer costing $7 more, or no hookups. No facilities, outside of a portable toilet. It was quiet, the sites were level and long. Would stay here again for overnight as long as the P/A rate was available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
We spent one bad night here. The woman that runs the park is extremely rude and chastised me for being too loud while trying to help my husband park our 44 foot motor home! It was quiet during the day (only 7 R V's) while no one was here, but at night it was the loudest park we've ever stayed in due to their own animals. The cows and donkey's were so loud all night we couldn't sleep, and the trains that run through the property about 500 hundred yards from the campground, didn't help either. There are NO amenities at this park, no restrooms and no office. There was a kiosk with information about the park and how to pay by check only. The woman was very negative about restaurants in the area, as well. Needless to say we will never stay at this campground again. In all our travels we have never met an owner or attendant that has been this rude! We moved the next day to another local R V Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$21
We stayed here for 3 days at the Passport rate of $21 including tax and full hookup. No amenities and has one port-a-potty for restrooms. Water pressure was low and they were watering the grass during the day which made pressure go lower yet. This is a fair, clean, quiet, lots of trees and a nice park. Probably would stop again for overnight only. Drop box for camping fee on honor system for payment by cash or check. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
This is a very spartan, rustic park next to a bull pasture. There is no attendant to help you, just an unstaffed outdoor table so you have to serve yourself. The honor system applies and you put your money into a pipe near the entrance. There are no restrooms or showers, just a porta-potty. There is no cable or Wi-Fi. We had full hookups on our site. Very strange, never saw such a deserted spot. Our rate was half price due to our Passport America membership. Frankly, it was in no way worth twice what we paid, so I would not recommend this to anyone without a PA membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
Exceptionally clean park and with Passport America the fee is $21 for the first 3 days ($63 total) and on the fourth day and after it is $42 a day. We paid $105 for 4 nights and that works out to $26 a night). That seems very high to me so we will be exploring other options if we need to stay more than 3 days. Nice people run the park with 50 amp service, good water pressure, grass and picnic tables. We travel in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
I know why this is the best kept secret! It has nothing to offer except a view. Sites are very tight and side by side. Only a port-a-potty. It is basically a parking lot in a field surounded by a cow pasture. It was quiet, however. It is self check-in. Mountain views were wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
I'm convinced the review that called this park a "best kept secret" was written by someone close to the ownership. In truth it is a gravel and grass, incredibly buggy parking lot with about 40 underdeveloped, crowded, side by side sites and fewer than half with sewer. No services at all except one porta potty. The punitive set of rules says that if you take a sewer site, you must arrive with an empty tank. Who would know?? Wonder if they have a meter on your outflow. It's surrounded by a ranch with beautiful horses and a herd of steer, and that's the only nice thing I can say. Thank goodness we got the PA rate; anyone who paid $40 for this place would be very sore, indeed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
This park is the best kept secret in Washington State! Sites are on gravel with grass for the picnic tables. All sites are pull through's, 30 or 50 amp service and 16 have sewer connections. The park is located a short walk to the Yakima River for floating or fly fishing and easy access to Ellensburg to the north and Yakima to the south. It is very quiet and peaceful. They will provide shuttle service if needed. I called and made reservations to ensure we had sewer but many people show up and self-register. They do not take credit cards. We were able to use our Passport America card. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is a wonderful little park in a rural part of town; it's part of (next to) a working ranch, with cows, horses, a sheep, and a goat next door. It's quite beautiful here with grass, huge trees on the perimeter, and gravel. This is not a typical big-rig cement RV lot, and that's what makes it charming. There is plenty of free-run dog space next door. The owners are very dog friendly. There are no bathrooms, only a porta-potty, and there is no Wi-Fi (but air cards seem to work fine). But the lack of amenities are more than made up by the views, the peace and quiet, and the space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Pretty setting up against the hills SE of Ellensberg within easy walking or biking distance of the Yakima River, popular with river floaters and fishermen. The management offers shuttle rides for floaters. They also cater to people hauling horses. As their website says, they are also a working ranch. They have corrals for horses and a clubhouse for gatherings and functions. There is still no shower or restroom at the site, although there was one very clean porta-potty. Power outlets are duals so one party has to face the opposite direction of their neighbor. It's prime benefit is that it is in a very peaceful, quiet and picturesque location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
The area is beautiful, the park was a bit of a disappointment. It's hard to get around in a large MH or 5th wheel and the sites are very narrow. If your rig has opposing slides, you'll be right up to the RV next door. The even numbered sites are the best, although they appear to be for longer term rentals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Located away from the hiway: it's quiet, clean and easy to hookup. Rate shown is Passport America. One of the best kept grounds we have seen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Compared to the other local RV parks, this one is nicely situated off the highway in a scenic location. All the people we met here were very friendly. The location also seemed very safe. There are not any stores nearby, so make a stop for anything you'll need overnight before you make camp. I'll definitely stay at Yakima River RV Park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Very nice park. We have stayed here 3 times now, once in 2006, once in 2007 and now this year. We find this a very quiet and restful place to stop. We have stayed from 1 week to 1 month, at different times. The staff is very friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. We will be coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We have stayed in this campground for the past four years. It is rustic, but they have been making improvements. There are no showers or formal restrooms, only port-a-potties. However, if you're in a motorhome there is no need. This year the full service spots were upgraded with nice crushed gravel to park on. It's a quiet place among cows, bulls, and horses. I love to hear the horses whinnying occasionally. The owner rides around on her bike to meet and greet everyone and met us this year with a bag full of corn she had picked that morning. We'll be back next year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We have camped here for about 7 years for the rodeo. This park is very quiet. Has cows and horses in the pastures that surround three sides of the park. The Yakima river is a short walk away. There is green grass and shade trees on each site. The owner is an excellent camp host and does the majority of the upkeep herself as well as maintain the farm. I would recommend this park to anyone that likes the rural setting. Come see for yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
I stayed her for one week in June. You self-register at the Kiosk in the front. This is not a fancy park. I enjoyed the rural feel, the quiet, the shaded spot, and the easy ride to town. There are some "semi-permanents." The "Leroy workers" mentioned by another review included some folks working on wind generation and a fly fishing guide. They were very nice and quiet. There were also recreational travelers and families. The park lies in the front of a ranch. You must walk back to the ranch house to see the tenting area, have river access, etc. There is an area with horseshoes and a volleyball net. I found good river access at two places right down the road. There are mosquitoes, but that is not uncommon for the area. The wind would keep them down. If you want fancy, this is not for you. I wanted bucolic and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Appeared to be a "worker camp." Their website said, and I quote, "Come stay overnight at the ranch, on the scenic Yakima River in central Washington." It goes on to say, "Easy Pull-Through Access, Rustic Club House, Livestock and Wildlife Viewings." Now, let's break down Truth from Fiction. STATEMENT: "Come stay overnight at the ranch." REALITY: There was no ranch. There was a patch of grass in the middle of a cow pasture. STATEMENT: "On the Scenic Yakima River in Central Washington." REALITY: We never saw ANY river. STATEMENT: "Easy Pull-Through Access." REALITY: There was nothing easy about maneuvering 52' of motorhome and trailer through parked cars, trucks and 100 year old Airstreams. I also had to dodge the port-a-potty. STATEMENT: "Rustic Club House." Now, unless they are referring to the bulletin/chalk board at the road that listed the rules, and a kiosk to put your payment in, I never saw any such club house. STATEMENT: "Livestock and Wildlife Viewings." Well, this one may be the closest to the truth. We were sharing a field with the cattle, and the wildlife viewings we saw were mosquitoes that were running rampant here. Even our poor dog was scratching from the mosquitoes. If you don't mind staying in a field with LeRoy scratching himself as he stands in the doorway of his 15' 1948 Airstream on blocks, then this isn't that bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
No Showers, rest rooms, laundry, cable or TV reception. Close to down town Ellensburg. Quiet. Good for one or two nights stay. Not a resort. Easy access to I-90 for traveling to Eastern Washington and Idaho. Has potential. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com